Dogs can be beaten

the bummers less Lloyd and lucas had the Dogs on toast until a couple of hammies twanged at untimely moments that ultimately cost them...rewind the tape and review how they did and therein lies the answer to beating the dogs:thumbsu:
thats a good point, and yeah i dunno if they are able to shut our tall forwards down so lets hope.

the bummers less Lloyd and lucas had the Dogs on toast until a couple of hammies twanged at untimely moments that ultimately cost them...rewind the tape and review how they did and therein lies the answer to beating the dogs:thumbsu:

i reckon there is a message there BJ. You can add and not even a gig for Courtney Johns, so they went against the aints plan by nessecity and might have given others a lead. ;)

we have the pace to run with the bulldogs, we have a forward line that if it works together and for each other, can kick a big score, just as they did in WA , and our defence, imo, has been our plus this year. the 2 games we lost was not at the hand of our defence, but the skill errors and wrong decision making up the field.

my only concern is a/ can we recover from a WA trip , even with that new technology thing
b/ can we back up last weeks great performance
c/ can we play well at the dome
and d/ can our players play as a team again and work for each other

if we can do this, we wont just win, we will win easy

the way to beat us is midfield pressure and heaps of it. don't worry about trying to out run it's all in the contested footy and pressure.

i reckon there is a message there BJ. You can add and not even a gig for Courtney Johns, so they went against the aints plan by nessecity and might have given others a lead. ;)
The die was cast with the big fella heading up the ground last week ...

In the modern game ... do you think TW has finally realised that the contested mark is better served in the back half of the ground ?...;)

The die was cast with the big fella heading up the ground last week ...

In the modern game ... do you think TW has finally realised that the contested mark is better served in the back half of the ground ?...;)

LMAO...and he gets 500 large huh?..

Benny Gale reincarnated with a better motor and agility. His marks last week in the backline broke their hearts, it was as if the statement was made, and now you need to pass me you suckers..

Richo playing in the space across their HF line at the Dome, its like hiting a brick wall unless you go over the top and then Thursty steps in and foils and scrags and just ____s things up for the forward, with the plumber with his band of runners sweeping in and sweeping out and we are good to go . Not only that, he only has to run 30 ms and he is withing 50 of our goals. ____ing wake up TW!!!

Last week, no one to hold him down in depths of the FL, allowed to just go for a mark anywhere where he was, he was jumping around like he did when he first played. And he chimed in for 4 big ones, like WTF? if they dont cast the ____ing die then i give up. ;)

Match up's, match up's match up's
therein lies the key. With a good dose of pressure in the midfield.

yeah, but the key to this modern game is forward pressure. The more pressure you put on the backmen and keep the ball in your FL, the more time it gives our players down the ground to man up, ontop of the more chances the ball has of being spilled or miscued to a waiting tiger for a snap, or anything that leads to one. We might have jumped Freo from the start with the mids turning on the afterburners with the first bounce of the ball, but the whole FL was scragging and just doing anything to keep the ball in there. Stop their run out of the back line and we are good for take off.
Freo and the dogs play a similar style. We did against one we can do it against the other. ;)

LMAO...and he gets 500 large huh?..

Benny Gale reincarnated with a better motor and agility. His marks last week in the backline broke their hearts, it was as if the statement was made, and now you need to pass me you suckers..

Richo playing in the space across their HF line at the Dome, its like hiting a brick wall unless you go over the top and then Thursty steps in and foils and scrags and just ____s things up for the forward, with the plumber with his band of runners sweeping in and sweeping out and we are good to go . Not only that, he only has to run 30 ms and he is withing 50 of our goals. ____ing wake up TW!!!

Last week, no one to hold him down in depths of the FL, allowed to just go for a mark anywhere where he was, he was jumping around like he did when he first played. And he chimed in for 4 big ones, like WTF? if they dont cast the ____ing die then i give up. ;)
Cha Ching ... give the man a cigar

we have the pace to run with the bulldogs, we have a forward line that if it works together and for each other, can kick a big score, just as they did in WA , and our defence, imo, has been our plus this year. the 2 games we lost was not at the hand of our defence, but the skill errors and wrong decision making up the field.

my only concern is a/ can we recover from a WA trip , even with that new technology thing
b/ can we back up last weeks great performance
c/ can we play well at the dome
and d/ can our players play as a team again and work for each other

if we can do this, we wont just win, we will win easy

It wasn't skill which stuffed us up in rounds 2 and 3. It was poor forward set up. You don't lose skill one week and gain it the next. It's all about open forward line. We have been underperforming for 10 years because we don't allow ourselves to kick goals by crowding the forward line :cool:

I think you will find our poor option i the forward kine is the problem. Or are youjust trying to lay it all on TW.

If you get a chance, watch a tape of one of the Dogs games this year (maybe not the 2nd/3rd Qtrs of the Essendon game :o ). I think you'll get a rude awakening as to what is required to compete. I watched the Freo game and while it was one of the better Tiger performances I've seen for some time, I think your intensity, skill level, fitness and hardness will need to improve markedly. You'll find yourselves out of depth, time will tell how far. Best of luck :thumbsu:

Doggies are a really good team and we don't really match up on them to well tbh.

While we have some pretty decent tall backs, our best small defenders like Newman, King and Raines are better at driving the ball out of the D50 rather then actually defending their man. Match-ups against doggies fowards like Welsh, Hahn, Aker, Murphy and Johnson are pretty tough for us...

Plus we have a 6 day break coming back from Perth while the Doggies have 8 after playing in Melbourne last week.

Their only real defeciencies are the backs IMO. Lake, Morris, etc are all solid defenders but Richo and Polak need to have big games on the mosquito fleet that is the Western Bulldogs

Not many people have talked about Browny the past couple of days.

He was up for it in the Freo game from the first bounce, and he's going to star against the Dogs.

Browny is going to lead us to a win this week.

I'm looking forward to going to the game to judge our progress.
This is the game that counts. Not that joke team Freo.

If the dogs run us ragged, switch us to death, and run in waves, and we can't combat it.......nothing's changed.
If we can stay with them closely, win, lose or draw, we can then look for what we did better than last year.
Then, only then, we can gauge, if and where we have improved.

Supporter wishful thinking won't help us.
Go and watch the game impartially if possible.

I'm looking forward to going to the game to judge our progress.
This is the game that counts. Not that joke team Freo.

If the dogs run us ragged, switch us to death, and run in waves, and we can't combat it.......nothing's changed.
If we can stay with them closely, win, lose or draw, we can then look for what we did better than last year.
Then, only then, we can gauge, if and where we have improved.

Supporter wishful thinking won't help us.
Go and watch the game impartially if possible.

My thoughts exactly. Sunday was promising but we need to do it against a top 4 side for em to get too excited. The Bullies will belt us if we turn it over regularly as their best form of attack is the counter attack. As you say , if we stay close win, lose or draw, then there has been clear progress. Its gonna be babysteps here so cant get ahead of ourselves,