List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

I respect other people's right to an opinion even if I disagree......you however.....

Just for you I've gone back and copied and will paste it here again my thoughts on who I would like us to draft.....no doubt you'll disagree of course...

Aaron Francis
Kieran Collins
Harry McKay
Darcy Tucker
Rhys Mathieson
Ryan Clarke
Clayton Oliver
Callum Ah Chee
Mitchell Hibberd
Harley Balic

Would also be putting in a bid on Brisbane Academy youngster Eric Hipwood who IMO is the 3rd best tall in this draft after Weitering and Schache........a better prospect than Harrison McKay IMO.
I see you're copying my style .......copycat :D

Of course i disagree ....but i've now bookmarked the page for future reference

I respect other people's right to an opinion even if I disagree......you however.....

Just for you I've gone back and copied and will paste it here again my thoughts on who I would like us to draft.....no doubt you'll disagree of course...

Aaron Francis
Kieran Collins
Harry McKay
Darcy Tucker
Rhys Mathieson
Ryan Clarke
Clayton Oliver
Callum Ah Chee
Mitchell Hibberd
Harley Balic

Would also be putting in a bid on Brisbane Academy youngster Eric Hipwood who IMO is the 3rd best tall in this draft after Weitering and Schache........a better prospect than Harrison McKay IMO.
BTW how could anyone prefer Ryan Clarke to Clayton Oliver :confused:

Maybe for the same reasons the 2015 TAC Team Of The Year Selectors chose Ryan Clarke in the starting 18 and not on the interchange bench like Clayton Oliver?? And before you start rubbishing them I suggest you check out who was on that selection panel.

2015 TAC CUP TEAM OF THE YEAR
B: Bailey Rice Kieran Collins Nick Coughlan
Dandenong Stingrays Dandenong Stingrays Murray Bushrangers
HB: Nick O’Kearney Jacob Weitering Jarrod Berry
Calder Cannons Dandenong Stingrays North Ballarat Rebels
C: Tom Phillips Jade Gresham Darcy Parish
Oakleigh Chargers Northern Knights Geelong Falcons
HF: Harley Balic Callum Moore Rhys Mathieson
Sandringham Dragons Calder Cannons Geelong Falcons
F: Blake Hardwick Joshua Schache Ben Ainsworth
Eastern Ranges Murray Bushrangers Gippsland Power
Foll: Gach Nyuon Jacob Hopper Ryan Clarke
Dandenong Stingrays North Ballarat Rebels Eastern Ranges
I/C: Tom Cole Ben Crocker Lachie Tardrew
Bendigo Pioneers Oakleigh Chargers Bendigo Pioneers
Clayton Oliver Nash Holmes Darcy Tucker
Murray Bushrangers Gippsland Power North Ballarat Rebels

Aaron Francis
Kieran Collins
Harry McKay
Darcy Tucker
Rhys Mathieson
Ryan Clarke
Clayton Oliver
Callum Ah Chee
Mitchell Hibberd
Harley Balic
Interesting that you have Collins and Clarke quite high, and Oliver/Ah Chee/Hibberd quite low, what makes you say that?

Athletisicm Tick, Height Tick, Upside Tick, Skill Tick, Production No
Hipwood, Athleticism Tick, Height Tick, Upside Tick, Skill Tick, Production Tick.

Surely if we are targeting a KPP we put in a bid with our 1st pick on Hipwood??

I asked Emma Quayle about Burtons, without mentioning AFC. She said Adelaide would have to consider him at 13 but no guarantees, reckons he will likely go in the teens.

Hipwood, Athleticism Tick, Height Tick, Upside Tick, Skill Tick, Production Tick.

Surely if we are targeting a KPP we put in a bid with our 1st pick on Hipwood??

Would not surprise at all if we put a bid in for 1 or 2 of the Academy boys, especially Hipwood.

Just out of interest Bicks, what's your boy Tucker like on the inside? Or does he project purely as an outside type?

