do you find any other sport as entertaining as AFL Footy???

Rugby League without a doubt is the best footy code around. Followed closely by Union and Soccer.
I used to have a big interest in Aussie Rules but getting to like it less and less.
This being an AFL SITE of course people are going to nominate Aussie Rules.
However, its good to see some people on here have an interest other than Rules, because living in Melbourne, many aren't aware there are other sports around.
GO STORM

Hey footy is defiently my no 1 sport for the winter but i also love the basketball swimming tennis soccer.

Afl-Doggies
_Port and Freo

NBL __Victoria Titans
Soccer_ Leeds United
Tennis_Pat Rafter and the Scud
Swimming_ Thorpie,Hackett and Klim

But footys no 1 overall and the one i follow the most

alf, ok now that explains your slowness, port and collingwood fan ! oh my god !!!!!!!!! Dave Granger is a piece of trash too

------------------
Essendon - The greatest club with the greatest coach in the league ! Carlton- absolute hypocrites who accuse others of being cheats only for it to be found later that carlton are the "serial salary cap breachers" as quoted by our president, haha

Originally posted by Same Old's:
I think your exaggerating about how many teams relocated to other cities. There were only a handfull, really. There hasn't been a baseball team that has relocated to another market in over 30 years.

Baseball has more traditional teams than probably any other pro sport in the United States. You failed to mention the Cubs, WhiteSox, RedSox, Dodgers etc. It isn't just the Yankees.

Same Old's I totally agree there are more traditional teams than just the Yankees
I was using then as an example, on a world wide scale everybody knows who the Yankees are and their history is more richer than these other teams.
Magpie-Fletch I no expert but these teams moving in the 60s I would say it is because most of the teams were based in the north-east of the US and as populations grew in the west of the US and with air travel it made it easier to travel across the country so why no spread the teams throughout the country . You have to remember this comp is over 100 years old not like our AFL which is only 10 and didn't in the early 80s South Melbourne move to Sydney to expand the then VFL comp.

Originally posted by ant:
Footy's my main sport and definitely the most exciting. The Crows and Port Adelaide in the SANFL are my footy teams but I do follow other sports passionately. Some of my fav. teams include:

Ant what the hell is wrong with you, you can't support the Crows and Port(SANFL) you either a Port man or you follow the Crows because you know nothing about football but you can't be both. There has to be a law in place in SA that doesn't allow it, isn't there?
Did you ever got knocked on the head when you were younger?. I suggest you follow another team like Sturt, Norwood or Glenelg that would make more sense as us Port people don't want any traitors at Alberton.

Originally posted by ant:
Footy's my main sport and definitely the most exciting. The Crows and Port Adelaide in the SANFL are my footy teams but I do follow other sports passionately. Some of my fav. teams include:

Ant what the hell is wrong with you, you can't support the Crows and Port(SANFL) you either a Port man or you follow the Crows because you know nothing about football but you can't be both. There has to be a law in place in SA that doesn't allow it, isn't there?
Did you ever got knocked on the head when you were younger?. I suggest you follow another team like Sturt, Norwood or Glenelg that would make more sense as us Port people don't want any traitors at Alberton.

Originally posted by DIPPER:
Despite being English & a lifelong Arsenal supporter I love Australian Rules (especially Hawthorn) & to be honest with you if I had the choice of going to watch English Premier League football or the AFL then I would choose AFL,it seems to me that the game hasn't totally sold out to commercialism(although maybe it is on the way)

Not sure about that commercialism point, Dipper. I mean the actual football the player's use in games has a McDonald's logo on it. (However, they are not renewing their sponsorship for next season)

There arn't too many sports, that I know of, that have this type of commercialism.

& you don't have players there earning AUS$200k per week like u do over here.

You have to factor in the population difference between England or Australia, thus the telivision rights would be much bigger for the premier league.

Furthermore, the worldwide popularity of English Football gives the F.A. the opportunity to sell premier league rights to other countries, bringing in even more revenue for the league and clubs.

This is something Australian Football does not have, that being world-wide appeal.

All these factor's contribute to the higher salaries of English soccer players compared to Aussie Rules players over in Australia.

[This message has been edited by Same Old's (edited 30 December 2000).]

I was pushed into supporting Glenelg when I was younger by an uncle who took me to games, but after enduring a couple of losing grand finals (to the Magpies) I saw the light and became a Port supporter. I am South Australian though and when the Crows came into the AFL I decided to support them. I do dislike the Power intensely however, which is reasonably traditional.

