Does Australian Rules Need To change Its Name?

In the very early formative years there was "Victorian Rules" and "South Australian Rules" with the former winning out .Also it was called "Colonial Rules" and the British would play one game of rugger and one game of "football" when in Australia .But when things got organised and leagues were formed it was called football as in the VFA which is probably the oldest league in Australia and thus the world .The VFL broke away from the VFA and the rest is history .For a brief period it was called "Australasian Football" when NZ played what we know as AF .

By the way there is no "football" in NSWRL ,QRL or ARL and NRL .Understandably that's why it's called rugby League .

Originally posted by Brian
In the very early formative years there was "Victorian Rules" and "South Australian Rules" with the former winning out .Also it was called "Colonial Rules" and the British would play one game of rugger and one game of "football" when in Australia .But when things got organised and leagues were formed it was called football as in the VFA which is probably the oldest league in Australia and thus the world .The VFL broke away from the VFA and the rest is history .For a brief period it was called "Australasian Football" when NZ played what we know as AF .

By the way there is no "football" in NSWRL ,QRL or ARL and NRL .Understandably that's why it's called rugby League .
thanks for the history lesson (i wouldnt learn such things unless i logged onto BF), but still doesnt explain the term "australian rules" or "aussie rules" and its continued widespread use by players/coaches/commentators/fans today.

and your right, the word football is not part of those names - but nonetheless they are still football competitions, thus they are generally called "football" matches.

I still say it is up to the marketeers in each O/S country to rebrand the game to their market... for example: We call "Soccer" what is really named Association Football (NOT English Football, that is not now nor has ever been the sport's real official global name, and if you think it is then you'd better go tell FIFA about that). Just because we call it Soccer, and the Americans call it soccer, does not mean FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) suddenly must rename itself FIS (Federation Internationale de Soc-- oh, you get it by now.) Just because we call American Football "gridiron" that does not mean the NFL in America must suddenly rename itself the NGL. DO we get it? Are humans even trying to understand? Please, if you haven't sufficiently powered-up your brain, attempt to do so now. The answer to the question, "Does Australian Rules Need To Change Its Name"? is NO.

(Yeah, yeah, Australian Football, Victorian Rules Football, everybody whinge blah blah blah - beside the point. Real point is, we should continue calling it whatever we call it and if people need it changed for their market they can change it for their market.)

End Of.

Originally posted by Matt_TY
"Does Australian Rules Need To Change Its Name"? is NO.

(Yeah, yeah, Australian Football, Victorian Rules Football, everybody whinge blah blah blah - beside the point. Real point is, we should continue calling it whatever we call it and if people need it changed for their market they can change it for their market.)

End Of.

By this rationale your answer is actually yes they do not to change it dependent on location and situation.

No, by my logic, the official name of the game, Australian Rules Football (or whatever) does not need to change, just like the official names of soccer and gridiron (Association Football and American Football) do not need to change.

If the controlling Aussie Rules bodies of other countries feel a desire to market the game under a different name, that is their deal. But, if they do, then they muck around with what they want - in their country only - and the official name of the game remains unchanged.

My point is, this isn't even a topic we should be discussing in the Bigfooty AFL forum, it has no relevance to football in Australia because the official name of the game has no reason to ever change - if anything this is a topic for the forums at USFooty.com and other such international leagues. Get it?

Please? Please. Flick all the switches in your brain to "ON" before replying. Thankyou.

My point is, this isn't even a topic we should be discussing in the Bigfooty AFL forum, it has no relevance to football in Australia because the official name of the game has no reason to ever change - if anything this is a topic for the forums at USFooty.com and other such international leagues. Get it?

Please? Please. Flick all the switches in your brain to "ON" before replying. Thankyou.

Mate as previously discussed Aussie Rules is called simply AFL in NSW, QLD etc, hence the changing of the logo to the stylised "AFL" one, so even within Australia it is called different names. In traditional states : "I am playing footy" in non traditional kids are playing "AFL". Therefore this conversation is highly relevant to football within Australia.

It is an indictment on yourself that even with all switches flicked to ON you still could not see this basic point

I still say it is up to the marketeers in each O/S country to rebrand the game to their market... for example: We call "Soccer" what is really named Association Football (NOT English Football, that is not now nor has ever been the sport's real official global name, and if you think it is then you'd better go tell FIFA about that). Just because we call it Soccer, and the Americans call it soccer, does not mean FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) suddenly must rename itself FIS (Federation Internationale de Soc-- oh, you get it by now.) Just because we call American Football "gridiron" that does not mean the NFL in America must suddenly rename itself the NGL. DO we get it? Are humans even trying to understand? Please, if you haven't sufficiently powered-up your brain, attempt to do so now. The answer to the question, "Does Australian Rules Need To Change Its Name"? is NO.

