DT 2011 Rucks Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter longytap

What are peoples thoughts on Ryder this year? Currently have Cox and Sandi but thinking that downgrading Sandi to Ryder to free up cash is not such a bad idea?

I dont see how you can pick Petrie after missing 2/3 games. His price wont start to rise until after round 5 and thats if he plays every game, remember this isnt even considering missing games with injury.

So he potentially could be a good downgrade target after his supsension and bye. With his ability to be DP that has some merit.

I think people are over estimating his scoring abilities from a FF position. He is still priced at 52~ so he really needs to shoot up to at least 70 to be a good pick, even than people would argue that hes a good pick. Danger went from 52>66 last year and not many were happy with him.

I think people are either picking Petrie because they believe he can avg ~75+ or even become a possible keeper. Otherwise there is not much point.

I think it really depends how you see Petrie from the get go. For me, it's all about using him as reliable cover for when my main ruckman have their byes.

I am unconcerned with his round 1 suspension and round 3 bye. He is not a cash cow in my eyes. He's best 21 and will play every game unless injured. And when he is not needed in the ruck, he can at least occupy a position in my forward line if his performances warrant it (otherwise I have the option of benching him).

I agree with DWD that people are overestimating his scoring capacity, but I wouldn't be unhappy if he averaged between 60-70 and played every game that I needed him to. That would be better than having only low priced/rookie back up with the likes of Smith, Derickx, Keefe, Moran, Zac Clarke, Stanley etc. Relying on those guys to fill in when you need them is taking a big gamble in my opinion. There's a big chance of donuts or that one of these guys will come into your starting line up and give you a a big fat 20.

In my opinion, Petrie will conservatively average 65 which would increase his DT price to the 265-270k range. So he will have still made you some money and if necessary he can be used as a final downgrade option in the last couple of weeks of the season (if you desperately need the cash).

I really had my sights set on using Trengove as my DP R/B ruck this season. But virtual sports have made that impossible because they have not given us one single DP R/B that is rookie priced. In light of that, I see no other choice but to run with Petrie.

What are peoples thoughts on Ryder this year? Currently have Cox and Sandi but thinking that downgrading Sandi to Ryder to free up cash is not such a bad idea?
I did this yesterday because I needed the cash elsewhere, although I was really hesistant in doing so.

I really want to start Sandi/Cox but not sure if my structure will allow it.

we are not all like that, but yeah, good point.

Im currently toying with the idea of gambling on derickx playing rd 1 and selecting petrie. am i any chance to get away with it? when do league draws get released? if i can size up my opposition prior it would help make the decision for me

No need to gamble on it mate, just check the teams Wednesday night before lockout.

Going to go with Cox who i think will left back to his 2009 standards, only problem will be if West Coast decide early they are going to be rubbish again and think it best to play Nic Nat as first choice ruckmen.

Also going for Josh Fraser, honestly think he will be the DT bargain of the year, He is going to be the main man at GC and will play first ruck for 90% of the game not get pushed up forward like he did with the pies. He will win his fair share of hit outs but also takes marks and can kick goals.

I am selecting a 3rd ruckmen I expect to play each week who is cheap in Warnock, will be Carltons first ruck and may look to cash in on him mid season.

Need a rookie ruckmen, and think the Demons are very lean in ruck stocks so 1 of there 3 rookies Gawn, Fitzpatrick & Campbell look the best option, just not sure which one. Any one got any suggestiong.

In my opinion, Petrie will conservatively average 65 which would increase his DT price to the 265-270k range. So he will have still made you some money and if necessary he can be used as a final downgrade option in the last couple of weeks of the season (if you desperately need the cash).

I see no other choice but to run with Petrie.

If you think Petrie is only going to avg 65 than you shouldnt be picking him. Only 12-13 point improvment on price, with the extra rookies playing early the Magic Number will decrease much quicker meaning players like him wont make that much money if they avg what your saying (65).

Hes also missing 2 of his first 3 games so that means his price wont start improving till round 5, by than GC will have all/most of there youngsters play 3 games by than and bring the magic number down severly.