Same Old's my point regarding a sellout to commercialism is more to do with the fact that it is relatively cheap & easy for people to attend AFL games whereas in England the cost is very high (aprrox £25 a ticket which is about AUS$70,& about £400/AUS$1100 for a season ticket)but that's if you can even get a ticket with most of the grounds being sold out for every game.The AFL seems to be more in touch with it's roots than Englsih soccer but ok we don't have logos on the ball thank god.
Cheers

Ah, but Dipper, we're catching up all the time.

Within a few years A.F.L. will be as expensive as Premier League is now. And tickets will get harder and harder to get as stadiums get smaller and smaller and the corporates continue to exert their influence.

Australian footy sold its soul about 25 years ago ... but it's only now that the full impact of that bargain with Mammon is being felt.

And it's going to just keep on getting worse.

------------------
**floreat pica**

yeah, afl is the best...

as much as i love nba and US mens collegiate basketball, nothing beats the thrill of watching the bombers go out to play.. hehehe...

QT.. about your post re the current state of the bulls... brand & artest, yeap, good... brand is already proven (20-10 in his rookie season.. a bit down this yr, but still among the top PF's in the east).. ron artest is promising.. ron mercer?? err.. he's just a frickin ball hog... he was like that at kentucky, and in boston... dont like him at all..hehe..

and, forget signing finley !! with all the money the bulls had, all the room under the salary cap, they couldnt get any of those top free agents!! (duncan, ghill, mcgrady, etc).... yeah, its finley's home.. but, i dont see him leaving dallas now, seeing how well they are going, the luxury of having mark cuban as an owner of the franchise..
smile.gif

the bulls shall continue to stink for another decade! (well, not as bad as washington.. haah)

Same Old's my point regarding a sellout to commercialism is more to do with the fact that it is relatively cheap & easy for people to attend AFL games whereas in England the cost is very high (aprrox £25 a ticket which is about AUS$70,& about £400/AUS$1100 for a season ticket)but that's if you can even get a ticket with most of the grounds being sold out for every game.The AFL seems to be more in touch with it's roots than Englsih soccer but ok we don't have logos on the ball thank god.
Cheers

How many people do the soccer stadiums hold?

Aussie Rules is no doubt the greatest game on earth, for all the reasons everyone has already stated. However, I also like our national game - cricket (both forms), rugby union (Go Wallabies) and top level swimming.

well,of course aussie rules rules

but after that i would have to go with
nhl: pittsburgh penguins...........lemieux is back (c:
baseball: cleveland indians
nfl: buffalo bills

Dee !!! How's ya goin' ???

Having played shitloads of both rules and rugby league, I love 'em both. I even enjoyed my two seasons of division-7 soccer .....

To watch .... definitely the hockeyroos (what's that game they play?), the netball girls, cricket (of course), the Canadiens and Blackhawks in the hockey league, All-Irish hurling (only irish or aussies would dare play this!), Gaelic's okay too, a little bit of gridiron is okay too.

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

Call me Norm. There isn't a sport that I won't have a look at, and in most major sports I do follow a team.

Yankee Basketball: LA Lakers
Yankee Football: Atlanta Falcons
Yankee Baseball: Atlanta Braves
Aussie Basketball: Canberra Capitals (Womens) & Canberra Cannons (Mens)
Rugby League: Parramatta Eels
Aussie Soccer: Parramatta Power
Pommie Soccer: Carlisle United & West Ham United
Italian Soccer: Fiorentina
French Soccer: Olympic Marseille
Spanish Soccer: Deportivo La Coruna

But nothing beats Aussie Rules and the Mighty Kangaroos.

hey people, i've noticed that heaps of you floow sports from other countries. don't you find that i little bit difficult? i mean, living in australia, and supporting a team in... america i think would be pretty hard, and still some of you support team from a number of diff. countries and sports. how do you do it???

------------------
I luv shane woewodin. and the mighty dees whether or not you like it!!!

Originally posted by dees*gal:
hey people, i've noticed that heaps of you floow sports from other countries. don't you find that i little bit difficult? i mean, living in australia, and supporting a team in... america i think would be pretty hard, and still some of you support team from a number of diff. countries and sports. how do you do it???

dees*gal,

they would follow the teams through television, specifically pay tv.

It's not like being there, but it's still alright.

do you find any other sport as entertaining as AFL Footy???