Recruiting Draft Watch 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter eDPS

Unless you're actually talking to these players and their parents, coaches, team mates etc you don't really have the full picture of them as a player. Could easily have a massive case of FIGJAM or gets on the meth every weekend or something and the only people who'd know are the recruiters.
fair

quite glad we took a mid in any event :)

fair

quite glad we took a mid in any event :)
It happens every year, there's always at least one or two who the draft watchers froth over who doesn't end up getting picked up. They then become the bargain of the rookie draft but still get overlooked. People get mad at recruiters over it every time but at the end of the day they have far better access and judgment than us looking on from the cheap seats.

Jonty something or other was another from a few years ago.
Scharenberg?

really happy with our pick guy could be a potential jet, hard nut skilled, quick could be a gun. hopeful.

Jonty something or other was another from a few years ago.
Scharenberg?
There was some KPF that KM rated as one of the best in the draft who went very late and retired after a year. There's some guy who's name I forget (might be Tyler Keitel) tearing it up in the WAFL but no one's wanted to draft him because he's allegedly a massive flog, and some other in a similar boat from Tassie (I think)

Xavier Maher missed 3 times now.
for a guy people are saying was most unlucky not to be drafted last year, there must be a knock on him somewhere
Before the draft I was talking to my mate at work who is a scout for the doggies. He watched a Murray game a few weeks ago and said:
Mcleod- "absolutely putrid for 3 quarters, clunked a few in the last quarter, 2 of is 4 were easy goals."
Maher- "Yeah he had 30 touches but he's played barely anything in 18 months or so"
Callow- "My mate watched him in SA and said he was fat and not really impressive, tassie league is shit too so he doesn't have any real exposure"

Take that with a grain of salt but I guess he's gonna be harsh because he doesn't wanna pick anyone who he doesn't really like. At the end of the day he told me he got Cody weightman to the dogs so I guess he knows what he's looking for.

Before the draft I was talking to my mate at work who is a scout for the doggies. He watched a Murray game a few weeks ago and said:
Mcleod- "absolutely putrid for 3 quarters, clunked a few in the last quarter, 2 of is 4 were easy goals."
Maher- "Yeah he had 30 touches but he's played barely anything in 18 months or so"
Callow- "My mate watched him in SA and said he was fat and not really impressive, tassie league is sh*t too so he doesn't have any real exposure"

Take that with a grain of salt but I guess he's gonna be harsh because he doesn't wanna pick anyone who he doesn't really like. At the end of the day he told me he got Cody weightman to the dogs so I guess he knows what he's looking for.
i wonder how much he is a hard luck story of Covid.
or like others have said, maybe there are other factors at play.

Always find it interesting to read up on these kids, then see how it translates to club picks.

i wonder how much he is a hard luck story of Covid.
or like others have said, maybe there are other factors at play.

Always find it interesting to read up on these kids, then see how it translates to club picks.
I’m sure if he’s actually any good it’ll become apparent in time. It wouldn’t be the first time someone has had to spend a couple of years in the VFL before doing enough to justify getting drafted.

McGrath’s press conference today he got asked about Hurley being put on the inactive list. In amongst the answer to that question he mentioned that it gives another player a chance to come on to our list or play for us. He’s right actually, I’d forgotten that it also allows us to upgrade a rookie.

The only rookies that need to be upgraded in order to play now are Category B, which is Hird and possibly McBride (even though he was Category A before maybe they were allowed to move him across after McQuillan left).

So I’m guessing if whoever we’re hoping for with our second pick isn’t available then we’ll just upgrade Tom Hird..?

No guarantees we use the second pick I suppose.
So, which Cat B rookie do we upgrade? Hird or McBride 🤔
With the reduction in list sizes they changed that rule. Hird and McBride can play anytime we want to select them. Don't need an LTI/inactive spot.

How f*cking annoying is Nat Edwards
I thought the coverage was miles better than the national draft.
Xavier Maher missed 3 times now.
for a guy people are saying was most unlucky not to be drafted last year, there must be a knock on him somewhere
Isn't his kicking a bit of an issue? Sure I read that somewhere.

I thought the coverage was miles better than the national draft.

Isn't his kicking a bit of an issue? Sure I read that somewhere.
Plenty of kids get picked up who cant kick, I think it might be the lack of ceiling for maher and how he may be a bit vanilla too. He also hasn't played a great deal of footy and cant really separate himself from other midfielders

eDPS say we finish 9th and the well credentialed kids are gone: (Daicos, Horne, Roberts, Sinn, Johnson, Rachele, Sonsie) who do you like for us?
i am looking at his current projections
Bringing in GWS' 1st for our F1 (Fahey awkwardly placed for that pick) and going Draper + Goater gives us 2 mids with decent height and some nice write-ups.

i am looking at his current projections
Bringing in GWS' 1st for our F1 (Fahey awkwardly placed for that pick) and going Draper + Goater gives us 2 mids with decent height and some nice write-ups.

Callaghan or Long would be potential options for list needs

I like the sound of all of them for us. Erasmus or a Chesser (potentially gone) tickle my fancy too. Tallish marking mid with forward craft seems the go.

An aerial competent, agile small like Shai Bolton/Liam Ryan should also be on the wishlist.

eDPS say we finish 9th and the well credentialed kids are gone: (Daicos, Horne, Roberts, Sinn, Johnson, Rachele, Sonsie) who do you like for us?
Callaghan, Goater, Chesser and Draper seem like the types we would look at. All athletic midfielders over 185cm. Erasmus might be another

How is Fahey tracking to get in front of GWS' pick (projecting it roughly where it is now)
Is it one that could be feasibly targeted?

How is Fahey tracking to get in front of GWS' pick (projecting it roughly where it is now)
Is it one that could be feasibly targeted?
I have him as a player just outside the top 10 at this stage, believe Giants would match a bid since they have pies pick so can afford to take a very good player and then just use points to match a Fahey bid

I think the question was more would they protect themselves and trade their pick for our 2022 R1. Giving us two bites at this year's draft.

Lot of water to go under the bridge of course.