Do you enjoy going out?

Im only 19 and even I agree with you. Im not super keen on the music but ill put up with that because some of my mates are into it and they specifically want to listen to it, but what really shits me are powertrip bouncers, pretentious girls and punch ons. I have no time for those 3 evils and they seem to be becoming more and more prominent

I definitely agree with the OP and most other posters. Melbourne CBD over the past 2 years or so has definitely become more filled with d*ckheads looking for a fight with anyone and everyone, and there seems to be more and more people in town generally on Friday and Saturday nights. So if I want to go out, it will usually be to mates' places or inner suburban pubs - the night is much more fun and you aren't sitting there for half the night, steam slowly building, thinking how much you want to belt those gelled-up, tight-panted, slogan-tshirt-wearing w***ers and their bimbo-esque high-pitched, constantly giggling companions.

I agree with many points in this thread, but I still do enjoy going out, whether it be in the city, locally, or a mates house.

I am not a fan of most nightclubs that play hardcore electro house shit, but I will go occasionally if some of my friends are going there. I enjoy going to bars more than anything.You don't have to worry about your ear drums exploding, listening to the same old mind-numbing hardcore shit. You can actually talk to and see your mates, while meeting girls who are a lot friendlier and willing to engage in a conversation. Girls at bars generally have their guard down a bit more than those slappers at nightclubs. I can't stand those pretentious ***** who think they are the better than you, just because they flirted with the bouncer on the way in, or have guys hanging off them. As for the guys, well you get ********s everywhere I suppose. The gym junkie metro **** at nightclubs, and the bogan trash at pubs and clubs.

Go out once a week. I get what people say, but **** it, just dont back down. ***** feed on that and it gives them more confidence. I never resort to fighting, but if someone said something that I didnt like, I'd tell them to **** off.

Too many ****wits, but why let them stop you?

I respect what you are saying, but that attitude will most likely get you knocked the f*** out one of these days, and this is a shame. I'm 20, have a close group of about 10 mates, a girlfriend, and enjoy rock music. So really, there is no need for me to go out to town anymore. Haven't been in any fights, and have only really witnessed 1 or 2, so I count myself lucky. The new thing that shits me is the dress codes. I wasn't allowed into a pub in the city because I had a 'hoodie' (yes it had a hood, but it was one of those really thin jackets) and 'sneakers' on ($120 adidas shoes which unfortunately for me, were white, and had laces). Luckily i used to work with one of the other security guards, so he let me in.

As many others have mentioned in this thread, highlights of my weekends involve drinking at home/mates place with my group of friends. I can't dance, and if i didn't have a girlfriend, i'd still have no chance of picking up at a club/bar. The best thing about drinking at home is just being able to hold decent (and ridiculously stupid) conversations with my mates without the blaring bass of hip hop music, which I don't really rate. Pizza for tea, start drinking at 7-8pm, watch the footy, drinking games, all the while laughing our asses off, and creating moments we will reminisce about in the coming weeks.
Then we all crash at 2-3am.

Going out to town is an experience I suppose everyone should have, but I for one have decided it is not the place for me. Having said that, I will still venture out with mates or for birthdays if that is what everyone else wants to do.

I've really only been out to the city twice, First time was to Crown and that was alright, only because I went with nothing and got shouted drinks all night.

The other time was for a mates party at a nightclub.. Wasn't to bad but..

really I couldn't be stuffed with crap like that.

Every now and then I'll go to the local, ok maybe once a month If that.

I would much prefer to get 'drunk' at home or at a mates house with my mates :)

And this is coming from a 19 yr old.

Violence isn't cool!

Last week me and my mates went to the pool hall, anyway my mate was carrying 3 beers in his hands and some guy decides to walk into him, deliberately. Now this mate usually doesn't mind a fight, so he came back to us saying blah blah and I'm like don't worry about it.

