Draft Discussions Recovered

• Thread starter Thread starter The Cotch

Re: Draft Discussion

As long as we don't pass up Ziebell, I'll be happy.
Imagine if McKernan slipped to our 2nd rounder :eek:

Ziebell and McKernan; would be the best draft ever, or at least rival Cotchin and Rance!!!

Vickery would be better for us then Zielbell.

If Rich or Hartlett are there then they would be a better option in my eyes. (yes i've made me final decison)

If McKernan was still there it would be PERFECT.

I'd prefer Ziebell to everyone bar Watts and NicNat.
And in my order of wants for Richmond, McKernan was about 10th, so if we got him at 26, as you said, it would be perfect!!!

If we don't get Vickery, I would take 1 ND ruckman and 2 rookie rucks. I guess they see Putt as a forward.

If we get a midfielder with pick 8, we should use pick 26 on a ruckman and the last 2 picks on key position.

Also interesting is what they'd do with Vickery if they got him. Obvious call is as a ruckman, drifting forward, but I think he could be more value as the monster FF/CHF we've been looking for ( and push Putt into a more 'pure Ruck' role )..
Vickery is much more of a ruckman than Putt is. Putt is a forward.

True, but I figure you put your (potential) champions where they'll have the biggest effect and slot in everyone else around them.

As long as we don't pass up Ziebell, I'll be happy.
Imagine if McKernan slipped to our 2nd rounder :eek:

Ziebell and McKernan; would be the best draft ever, or at least rival Cotchin and Rance!!!

Mate the RFC doesn't rate Ziebel that highly. Will be getting one of Hartlett or Vickery. Hartlett is their first preference, but unfortunately I don't think he'll be there!

The perfect draft would be....8. Harlett, 26. Suban and 58 Post:p (I wish!)

Final wish list for draft day.

Pick 8 - For me its either Hartlett or Vickery. Gun midfielder or the highly rated tall who can play forward/ruck. Either way a hole is filled.

Pick 26 - Would love to see one of the following being called out: Suban, Post, McKernan, Lisle, Roughead or Brown. Suban is the only small I would really love to take with our second round pick otherwise I would really love to add another tall to the list and really shore up the list in that area.

Pick 58 - Using the players taken around this pick in Burgans Draft (interesting that since yesterday he has updated his draft and we're now getting Adam Varcoe) I almost wouldn't mind going tall again. However I believe we need to use the last 2 picks to add a couple of midfield/flanker types. The following players I would be more than happy to have CC call out: Varcoe, Jetta, Rockliff, Shiels, Weadon, Jack Redden. The first 3 appear to be small crumbing forwards who apply pressure to defenders, something we really lack. While the last 3 appear more genuine midfielders in future years.

Lastly pick 70 - Hislop, Klemke, Nahas.
I would like to get on of these 3. Depending on who we would take we would add either a midfielder(Hislop), small forward(Nahas) or a mid sized defender(Klemke). Would round off the list quite nicely.

Some hypotheticals:

#1: If we get Vickery, and he turns out to be every bit as good as Brendan Lade, was it worth pick 8?

#2: If we get Vickery, and turns out to be every bit as good as Kosi (**** attempting to spell...), will it be worth pick 8?

#3: If we get Hartlett, and he becomes a Pendlebury clone, is he worth pick 8?

#4: Ziebell become Tuck, worth it?

#5: Ziebell becomes Scott Thompson, worth it?

#6: Ziebell becomes Daniel Harris, worth it?

#7: Trengove becomes the new Tom Williams, worth it?

#8: Hurley becomes the new Rutten, worth it?

#9: We get Swift, he quickly becomes the best of the draft, but then does his knee; he will come back, but... Worth it?

#10: Yarran becomes the new Wells, worth it?

Ill have a crack

Some hypotheticals:

#1: If we get Vickery, and he turns out to be every bit as good as Brendan Lade, was it worth pick 8? YES

#2: If we get Vickery, and turns out to be every bit as good as Kosi (**** attempting to spell...), will it be worth pick 8? NO

#3: If we get Hartlett, and he becomes a Pendlebury clone, is he worth pick 8? Yes

#4: Ziebell become Tuck, worth it? No

#5: Ziebell becomes Scott Thompson, worth it? DEFINATELY

#6: Ziebell becomes Daniel Harris, worth it? No

#7: Trengove becomes the new Tom Williams, worth it? Yes

#8: Hurley becomes the new Rutten, worth it? Definately

#9: We get Swift, he quickly becomes the best of the draft, but then does his knee; he will come back, but... Worth it? ahhh er um no?

#10: Yarran becomes the new Wells, worth it?
NO

Pretty similar to my thoughts...

The Swift one i sorta mean a bit like Coughlan (different styles, but...)
Would you wanna risk that he doesn't come back from the injury etc...

Although Tuck would almost be worth it...

Pick 8# Vickery

Then.....

I'd love Sam Blease to slide to 26 and after all he does goes for the tiges.

Date of birth: 19/2/91
Height: 184cm
Weight: 70kg
Club: Eastern Ranges

Bio: A lightly-built midfielder who is an excellent kick on both sides, Blease can bring others into the game with his use by hand. He shows poise and balance with the footy, is an AIS/AFL Academy graduate and was a Vic Metro Under-18 representative in 2008.

What are your strengths?
I think I am reasonably athletic. I really like to run and carry the ball and I think I am a pretty good user of the ball.

Which AFL team do you support?
I have supported Richmond all my life and I was fortunate enough, through the AIS-AFL Academy program, to spend a week training with them. It was a great experience to train with and learn from the players I have followed all my life.

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=70081

If Rich slips, will we take him? He probably won't because one of Essendon/Carlton would snap him first.

I think Port will take Hartlett at #4, no matter what. Local gun midifielder, what more can they ask for.

just got a little bit bored so i decided to watch some draft videos. mainly focusing on the guys were likely to get at 8. was watching the vickery tape and well i must say this guy has a lethal handball. he can handball the pill 20-30 metres. could you imagine this 200cm monster standing in the middle of the ground marking the kickouts from the backline and handpassing to all the runners that zip past him wow that would be exciting. and not to mention how clean he is below his knees. also a very nice kick for a big fella and a decent mark. gota get this guy at 8 im have enough of changing my decision im on the vickery bandwagon. pick 8 tyrone vickery its just gota happen.:thumbsu:

To be honest I think he will be available at our pick, Richmond really need to go 'tall' with this draft.

Sure midfields are highly needed in drafts but we do lack a player like Vickery.

Any of you guys think Nic Nat is a chance to go at pick #1. Think about it, Sure Watts could become a good forward but NicNat has the ability to become a dominant forward/ ruckman.

The Dees have recently lost Jeff White and Neitz, Nic would fill both holes I reckon.

Vickery is a good chance to slide. Especially if Freo take Hill at #4.

Port are probably our only worry.

most experts out there are now convinced port will take hartlett over vickery (some also believe they'll take hartlett over rich)

either way it does point towards us getting vickery....which is great

My wish list for Saturday.

Pick 8 - Hartlett, Vickery, Yarran, Hurley, Rich

Pick 26 - Ash Smith, Suban, Post, Walters, Mckernan, Hanneberry, Roughhead, Mitch Brown, Beams, Lisle, Lynch, Heyne or even Rockliff at this pick I'd be happy with.

Pick 58 - Sibosado, Jetta, Banner, Sharples, Rockliff.

Pick 70 - not Hislop, Rockliff.

Rookie- Goo and Cockshell.