Doughty a Tiger?

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony

Its really like the Perrie-Croad trade, you trade for potential.. Fioras a bit skinny but that can be easily fixed over summer with some dedication.

He's had three year to show how dedicated he is.

NEXT!

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
It doesn't adress our needs and IMHO Doughty is more versatile than Fiora

I'm not a huge wrap for Fiora but I don't see how you could think Doughty is more versatile.

If Doughty wasn't pigeonholed and one dimensional he'd probably get more games.

The deal wouldnt happen anyway because I doubt Richmond could be fooled into doing it.

Fioras a good prospect, something the crows need or else the big tumble down will occur in a few years when all our key players hit over 30.

Originally posted by Port01
I'm not a huge wrap for Fiora but I don't see how you could think Doughty is more versatile.

If Doughty wasn't pigeonholed and one dimensional he'd probably get more games.

That's a fair comment.

Doughty's biggest problem this year is that there are other players at Adelaide who play in his favourite position on the wing, these being Begley, Reilly, Massie as well as changing mid-fielders there.

Because he has been pigeonholed as being essentially a wingman, and we have better on-ballers, he has struggled to play on a regular basis after a very good season last year.

I still wouldn't trade for Fiora though because I think Doughty is actually a better footballer than him.

As I've said repeatedly - key tall defender and forward plus marking ruckman - these are the only 3 types we should be thinking about either by trade or draft.

OMG - I am waiting for Matts reply to this one!!

I would only trade Doughty for something reasonable - certainly not Ben Holland - not after the way he stuffed us around 2 years ago.

K
xx

Originally posted by ant
Hey, this is a bit harsh mate, Doughty may be a very average footballer but he seems like a nice enough guy.

LOL that was a typo.

Low pick... Doughty is a good player and deserves to get his chance and a move to a club like Richmond, Carlton etc will help him develop as a footballer.

But at the Crows we have way too many midfielders, wingers and we need to trade some for young talent.

Originally posted by Blues_Girl
Matt would hang himself. Doughty for Holland would be his worst nightmare! :D

Oooh poor Matt. I don't think he has to worry about this particular trade cause I don't think the Crows would be interested in Holland. I don't think the AFC would be interested in a person with such a suspect character - mind you there was Angwin! I don't reckon they would fall for it again.

k
xx

Originally posted by lozstar
he could come in handy for a laugh when he has a dummy spit..

but yeah, i'm joking.. dont even think dogga should be traded!

The dummy spits at both ends of the ground would be funny!

Bass at one end

Richo at the other

LOL

K
xx

Originally posted by bionicsasquach
what don't you like about Doughty?

His opportunities that Ayres has given him during the year.

I love the guy! :) To me, he's the comeback kid! :) after his shocking wrist and O.P. injuries, he managed to play every game last year and played them very well! There was a couple of games last year that he really lifted and helped our side either get to victory or to a respectable margin (one of the showdowns last year was an example of what great potential he has!!)! He is a wingman, but can also play a variety of positions. Even though he hasn't been given alot of senior games this year, he has still proven that he is a vital player for the South Adelaides footy side and works his butt off!
He's a great guy, on and off the field. A real team player! :)

I don't want him to go! :( Already lost Bicks next year, lost Kane Johnson the year before (Still :( about that), I don't wanna see Dogga go too!

BUT if he does go, at least he'll have Kane over there to help him settle in!

Originally posted by bionicsasquach
So as you said Doughty had a great year last year. what went wrong? why did he fall out of favour?

Not so much out of favour as leapfrogged.

As I said earlier

"Doughty's biggest problem this year is that there are other players at Adelaide who play in his favourite position on the wing, these being Begley, Reilly, Massie as well as changing mid-fielders there"

Originally posted by AngelEyes
lost Kane Johnson the year before (Still :( about that
Was Johnno liked in Adelaide? I got the opinion they thought he was soft, and didn't know he was liked so much until I read what was on this board.

Too many midfielders....or in other words; too many high reputation midfielders that would've only been dropped through injury. :) The emergence of Begley and Reilly didnt help either.

Originally posted by macca23
"Doughty's biggest problem this year is that there are other players at Adelaide who play in his favourite position on the wing, these being Begley, Reilly, Massie as well as changing mid-fielders there"
With the exception of begley though, all of those players were there last year aswell/