drafting picks 11 and 18

rohansword

Okay guys were we believe melbourne are reasonably set on Scully and Trengove. From what i've heard about these two i think i would be dissappionted if we didn't take them using picks 1 and 2.

with picks 11 and 18 what will we do? i think our defence is coming along ok. Garland, Frawley, Warnock and Rivers have the ability to hold down KPF. Although a running back such as Brad Sheppard may be an idea.

potential players around 11 are, and possibly 18;

FWD
Jake Carlisle (Calder Cannons, VIC)
Daniel Talia (Calder Cannons, VIC) or DEF
Aaron Black (Peel Thunder, WA)
Troy Taylor (NT Thunder, NT)
Matthew Panos (Norwood, SA)

MID
Luke Tapscott (North Adelaide, SA)
Kane Lucas (East Fremantle, WA)
Koby Stevens (Gippsland Power, VIC)
Jake Melksham (Calder Cannons, VIC)
Bradley Sheppard (East Fremantle, WA)
or DEF

RUCK
Jack Fitzpatrick (Western Jets, VIC)
Nathan Vardy (Gippsland Power, VIC)

SMALL FWD
Lewis Jetta (Swan Districts, WA) or MID
Ryan Bastinac (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC)

Have i missed any???;
Are any of the names listed above definately going to go top 10?
Is Rohan or Butcher a potential slider and would we be interested??

SMALL FWD

Have i missed any???;
Are any of the names listed above definately going to go top 10?
Is Garry Rohan a potential slider and would we be interested??

I think you've covered most of the bases, but of course there'll be sliders that you've assumed would go before here as there always is. Both Bastinac & Jetta are predominately mids. And I can't see us drafting a small/medium forward with any of those picks seeing as we have wona, maric, pettard, jetta who'll struggle to get in the same side together, with davey & sylvia still resting forward.

I'd be hoping we take a taller player at 11, but we might still be going best available here & a slider like a Rohan or someone like Lucas who our recruiting team could rate top 10.

If not a tall taken at 11 then i'd be astounded if we didn't go tall at 18. There's is the chance that we think that the better tall players are gone before 11 (say Butcher, Black & Panos are all gone), so we'd take a mid at 11 taking a risk on that the tall we rate next (say Carlisle) would still be available at 18. We've done this in previous drafts, i think we rated Petterd above Frawley in 2006 but knew Chip wouldn't make it to pick 30 & Petterd was a fair chance to still be there, which happened.

If Butcher is there, it's a no brainer. We pick him.

If Lucas, Rohan, Tapscott, Melksham are available, I would take them.

I really like Talia. Carlisle has some concerns but is a genuine big key forward Panos, Black, Taylor all look third tall. (Black no vision but reports sound 3rd tall). Thoughts on people who have seen Black.

I think you've covered most of the bases, but of course there'll be sliders that you've assumed would go before here as there always is. Both Bastinac & Jetta are predominately mids. And I can't see us drafting a small/medium forward with any of those picks seeing as we have wona, maric, pettard, jetta who'll struggle to get in the same side together, with davey & sylvia still resting forward.

I'd be hoping we take a taller player at 11, but we might still be going best available here & a slider like a Rohan or someone like Lucas who our recruiting team could rate top 10.

If not a tall taken at 11 then i'd be astounded if we didn't go tall at 18. There's is the chance that we think that the better tall players are gone before 11 (say Butcher, Black & Panos are all gone), so we'd take a mid at 11 taking a risk on that the tall we rate next (say Carlisle) would still be available at 18. We've done this in previous drafts, i think we rated Petterd above Frawley in 2006 but knew Chip wouldn't make it to pick 30 & Petterd was a fair chance to still be there, which happened.

Mate you sound like you know your stuff. this was the excat reason i posted this thread to get responses like yours.. thanks mate.

I agree with everything you say. at 11 we should be looking for a tall. possibly talia if available. But if there is a player like Lucas or Rohan around i think we should jump on them.

if we went for a best available at 11; we hope that at 18 we can get a player like Carlisle, Vardy or perhaps Panos may slide? is this possible?

Went with a KPF at 11 and best available at 18....

Mate you sound like you know your stuff. this was the excat reason i posted this thread to get responses like yours.. thanks mate.

I agree with everything you say. at 11 we should be looking for a tall. possibly talia if available. But if there is a player like Lucas or Rohan around i think we should jump on them.

if we went for a best available at 11; we hope that at 18 we can get a player like Carlisle, Vardy or perhaps Panos may slide? is this possible?

Talia looks a very good prospect and can play at both ends of the ground.

Although I'd rather a Carlisle or a Black as a KPF as I think Talia won't be as good as a KPF as he will be as a KPD if you get what I mean.

What I really want though is for the National Draft to hurry the f*** up, I get that most of the draftees have exams and things but surely they could have the National Draft a little earlier to give them a little bit more of a pre-season.

IMO what happens with Luke Ball and to a lesser extent Mitch Thorpe and the PSD. If Ball goes into the PSD then they will both be used on talls, conversely if Thorpe is in the PSD then at least one will be a mid, and potentially P11 will be Talia sorta hedgeing your bets betwen a KPF and back.

