Don't want, (or need) to start a new thread - still want to post it though

Believe it or not, I've been riding on a few local trips in the last week and i've had a t-shirt and shorts on. In fact the firestorm generates so much heat, its practically useless in city traffic in the middle of summer. The only bitch that i have with the bike.

i used to ride out towards warrandyte when i was a kid and go across the back of ringwood to mooroolbark where my sister lived at the time. It was like a country ride in those days. It was actually how I taught myself to ride the bike - in those days you just needed to pass the theory and purchase an L plate.

Warrandyte (home) via Jumping creek road through Lilydale and out towards Healesville is a great ride, you wouldn't know you're only 40km out from the CBD. It's still a semi-rural environment.

I've always had a soft spot for the VTR, such pretty bike and a very competent machine. I ride a naked road bike (Triumph Street Triple R 765) as it has geometry that's a little more upright, but still semi-aggressive. I had a KTM Super Duke R before that, it was just too much bike at times. Very highly strung and abrupt in it's delivery. Awesome fun when in the mood.

The Triumph has swappable throttle maps, so when I feel like cruising and can turn everything down a notch.

Warrandyte (home) via Jumping creek road through Lilydale and out towards Healesville is a great ride, you wouldn't know you're only 40km out from the CBD. It's still a semi-rural environment.

The Triumph has swappable throttle maps, so when I feel like cruising and can turn everything down a notch.

jumping creek rings a bell. I was looking a lot at the triumphs 3 or 4 years back when i bought the w800, including downsizing to the 675 and selling the vtr. But I decided to get something easier on the back and keep the vtr, so i looked at the new (at the time) water cooled triumph twins. But they jacked the price up too much for the bonneville, so i compromised with the w800 which is also a vertical twin air cooled much like the 865. I must admit that I still browse the bonnevilles and even harley sportsters with the idea of owning one before i chuck it in, but in reality my brain can't compute decisions at speed any more so going fast on a bigger bike is becoming an unrealistic pipedream - much like a st. kilda premiership.

The Triumph classic models are priced with a bit of premium. The W800 would be very similar in geometry and IMO is just as pretty.

Of all the classic retro models currently on the market I think I prefer the BMW R Nine T. A buddy has one and he has customised it to the Nth; it's gorgeous.

I am just reading about that woman who raised $50m for the fire service and all this crap about where the money will go. I cant understand why people would give her the cash when the actual fire services and other mobs directly involved in caring for individuals, have also got their own campaigns. Are people stupid or are they just silly?
The Triumph classic models are priced with a bit of premium. The W800 would be very similar in geometry and IMO is just as pretty.

Of all the classic retro models currently on the market I think I prefer the BMW R Nine T. A buddy has one and he has customised it to the Nth; it's gorgeous.

yes i was looking at BmWs too. Moto guzzi V7 racer chrome extravaganzas. Ducati scramblers. Lots of aimless browsing.

If you ever wondered who or what makes decisions in this world, you only have to consider the WA gov't decision not to allow AFL footballers to freely move across the state border, but the Federal gov't's dept of Agriculture has knowingly allowed a live animal ship to dock in Fremantle with 3 of the crew showing signs of the virus. Why allow the ship to dock? Well there are 3 basic reasons. 1. Money. 2. Money 3. Money.

Incredibly a fremantle port authority pilot was allowed on the ship to assist it to dock..... and he is now in quarantine. Evidently, the Port Authority only learnt of the virus situation when the ship got into dock...

It is not the WA Premier's fault. However, it is laughable that he is stopping the movement of AFL footballers in and out of WA, and yet foreign nationals can arrive down at WA's main port having notified the Feds that men with the virus were on board.

I just remembered there were two more reasons why this situation occurred.... 4. Money 5. Money

And to those that say that the farmers need to be able to sell their produce....well consider the hundreds of thousands of people who lost their jobs supposedly to stop the spread of the virus. I suggest that if you ever need some assistance from an MP, you slip in a $50 and you might at least get their attention.

