Dogs can be beaten

I think we can hold their forwards in welsh and Johnson and our own front half will give them some curry...we need to at least break even in the middle, thats where it will be won and lost...If simmo & Patto can repeat sunday's effort we'll have our best foot forward....:thumbsu:

One thing is certain - the game will be played at pace and I firmly believe we have the fitness to run with the dogs. My concern is backing up after a trip to WA, so hopefully we can overcome this, because we have the personel to take it up to the doggies. I've never felt comfortable with the boys playing at docklands. We need more space. Keep the youngsters in and give them the lattitude to run, and guidance from the experienced boys will see us really hit our straps.

Come on Tiges! Two on the trot would be very pleasant!

One thing is certain - the game will be played at pace and I firmly believe we have the fitness to run with the dogs. My concern is backing up after a trip to WA, !

was having a look at stats and noticed that alot of our mids only played 70% with 108 interchanges ...so the players were used sparingly in the heat..lets hope we can back it up

Stop the dogs run and we will win

Yes that is true although doing it for 4 quarters seems near impossible. We have way to many quality players that can play midfield and play it well. We can score 5 goals in the space of 10 minutes and once were on we are hot. :thumbsu:

was having a look at stats and noticed that alot of our mids only played 70% with 108 interchanges ...so the players were used sparingly in the heat..lets hope we can back it up

no probs man...TW had them wearing the you beaut new recovery space suits there and back..Lets hope he has the AFL world following his foot steps, just like thy did with the footies after the game...;)

Yes that is true although doing it for 4 quarters seems near impossible. We have way to many quality players that can play midfield and play it well. We can score 5 goals in the space of 10 minutes and once were on we are hot. :thumbsu:

keep going partner you'll have us all convinced soon enough that the Dogs are the second coming:p...we'll let our actions do the talking and leave the trash talk to the experts:thumbsu:

Clearances are going to be very important.

I hope we tag Griffen with White. White has the pace to match him. Foley head to head on Cooney. If they put Boyd on Foley then Johnson onto Cooney (not as a tagger).

Thursfield onto Welsh
Schulz on Minson
Moore on Murphy
Bowden/McGuane on Johnson

Who takes Hahn and Akermanis?

With West still out, Cross is the man who will be our biggest danger in the middle, he's their engine room clearance machine, plus he tackles so strongly you almost wish he'd been first to the ball.

His major flaw is now and again being a bit loose with his disposal, so we need to pressure him as much as possible (easier said than done) and be ready to capitalise on any loose stuff.

I don't think Cooney is 100% right, so we need to make sure he gets a thorough workout.

With West still out, Cross is the man who will be our biggest danger in the middle, he's their engine room clearance machine, plus he tackles so strongly you almost wish he'd been first to the ball.

His major flaw is now and again being a bit loose with his disposal, so we need to pressure him as much as possible (easier said than done) and be ready to capitalise on any loose stuff.

I don't think Cooney is 100% right, so we need to make sure he gets a thorough workout.
Good point - Cross has the best 4th quarter stats out of any midfielder due to his endurance, however his foot skills under pressure, whilst not bad (unlike a couple of years ago), are certainly not in the class of Cooney, Griffen, Gilbee etc.

West out & Johnson playing hurt will help you guys, just wondering who you will match up on Hahn? He has only played one poor game this year, and with the focus on Murphy, Welsh & Johnno, Hahn can slip under the radar. He is 100kgs so strength is his major asset, and he has been known to kick the tough ones & spray the set shots like any good Queenslander should so he often gets the "pressure kicks" into teh F50.

Like the doggies they have been very good to watch great fighting spirit ,in saying that just hope Tigers are competitive on sunday Bulldogs will be short priced favorites an deserve to be in saying that if Tigers play with the same sort of commitment they did last weekend against the shockers they will be in with a chance,but this game is a big step up the mountain for us as the doggies are a hell of a lot better side than the shockers ..GO TIGERS.:thumbsu:

Good point - Cross has the best 4th quarter stats out of any midfielder due to his endurance, however his foot skills under pressure, whilst not bad (unlike a couple of years ago), are certainly not in the class of Cooney, Griffen, Gilbee etc.

West out & Johnson playing hurt will help you guys, just wondering who you will match up on Hahn? He has only played one poor game this year, and with the focus on Murphy, Welsh & Johnno, Hahn can slip under the radar. He is 100kgs so strength is his major asset, and he has been known to kick the tough ones & spray the set shots like any good Queenslander should so he often gets the "pressure kicks" into teh F50.

Is he a fast mover? But more then likely we will probably go:

Schultz on Hahn: Schultz matches up for him for hieght and size (193cm, 95kg) Schultzy also has pretty good pace. Schultz should be able to win the aerial battles however Hahn would be dangerous at ground level

Thursty on Welsh: Thursty has awesome pace and should be able to stick with the smaller Welsh.

Moore on Murphy: They are both a similar size, Moore maybe a little bigger. I think Moore will like this match-up as normally he has to fight out of his size devision

Bowden on Johnno: I fully expect Bowden for McGuane to come in and play a blinder. McGuane was probably our worst last week, but importantly he doesn't really have an obvious match-up

Even a three goal loss will be a win for us on Sunday; If we can match a side that is similar in pace, but has more seasoned players then I'll be extremely happy.

Wasn't trying to troll, just stating that both sides had their share of injuries.

The whole thread of ... Dogs only just beat bombers .... so that means we are good enough blah blah is highly dubious.