End Of.
couldnt agree more. long may the southern states call it "football" and the northern states "aussie rules". as for overseas, who cares? its a uniquely australian game and i see nothing wrong with calling it australian rules or australian football or whatever each market wants to call it. some might even call it a game of AFL (which some of you are quick to point out is wrong), but so what?

"as previously discussed Aussie Rules is called simply AFL in NSW, QLD "

And that is incorrect . AFL is a league not a game .

As stated above there is absolutely no need to change the official name of traditional football inside Australia ,and it would help a lot if people actually used it instead the bad english version .And as above states , the debate really is about O/S or non traditional forms like 9s etc .

"as previously discussed Aussie Rules is called simply AFL in NSW, QLD "

And that is incorrect . AFL is a league not a game .

As stated above there is absolutely no need to change the official name of traditional football inside Australia ,and it would help a lot if people actually used it instead the bad english version .And as above states , the debate really is about O/S or non traditional forms like 9s etc .
hit and rum is spot on tho. in qld ppl say eg "im going to play AFL". obviously thats technically wrong, but thats the way it is.

the debate re the name of the game is relevant to all places foreign to the game, including overseas and nsw and qld.

But it doesn't mean the AFL has to change its name or the official name of the sport! Yeesh! Try to understand before one of us dies! If we in Melbourne suddenly decide to call both codes of rugby "Fish-Juggling", (as in fish-juggling union and fish-juggling league) if the VRU renames itself the VFJU, does that have any impact or implications whatsoever on the Australian Rugby Union, or Rugby Union worldwide? Does that mean the NRL should suddenly become the NFJL? Does that mean the Rugby World Cup suddenly becomes the Fish-Juggling World Cup? No, it damn well doesn't. And my point still holds. If Queensland wants to call it AFL or Rules (or, indeed Fish-Juggling) or whatever, then that's a matter for the Queensland AFL forums. Ditto for the NSWAFL forums. Or, even, the state league forums here. It is not the Aussie Rules-dominated state's business - I happen to know for a fact that I could not care in the slightest what the thugby states call our game, but I do know it's no reason for us to rename it as a sport in total.

Please? Just attempt some form of fuzzy understanding of my point at some stage before you next reply.

But it doesn't mean the AFL has to change its name or the official name of the sport! Yeesh! Try to understand before one of us dies! If we in Melbourne suddenly decide to call both codes of rugby "Fish-Juggling", (as in fish-juggling union and fish-juggling league) if the VRU renames itself the VFJU, does that have any impact or implications whatsoever on the Australian Rugby Union, or Rugby Union worldwide? Does that mean the NRL should suddenly become the NFJL? Does that mean the Rugby World Cup suddenly becomes the Fish-Juggling World Cup? No, it damn well doesn't. And my point still holds. If Queensland wants to call it AFL or Rules (or, indeed Fish-Juggling) or whatever, then that's a matter for the Queensland AFL forums. Ditto for the NSWAFL forums. Or, even, the state league forums here. It is not the Aussie Rules-dominated state's business - I happen to know for a fact that I could not care in the slightest what the thugby states call our game, but I do know it's no reason for us to rename it as a sport in total.

Please? Just attempt some form of fuzzy understanding of my point at some stage before you next reply.
couldnt agree more. if we choose to call the game "aerial ping pong" and say "im going to watch the ping pongers at the gabba" , then so be it.

"couldnt agree more. if we choose to call the game "aerial ping pong" and say "im going to watch the ping pongers at the gabba" , then so be it."

OK we choose to call it "Australian Football" .
So be it .
End of Story .
Finito ,fin .

"couldnt agree more. if we choose to call the game "aerial ping pong" and say "im going to watch the ping pongers at the gabba" , then so be it."

OK we choose to call it "Australian Football" .
So be it .
End of Story .
Finito ,fin .
exactly right brian. there is never going to be a universal name for the game. its going to depend on the region/state/city/country. nothing wrong with that from what i can see.

Originally posted by littleduck
NEWSFLASH FuManchu --> the thread is all about name changes for AR.

Fair dinkum............ and you've all been talking in circles and no-one is convincing anyone else either way. The truth is the game will be called different things in different places by different people. Or worse, different things in the same places, no matter what the AFL choose to call it (or what this forum cannot agree to.)

ARF

Originally posted by FuManchu
Fair dinkum............ and you've all been talking in circles and no-one is convincing anyone else either way. The truth is the game will be called different things in different places by different people. Or worse, different things in the same places, no matter what the AFL choose to call it (or what this forum cannot agree to.)

ARF
couldnt agree more.

Interestingly on "The Bill" on Ch 2 sat night one of the pommy cops asked another if he wanted to go to the "footy"so its not only being used in Australia to describe football.

Originally posted by Peter P
yeah the brits do call their football "footie" with an "ie" but nowhere near as often as Aussie Rules gets called "footy".
arguably league gets called "footy" in qld about as much as rules gets called "footy" in victoria.