Draft Day Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter CHBench

I'll state the obvious downside - if we got fabulous players because of the draft, EVERYBODY got fabulous players because of the draft. Still, very happy with that.

And CHBench, you are an absolute dead set legend for all your hard work putting this stuff on. Have you considered looking for a career in Footy/STK when you're old enough? Seriously, mate, call up the Saints and use your threads as proof of your ability - you're a Beveridge in the making.

... And if anybody makes a stupid comment about Bench's gender and her appropriateness for a footy job, the door's THAT way...!

Is Bench really a girl??

I can understand us getting Begley now. He is not a key position back, more a running player off the half back. Well I think that will be the plan anyway.
It makes sense, especially with Dempster out for part of the season and he plays on smalls. The recruiting of Ray and Begley gives us some depth in the backline to play on smalls, meaning we can free up Goddard and Gram into our midfield. So by recruiting these guys we are still improving our midfield.

I must admit it is warming to me having Hudghton, Fisher and Maguire to play on talls, raph and Gilbo to play on mediums and Ray, Begley, Dempster to play on smalls. This releases Goddard and Gram. Good for depth. It is growing on me.

One problem is, from watching Begley, he often turns it over by foot. From watching the lions i couldnt help but cringe everytime he gets the ball, so that is what he will have to work on if he wants to be running out of defence!
Everyone seems to have forgotten about Bakes, he's a great small backman/tagger and will be like a new recruit this year. Apparently after the year he had last year next season cant come quick enough for him.
Every side says they're rapt with who they got in the draft but I must admit I like what we've gone for. The jurys still out with Colm Begley but I'll give him a chance. Looks like we have gone for a couple of players with a bit of s#!t in them, which is pleasing.

Not a bad get by Emma Quayle (predictions) - picked the top 13 bar Adelaide.

Bit worried about a 17yo whose already had a reco. Suggests that Woody Allen is not where the Saints want him to be (they would be competing for a spot?).

BTW - did they do peripheral vision testing on him? Don't want him bumping into Kosi do we!!!

History shows that pick number 13 is a very successful one. In fact, It's the best pick outside the top three.

Lets hope history continues. :)

It looks like St.kilda did alright. Then again, You could argue most clubs did rather well, as this seems a very strong draft. A good result with the picks available.

hey good work on drafting colm begley, btw its pronounced column
he is a small defender and could add a lot to your side quickly, as he can play a close-checking role, releasing guys like goddard gram etc into the midfield.
also glad he didnt go to collingwood
you guys look like you cleaned up pretty well with your picks eh

I'm pretty happy with this one, though I still have some concerns about what we will do without Max.
Jarred Allen was no early pick , and based on his performance so far we would be foolish to put all our eggs in that basket ( Not saying that he won't be good, jsut that we don't know that he will be ). Similarly in the rucks, with two drafts and two rookies we should end up with what we need.
The good thing with key position players is that, if they are half good and we end up with a surplus they will be tradeable. ( And Gold Coast will be trading their picks ).

And CHBench, you are an absolute dead set legend for all your hard work putting this stuff on. Have you considered looking for a career in Footy/STK when you're old enough? Seriously, mate, call up the Saints and use your threads as proof of your ability - you're a Beveridge in the making.

... And if anybody makes a stupid comment about Bench's gender and her appropriateness for a footy job, the door's THAT way...!

Haha thanks Percy.
I'm no scout, i just know how to sit on my arse, read 2nd hand infomation and watch youtube. :)

FWIW it would be awesome to get a job in the AFL, i'll fill up the drink bottles if it meant working there. :o

dan0z i take it you missed the social club thread. :p

Back to the topic. Interesting to read that Peake thinks Lynch is ready to go and that we should enjoy immediate improvement next season.

I'd expect Lynch and Heyne to debut next year at some point, with Colm Begley playing quite a few games.
Cahill would be a little way off, as would Stanley. Peake doesn't expect too much from Smith in 09.

Saints make Lynch's day

By Mic Cullen 5:35 PM Sat 29 November, 2008

ONE OF the great things about draft day is when a kid gets drafted by the club he's supported all his life, and that's the case this year with St Kilda's first pick Tom Lynch.
"I'm ecstatic, I'm stoked, I'm very pleased to be going to the Saints – I'm just over the moon," he told afl.com.au.
"I go for St Kilda, so I'm one of the lucky boys that gets to play for the club they love, so hopefully I can get down there and enjoy training next week."
Lynch seems almost dazed at the good fortune to be picked up by the team he supports, and couldn't name a player he was most looking forward to training or playing with.
"I don't really know what to think at the moment, I've just been drafted, but I'm just excited to get down there.
The AFL redheads are led by Geelong premiership player Cameron Ling, and Lynch is proud to bolster the ranks.
"Hopefully they would be [glad to have another redhead in the competition] – got to do the redheads proud."

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=70478

I reckon he could give Ling a run for his money. Genuinely seems excited which is nice to see.

Looking back, what are peoples thoughts on the Farren Ray trade? Good or Bad? Jordan Roughead was picked up with the selection they recieved.

Haha thanks Percy.
I'm no scout, i just know how to sit on my arse, read 2nd hand infomation and watch youtube. :)

FWIW it would be awesome to get a job in the AFL, i'll fill up the drink bottles if it meant working there. :o

dan0z i take it you missed the social club thread. :p

Back to the topic. Interesting to read that Peake thinks Lynch is ready to go and that we should enjoy immeadeate improvement next season.

I'd expect Lynch and Heyne to debut next year at some point, with Colm Begley playing quite a few games.
Cahill would be a little way off, as would Stanley. Peake doesn't expect too much from Smith in 09.

Social club thread? nO one invited me.. :p

Im glad we went for quik forward/ kp guys instead of gorilla type players.
I hope this pays off in a few years when we unearth the next Buddy Franklin..

I'm pretty happy. Stanley was the inevitable ruckman, nice to hear we got one with a bit of mongrel about him. Surprised Heyne slid, nice pick-up.

Just a tad concerned about what we didn't take. No key backs, despite Max having two years left in an absolute best-case scenario. Passed on Trengove. And I would've liked to see us take Rockliff

Max has stated that 2009 will be his last year.

y y no carrol guys y he would have been of value y do we stuff players around ie cousins and carroll cut frm his contract to train with us and bang we stuf them around.

all clubs do it. all clubs invite players to train without giving them any clue whether they will be drafted. Look at hawthorn who have 20 -30 extra players training with them!

Lynch can play both ends of the ground can't he? But yeah I think Trengove might have been a wiser choice at that pick, although time will tell.

I guess the club must be pretty confident about Goose coming back then though, which is a great sign :thumbsu:

I did say absolute best case scenario. I doubt I'll truly believe that until list lodgements next year (and even then might ridiculously hold out hope until after the drafts)

yep, came from his own mouth:p

my highlight of draft day was hearing Nick on the phone to Tom Lynch last night as they both screamed the Saints song into the phone:p

he's already a sainter through and through!

This is great the hear!! Nothing like a bit of passion for the club before the ink's even dried on a contract :cool:

Didn't know where to post it but here will do.
Just looking at Colin Wiseby's top 40 draft rankings. He's got:
7. LYNCH, Tom (13 STK)
Ahead of Hartlett, Ziebell, Hurley & Vickery

23. SMITH, Alistair (62 STK)
Ahead of Sidebottom, Trengove and Schoenmakers

38. HEYNE, Nicholas (48 STK)

40. CAHILL, Paul (74 STK)

Surprised to see he ranks Smith so highly. Same with Lynch, especially ahead of Hartlett.
I wouldn't be too dissapointed if that's how things pan out. ;)