List Mgmt. Draft thread - 2025 (remaining picks: 29, 34)

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Live draft hand
R1: 1 (Duursma), 4 (CDT), 19 (Lindsay)
R2: 29, 34
RD: 1

Draft picks pre-draft
R1: 1, 2, 13
R2: 34, 41
RD: 1

List spots available
Main list: 2 (includes Duursma, CDT, Lindsay)
Cat A Rookie list: 1 (expecting Robertson, Macrae and Schoenberg to join as SSP signings)
Cat B Rookie list: 1

Draft order

Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)

Rookie Me Central 2025 Draft Guide

Matthew Clarke on Gettable 17/11

Cal Twomey’s Phantom Draft

Last edited by a moderator:
30 good picks is crazy talk. There’s probably 25-30 kids in this draft that get drafted most years. Over half this talent pool wouldn’t have had a shot last year or the year before. Even as far out as the early second round some of those third tier mids like Oudshoorn-Bennier who I love, wouldn’t have been taken in the opening 2 rounds of last year. Even the late teens of this draft would’ve been second half of round 2 last year. Past your Farrow range you’ve got certified C grade prospects. But it’s all relative at the end of the day
Not sure how you’ve come to that conclusion considering you can only judge them against the players their own age they compete with on field.

Just from an afl standard traits and skills perspective. Usually there’d be a fair few elite kicks for example, here you’re only looking at maybe a couple.

I would put forward the idea there being fewer good midfield prospects and talls and a larger range of flankers and utilities is what makes this draft less exciting, not the skillsets of the mids and talls that are there.

Well yeah… why do you think they’re not as good? Because they have less afl standard traits. I’ve noticed there’s quite a few who are late committing to footy. Leray for example was tossing up with cricket until this year. Think he’ll be a fantastic player based on his traits that are almost there but not quite. Think that’s the story with why this draft is not highly rated. Depth + a lot of just not quite there yet

Haha, I guess my sarcasm regarding Clarke didn't quite hit the mark...

With our current hand we can already access:

Duursma, Sharp and Farrow

So any trade with Essendon would need to improve our access to a better player such as Cumming (instead of Farrow).

There is no point including an upgrade to pick 9 if we are going to pick the same player (Farrow).

I’m assuming the intel about Farrow is legit. I’m also pretty sure he will make it through to our pick (just like Allan and Ginbey).

2 and WCE27f1 for 5 and ESS26F1

Good chance they do that as they’ll need points for Bewick which could be a struggle in the compromised draft.
WTF That’s horrific

Our 27F1 could very well be a better pick than their 26F1, let alone downgrading our 2 to 5. They want CDT so bad it has to be a clear overpay

At the end of 2025 they could very well go on a recruiting spree like St Kilda, knowing full well they’ve given away their F1

WTF That’s horrific

Our 27F1 could very well be a better pick than their 26F1, let alone downgrading our 2 to 5. They want CDT so bad it has to be a clear overpay

At the end of 2025 they could very well go on a recruiting spree like St Kilda, knowing full well they’ve given away their F1
Our 2027f1 is a ridiculously low chance to be better than their 26f1.

If we were to finish last, we’d have the 4th pick of the age group, 2nd last 6th, personally I’d be expecting us to climb out of the bottom 4 by then, even 5th last would be pick 12.

Are you confused what year it is? It is the end of 2025, we know their team for next season, it’s rubbish.

It’s a good trade for us and works for Essendon given they have a father son rated very highly in the group.

It’s certainly a better trade than 5 and 15 for 2 and would give us a greater than 50% chance of getting the highest rated draftee possibly ever.

Why is everyone so keen to get a deal done?

We don’t need to be shopping it around. We’ll either take CDT (who doesn’t really address our needs now but will he’s very good player) or we let teams come to us and pay through the nose for access to him.

If Essendon or other teams are willing to overpay for him… then perhaps he’s worth keeping?

Well yeah… why do you think they’re not as good? Because they have less afl standard traits. I’ve noticed there’s quite a few who are late committing to footy. Leray for example was tossing up with cricket until this year. Think he’ll be a fantastic player based on his traits that are almost there but not quite. Think that’s the story with why this draft is not highly rated. Depth + a lot of just not quite there yet
What I’m saying is it’s their positions and play styles aren’t valued as highly. For example there’s better half back and wing prospects this year than other years, and while those players have afl level traits they will never be valued as highly as mids and kpps.