We beat Carlton,
Carlton dumped on Collingwood.
We were thrashed by Collingwood,

So does that tell us anything about how we should have gone against collingwood or who is better?

It's very simple, we deal with the midfield pressure applied by most good teams and we will beat anyone bar Geelong. We don't, we lose.

That maybe the case but your side can also have 5 goals kicked against it in the space of 10 minutes as well.

The Dogs are favourites for this game and rightly so. We are 4 zip and playing some really good footy at the moment.

Having said that, anyone who thinks that this game will be a forgone conclusion is delusional and really doesn't understand the game very much.

These are the sorts of games that the bulldogs have tended to drop over the years and this week is no different, coupled with a team that has hit their straps makes for a very tight contest.

The tiges have come off a sensational win in the west and played some amazing footy. Your ball movement was on song and the structural changes you made with Richo and Polak seemed to have really clicked. Tambo got heaps of it, tuck and shultz were lively, Foley is a ball winning freak and Browny is capable of turning any game on its head.

We have a pretty crafty forward line, we are the heaviest scoring team in the league behind geelong and we're ranked 3rd for contested marks inside fifty, so your young backline will have to be switched on from go to wo.

I have no doubt that this will be a close game and TW will have a good game plan to combat our run and carry. The question will centre around how you guys deal with the contested ball, this is something we've improved out of sight, so if the tiges chose to clog it up and play stoppage football, we are ranked 2nd in the league for contested footy.

I think this will be a close game, I think we will win, but I like the way you guys played on the weekend and I believe you will give a fantastic contest. (Although I hope I'm wrong and we win by 100 points:D)

The whole thread of ... Dogs only just beat bombers .... so that means we are good enough blah blah is highly dubious.

We beat Carlton,
Carlton dumped on Collingwood.
We were thrashed by Collingwood,

So does that tell us anything about how we should have gone against collingwood or who is better?

It's very simple, we deal with the midfield pressure applied by most good teams and we will beat anyone bar Geelong. We don't, we lose.

Well said, different teams match up differently. Also you're the correct the game will be one in the midfield, the other area is the run of half back. If we are giving latitude to run of half back then game over.

Is he a fast mover? But more then likely we will probably go:

Schultz on Hahn: Schultz matches up for him for hieght and size (193cm, 95kg) Schultzy also has pretty good pace. Schultz should be able to win the aerial battles however Hahn would be dangerous at ground level

Thursty on Welsh: Thursty has awesome pace and should be able to stick with the smaller Welsh.

Moore on Murphy: They are both a similar size, Moore maybe a little bigger. I think Moore will like this match-up as normally he has to fight out of his size devision

Bowden on Johnno: I fully expect Bowden for McGuane to come in and play a blinder. McGuane was probably our worst last week, but importantly he doesn't really have an obvious match-up
Cheers RG, Hahn isn;t lightening quick, his strength over the ball & low centre of gravity are his main assets.

Given the match-ups above, who gets Minson who plays 80% of the time out of the goal square? If Richo plays up the ground a bit I'd assume Polak would be playing forward as he presents perhaps a difficult match-up for us.

Cheers RG, Hahn isn;t lightening quick, his strength over the ball & low centre of gravity are his main assets.

Given the match-ups above, who gets Minson who plays 80% of the time out of the goal square? If Richo plays up the ground a bit I'd assume Polak would be playing forward as he presents perhaps a difficult match-up for us.

Yer but it is also unlikely that you will play Murphy, Welsh, Hahn, Minson and Johnson all in the foward line at the same time. So obvioulsy if Murphy or Johnson has a spell in the midfield or if Minson goes in the ruck then a Bowden, Thursty etc will mix and match.

If we have to we can settle for putting a looser checking player in McMohan or Newman on one of your small fowards who don't start well. I also expect Kingy to play on Hill or Akermanis when they both play foward

I'm liking the confidence from the Tigers fans in this thread. Havn't seen it from the yellow and black for a while.

I think you have a chance but you won't win by tryiing to beat us at our own game like Essendon attempted and are paying for now. Beating us is simple to work out but not so simple to execute: Don't give us any time or space. Do this and you will win by five goals.

Alot of people were tipping the Dogs to be in the bottom half this year, some the bottom 4. They've played good footy so far but they're not at the level that it'll take a miracle to beat them. We have all the tools to do it, we just have to back up last weeks style and effort. I'm tipping a high scoring, free-flowing game, should be great to watch!

the way to beat us is midfield pressure and heaps of it. don't worry about trying to out run it's all in the contested footy and pressure.

This bloke knows his side. The dogs are lightweights for sure, Foley will have a field day in the hardball gets column!!! No West so the General has been knocked out already, take out the Sergeant Major in Cooney and we will win. Oh, and pleeeeeease don't let Big Will Mincing get near it lik elast week.....he dominated in the last!!!

i reckon whoever gets out in front by 20pts first will win. Both Richmond and the doggies have had slow starts to matches so whoever has the break at quarter/half time will win...

The key thing: Doggies can return from deficits, richmond cant...

Well I don't really think that is the case Tigers4premiers... as the Bulldogs came back from 37 points down against the Saints. If put in that position again hopefully for your sake the Tigers won't fade away like the Saints did.

Yer but it is also unlikely that you will play Murphy, Welsh, Hahn, Minson and Johnson all in the foward line at the same time. So obvioulsy if Murphy or Johnson has a spell in the midfield or if Minson goes in the ruck then a Bowden, Thursty etc will mix and match.

That is our forward line. Where would you expect them to play? :confused: Murph doesnt play midfield and Johno is carrying an injury so will probably play out of a pocket.