List Mgmt. Draft thread - 2025 (remaining picks: 29, 34)

Live draft hand
R1: 1 (Duursma), 4 (CDT), 19 (Lindsay)
R2: 29, 34
RD: 1

Draft picks pre-draft
R1: 1, 2, 13
R2: 34, 41
RD: 1

List spots available
Main list: 2 (includes Duursma, CDT, Lindsay)
Cat A Rookie list: 1 (expecting Robertson, Macrae and Schoenberg to join as SSP signings)
Cat B Rookie list: 1

Draft order

Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)

Rookie Me Central 2025 Draft Guide

Matthew Clarke on Gettable 17/11

Cal Twomey’s Phantom Draft

Last edited by a moderator:
Mock draft Top 13: Thoughts?

WCE Give pick 2 for Melbournes 7 and 8

1 WCE William Duursma

2 MEL Sullivan Robey

3 RIC Sam Gryl

4 RIC Xavier Taylor

5 ESS CDT

6 ESS Dyson Sharp

7 WCE Sam Cumming

8 WCE Aidan Schubert

9 CAR Josh Linsday

10 HAW Noah Hibbens

11 CAR USED TO MATCH BID OR TRADED

12 GWS Jacob Farrow

13 WCE Lachy Dovaston
The problem is

If dees or Richmond took CDT, both sharp and cumming could potential be taken

1 WCE William Duursma

2 MEL CDT

3 RIC Sam Gryl

4 RIC Xavier Taylor

5 ESS cumming

6 ESS Dyson Sharp

7 WCE dovaston

8 WCE Aidan Schubert

9 CAR Josh Linsday

10 HAW Noah Hibbens

11 CAR USED TO MATCH BID OR TRADED

12 GWS Jacob Farrow

13 WCE ?

Frankly, with Massey being in South Australia and knowing the talent there, I think at least one, if not both of sharp cumming, are at the top of our priorities. To trade out 2 for 7 8 and lose both would be a disaster. Having 3 top 10 picks and not taking one genuine midfielder would be bad business.

Also, I know there is love for Robey and has had a late rise, but I doubt the dees throw away a top 10 pick to move up to get him. He is a bit of a gamble considering how far back he came from and HOW he got there. I could actually see Robey sliding to there pick 7 anyway.

If we split pick 2, it's for 3 4 or 5 6 only, and it would cost 13.

Very poor trade for us

Agree with the higher likelihood that anyone who trades up for 2 will be doing so to beat out their competitors for Robey.

Don’t think Richmond being Taylor here. Just let Young go as a talented KPD due to depth. Drafted Trainor last year. Think they go CDT or the next bpa midfielder here. Or trade for future capital.

The reason why if we move 2 it has to be for 5 or at least 6, grabbing sharp is a must if we don’t stick and pick at 2.

Will be traded

I know we all want to 'win' trades in here, which includes me during trade week, but it's a little different when the picks become actual players. Yes we may be able to get more in another draft but to me the trade is perfectly fine as we get Cumming who could be considered at 2.

This does highlight to it's too risky trading down to Melb and the board could play out differently and both Sharp and Cumming are unavailable. We have to be certain Taylor goes to the Tigers or Bombers and I don't see it, Tiger don't need him and Bombers wouldn't go both CDT and Taylor. 2 needs to be traded for 5 and/or 6 only.

Once we find out who Richmond want (and we will) it’s easier to discuss the potential trades because we can talk about players and not picks.

Would I trade Duursma for Cumming and Sharp? Yes. Would I trade him for Grlj and Robey? No.

If Richmond are going to leave Cumming and Sharp on the board I’d actually be happy to do 1 for 5,6 and 2 for 7,8 and take Sharp, Cumming, Schubert and Dovaston then trade the rest of our picks into next year.

We’d likely end up with a F1 to add to our own and 2 x F2s to go with STK’s one and our own. Great stockpile in the last draft before Tassie which will be significantly less compromised than this one.

I can see this happening and I'm not really angry with any of the choices. We could go big on choosing midfielders. Will Essendon trade 4,5 for pick 2 after we've selected Duursma that is the question?
No. Hard to see them doing it for pick one.
Swap the scenario around. Are we giving up pick 4 & 5 for pick 2.