Meaning if he avgs 65 he will likely only make you 40k by that time it could be round 7-9. This isnt even taking into account the fact he is extremely injury prone after this foot.

So by that time lets say round 8 he wouldve played 6 games. Some rookie couldve played 8 games by than or even if he only plays 6 will be saving you 120k from the start and make heaps more money. I know there arnt options really like that in the rucks although (Smith, Campbell, Bailey) you never know a 50 avg over 6-8 games will make plenty of coin and at the same time save money by not picking Petrie. Even if he become 250-260k how are you going to upgrade him to any premium/top end ruck (Ryder, Jolly, Cox, Sandi). Almost impossible.

He really shouldn't be picked for the above reasons unless you see a 75~+ avg.

Going to go with Cox who i think will left back to his 2009 standards, only problem will be if West Coast decide early they are going to be rubbish again and think it best to play Nic Nat as first choice ruckmen.

Also going for Josh Fraser, honestly think he will be the DT bargain of the year, He is going to be the main man at GC and will play first ruck for 90% of the game not get pushed up forward like he did with the pies. He will win his fair share of hit outs but also takes marks and can kick goals.

I am selecting a 3rd ruckmen I expect to play each week who is cheap in Warnock, will be Carltons first ruck and may look to cash in on him mid season.

Need a rookie ruckmen, and think the Demons are very lean in ruck stocks so 1 of there 3 rookies Gawn, Fitzpatrick & Campbell look the best option, just not sure which one. Any one got any suggestiong.

Fraser may look like the main man on paper if you havnt heard about Z.Smith, hes a gun and mature aged. He will most likely play the role you are saying Fraser will. I could beat Fraser in the ruck and im 172cm. He will predominantly play forward next year, bad knees doesnt help his case.

Campbell is a great option can fill Frawleys position at CHB played late in his career here and also be that 2nd ruck the dees may need who can be a tall option in the goal square with the avg tall forwards melbourne possess at this current stage. Campbell will be my 3rd ruck. He will play early if fit, unsure how he will score but his history is probably a good way too see what he will put out, maybe not as good as he no longer is probably in his prime.

Ryder is a great option, unique to say the lease. Premium with late byes. Didnt he score 90 with 9 disposals againt the dees?? that is insane and Hille will struggle to make Round 4 let alone R1 from what i heard and it could well be on going. By the time Ryder starts to tire, he will get a much needed rest in R10 than go again, unsure if there is another midseason break this year which usually happens at R11. So if thats the case than he becomes very interesting. 2 week bye at the perfect time would rejuvenate him nicely for the end of season.

Quite a few good rucks. ATM tossing up with structure and strategy to use (Jolly, Cox, Ryder, Mcevoy) are the rucks im considering most.

Well ive had Cox and Jolly from the get go, but if I change Duffield to Grimes I can go Sandi instead of Jolly....but that only leaves me with $1,300 in the bank. Thoughts?

I have Cox and Jolly as well and unless something changes I'm staying with them.

I think Cox will be pretty close to the highest scoring ruckman this year, back to his best which includes racking up marks/kicks on the wing.
Also I think Worsfold's job may be on the line a bit too much to be resting someone like Cox.
Jolly is the stand out #1 ruck at Collingwood and with their pressure they create plenty of stoppages so they need a good ruckman.

I find it interesting that everyone isn't going with the standard Sandi/Cox combo. IMO they will be the highest scoring rucks for the year which is why I'm picking them. Is this a case of just keeping it simple...especially when it comes to rucks.

Yeah be wary of those West coast and Adelaide supporters, take everything they say with a grain of salt.

Not completely true, but I must admit I was on the Mckernan bandwagon a year early (at least).

I think it really depends how you see Petrie from the get go. For me, it's all about using him as reliable cover for when my main ruckman have their byes.

I agree with DWD that people are overestimating his scoring capacity, but I wouldn't be unhappy if he averaged between 60-70 and played every game that I needed him to. That would be better than having only low priced/rookie back up with the likes of Smith, Derickx, Keefe, Moran, Zac Clarke, Stanley etc. Relying on those guys to fill in when you need them is taking a big gamble in my opinion. There's a big chance of donuts or that one of these guys will come into your starting line up and give you a a big fat 20.