If you ever wondered who or what makes decisions in this world, you only have to consider the WA gov't decision not to allow AFL footballers to freely move across the state border, but the Federal gov't's dept of Agriculture has knowingly allowed a live animal ship to dock in Fremantle with 3 of the crew showing signs of the virus. Why allow the ship to dock? Well there are 3 basic reasons. 1. Money. 2. Money 3. Money.

Incredibly a fremantle port authority pilot was allowed on the ship to assist it to dock..... and he is now in quarantine. Evidently, the Port Authority only learnt of the virus situation when the ship got into dock...

It is not the WA Premier's fault. However, it is laughable that he is stopping the movement of AFL footballers in and out of WA, and yet foreign nationals can arrive down at WA's main port having notified the Feds that men with the virus were on board.

I just remembered there were two more reasons why this situation occurred.... 4. Money 5. Money

And to those that say that the farmers need to be able to sell their produce....well consider the hundreds of thousands of people who lost their jobs supposedly to stop the spread of the virus. I suggest that if you ever need some assistance from an MP, you slip in a $50 and you might at least get their attention.
Similarly at some stage 67000 or so Chinese students plus 40000 or so from elsewhere will enter the country but I and any other Australian citizen will not be permitted to leave. There are two reasons for this - 1. money 2. Over the top nannying.

well you can't be sure they will come. China might choose to send them to a more compliant western-orientated english speaking country...... oh yeh...they'll be coming.

Evidently, we're not allowed to go overseas because we're needed here to go on holidays and spend money.

I'm not sure I get your nannying quip. I havent been to uni for a few years.

Not sure Eddie should be asking questions and requesting for information about the Steven stabbing. He seems to enjoy making a rod for his own back.

I think people need to separate Eddie the media jock from Eddie the Pies president.

well i've bought new motorbikes but never a new car or demo... so i'm no expert but I see the advertisements and sometimes the demo price is quite a bit more than new car price... as i said before probably equal to on-road and delivery. I always thought that they were promoting it as a plus to be a demo because it's been driven around and sorted out.

I just put a cx5 into the search engine of carsales.com. Picked GT model and ranked per price. Interesting the range of prices.

I think you'll find that is more to do with the options already fitted to the demo. In my experience, demo's of equal standing will always be cheaper than a new car equivalent.

I actually bought my current BT50 as the dealership managers car, Had 12,000 km's on it when I bought it. Saved about $10k on the new price. Cost me flight to Adelaide from Melbourne and a drive home but for $10k I can live with that. The $10k covered installing bull-bar, driving lights, canopy, duel battery system, roof racks, secondary fuel filtration, and cruise, and still left change.

I'm very much stating the obvious here, but the comments section of the club's Facebook page is a swamp to be avoided at all costs.

Someone got legitimately upset at a poster calling Lynden Dunn "Dunny", despite it being his nickname and also the name Bucks used when announcing his 2020 contract. I suggested that we could call him Toilet instead and was called a dipstick and a bully. Both of those accusations are probably true, but I'm not sure I'll ever recover from the pain! I then wished the big meanie a good day, said Floreat Pica and it was apparently deleted.

It was a harrowing experience, but also a lesson learnt.

Anyway, I hope you're all doing well. :)

I think you'll find that is more to do with the options already fitted to the demo. In my experience, demo's of equal standing will always be cheaper than a new car equivalent.

I actually bought my current BT50 as the dealership managers car, Had 12,000 km's on it when I bought it. Saved about $10k on the new price. Cost me flight to Adelaide from Melbourne and a drive home but for $10k I can live with that. The $10k covered installing bull-bar, driving lights, canopy, duel battery system, roof racks, secondary fuel filtration, and cruise, and still left change.
Yep, I priced a few demo's at one stage and they weren't that cheap, but they had everything that opened and closed fitted.

Its'a bit weird, but I just searched the CX5 and there were heaps and I excluded any more than 1000Km and ranked them at price... australia wide on carsales. And there was a huge gap in prices. As you said, there were some cars under $40K and the on road price in victoria was something like $54K... and cars seem to have $4k less on road costs in queensland. Same model GT I think it was ..maybe different options but i was surprised by the variation

Yes you might be right with extras on the demo but some dealers seem to make out that they're speeshial. Good idea with the car, but do you have to take it over the pits to get the state rego changed?