Season 4 No GIF

It’s hard not to like the 2,13 for 5,6 trade since at least two of Duff-Tytler, Sharp, Cumming, Robey, Taylor or Schubert will still be on the board and a very good chance that both Sharp and Cumming would be available

Worst case scenario would be Richmond taking that pair meaning we’d probably be looking at Robey and Schubert (or Dovaston) in preference to Taylor

The question I’d have is would Essendon be sufficienty in love with CDT to do that trade - the reasons it appeals to us are likely to be the same reasons they wouldn’t do it

The problem with the 2 for 7,8 trade with Melbourne is that at least one of Sharp or Cumming would be gone and possibly both as would Robey. Means we’re looking through the likes of Taylor, Schubert, Dovaston, Grlj or even Farrow. Admittedly, we’d still have 13 to either use or trade for a F1 - a trade of 2,13 for 7,8 and Melbourne’s F1 holds appeal even if we probably would have to add our F2 into the mix

Or we just hold our picks and take a draft of Duursma, Sharp (or Cumming/CDT) and hope that one of Farrow or Dovaston is still on the board at 13

If Richmond wanted to make sure they could get Robey or CDT I’d be happing sliding from 2 to 3 for their F2

It'd be pretty cool if Clay Hall came into next season ready to be that inside extractor bull mid. A lot of people have been knocking his speed, but then again other people are saying Sharp doesn't necessarily need to be quick as long as he can extract the ball and get it to Harley/Duursma/Allan to burst through traffic and go for a run.

With the new head of performance from Freo taking over this preseason, working the boys a little harder - I'm hoping Hall can be the man. Sharp will still be an attractive prospect, but possibly not as dire a need if West Coast want to roll the dice on CDT becoming something of a unicorn.

I reckon Hall has the physical attributes, maybe he just needs to find his inner campaigner to step up to the next level.

I'll be fairly happy whatever way West Coast decide to go. The last time I actually melted because of footy was when we beat North Melbourne late in '23 putting us above them on the ladder and having us miss out on Harley. I was so pissed off! I wasn't on BF back then but I imagine the melts would've been thermonuclear. Extra funny considering it was over a win. Anyway I didn't like that feeling one bit and decided to just chill out and let whatever happen from then on. Luckily Norf did the funniest thing and beat the Suns a few rounds later to put them back on top.

Now ask yourself why Jackson was used more in the ruck than CDT
Mate I’m not advocating for us to take CDT I’ve simply been putting up reasons as to why he’s as highly rated as he is because he constantly gets whacked in here.
I don’t see Mini wanting him anyway. The Tigers premierships were build around a solid midfield, Mini tried everything this year to fix some of our issues in the centre square.
He will want to draft midfielders.

Question for those who visit other team's boards: what do the Richmond, Essendon & Melbourne fans think about CDT vs Sharp? I get that they have different list needs but I'm curious what they think.

It'd be pretty cool if Clay Hall came into next season ready to be that inside extractor bull mid. A lot of people have been knocking his speed, but then again other people are saying Sharp doesn't necessarily need to be quick as long as he can extract the ball and get it to Harley/Duursma/Allan to burst through traffic and go for a run.

With the new head of performance from Freo taking over this preseason, working the boys a little harder - I'm hoping Hall can be the man. Sharp will still be an attractive prospect, but possibly not as dire a need if West Coast want to roll the dice on CDT becoming something of a unicorn.

I reckon Hall has the physical attributes, maybe he just needs to find his inner campaigner to step up to the next level.

I'll be fairly happy whatever way West Coast decide to go. The last time I actually melted because of footy was when we beat North Melbourne late in '23 putting us above them on the ladder and having us miss out on Harley. I was so pissed off! I wasn't on BF back then but I imagine the melts would've been thermonuclear. Extra funny considering it was over a win. Anyway I didn't like that feeling one bit and decided to just chill out and let whatever happen from then on. Luckily Norf did the funniest thing and beat the Suns a few rounds later to put them back on top.
I agree that Hall has plenty of growth in his game yet, he won the emerging talent award so is well regarded.
I just see Hall as having limitations on his skill level and will be a good soldier for the team.