Your summary is pretty much the closest one so far which sums up my ruck set up. Going in with Cox/Sandi Petrie/Smith. Whilst pricey I have my reasons, I believe that Petrie/Smith provide the best chance of providing someone to score 70+ to cover my rucks. With the premiums I have chosen I have ruck byes to cover in Rounds 5 & 6 early on which and considering Petrie is missing rounds 1 & 3 I might as well leave him in my rucks and allow one more forward rookie to accrue some revenue.

A lot of people forget that they will need ruck cover until about round 16 (once most of the major players pass their second bye) so Petrie would be close to being my last downgrade trade, that's if I trade him out at all. His main purpose is ruck cover, but if his scores exceed expectations I will make my first forward rookie downgrade to J Tippett to open up DP flexibility.

I find it interesting that everyone isn't going with the standard Sandi/Cox combo. IMO they will be the highest scoring rucks for the year which is why I'm picking them. Is this a case of just keeping it simple...especially when it comes to rucks.

I agree I always aim to get as close as I can to having my rucks pull in 200ppg (average). Cox is firming in a lot of people's minds and will probably see a rise in the number of people that choose him over the next few weeks. Unless West Coast rest him.

I would be interested to know how much time you guys think Cox is going to spend in the ruck and how what he will avg for the year? I only see him having about 50% ruck time...

IIRC Sandi played 88% TOG last year. Along with a slow start to preseason and injury concerns meaning "put aside a trade for him", i dont see how he can improve too much more.

It doesn't matter if he doesn't improve, if he is the highest scoring ruckman by 10ppg then you want him.

I would be interested to know how much time you guys think Cox is going to spend in the ruck and how what he will avg for the year? I only see him having about 50% ruck time...

By end of year it could end up that way, but with Nic Nat's shoulder surgery giving him a limited preseason and Cox coming off his best preseason in ages I see him capable of anywhere up to 70%. But with him regaining his aerobic capacity means I think he can add another 10ppg to his average.

It doesn't matter if he doesn't improve, if he is the highest scoring ruckman by 10ppg then you want him.

Overall Cox was the highest scoring ruckman last year, because he played all 22 games. Durability is more important than ever, hence why he gets another big tick for mine. I think with the way that Sandi finished last season Fremantle can't afford to have him break down again. I think he has reached his peak TOG for his career, especially if Clarke or Griffin prove to be admirable second rucks.

Excellent point. People tend to forget that Cox was the highest scoring ruckman last year. He's had a ripper preseason by all reports. So I can only see upside in him this season.

Sandi worries me a bit. He may be 'managed' to ensure that he's right for the business end of the season. That will definately effect his scoring capacity. Also, the foot injury that he sustained late last year leaves me with a bit of a doubt.

At the end of the season I think that Cox And Sandi will average a similar number (low 90s i my estimate).

As in 4th ruck? Robbie Campbell would be your best bet but he is no certainty for round one. Others are considering Derickx, but I wouldn't think he'd get regular games.

If Brad Moran looks to have won a spot in the crows team, I'd lock him in. Hell, he's a chance to be their number one ruck. He won't just score you a 40, he can rack up a decent score.

Any thoughts for a Sandilands - Mumford combo? Both players have their byes in the multi-bye weeks, meaning they miss no competitive DT games. Removes the need for backup rucks / Petrie subbing in and out, allowing money to be spent elsewhere. Mumford has proven that he is more than capable of scoring at a decent rate in DT, although there is two things to consider

- Seaby may be back for the Swans at some stage, limiting his time on ground (Pyke I'm not too worried about, since it was he splitting time with Mumford last year, and didn't affect his scoring too much) and
- He is injured now, I don't know what his pre-season has been like

Thoughts?

As in 4th ruck? Robbie Campbell would be your best bet but he is no certainty for round one. Others are considering Derickx, but I wouldn't think he'd get regular games.

If Brad Moran looks to have won a spot in the crows team, I'd lock him in. Hell, he's a chance to be their number one ruck. He won't just score you a 40, he can rack up a decent score.

Derickx looks good and should get games with the rucks stock the tigers have.