Dowler's 1st Game for the Year

A servicable game, no worse that Mitch Thorp vs the tigers. The kid appeared a little over-awed early on (anyone would standing Archer) but as the game opened up, particularly in the last quarter he had more of an impact. Seriously if you are looking for excuses hawk fans ask why it takes us 40+ possessions per goal. Then in the last quarter when all is lost we kick it to the top of the square too one on one contests and we score goals. Dowler being on the end of a couple. By the way was Dixon playing today, must have been standing in the shadow of the stand?

He's slow, weak and thick as a brick.(inside information)
Two words, Trade bait.

Yeah, I'm sure that Brown, Tredrea, Loyd, Carey, .... gee I could go on - Buddy(?) are real smarties that Dowler would be envious of their intelligence.

As for the trade thing - you're fool if you think he's worth actually trading. I mean what would we get for him? Practically nothing, and that's based on your short superficial analysis. It would be one of the most ridiculous decision if we didn't give him more time, to develop and indicate what he may end up being.

I hope you've just written that on the emotion of disappointment, and not seriously thought out.

Boyle is so important, and he must be rushed back. Buddy and Mitchell as well. Play Thorp only if Buddy doesn't come up.

This board beggars belief sometimes ... so many people talk up our youngsters as if each of them will be a star from day one.

ffs, give them some time.

I thought he did ok for his 3rd game.There were about 15 that were worse than him today and they all have a heap of experience.Players such as-Smith,Crawf,Dixon,Young,Ladson,Croad,Roughy,Birch,Brown,Gilham,Sewell,
Campbell.Our experienced players let us down today,not the young blokes.

I thought he did ok for his 3rd game.There were about 15 that were worse than him today and they all have a heap of experience.Players such as-Smith,Crawf,Dixon,Young,Ladson,Croad,Roughy,Birch,Brown,Gilham,Sewell,

Birchall? of course, the 19 year old does have a wealth of experience, and really should have done better. His 15 kicks, 9 handballs and 7 marks really let us down. :rolleyes:

I wont argue too many of the other names you've taken the time to mention, but fair dinkum, Grant Birchall played his typical solid game once again, same can't be said of many others sadly.

The only forward with any strength was Croadie and he got it enough. Dowler needs a heap more muscle. No use being aggresive if you cannot back it up.

He kicked poorly today but that seemed like a team plan.

cheeseman mentioned Birch.

i'd like to add Young,Roughy,Gilham and Sewell

only because you say these players all have heaps of experience

i wouldn't say any of them have heaps of experience

Gee I wish I was as "allegedly" thick as B1.

Then I would be getting
$60K per annum + the opportunity to earn significantly more;
+ match payments
+ bonus payments for every group of 5 senior games or more
+ spend time doing what I would like to do
+ travel interstate during the season and overseas during the preseason staying at fully paid for accomodation including meals & transport;
+ endorsements
+ the fame of being on national TV, radio and print media
+ if I type his name into Google I get page after page of B1 details

Ok so he may not be able to discuss macro economic theory with Pete Costello or a John Brumby... but he still has time, he's only 19.

So, like I say, if you think he's thick, please, place your own comparison on this thread so we can all see, discuss and compare.

Personally had the pleasure of meeting Beau on several occassions. Thankfully so far hasnt become the --- could say **** head but maybe thats too harsh -- of some of the more senior group -- Polite, good firm hand shake, good height up close, big smile, geniune sort of young man, 1 who I would easily let 1 of my daughters go out with. Doesnt have the steely resolve of a Luke Hodge but will get there.

Finally I glad he kicked a couple of goals, gets that monkey off his back and allows him to move on.

Well done Beau on a good first game for 2007.

Well done Rusty Hawk..................... your summary has a very reassuring edge to it, and yeah Beau kicking a couple will simply show the lad that he can do it. Boyle and Dowler from the woodwork of '07. Go the MIGHTY HAWKS

showed a few good signs yesterday that should do wonders for his confidence. lead and used the space well, where poor delivery let him and the team down. in the 3rd qtr laid a smother n backed up straight away with a strong tackle. once hes able to find a consistency at that level hell give us another option. hopefully yesterday has given him the boost to go back to BH and up the ante a bit.

Dowlers game was excelent for a debut game this year and hes kiked 2 goals agains the team thats second on the ladder now thats a good game. I really liked the way he did hard running and was taking kicks and marks on the wing then next you see him in the goal square kicking goals hes really gunna turn into a gun for us. I love the goal he kicked and snaped over the shoulder and reminded me of the goal that Dunstall kicked on Douwll in the grand final. Pelchin and Calrkos defenetely picked us up another 10 year player for us.