Later on my mate see's the guy walking so he walks into his path, guy tells him too move blah blah then he ends up saying sorry and that he was the tosser trying to start crap. 5 minutes later he is in another fight and gets ejected LMAO.

bye.

9 dollar beers and 50 dollar cab fares. Its good to go out now and thenm, but its getting less frequent, i still go out now and then, but im only 20 and ill go once every 6 weeks at most

I love spending time with mates who i dont see every week, but ild rather have a house party to be honest, bring a carton, fall asleep on some blokes couch, have a penis drawn on my forehead and drive home in the morning

And again, people see a bloke who's 6"3, 104 kilos long hair, and they think "fight!" i have no idea why. I never really bothered picking up either, i slept with a girl who had a boyfriend(went to her house she rented with boyfriend, awkward, lucky he wasnt there, and one i must of been blind drunk to have even got the idea

Nowdays me and my mates just catch up on saturday afternoons at the pub, arrive at 5 get drunk by 11, and leave when all the w***ers come out.

Plus ive got a girlfiend, why bother trolling for ass im not allowed?

I used to love it. I could go out, have a good time and drink way too much as I knew that I don't get violent or display any adverse tendencies.

In the past couple of years, on the time I do go out, Ive noticed that there is a more violent edge. Fights everywhere. ****wits marauding around.

Twice in the past month, Ive been walking in town at about 2am and noticed someone's T-shirt (the increasing number of w***ers have those t-shirts with messages on them, so its only natural that you will read some). Anyway both times, the jerkstains in white shoes and 4kgs of hair gel stopped me looking for a fight as i was reading his shirt. They took it as me eyeing them off for a fight. Both times I laughed them off. There just seem to be lots more blokes looking for fights.

is it just me or is there a higher proportion of w***ers at places these days? The guys who spend their every waking hour trying to impersonate Justin Timberlake. The girls whose mission appears to be obnoxious as possible with that incessant high pitched squeal everytime a song they know is played or they see one of their casual acquaintances.

I really just prefer to stay home these days. I don't really want to spend time with Timberlake impersonators anyway. And I no longer see the attraction in $7 beers and mind numbing 'music', or $60 taxi rides home or those shit nights where you have to stay out till 4am even though you wanted to go home at 10pm.

I'd much rather save my money, read a book, watch a doco, get trashed at home with friends.`

Im 24 and lots of people my age seem to be saying the same thing. They had fun going out the first few years, but now most places have been seen.

Your thoughts?

Totally agree, i would rather go to my friends house because when i go out i only want to speak to the people i'm with anyway, I never meet new people. This defeats the purpose of spending $7 on a beer because obviously the philosophy behind wasting your money like that is to be in a venue with the oppurtunity to meet new people.

I mean, it's fun to dress up sometimes for a friends birthday, but gone are the days i can be bothered doing it every weekend. It's boring and so am i. Give me a dvd and pizza anyday.

Feeling very ordinary after last night.

Found a very decent place to go - Industry Backpackers at the top of A'Beckett st in the city. Worked out it's cheaper to get a room there for the night ($16) than pay for a cab home, and I get a free meal and discount drinks included in it as well. Not to mention, if I was after it, it's the easiest place in the world to pick up.

Admittedly last night, stumbled up to my room about 2am, some guy wouldn't let me in, telling me it was full, I cracked the shits saying I'd paid for my bed, to let me in, or, and I quote, I'd burn the place down (ermmm, ok, the things you say when you've had half a dozen too many Jaegers). After a nice little argument that woke everyone up, I kinda realised I had the wrong room.

If I could stood under my own power at the time, it may have been embarassing.

G'day all, just thought i'd add my 2c to the equation..

I'm 24 and some of the shit I have had happen to me over the last year has been amazing. I'll give you the worst example.

Firstly, were at a mates place last Grand Final day. Smashing beers, enjoying a BBQ and each others company. Theres about 15 of us. Game finishes and the bloke whos house the do is at is over it by about 11pm, no complaints, hes not a big drinker and the handful of people that are left are pretty sauced.