Thinking about this a little more while driving around with only my thoughts for company

West Coast trade picks 2,34 to Essendon for picks 5,21 and their F2

Pick 21 might get us a look at Thredgold or perhaps Barker slides to that pick but there’s some good options who would otherwise be gone by 34. Plus we get a third R2 in 2026 to go with ours and the Saints

Essendon get their man by using a F2 to move up from 5, retain 6 and 34 still gives them the capacity to match a bid on their academy pair. Not much difference to them between 21 and what would become their 3rd pick at 27
Sorry but this is an awful deal. Firstly Essendon already have 2 picks in the 20s for their academy pair so points are irrelevant if they already have that covered , secondly we already have the Saints F2 so another F2, though ok in theory ,is not really addressing our current lack of high end talent, we need more first rounders not an extra 2nd . Thirdly, this trade is specific to a player they are "obsessed with" , if you are obsessed with something and desperate to get it, you pay overs for it. Fourthly we go from 3 first round picks this year to 3 less valuable first round picks this year, in what is considered a shallow draft... there no incentive for West Coast to make that deal. 2 and 34 for 5 and 6.... or we take CDT at pick 2. It is still a win win, we get an extra top ten pick and they get the player they are obsessed with, while still getting their 2 academy lads and not losing any future picks.

2027 F1 should be kept to trade to GCS for pick 1 in the 2026 mini draft.
If we aren’t happy with who we could get with the Essendon pick I could see a world where we could accomplish this using it (through a 3rd party) regardless.

Getting a good chance of Cochrane for a 2027 1st would be a fantastic deal.

Sorry but this is an awful deal. Firstly Essendon already have 2 picks in the 20s for their academy pair so points are irrelevant if they already have that covered , secondly we already have the Saints F2 so another F2, though ok in theory ,is not really addressing our current lack of high end talent, we need more first rounders not an extra 2nd . Thirdly, this trade is specific to a player they are "obsessed with" , if you are obsessed with something and desperate to get it, you pay overs for it. Fourthly we go from 3 first round picks this year to 3 less valuable first round picks this year.... there no incentive for West Coast to make that deal. 2 and 34 for 5 and 6.... or we take CDT at pick 2. It is still a win win, we get an extra top ten pick and they get the player they are obsessed with, while still getting their 2 academy lads and not losing any future picks.

If you’re going to criticise what I’ve proposed then suggest 2 and 34 for 5 and 6, I’m sorry but I’m not going to be paying much attention

It’s been comprehensively argued that 2 and 13 for 5 and 6, whilst great for us wouldn’t be entertained by Essendon. And you’re suggesting 2 and 34

Try being realistic.

The gap between CDT and the players still available at 5 isn’t that significant and nowhere near enough for Essendon to burn 5 and 6

If we aren’t happy with who we could get with the Essendon pick I could see a world where we could accomplish this using it (through a 3rd party) regardless.

Getting a good chance of Cochrane for a 2027 1st would be a fantastic deal.
Dougie is a phenomenal player. A straight swap of 2027 R1 for Bombers 2026 R1 I’d do which I’ve suggested previously, although I don’t think Bewick is as good as many posters believe. Probably because they’ve only listened to Cal fondle his own balls talking about him.

If we did trade the 2027 R1 we need to be sure we have another way of getting pick 1 in the mini draft. Will be priceless and not sure 2028 F1 will cut it.

If you’re going to criticise what I’ve proposed then suggest 2 and 34 for 5 and 6, I’m sorry but I’m not going to be paying much attention

It’s been comprehensively argued that 2 and 13 for 5 and 6, whilst great for us wouldn’t be entertained by Essendon. And you’re suggesting 2 and 34

Try being realistic.

The gap between CDT and the players still available at 5 isn’t that significant and nowhere near enough for Essendon to burn 5 and 6
IF this is the thought process. Then do not entertain a trade at all.

Try being realistic.

no one except Essendon will pay attention to the deal you suggested. WC would have it's pants pulled down. The gap between 2 and 5 is very significant if the specific player you are obsessed with and desperately want isn't available at 5. WC have all the cards and you want just give them away.

Mate, no one is doing that deal other than WCE. 2,13 for 5,6 in THIS draft is a very good deal for us. The market is the market and if you asked all the list managers which of those two sets of picks they’d take I reckon most if not all would take 5,6. That is already a premium for us for pick 2.

I guess the point is if you want to trade up for a specific player, you generally do have to pay overs.

We rightly wouldn't trade 2 for a fair deal.

I guess the point is if you want to trade up for a specific player, you generally do have to pay overs.

We rightly wouldn't trade 2 for a fair deal.
Realistically, any deal for 2 is less than 5 + 6 though

It's 2 and 13, not just 2.

And again we wouldn't/shouldn't accept anything other than overs.

WC aren't looking for a deal..... they are happy with 1,2 and 13. The bombers want WCs pick 2, then they pay overs for it or WC just go the draft with what they have or take the 2 and 34. However I will concede 2 and 13 for 5 and 6 is a faaaaar better deal than the 5, 21 and a F2 as was suggested.