Toast Drew Petrie Appreciation Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Scotland

It's pretty clear the situation we are in now is precisely the scenario he was recruited for.

It's also pretty clear that if this scenario hadn't happened, eg Lycett comes back early and stays healthy, and Vardy stays healthy, people would be calling the decision to recruit him a stupid one.

Recruiting teams need to recruit for scenario's that may not in the end occur.

Sent from my Lenovo TB3-710F using Tapatalk

It's pretty clear the situation we are in now is precisely the scenario he was recruited for.

It's also pretty clear that if this scenario hadn't happened, eg Lycett comes back early and stays healthy, and Vardy stays healthy, people would be calling the decision to recruit him a stupid one.

Recruiting teams need to recruit for scenario's that may not in the end occur.

Sent from my Lenovo TB3-710F using Tapatalk
Alternate universe :

We dont recruit him

Mcgovern to the ruck - oops whats that - oh no hes done his pcl

So we have just sacrificed one of our stars in a year we werent challenging anyway.

I can scarcely imagine how much he must be enjoying his footy this year. Would've thought his career was over at the end of last year, and the fact that he was willing to move himself and his family across the country for a one year rookie contract with no guarantees beyond that shows you how much he wanted to play on.

Then to play as many games as he has knowing that he could be dropped at any moment for structure rather than form depending on who else is available... and not just play but put 100% of himself out there every single week.

I can't speak for Drew but if I was a betting man I'd reckon he's enjoying playing for us as much as we enjoy having him here.

Absolute legend of a bloke.

I hate Petrie, he is holding back the yoof. I feel sorry for young Giles and McInnis not getting game time.
I doubt those two players will be on the list next year. Petrie has done more for us in the one year he has been on the list.

got smashed in the ruck today by a younging cant play the role he was recruited for tries his hardest which is pathetic takes the spot of a young guy preventing their development cant wait til he goes we will be a stronger club for it

Seriously dude....you have no idea.
If half our team had the ticker that he has we wouldn't be in the position we're in at the moment.
The only thing that's pathetic is your comment.

Where's Carbine Chaos when you need him.
Spot on.

Love how he said you'd much rather have Petters on the list than Giles. I doubt anybody would argue with that statement. Well in Goss.

Even if he didn't play much at all next year he'd be a ripper rookie to have to set standards and share wisdom on the track. Would be valuable down for the standalone whenever he played there for the young kids. Sign him up.

Spot on.

Love how he said you'd much rather have Petters on the list than Giles. I doubt anybody would argue with that statement. Well in Goss.

Even if he didn't play much at all next year he'd be a ripper rookie to have to set standards and share wisdom on the track. Would be valuable down for the standalone whenever he played there for the young kids. Sign him up.

You would've thought he'd be kept in favour of Giles for a number of reasons.

Seriously dude....you have no idea.
If half our team had the ticker that he has we wouldn't be in the position we're in at the moment.
The only thing that's pathetic is your comment.

no your love of petrie is whats pathetic, his ticker looks done and dusted if we had a fully fit team he'd never be considered wanting him to be more than what he is doesn't make it so. whats our win/loss with or without petrie proofs in the pudding if you think facial expressions equal effort then your easily impressed but i digress some people just love the mediocre

Bit late to this thread, you don't think Drew has performed admirably for west coast and proved he was an inspired pick up?

not in the slightest just another one of simmos mates we are stuck with now due to lack of choice. petrie is proof of everything wrong with simmos reign

What would've been the better alternative?

Drew decided to take a pay cut and move across the country with his family for a spot in the WAFL, purely to help out Simmo and for his love of the game.

Even more, he's played with more heart and soul then half our squad when given his chance.

How can you not, at the very least, appreciate that?

Alternate universe :

We dont recruit him

Mcgovern to the ruck - oops whats that - oh no hes done his pcl

So we have just sacrificed one of our stars in a year we werent challenging anyway.
And we would have tried to play him for the next month under the guise that he can't do it any more damage

Drew decided to take a pay cut and move across the country with his family for a spot in the WAFL, purely to help out Simmo and for his love of the game.

Even more, he's played with more heart and soul then half our squad when given his chance.

Completely agree mate, we seem to have a bunch of uneducated fools that have no idea.

The guys is a competitor, if only we had more players with his mentality and professionalism.

well you guys have got your wish looks like he is going to play on next year god help the eagles

no your love of petrie is whats pathetic, his ticker looks done and dusted if we had a fully fit team he'd never be considered wanting him to be more than what he is doesn't make it so. whats our win/loss with or without petrie proofs in the pudding if you think facial expressions equal effort then your easily impressed but i digress some people just love the mediocre

He wasn't recruited to be part of a fully fit team. Please take your negativity away from my Drew Petrie Appreciation Thread. Kthxbye.

With Mitchell and Priddis making it official, gotta ask, when does it happen for Petrie?

Apples and oranges. Priddis is done, Mitchell is close to done and wants to focus on coaching. With them gone our centre square dynamic changes, and that's necessary and exciting.

Petrie was recruited as insurance, which was basically a show of complete lack of faith in Giles and McInnes.

Naitanui hasn't played a game, Lycett played one and is injured again and Vardy just got injured after playing 17 in a row for the first time. The call on Petrie should be made based on what happens with McInnes and Giles, and how Naitanui and Lycett are tracking heading into next year.

I'm happy for us to say 'yep, you've done the job we needed you for for a year but we don't need you for 2018' and let him retire, but if that's the case I'll be annoyed if we go and get another back up ruck. The club is currently using 4 list spots (2 are rookies) on Vardy, Giles, McInnes and Petrie. All are there for roughly the same reason and none are best 22 with a full list. We need to be realistic. You can't have a back up for the back up in case the back up to the back up goes down, that's nuts. For mine we keep NN, Lycett and Vardy (none in danger) then just one of the other 3. I'm OK with drafting another young ruck as a project player (Cox, NN, Gardy all took time) but we need to limit the number of list cloggers we carry.

Given we've clearly decided that Petrie > McInnes > Giles in the pecking order it would make no sense to cut Petrie and keep the latter two. If we cut the latter two (which looks likely) then keeping Petrie for another year isn't a bad idea.