So the remaining 4 of us decide to head out. Anyone in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne will know where we went, Dakota. For those of you that dont know it, its a rough as guts little nightclub in the outer suburbs. Its a bit of a joke if you go there but as everyone says, its handy and its open late. Saturdays they have an awesome cover band called Pean and I generally have a good time there, even if you have to put up with the standard all in brawl at some stage. Thankfully, Im usually not involved.

I will generally try to ignore the clown that is trying to pick a fight because, even tho I'm 6", 100kg, in pretty good shape and would probably flog the hero standing in front of me, I cant be bothered. I don't have anything to prove and to be honest, I don't want to ruin my night by either getting my nose broken by someone who can back it up or by the cavalry of bouncers throwing me out for breaking his.

Anyway, I'm on the dance floor, front and centre for this band. They play great tracks and really well and with a few beers in me, I love getting a bit vocal lyrically. So myself and another mate are out there perving on all the action and loving the job the bands doing on "The Pretender" when some clown bumps into me from behind. No dramas I think to myself, probably some bloke going to the dunny. No sooner have I finished thinking that when BAM it happens again, only this time, twice as hard.

I turn around and theres some bloke standing there eying me off as if to say "cmon mate, have a go". I stare at him for about 5 seconds and make it pretty clear by the look on my face that im not impressed with him and turn back around to watch the band.

BAM! This time its like the little bastard has taken a running hip and shoulder into the middle of my back and I take a few steps forward from the force of it. I turn around to see this clown standing where I was next to my mate whos got a bit of a "what the **** are you up to mate" look on his face. This is where it turns pear shaped.

I push the guy in the chest and and am half way through telling him where to go when the impact hits me. I didn't see it coming, and I had no idea what hit me. All I can do is stand there holding my face in my hands. My initial thought was "****, Iv just provoked the worlds best boxer and the next one is REALLY gonna hurt"..

So, I'm standing there with my face in my hands, wondering what the hell just happened and how much damage has been done while praying to god that another one doesn't land anytime soon. About a minute goes by and I take my hands away from my face and look up. By this time, I'v come to my senses because the initial blow dazed me a bit, and there is blood everywhere. My shirt looks like i have been stabbed and with the blood on my hands and my head pounding, it didn't take me all that long to figure out it was mine.

I look up and the first thing I see is a bouncer standing in front of me with a towel. He gives it to me and ushers me out the front of the club. I wipe the blood off myself and head outside only to be greeted by my friends. There are 3 of them. The bloke I was on the dance floor with, his girlfriend and another mate ill call John.

I walk outside and they are all asking me if I'm ok. All I can ask them in return was if my nose was broken, because jesus, it was sore. The mate I was on the dance floor with is standing there holding his broken glasses and nursing a very bruised cheek. His girlfriend is brushing glass off John who was at the bar when someone walked up from behind and smashed a bottle over his head. In what may or may not have been a related incident. I'm guessing it was.

Finally I found out what the **** happened on the dance floor. I shove this bloke who was bumping me and get halfway through telling him to piss off when his mate swings the bottle at me. It came from my left and because I was facing this other guy on my right, I didn't see it coming. This gutless piece of shit collects me in the face with a half full VB stubby that hes swung like Babe Ruth and proceeds to haul ass in the opposite direction.

While im standing there with my face in my hands, the bloke I shoved starts unloading on my mate. The band stops playing and calls security who come and break up my mate and this clown who are going toe-to-toe on the dance floor.

Im just glad the bottle didn't break. I have a scar under my left eyebrow and one across the bridge of my nose from where the ass end of the stubby landed. You can hardly notice them because the cuts where not all that deep, but Jesus, I'm lucky.

If this experience has taught me anything its that people don't think. Regardless of how big a bloke is, I would never, ever, hit him in the face with any form of weapon. This gutless little shit could have dropped me on my head with that and killed me. Be interesting to see how tough he is serving 15 years for manslaughter.