I asked Emma Quayle about Burtons, without mentioning AFC. She said Adelaide would have to consider him at 13 but no guarantees, reckons he will likely go in the teens.

I think we'll end up passing on Burton, too much risk with his injury given there's likely some genuine other talent around at the pick. If we had a pick in the 20's I think we'd be all over him, but not in the teens.

From what I can gather, I suspect were looking at one of McKay, Milera or Francis at pick 9 and it's likely the one that slips through to our pick. Personally I'm really hoping Francis slips, such a natural reader of the play, combined with supreme athleticism, quality foot skills, strong mark and good competitor. Start him across half back and gradually introduce him into midfield rotations.

At 13 it's a bit more open, personally I'm liking Hibberd at this stage as one Ogilvy will likely be keen on. Gives us another big bodied, versatile midfielder/flanker with quality foot skills and good pace.

Would not surprise at all if we put a bid in for 1 or 2 of the Academy boys, especially Hipwood.

Just out of interest Bicks, what's your boy Tucker like on the inside? Or does he project purely as an outside type?

To date he's played his best footy off half back where he had a stellar year in 2014 as an under ager ultimately making the U18 All Australian side. Unfortunately he sustained a bad ankle injury late in the season that kept him out of the TAC Finals and necessitated the insertion of 2 screws and a lengthy period of recovery therefore missing a fair chunk of this years pre-season. Has a few quiet games when playing in the midfield early in the season but obviously lacked the tank and when your playing in a midfield that also contains a dominant teammate Jacob Hopper [best mid in this year's draft] he's the obvious go to man. As the year went on his form improved markedly probably due to an improving fitness base and confidence in his ankle resulting in selection in the Vic Country team at the U18 champs again this year where he averaged 18 disposals a game on top of averaging 24 disposals in the TAC Comp. I have no doubt whatsoever with his well noted aggression he will transition into the midfield rotations easily. He is a genuine line breaker in the Brodie Smith style.

Carlton are obviously a big chance to take McKay at 8 I agree. But what if the choice is between McKay and Francis? Or McKay and Oliver? It's highly possible that they rate the other guy higher. Their midfield outside of 3 guys (Murphy, Cripps, Gibbs) is pretty awful.

I hope they do take him. It guarantees us one of Oliver, Francis or Milera which is pretty awesome from where I sit. I'm actually starting to like Oliver just as much as Francis. Milera is a bit more of a risk, but he could become a genuine winger with pace and skill which is certainly something we could use.

I think their reasoning might be that they can get midfielders with their other picks (10 and 19), but there aren't any good tall forwards outside of potential top 10 picks

This is my guess for the top 13 picks:

1. Carlton: Weitering
2. Brisbane: Schache
3. Melbourne: Weideman - Drafted good midfielders last year, I think they'll grab a genuine tall with pick 3
4. Essendon: Parish - Best midfielder
5. Essendon: Curnow - A forward option, which is what they need. Don't think they'll take McKay, but Curnow will go high
6. Gold Coast: Milera - They have a fair few quality mids already, but no good small forward, especially with Bennell having departed
7. Melbourne: Oliver - Ball winner, predicting him to bolt up to first round
8. Carlton: McKay - Best remaining tall forward
9. Adelaide: Francis - Best available
11. Carlton: Mathieson - Contested winner
12. Richmond: Ah Chee - Small forward
13. Adelaide: Not sure, best available midfielder, maybe Tucker

This is another take:

3. Melbourne: Parish - Best midfielder
4. Essendon: Weideman - Need a forward
5. Essendon: Francis - Best available
6. Gold Coast: Milera - They have a fair few quality mids already, but no good small forward, especially with Bennell having departed
7. Melbourne: Curnow - A forward option, which is what they need.
9. Adelaide: Oliver - Ball winner, predicting him to bolt up to first round
13. Adelaide: Not sure, best available, maybe Burton/Bonner/Tucker/Hibberd

Note: I'm not even close to being a draft expert so these top 13s probably won't happen

This is true.