Some of the gov't charges are outrageous. I sometimes wonder how much money they get from semi-trailers from the various taxes, when they are the vehicles that destroy the roads....and then someone like me with an addiction to buying bikes has to pay untold charges to rego them all.

I think people need to separate Eddie the media jock from Eddie the Pies president.
Easier said than done. McGuire's comments always bring unwanted attention to the club.

I think he's increasingly blurred the lines between his media commitments and being president of the club.

Easier said than done. McGuire's comments always bring unwanted attention to the club.

I think he's increasingly blurred the lines between his media commitments and being president of the club.

we just have to be patient until the presidency is transferred to his sons...

Its'a bit weird, but I just searched the CX5 and there were heaps and I excluded any more than 1000Km and ranked them at price... australia wide on carsales. And there was a huge gap in prices. As you said, there were some cars under $40K and the on road price in victoria was something like $54K... and cars seem to have $4k less on road costs in queensland. Same model GT I think it was ..maybe different options but i was surprised by the variation

Yes you might be right with extras on the demo but some dealers seem to make out that they're speeshial. Good idea with the car, but do you have to take it over the pits to get the state rego changed?

Some of the gov't charges are outrageous. I sometimes wonder how much money they get from semi-trailers from the various taxes, when they are the vehicles that destroy the roads....and then someone like me with an addiction to buying bikes has to pay untold charges to rego them all.

I got a pre-purchase independent inspection which cost me a couple of hundred bucks. Report came back that the car was immaculate. I already knew that the manager tower a motorbike trailer bush on weekends so wasn't sure what to expect so was very happy with the report.

Yeah, had to get a RWC to change the rego from SA to Vic but again, only a couple of hundred bucks.

Yeah, gov't certainly like their fair share. I used to object to the TAC charges until a god daughter had an accident and ended up being flown to Melbourne and into ICU for a couple of weeks. Don't begrudge a cent of it now.

Nah, I think others have done that for him (including the Cats CEO or president or whatever he is) and I think people make it harder than it has to be. If he's on the radio doing his normal shows, he's the media jock and entitled to make comment on anything relevant to his show, if he's standing out front of the Holden Centre doing an interview about Collingwood, he's el presidento and needs to toe the line.

Breath...... breath.......breath.....
Thats what I’ve got to do while reading this story, such was my anger.
Anger at the fact that the responsible Government department failed to act for years, despite the evidence provided by the neighbour.
People MUST lose their jobs over this. They are proven to be incompetent.
Yes, I know, this might be a “nest” topic, but I feel a larger audiencei must know what is happening.

Anger at the fact that the responsible Government department failed to act for years, despite the evidence provided by the neighbour.
Yes, I know, this might be a “nest” topic, but I feel a larger Audi must know what is happening.
It's a 'free for all sort' of thread. If there was any football of worth, you might need to search for nesting materials elsewhere, but I see no harm inserting your article here. It's a bit reminiscent of the NDiS worker leaving the cerebral palsy woman in a chair for a year. Some acts, too many, are inexplicably cruel, committed by people able to live with consciences that would consume the life force of decent people.

That was a very disturbing article. It shocks me that not one person from that government department thought to check. Was it laziness, incompetence, or criminal negligence?

Yes, I know, this might be a “nest” topic, but I feel a larger audiencei must know what is happening.

Did anyone say succession plan?

People talk about replacing leaders like Eddie and █████, but the problem is always the alternatives. Craig Kelly seems to get a mention but the cupboard is bare. Eddie's sons look a real chance to me on the way the world seems to work these days. At least they're Pie supporters. Our esteemed vice president Waislitz is either a luke warm carlton supporter or he really couldnt give a stuff.

I thought it would have been queensland without reading the story. Its state taxes are lower and it invests less in support services as a result. Plus parents dont want intrusion from gov't.

Without appearing glib, a generation of aboriginal kids were taken from their parents "for their own good".

And do you punish the woman next door for not trying hard enough? Or the gov't officer taking her call and interpreting the regulations about what constitutes mistreatment?

p.s having said that, you wonder why there's a gov't dept when things like this happen

if you're finding donald █████ hard to take, here is far more unacceptable american