Thorp must be a Superstar ...i cant believe the way some people have been talking about him...correct me if i am wrong ...he has played 1 game and did what most 1st gamers do...had a go but did very little...

I hope he ends up been a superstar but what did he do that was so different to Beau this week?

Amazing..

Great Point Here. Dowlers game wasn't much different to Thorps first game but perhaps had a little more of the pill. Looks to lack the confidence of a Thorp but still a good long term prospect for us.

Similar outcry to Little. Forwards only play as good as the supply. Lets face the supply was tottally butchered today.

I could run quicker than that pr*ck, seriously his efforts were crapola....especially the one in the middle where the Roo's kicked a goal 3rd quarter maybe....trade him to Richmond and we'll use on of their picks...DUD :thumbsd:

NO FREAKIN WAY.
The goals were easy peasy and a matter of right place right time.
I think we will never see him ever again! Not with Buddy, Roughy, Boyler, Thorpy and Willow in the side.
He's slow, weak and thick as a brick.(inside information)
Two words, Trade bait.

Wrong. Great faith in the young fella...:thumbsd:

I could run quicker than that pr*ck, seriously his efforts were crapola....especially the one in the middle where the Roo's kicked a goal 3rd quarter maybe....trade him to Richmond and we'll use on of their picks...DUD :thumbsd:

Thorp played a little worse, as pointed out above, so looks like hes the trade bait...:thumbsu:

Get off the hater bandwagon fool...

Thorp played a little worse, as pointed out above, so looks like hes the trade bait...:thumbsu:

Gotta be careful, you don't want to question Thorp's ability in any way. Half the people of the hawk board want to marry him.

In all seriousness though after watching the game for the second time(well in between watching le tour de france) I thought pretty much the same of Dowler. Same as I thought of Boyle last year. Pretty good game, needs to get more of the ball and go alot harder at the footy. IMO Boyle was soft at the contest last year,same as Dowler this year, it can all be about confidence coming back from injurys.

Illnino this is forum for Hawks fans/members to speak their minds, if you don't like it....Tough t***ies Sheila....I reiterate, he has the turning circle of a Mack truck....and I peronsally think he will go no where....

PS - Did I say I hated him, NO, I called him a DUD..:thumbsu: much like your comments :thumbsd:

Dowler just doesn't look like an AFL footballer YET. Seems slow and soft. He did a couple of things that make me think may make it and you just don't know how much stronger and faster he will be when he has fully recovered from the broken pelvis. It takes two years to recover from a broken leg so we will have to wait 3 years till any educated decision can be made about his long term future. When Franklin, Boyle and Thorp are fit he should go back to BH, get another preseason in, get bigger, stronger, faster and a bit of confidence. 2008 will be his time to show us what he can to.

The mindless Dowler hater's are still about then?

I thought he improved as the game progressed. A pity for Beau that the 4th quarter didn't continue, he looked like he was actually getting some confidence.

He needs some confidence in his set shot kicking though. Supposedly a very good set shot.

Plenty more beef too.

To be honest I was a little surprised he played. I've got him marked down as a keeper, so would have given Matt Little another game to try and show something, as he's probably got his neck on the chopper.

cheeseman mentioned Birch.

i'd like to add Young,Roughy,Gilham and Sewell

only because you say these players all have heaps of experience

i wouldn't say any of them have heaps of experience
They all have enough games excluding Gilham to not make the mistakes they do.

As I've said already, it would be as stupid as yourself to trade him. What would you really expect in return? I reckon they might be lucky to get a 2nd rounder, and do you expect to definitely get a better kp player than Dowler?

Numnut. It just would be purely done on emotion, and not on logic. Where would we be, if we had somone like you making decision for our club. We'd be like Carlton, collecting wooden spoons without the excuse of losing draft picks and wouldn't have a rich cardboard king to get us out of the toilet...... we'd be flushed out of the competion.

Have the decency to think things through. Sure, Dowler is disappointing for a top 10 pick, but then there have been others who have taken a while to mature.
Three examples from the 2002 draft:
- Mackie for Geelong, was attacked all the time for being crap, yet this year he's one of their best.
- Goddard was a dud no 1 pick doing little, yet last year has come good.
- Hamish McIntosh is one of the best ruckmen this year, yet was doing nothing until now.

A rush of blood, would've lead all clubs to lose out, yet they stayed patient.

Since when has a team made a gain, by using their top 10 pick, and then trading the player a couple years later?
Please, I'm just dying to know.

Looks slow as i think he is adjusting to the speed of the game.

He will get more intensity with more matches he plays.

Must stay in next week...Dixon to the magoos permanently