Do I need counselling?

308 Negra Arroyo Lane Albuquerque New Mexico
WADA
As an older member of Big Footy I have suffered all the heart break of the mighty Geelong Football Club post 1963 to 2007.

I have learned to deal with the premiership losses and move on in most cases,I hold no grudges or animosity towards Richmond,West Coast or Carlton

But bloody Hawthorn is a different story,just can't have a bar of them,hate them with a passion almost an obsession.

I got as much joy out of beating them in this years QF as winning the Granny.

Am I alone or do others have a team that eats at them.
Or should I just seek help?

Re: Do I need counseling

Meh It's just part of the passion for the sport.. Have you seen the Hawks poster Chewy? Trolls us in every main board thread about Geelong. swear he has an obsession loves to try and change the subject to Hawthorn in all our glory threads...

Hawks are my second most hated... still hate the pies the most...

I actually like watching Buddy play though so I do watch some Hawks games...

Would be sweet as beating them in a GF hopefully next year when we go back to back :thumbsu:

I only hate Hawthorn. Collingwood is just a rival at the moment, and we like beating them because they are a great team. Put one of our teams towards the other end of the ladder and the Pies are just another team.

And I can understand the OP's sentiments. It can't compare to the GF, but putting them away (comfortably, for a change) in the QF made me about as happy as a non-GF match could. It meant we would almost certainly make the GF, but also that Hawthorn would almost certainly get knocked out before then.

There's a bunch of those posters on the main board. Spouting that '48 years' mantra endlessly, when in reality it was '22' and Geelong supporters bragging about the 64 years Hawthorn had gone in the VFL without beating us up until the 1989 grand final would have made about as much sense. A lot of them seem to enjoy us losing more than them winning. While I'll admit I barrack for any team against Hawthorn, them losing isn't even in the same stratosphere as a Geelong win to me.

Id love to beat Hawyhorn in a Grand Final-no 2 ways about it. But to honestly answer your question -i dont dislike the Hawks -just as i dont dislike Collingwood -cant believe how alot of supporters of various clubs hate Collingwood .

Ive got a long memory -and the 2 clubs i cant cop are Richmond and Carlton-the reason being -they were so arrogant when they had success-they had the 2 most arrogant presidents of all time in Ian Wilson and John Elliot

With Richmond however now i do feel a bit sorry for them -because basically they have had 30 years of hell-thus i pity them because they have been so Pitifull

Carlton use to really annoy me -when they were winning (buying flags) we were told it was all to do with their great culture-and we and other clubs couldnt succeed because of our losing culture. All proved to be hogwash - i will never forget when Carlton in the one off season (or one cheque ) signed those 3 South Australians -Bradley Motley and Kernahan-basically like the English Premier League now -success is bought with money

The Great thing with our Flags -is we have earnt them .

So the 2 i dislike in order are (1) Carlton (2) Richmond

If you went thru all those loses in the '80's to the Hawks - I am sure many would like to beat them more than any other team.

If me wish came true we would face them in a GF next season and beat them very well. Then I would seriously feel so much better.

I don't hate other teams but there are some teams I really enjoy beating and the Hawks are nuber one on my list.

Hawthorn and Carlton for me. Difference being I respect Hawthorn whereas Carlton are just plain and simple cheats as far as I'm concerned, nothing redeeming about them. Their flags were all bought with a cheque book and thusly meaningless to me. I think only a GC or GWS flag will be even more meaningless!:p

Might be time to re-read my 30 years of Hawk torment thread.....and in my case the torment has passed now. Three flags, seven wins in a row over Hawthorn and a turnaround in those infuriating narrow losses to them we had for over a 20 year period, i'm at peace with my inner Hawk hate. :)

In terms of hatred it's West Coast and Carlton for me - those GF defeats in the 90's were so hard to take. Seeing the arrogance of Eagles supporters over hear just reaffirms that view. On balance I respect the Hawks however Kennett , Mitchell, Lewis and Bateman deserve nothing but derision - tossers.

If I were a Geelong supporter I'd be feeling pretty bloody good about myself at the moment. Enough so in fact not to be too worried about anybody else anymore. Superb effort this year, especially after being tagged too old and too slow.

To me (if there was really ever any doubt), this one more than any other really elevated you up there with the best. Massive respect for your whole club in general.

