Do Looks Really Count?

Originally posted by freo_fan

I completely agree, sometimes Ill like a guy at school and tell a friend and theyll say something like "what the hell dya see in him, hes fugly as!" but great personalitys do, to some extent, make average looking fellas rather good looking!

I have to say, I agree totally. I have said this very recently, but a guy HAS to have personality before I will even consider him. Looks aren't really a consideration for me. I like lookin at the hot ones :D but I will usually find them heaps boring. :D lol

I can only speak for myself, but I can honestly say, that if looks are what count, then for me, it's the opposite to the norm.

I tend to be attracted to guys that other people would call ugly, but only after I know their personality.
Goodlooking guys tend to be ****heads. That's what I reckon anyway.

I usually start likin guys after I've known them for a while and they're definately not the best-looking guys I know - they're the average, "cute", scruffy guys.

If that all makes any sense.

And Macca, it's LIBRANS not librians.:cool:

This reminds me of my ex flatmate - who had some kind of wierd jealousy thing - she was convinced that guys were only attracted to me because I had long hair.

Now let me see that means I'm butt ugly and a total b!tch????

Nah - doubt it - I may not be the "best looking" chick around, and I may not have the best body around - HOWEVER, I can always find a guy to keep me entertained - why - because I can hold a bloody good conversation :D

If you ask me - personality will get you EVERYWHERE in life (I've got no complaints so far) ;)

I just can't stand overweight women. It's just unacceptable, there is no reason for anyone to be overweight. I can put up with someone who is ugly (to a certain extent) as long as they're not fat. I've heard all the excuses under the sun about why people are fat, it's all crap! I had a shoulder reco in April last year and have had heaps of complications with it, I only started weights again in May this year, but I never let myself get overweight. It's easy to do when ur sitting around all day, but u've gotta restrict urself! Anyone who wants tips on how to lose weight: stop eating fatty foods, and bloody well exercise!!!!

yeh and my 117 kilo friend wonders why her (now ex) fiance got a boner over me...60 kilos lighter than her :rolleyes: She thinks he's in love with me now coz of that but like he said to me he wants to just be able to fit his arms round someone and actually feel he can reach the other side of them!

Wow! Celebrities! Collingwood's star fitness coaches and motivators have posted to the boards :D

Originally posted by mantis

I think you will find that male Librans don't like using that name because of a certain female product. :D

Oi ... that's one reason to like the name!!! :p:p BLOODY ripper!!! ;)

Oh, I dunno. Most of life seems to be about getting into women, and then being discarded.

I'd like to ask a separate question here to the ladies on Bigfooty, though related to the "Does looks count?" question.

"Does height count?" :D

I often hear women talk about how a guy needs to be tall, or at least taller than them. So would you females go out with a guy who was small in stature (not abnormally short) yet pretty good looking??

Personally, I think most guys don't worry about the height of women, though it seems important to the opposite sex (a generalisation I know). This I believe is extremely superficial, though I'd like everyone's thoughts on this subject. :)

Cheers

i for one am sick of being made guilty by jealous fat people. Today my 117 kilo friend rings up saying i am too provoking because of how i look. Well maybe i wish i coulda shoved those 2 blocks of chocolate down my trap with her on Sunday :mad: but i don't coz i care about myself.

I think looks only count to a certain extent. I for one am not going to go out with a braindead gorgeous guy, or a cute guy who is a total @$$hole. They have to be totally sweet and funny, that's what I reckon.
And yeah, I'd go out with a short guy. Height isn't a huge factor for me. I take it into account, but it doesn't bother me greatly.

Originally posted by ant
I often hear women talk about how a guy needs to be tall, or at least taller than them. So would you females go out with a guy who was small in stature (not abnormally short) yet pretty good looking??

I'd prefer a guy to be taller than me - 5'10"+, but thats not sayin I don't look at the spunky short guys. :)

um i think we realise they don't and sometimes we don't want them oo but i think they do....we can all say stuff that we believe in but sometimes we just do it without even noticing,,,

Well being 5'2, I haven't really encountered a guy shorter than me, so I can't answer that one, except to say, that perhaps if he was shorter than me, I might not be able to take him seriously. Yeek that sounds horrible.

*holds tongue, doesn't want to make any enemies*

Theres only so far looks can go so far ......
for a longterm girlfriend you've gotta look for someone you get along with really well, looks are a bonus.