Votes: 2 3.6%

Dazb86

I tend to do a lot of things solo that people (particuarly female friends) find strange like travelling, eating at a restaurant or going to the movies. They say they'd be mortified doing things by themselves.

Is it actually strange to do these things solo or are they just crazy?

Not strange at all. Why not go to see a movie/band/place etc just because you don't have anyone to go with who shares that common interest.

I'd say it's quite unhealthy to need someone with you whenever you do something.

My last week in New York after exchange was spent on my own, I absolutely loved it. I didn't have to compromise on anything and did exactly what I wanted.

Travelled a fair bit solo and enjoy going to the footy by myself. Not scared of eating alone either, and I'm definitely a fan of having a solo pint or two when knocking off some uni work, or opportunistically seeing a nice pub after your errands are done on a nice day.

Gabe Tostee used to go out clubbing and 'pulling' too, which is a good sign that's relatively psychotic.

I prefer solo travel and generally plan my trips like that, although often I'll visit friends in different cities abroad.
Going to bars / pubs alone is ok too although if you go to the same places you generally bump into people you know anyway.

I tend to like "different" kinds of movies to my friends so will often go solo. It's not like you talk during the movie or anything.
I mean, if you find a good book do you read it alone, or wait for a friend to come around and read it out aloud together?

Same with gigs. Am quite happy to pop into a pub for a beer solo. Have done the restaurant thing solo: that is a little bit harder but no problem if you have something to read.

It's good to share experiences with friends but geez if you cannot do stuff alone then i suggest that is a comfort zone you need to break out of.

Movies, sports, and music (particularly metal) are all enjoyable events alone, even though the latter two can still involve socialising with people around you, so not proper alone.

Several times when younger I would go to a pub alone, but always ran in to someone to hang with, so I guess that never really counted. Drank much more though than when arriving with company.

I probably only shop by myself.

Wouldn't generally go out for dinner or to the movies by myself. I don't have a big aversion to my own company, I suppose it's just never how I've done things. I do occaisionally go to a local cafe for a quick sandwich and coffee by myself though.

Don't have a problem with it.

image_400x400.jpg

I couldn't imagine shopping with other people, then again I'm a bloke. It seems incredibly weird for two male friends to go out shopping together.

Yet so many do in the current day. Just fellas going out to Ed Harry's together for some shopping. Actually I go to the suit shop with mates, but that is the suit shop and we used to do some modeling for them.

One of life's greatest joys is traveling alone, you really are the master of your own destiny and it's very hard to replicate that feeling of adventure that comes from arriving in some foreign land with little to no grasp of the local language and quickly flipping through the Lonely Planet guide in order to find a bed before the sun goes down. Also allows a certain amount of guilt-free flexibility in your travels.
Got the shits? Stay an extra day and rest up.
Feel like partying in some random backwater for two days talking rubbish to some random Rastafarians about your quest for Utopia? No probs.

Going shopping at a place like Bunnings or a music/sports store with mates isn't all that strange, going clothes shopping with mates is bit odd though.

This.

If you are shopping for something 'blokey' then having other blokes around is normal. I'd help a mate pick out a TV or look at a car etc. but I'd be bored shitless watching him try on shoes.

Going to the movies alone should be culturally acceptable. You sit in the dark and don't talk for two hours, it's not a group activity.

One of life's greatest joys is traveling alone, you really are the master of your own destiny and it's very hard to replicate that feeling of adventure that comes from arriving in some foreign land with little to no grasp of the local language and quickly flipping through the Lonely Planet guide in order to find a bed before the sun goes down. Also allows a certain amount of guilt-free flexibility in your travels.
Got the shits? Stay an extra day and rest up.
Feel like partying in some random backwater for two days talking rubbish to some random Rastafarians about your quest for Utopia? No probs.

I did that in Thailand, I was going to stop over there for a couple of weeks with a mate of mine on our way back from the UK but he pulled out of it so I ended up just going there on my own which I was a bit reluctant about but I met a heap of great people backpacking around the islands and had a great time. I enjoyed it so much I extended my stay there for a few weeks and saw a few other islands I didn't originally plan on seeing which I probably wouldn't have done if my mate had've gone with me.

That being said sometimes travelling on your own can suck if you don't meet any other people and you get stuck by yourself, it's not all beer and skittles.

I'm fine going to the movies (day session) and shopping alone, the footy on the odd occasion too. Wouldn't exactly go out for a meal though by myself..

Yeah going to the movies on your own during the day is OK, I wouldn't do that at night though as that would feel a bit awkward.