If you need counselling we had better make it group therapy! My sister and I go to every game in Melbourne, and have done for nearly forty years. And there is no sweeter win than one over Hawthorn. I loathe them. She loathes them. And there's no doubt that they loathe us.

Whenever we go to a Hawthorn game all the memories and the emotions just come flooding back. The night Jimmy kicked the winning point in 2009 lives in our memories as one of the highlights of our lives. There was jumping and yelling and hugging and screaming. The only other time I hugged a stranger at the footy Geelong had won the Premiership!

I try to let it go. But I'm just not that mature...:rolleyes:

I don't hate the Hawks....its the game I most look forward to each year...apart from our GFinals of course. They have inflicted pain on us over the years, but its them that hurt a little right now.

So YPO...the ying and yang is about balanced right now....so meditate and feel the balance course through your body and you will be liberated.

If not...just think Tankers....that should focus the rage where it really belongs.

If I were a Geelong supporter I'd be feeling pretty bloody good about myself at the moment. Enough so in fact not to be too worried about anybody else anymore. Superb effort this year, especially after being tagged too old and too slow.

To me (if there was really ever any doubt), this one more than any other really elevated you up there with the best. Massive respect for your whole club in general.

Awww, now you've gone and spoiled the whole thread... :D

As an older member of Big Footy I have suffered all the heart break of the mighty Geelong Football Club post 1963 to 2007.

I have learned to deal with the premiership losses and move on in most cases,I hold no grudges or animosity towards Richmond,West Coast or Carlton

But bloody Hawthorn is a different story,just can't have a bar of them,hate them with a passion almost an obsession.

I got as much joy out of beating them in this years QF as winning the Granny.

Am I alone or do others have a team that eats at them.
Or should I just seek help?

you sound perfectly sane to me....Hawthorn sucks ass big time. The biggest flogs in AFL history!

This Board is "counselling". Not a day goes past without me reading somebody's post which either exactly reflects what I feel, or it gives me the reason for faith in this team when I personally may feel an acute shortage of the stuff.,

But totally agree with you on the Hawks issue. The GF was a bonus, winning that first final was massive. Hawks. In a final. Amazing to witness it. Something about their air of superiority. And something about how good their team has been in our history.

Don't know if HATE is the right word for me, but they are the #1 team on my wish list to beat, closely followed by Saints and Carlton. But I am somewhat at peace with all our rivals, because this season has surpassed anything I dared to hope for.

I've hated Hawthorn and their dirtbag supporters ever since they continuously booed Neville Bruns right up until his retirement. :thumbsd:

The reason? Because he was the innocent party in a shocking incident where Leigh Mathews king hit him behind play, smashing his jaw into pieces.

Some other incidents I recall:
  • Don Scott at AFL Park Waverley punching an unsuspecting Rod Blake in the solar plexis leaving him in a crumpled mess.
  • Dermott Brereton in 1989 at Princess Park picking off an unsuspecting Mark Yeates at a boundary throw in and breaking his collar bone. Yeates got him back at the GF.
  • Simon Taylor knocking out Selwood and then burying his knee into his head for good measure.
They've also adopted some unsavoury tactics over the years. A recent one is the sliding bump where a player dives along the ground into a pack with the sole intention of doing some damage to an opponents knees, ankles or head. See http://www.theroar.com.au/2011/07/13/hawthorn-slide-tactics-claim-casualty/ for outing.

Luke Hodge and Jordan Lewis are regular exponents. I remember an incident last year where Hodge picked off Chappie using this technique and for a moment it looked like his neck/spine had been damaged.

The fact that we were their bunnies for years has also added fuel to the fire. Nothing pleases me more than beating Hawthorn. To own them since 2008 is very satisfying.

End of rant. :p

I've hated Hawthorn and their dirtbag supporters ever since they continuously booed Neville Bruns right up until his retirement. :thumbsd:

The reason? Because he was the innocent party in a shocking incident where Leigh Mathews king hit him behind play, smashing his jaw into pieces.

Some other incidents I recall:
  • Don Scott at AFL Park Waverley punching an unsuspecting Rod Blake in the solar plexis leaving him in a crumpled mess.
  • Dermott Brereton in 1989 at Princess Park picking off an unsuspecting Mark Yeates at a boundary throw in and breaking his collar bone. Yeates got him back at the GF.
  • Simon Taylor knocking out Selwood and then burying his knee into his head for good measure.
They've also adopted some unsavoury tactics over the years. A recent one is the sliding bump where a player dives along the ground into a pack with the sole intention of doing some damage to an opponents knees, ankles or head.