This episode hasn't stopped me going out and I still enjoy it. I'm still the same bloke I was before this happened but now I just keep my eyes peeled for anyone being a ********. Now I wouldn't push the bloke, I'd laugh in his face and move away.

Until society lets parents and police discipline these little assholes effectively, there will continue to be violence on our streets. If kids can grow up thinking that they have 'rights' and are not held accountable for their actions, who is really to blame? The clown that swung the bottle or his parents being told not to smack him one when he stepped out of line? Or the police who aren't allowed to smash him when he calls them "F****** Pigs" to impress his mates?

Go Go Gadget what do you expect at DAKOTA??!!! One of Melbourne's most notorious nightclubs located in Ringwood....

G'day all, just thought i'd add my 2c to the equation......

?

OH MY GOD:eek::eek:

Your story has made me angry. I HATE those guys, what a bunch of miserable, gutless, spiteful *****. To attack you unprovoked like that, they should die, i know that sounds harsh but they will never offer anything good to this world, they will only ever have a negative impact. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

As bad as your story is GoGoGadget, these sorts of people are found everywhere and not just in bars/clubs. You can't just avoid it by just not frequenting certain night spots.

I've seen it happen playing indoor soccer, where a bunch of fully sick heroes, who rock up with a huge posse & girlfriends in tow, think they need to show how tough they are.

Seen it happen at the football, where some drunk tries to challenge opposition supporters to fights if they so much as look at him after he's made racist or foul mouthed remarks (Richmond supporters seem to be the most eager to fight).

Hell, I've even got a friend who got bottled at Uni because he was shooting pool at the Uni bar and some guy didn't appreciate getting bumped while he took a shot.

GoGoGadget - they're a waste of life, never able to achieve anything in life, so they do stupid shit like that because it makes them feel like a man, even though they are the very essence of gutless.

Even though people like that are in the wrong, sometimes us 'normal' people have to use common sense and stop going places if you KNOW there's a good chance shit will happen. In a way, it's sort of giving in to the ****sticks, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. There's always something else you can do with your mates.

GoGoGadget - they're a waste of life, never able to achieve anything in life, so they do stupid shit like that because it makes them feel like a man, even though they are the very essence of gutless.

Even though people like that are in the wrong, sometimes us 'normal' people have to use common sense and stop going places if you KNOW there's a good chance shit will happen. In a way, it's sort of giving in to the ****sticks, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. There's always something else you can do with your mates.

I agree PK. Also, i think it's a great idea to try and avoid going to the places there is a fair chance these gutless ***** will be. Eventually they will catch on and start trying to get into the venues us normal people are at, then we catch on and find another place. They are low life scum.

I couldn't hurt a fly, even if I had the guts to, but yeah I feel the same "****ing kill those *****" emotion you do.

Sometimes I think the drinking age should be raised to 24.

In fact, I do think that.

The 18-23s would get it somehow, but at least you could regulate their behaviour at these places.

Big weekend.

-Work

-Finish reading my Gore Vidal novel.

-Chocolate shopping.

If I manage to get the shit kicked out of me, well that will just be unlucky.
Somebody could be hunting for double denim.

As for going out - was slightly possible after first child came out - now second has arrived - virtually impossible.

Matey!

How is the 2nd one going?

Most in your line of work are rat shit after undiluted cordial anyway :)
Champ - second one came out 3 weeks ago and going great guns. Off work til tommorrow for the last 3 weeks and have a serious case of cabin fever.

True I get the giggles thinking about a pint.

Champ - second one came out 3 weeks ago and going great guns. Off work til tommorrow for the last 3 weeks and have a serious case of cabin fever.

True I get the giggles thinking about a pint.

Glad to hear everything is going well :)

Now you can get back to robbing people of their earnings, for the purposes of capitalist whoredom.