Sharp is a very different beast, he has been a dominant force for 3 years in his age group through the midfield.
He has a good quick first few steps, has very good hands, very high footy IQ and a dominant mid this year through the championships.

He maybe isn't Rowell as Rowell looks quicker but he was also regarded as "slow" and has built his tank and endurance with time.
This is where I see Sharp, his best is Rowell and if not he will be a 200 game extractor with all the skills to succeed and he is very motivated to improve his game. He will be captain material in the club who takes him.

It’s hard not to like the 2,13 for 5,6 trade since at least two of Duff-Tytler, Sharp, Cumming, Robey, Taylor or Schubert will still be on the board and a very good chance that both Sharp and Cumming would be available

Worst case scenario would be Richmond taking that pair meaning we’d probably be looking at Robey and Schubert (or Dovaston) in preference to Taylor

The question I’d have is would Essendon be sufficienty in love with CDT to do that trade - the reasons it appeals to us are likely to be the same reasons they wouldn’t do it

The problem with the 2 for 7,8 trade with Melbourne is that at least one of Sharp or Cumming would be gone and possibly both as would Robey. Means we’re looking through the likes of Taylor, Schubert, Dovaston, Grlj or even Farrow. Admittedly, we’d still have 13 to either use or trade for a F1 - a trade of 2,13 for 7,8 and Melbourne’s F1 holds appeal even if we probably would have to add our F2 into the mix

Or we just hold our picks and take a draft of Duursma, Sharp (or Cumming/CDT) and hope that one of Farrow or Dovaston is still on the board at 13

If Richmond wanted to make sure they could get Robey or CDT I’d be happing sliding from 2 to 3 for their F2
I actually see WC getting involved with ESS or RICH if they want to get ahead of each other.
This is the best scenario for us and would get us all of those targets.

Found this interesting. Rate the response from Duursma (might have already had some of his media training I think). CDT and Phillipou answers were pretty garbage.

Schubert on Sharp is really strong. Duursma Sharp and Schubert would be an awesome trifecta.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20251018_090746_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20251018_090746_Chrome.jpg
    264.7 KB · Views: 83
Interesting comment today by Ludowyke in a Fox Footy interview that CDT is now standing at 204cm. Grown 6cm this year.

If true, what's the chance he can grow another 6cm over the coming years?
If Archie is correct and he’s now 204cm you can almost guarantee he’ll be taken at pick 2, regardless of which club has the pick.

Would love an X-Ray of his growth plates to get a guide of what height he projects to being.

WCEswift referred to this a bit earlier, perhaps in a different thread. If Archie is correct and he’s now 204cm you can almost guarantee he’ll be taken at pick 2, regardless of which club has the pick.

Would love an X-Ray of his growth plates to get a guide of what height he projects to being.
He's going to be closer to 210cm than 204cm by the time he finishes growing.

A guy that size with his athleticism is going to be a weapon when he fills out.

I'm a big fan of Sharp but I've got a feeling we'll go Duursma and CDT this year.

That’s not a very poor trade, I’m taking Cumming and change over whoever’s at 2 any day.
The chances that he’s off the board by Melbournes first pick are incredibly high given the needs of WC, ESS, and RIC have midfielders at #1

It's worth mentioning that if these height reports are true, it makes his combine results even more impressive.

Still not sold on us taking CDT at all.

1: Duurma
2: Uwland bid
3: Sharp

I'd like to get Shubert somehow with our next pick. Perhaps we trade out St Kildas 2nd round 2026 pick to move up along with Pick 34 into the top end of the 2nd round this year. Don't think we need another small forward if we get Tylah Williams

If Archie is correct and he’s now 204cm you can almost guarantee he’ll be taken at pick 2, regardless of which club has the pick.

Oh I bet every Club would like to see that as well.

It's why the League banned the idea,

It's worth mentioning that if these height reports are true, it makes his combine results even more impressive.
Just on this, if these reports are true, could CDT be seen as a more athletic version of Tim English? If so, would that be a good thing or a bad thing?