List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Just not a fan.

I don't see the positives in quite the same vein as some of you, and I think his improvements may well crumble under real pressure. I don't really see this 'line-breaking speed' that people bang on about either.

He'll probably go on to play 300 games, win a Norm and multiple premierships and make me look a right flog though, who knows!
Either way I'll back you're opinion in ;)

#daddydontpicknospuds #gresh

I saw Matho play in both years pre draft and I've likewise seen SPP play in both years and there are some pretty big differences between their attributes and the way they go about it.

Matho plays mostly inside and can rack up plenty of the footy, but lacks speed and a tank, whereas SPP plays more across HF or HB and is not the type who accumulates a lot of the footy, like a Matho will, but unlike Matho, he has really good endurance and linebreaking speed. He is more the type who will get less of the pill, but make more of an impact per disposal and be more likely to make game-breaking/high-impact plays.

As such, the one that I always think of when wanting a comparison for SPP is Mav Weller, but possibly a better version (reaching good heights a lot earlier than Mav did and possibly with a higher ceiling and more versatility). Both have a really good tank and explosive speed, but don't really rack up a lot of the footy (hence not playing midfield) and prior to the last year or so Mav's kicking was likewise a real issue.

love your post ARR. i agree entirely on your call on matho

your post has made me think gringo might be confusing my post. is gringo referring to SPP or rotham? as my post that he quoted, was referring to rotham not SPP

i think rotham is a natural HBF but could turn possibly into a third tall and maybe a winger. he's more roberton than fyfe.

i agree on your call on SPP, he's a HFF who might be able to transition into the midfield. just my opinion but he reminds me of dustin martin. i think he has a bit more attacking flair than say mav which you covered in your post. SPP has an uncanny knack of kicking the impossible goal. i cant see SPP slotting in at half back though

I reckon he's the type who will be good to have in your team in finals. Will break games open by busting through packs and breaking a line with his run.

Is also meant to have excellent leadership qualities. I believe he captained Australia in the AIS U17's or something, so that would be a bonus.
Hes a quality kid. Ive heard some of the draft central crew (not barrels) say he has bad character, which couldnt be further from the truth.

I get why barrels isnt keen on him though

I agree with you though ARR hes the type of player that could win a game off his own boot. When he turns it on hes absolutely amazing and does it all. But when he's cold he's no where to be seen.

Despite what we have on the list the best available seem to be mostly inside mids.

I hope I'm wrong , but I'm not convinced that Dunstan will ever be a better player than... for example Brock McLean.
Our team has a dismal record at winning contested possessions, and while Steele and Stevens may help I don't mind searching for someone who we think may be very very good at it.
To me, despite being only the same height as Dion Prestia, I'd love to get Fisher. There seems to be too much to like about him.
Otherwise Drew was very highly regarded despite iffy kicking skills. If he ended up an elite ball winner , the kicking is not as important.

Here's what I'd like...

Gallucci
Fisher

mid time :cool:

Last years draft brought a lot of surprises. Tucker, Balic, Mathieson & Bonner potential top 10-20 picks went 25-40 ish. No doubt similar will happen this year with clubs rating draftees differently.

I can just see a Simpkin, Berry, Venables, ect type being avail at 23 & possibly one of them or similar talent being avail at 36.

I'm actually really looking forward to the draft to see who slides.

Sydney, Bombers & Lions with 4 picks before our 23.

Doggies will be bang on with their 18. Florent.

Sydney only draft non-academy superstars in the 3rd and 4th rounds. Scharenberg. Inside midfielder to mix things up.

Essendon surely go after a KPF that Caleb Daniel couldn't put to sleep. Battle.

Lions bare on resources probably go off the Big Footy Phantom drafts. Venables & Clarke.

Simpkin with our first and hope Fisher slides?

Unless there is a stand out play-making defender.

Last years draft brought a lot of surprises. Tucker, Balic, Mathieson & Bonner potential top 10-20 picks went 25-40 ish. No doubt similar will happen this year with clubs rating draftees differently.

I can just see a Simpkin, Berry, Venables, ect type being avail at 23 & possibly one of them or similar talent being avail at 36.

I'm actually really looking forward to the draft to see who slides.
Apparently Dogs are keen on Simpkin, be surprised if his still available after their pick

Just not a fan.

I don't see the positives in quite the same vein as some of you, and I think his improvements may well crumble under real pressure. I don't really see this 'line-breaking speed' that people bang on about either.

He'll probably go on to play 300 games, win a Norm and multiple premierships and make me look a right flog though, who knows!
Thank you. Although I respectfully disagree, I appreciate your insights.

I just think SPP has that competitive instinct, which will help him find a place in the AFL (even if he turns out to be a somewhat limited footballer).

Sydney, Bombers & Lions with 4 picks before our 23.

Doggies will be bang on with their 18. Florent.

Sydney only draft non-academy superstars in the 3rd and 4th rounds. Scharenberg. Inside midfielder to mix things up.

Essendon surely go after a KPF that Caleb Daniel couldn't put to sleep. Battle.

Lions bare on resources probably go off the Big Footy Phantom drafts. Venables & Clarke.

Simpkin with our first and hope Fisher slides?

Unless there is a stand out play-making defender.
Port downgraded to a couple of picks in the teens.

Hopefully they reach on Hayward and Scharenberg.

What do we reckon about Willem sauce Drew?

r0_0_3456_5191_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

With 23 and 36.
Its a tough one in terms of what do you draft. Yes, the old saying is draft the best player.

But I have a feeling 23 and 36 will be a mid and a key defender because I think Brown will only last 2 seasons max.
23 - could possibly get a Griffin Logue as a slider, Brennan Cox highly rated KPD from SA
36 - J. Scharenberg extremely underrated/J. Graham. Possible to be available.

We land either of these players we leave the 2016 trade/draft period thieves.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-22/in-the-gun-every-clubs-top-draft-target

Pick 36: Elliott Himmelberg has been a little off the radar after suffering a leg injury mid-season, but before that he was showing good signs as a developing tall. The younger brother of GWS academy pick-up Harrison, Himmelberg and his family shifted from NSW to Queensland in the past 12 months meaning he is in the open draft pool. St Kilda could look at the 196cm versatile tall to add to their group of young key backs.

Around the mark: Liam Baker, Jonty Scharenberg, Bailey Morrish​

Not sure why we'd take another tall?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-22/in-the-gun-every-clubs-top-draft-target

Pick 36: Elliott Himmelberg has been a little off the radar after suffering a leg injury mid-season, but before that he was showing good signs as a developing tall. The younger brother of GWS academy pick-up Harrison, Himmelberg and his family shifted from NSW to Queensland in the past 12 months meaning he is in the open draft pool. St Kilda could look at the 196cm versatile tall to add to their group of young key backs.

Around the mark: Liam Baker, Jonty Scharenberg, Bailey Morrish​

Not sure why we'd take another tall?

why not?
A developing KPD sounds an option to me....
Brown will not be here long. We have have two `projects' in Goddard and Coughlan but no guarantees

Outside run and KPDs will be looked at I would think, although best available will also be a factor (wont reach for people we dont rate!)

why not?
A developing KPD sounds an option to me....
Brown will not be here long. We have have two `projects' in Goddard and Coughlan but no guarantees

Outside run and KPDs will be looked at I would think, although best available will also be a factor (wont reach for people we dont rate!)

Surely we don't get another KPB. We need mids still.