Luke Hodge and Jordan Lewis are regular exponents. I remember an incident last year where Hodge picked off Chappie using this technique and for a moment it looked like his neck/spine had been damaged.

The fact that we were their bunnies for years has also added fuel to the fire. Nothing pleases me more than beating Hawthorn. To own them since 2008 is very satisfying.

End of rant. :p
Wish you hadn't reminded me of all that, and more springs to mind. Yep, maybe HATE is the apprporiate word

Got to be worth a red...;)

Seriously though, we all form our own stereotypes of a club's entire supporter base, from very little. And it's just how it is. I'll never forget the 'friend of a friend' Hawthorn supporter getting my number from a mate at a grand final BBQ to try to rub the 2008 grand final loss in a bit more as I was leaving the G (he didn't even have my number, for crying out loud). Nor will I forget the Hawthorn supporters behind me saying that it was time for Lonners to get back on the dialysis during this year's QF. I know plenty of great Hawthorn supporters, here and in person. But you tend to remember the ****s. I'm sure everyone is the same.

What a mature reasoned post! What are you doing on BF? ;)

The other "powerhouses" of the League are largely facades, but Hawthorn has been from after the 1963 Grand Final to the 2008 Grand Final, the team that has beaten Geelong more than any other team.

Geelong match/win% 1964-2008

v Hawthorn 38.27%
v Carlton 43.75%
v Essendon 46.95%
v Collingwood 48.10%

Combined scores points deficit 1964-2008
v Hawthorn -738
v Carlton -599
v Collingwood -300
v Essendon -123

Hawthorn is the team that Geelong supporters should rationally dislike the most on these figures alone.

Added to the other matters already mentioned concerning the Hawks 'conduct', consider yourself 100% rational.

Despite the M/W% of 100% since the 2008 GF - the combined margin from the 7 wins is only 75 points, so I wouldn't ease up on my feelings for them yet.

(Since losing the 1967 GF to Richmond, Geelong have a M/W% of 63.64% and a lead in combined scores of 1,385 pts over the Tigers.)

The voice of reason there RR, and going by those numbers indeed my inner Hawk hate has probably risen a bit since!:D

I will say this, there is no side i like defeating more, i should add. Beating Hawthorn is always worth perhaps twice the feeling of joy than beating a more mundane opponent. Cetainly they are the side since i started following the Cats in 1977 that have inflicted the most pain.

It was most therapeudic though this year beating two finals nemesises in the Hawks and Eagles en route to a joyous flag. I'm probably still on cloud 9 i guess...:)

P.S, i'm guessing the surplus of points over the Tigers since 1983 would be massive, since they have won just nine of those games out of about 40-odd.

Oh, and thank goodness Princes Park is no longer a home venue, Geelong's record against both Hawthorn and Carlton there as an away side was lamentable for that 1964-2004 period.

Nope, I thoroughly enjoyed the QF and am looking forward to getting the victory pack just to watch that game (and Hawkins' goal!) again.

Interesting those figures.....

I despise Carltank...with a vengeance...shit supporters, arrogance unmatched, cheating liars propped up by the AFL...I still say Silvagni ducked into it :cool:

I respect the Squarks though....love the way they play and you just have to admire a few of their players. I am a Hodge fan, which might come back to bite me from a few people here....and an unabashed admirer of Franklin...just a class act.

YEs, they have a few flog supporters ( but dont we all ) especially the three stooges.... ( MitchellMadness, Tazhawk and Shepp ) who stir things up with brainless posts, but I enjoy watching Hawthorn play when the heats on and they get pipped by two points.!!

I think most of their supporters grit their tee th when they play us too...but there is a mutual respect I believe.

The Tankers on the other hand.....may they be burned at the stake!

I'm surprised there hasn't been many mentions of St. Kilda (or none). I can't stand them. Never liked them before 2009 but some of the arrogant supporters that came out fo the woodwork that season. For a club that has enjoyed minimal success, it was odd hearing they had already won the premiership in July.

But agree with OP. Despise the Hawks.

Also find Carlton supporters the most clueless of the lot. Like the fan behind me this year saying that Bartel got charity free kicks because he was a Brownlow Medalist. I was left speechless.