Kicking long to a 50/50 contest is an 'effective' disposal, but it might result in an immediate turnover with the opposition gaining possession from the 50/50.

It also doesn't take into account kicking long to a 50/50 when there's a better option available, or kicking in such a way that a good option is turned into a 50/50

The Jaensch special. 1/3 points scored by the opposition results in an effective kick and rebound 50 to Jaensch.

This is my guess for the top 13 picks:

3. Melbourne: Weideman - Drafted good midfielders last year, I think they'll grab a genuine tall with pick 3
4. Essendon: Parish - Best midfielder
5. Essendon: Curnow - A forward option, which is what they need. Don't think they'll take McKay, but Curnow will go high
7. Melbourne: Oliver - Ball winner, predicting him to bolt up to first round
9. Adelaide: Francis - Best available
13. Adelaide: Not sure, best available midfielder, maybe Tucker

This is another take:

3. Melbourne: Parish - Best midfielder
4. Essendon: Weideman - Need a forward
5. Essendon: Francis - Best available
7. Melbourne: Curnow - A forward option, which is what they need.
9. Adelaide: Oliver - Ball winner, predicting him to bolt up to first round
13. Adelaide: Not sure, best available, maybe Burton/Bonner/Tucker/Hibberd

Note: I'm not even close to being a draft expert so these top 13s probably won't happen

You underrate yourself, I reckon you won't be too far off...:thumbsu:

The way I see it the situation you've described is a decision making failure, not a kicking failure. The problem with Matt Crouch is that he'll often kick the ball long, missing the target by 5m and putting it to the advantage of the opposition.

That would be an ineffective kick. The fact is that all players are benefitted by the measurement of what is effective and what isn't. It's only Smith that really has a crack with his kicks and only a few others are capable of drilling the ball low to a team mate. Mostly the most we can hope for is that we don't disadvantage our team mates.

I suspect Carlton will take McKay at 8 knowing we might pick him at 9 (and therefore he won't slide to 10) and they need a key forward. In that situation I think we'll take Oliver and possibly Tucker, Burton or a similar type

Carlton will take Jacob Weitering with 1 (future centre half back), it's firming in my mind they'll take H McKay with 8 (Future centre half forward) and I'm wondering if they might go for the trifecta and take Collins with 11 (Future full back).
In one draft they'll have most of the big men covered down the spine. All will mature together as the team gets better. Weitering and Collins are already team mates that won a championship . Each knows the others game and this tandem might appeal to Carlton. Large chunk of the rebuild presumably done in one draft.

How does this effect us.
If Mckay's gone there's a chance Francis is there. Not the tall player I think the Crows might desire but we all know his qualities and he'll be hard to pass up.
If Carlton does take Collins then that leaves us with a some real quality choices. It's conceivable Oliver,Burton,Tucker,Bonner,Milera, and B McKay (200cms and improving) will all be there.
Tucker in the highlights does kick both feet and is extremely balanced, so is Bonner.
I'm worried about Burton's injury and I'm not sold on Milera as others here are.
This pick may yet be decided on needs. If it's Francis with our first I'm leaning towards, Tucker or B McKay(I'm sure we're in the market for a tall.)

If H Mckay is there at pick 9 I'll think will grab him, even over Francis.

I guess it's that natural left footers arc ...and they move differently to right footers so they can get onto that left side ....can't see Petrie

Doesn't Petrie come at the kicker ......whereas McKay's movement is more lateral ??

If they're smart they will, they can pick up mids in the coming years while the talls develop.
:thumbsu: Agree ......Melbourne and Carltons 2nd picks will be very interesting

Melbourne took mids last year's draft ....so i could expect them to take two KPP this draft
Carlton .....not so confident ?

I guess it's that natural left footers arc ...and they move differently to right footers so they can get onto that left side ....can't see Petrie

Doesn't Petrie come at the kicker ......whereas McKay's movement is more lateral ??
I say petrie because of how their both lumbering, marking targets who don't bully their opponents just run them into the ground