On the day I think that we'll go into it with a wait and see approach. If other clubs do take a few talls early that will mean some very handy mids have slid (ie a Tapscott or Cunnington). If this is the case then i think we should take them. And take the best remaining tall at P18

That said in my mind, and all things being equal the only KPP gone by P11 will be Butcher. In that case I'd like us to look at Aaron Black. Like others have suggested he wont be there at 18, and 11 may be a bit ahead of his rightful place but standing 193cm combined with a decent vertical leap he's said to take good pack marks. But what i really like is that he had the 3rd best kicking efficency at the camp, to many forwards miss to many shots on goal! Plus he has played as a CHB so has a degree of versitility.

At P18 im not sure. Carlisle is the logical choice (if availible) or others have suggested Vardy, and although the best ruckman in it he is not exactly a world beater at this stage. I'd like us to take a punt on another KPF; the injury prone Griffith. Standing at 198cm and already 99kg he will grow into a beast of a man. I like the idea of him standing in the goal square just pushing blokes out of the way, with Watts working up the ground with Black and Jurrah closer to home flying in the air with Wonna and Maric at there feet.

I don't believe Thorp was let go because of injury concerns by reading some of the posts on the Hawthorn site.

More because of attitude or a misdemeanour/s. If this is the case would the MFC want him? If so, then they would have to be confident they could turn him around.

IF we get Thorp then I'd push getting another tall back to #18 (unless Butcher is available at #11) and go best available because there is guaranteed to be one good mid that will slide due to Butcher.

Best available I understand, but KPD? Thorp would be just as speculative a pick as a draftee, maybe more so. Even if we take Thorp, our KPF stocks consist of Watts, Miller, Netwon, Jurrah (who many have queries on him being KP, myself included) & Thorp.

That gives us Miller who's a trier but shouldn't be in our best side if we're making finals, Newton who'll probably get delisted in 12 months, Jurrah who might only be a 3rd tall, Watts who's still young & Thorp who might never get on the park.

Our key defensive stocks are the Harlem Globetrotters to our key forwards' Washington Generals. Not that I'm against stocking up on back-ups, but I think any KP players drafted should be forwards

Best available I understand, but KPD? Thorp would be just as speculative a pick as a draftee, maybe more so. Even if we take Thorp, our KPF stocks consist of Watts, Miller, Netwon, Jurrah (who many have queries on him being KP, myself included) & Thorp.

That gives us Miller who's a trier but shouldn't be in our best side if we're making finals, Newton who'll probably get delisted in 12 months, Jurrah who might only be a 3rd tall, Watts who's still young & Thorp who might never get on the park.

Our key defensive stocks are the Harlem Globetrotters to our key forwards' Washington Generals. Not that I'm against stocking up on back-ups, but I think any KP players drafted should be forwards

No you misunderstood what I meant, I didn't mean KPD I meant push back getting a tall until pick #18 and go best available at #11.

I probably could have worded it better.

with picks 11 and 18 what will we do? i think our defence is coming along ok. Garland, Frawley, Warnock and Rivers have the ability to hold down KPF. Although a running back such as Brad Sheppard may be an idea.

potential players around 11 are, and possibly 18;

FWD
Jake Carlisle (Calder Cannons, VIC)
Daniel Talia (Calder Cannons, VIC) or DEF
Aaron Black (Peel Thunder, WA)
Troy Taylor (NT Thunder, NT)
Matthew Panos (Norwood, SA)
MID
Luke Tapscott (North Adelaide, SA)
Kane Lucas (East Fremantle, WA)
Koby Stevens (Gippsland Power, VIC)
Jake Melksham (Calder Cannons, VIC)
Bradley Sheppard (East Fremantle, WA) or DEF
RUCK
Nathan Vardy Jack Fitzpatrick
SMALL FWD

Have i missed any???;

FWD
P-11/Daniel Talia - Jake Carlisle - Aaron Black

P-18/James Craig - Travis Colyer - Ryan Bastinac

P-34/Dylan Grimes - Ben Griffiths

Tapscott & Carlisle in that order would be my choice too, I'd say.

This may seem like a strange statement, but our selections at 11 & 18 (34, 50?, PSD 1) could have a more significant impact on how close our premiership chances are moving forward than pick 1 and 2. All things being equal Scully and Trengove will be elite players, however if you look at geelong, much of their success has been built around the ability to identify good players with later picks. It is crucial we continue to do the same. I say continue, as I feel we have drafted well with later picks in the last couple of drafts.

Hi guys

Sorry for intruding on what is a very good discussion, i am just a footy lover like most on here.

Woud you guys be able to go for Mitch Thrope with PSD pick # 1, and use your first round selecetions on mids/defenders.

I think you have got a beauty in Watts, and Jurrah will develop nicely into a pretty lively third tall, Thorpe could be the icing on the cake up forward, whilst giving you the option of taking another mid with one of your 4 top 20 selections.

Thoughts on this??

Hi guys

Sorry for intruding on what is a very good discussion, i am just a footy lover like most on here.

Woud you guys be able to go for Mitch Thrope with PSD pick # 1, and use your first round selecetions on mids/defenders.

I think you have got a beauty in Watts, and Jurrah will develop nicely into a pretty lively third tall, Thorpe could be the icing on the cake up forward, whilst giving you the option of taking another mid with one of your 4 top 20 selections.

Thoughts on this??

If Ball doesn't go PSD then Mitch Thorp in a heartbeat but instead of going tall at #11 I'd go best available and then go tall at #18 instead.

With Butcher thereabouts we are going to get a mid that's slid if not Butcher himself.

Hi guys

No worries mate, top post there, nice contribution :thumbsu: