Dunn's first year...

pav_is_god

I know I'm jumping the gun a bit, but the selection of Riley Dunn has got me a tad excited!

Do you guys think he'll get a game in his first season and where would you slot him in?

I think he's a good chance to get game time because of what I've seen and read about him - matured body and a great work ethic. I'd probsbly put him on a wing to begin with and put him in the centre in spurts. Longterm he'll play on ball for a whole game.

Yeah, I definitely think he will get a game somewhere along the lines next season. I'd play him at half forward/wing probably. He looks like the sort of player that would be suited to playing half back in a Solomon type role early on in his career but we are pretty settled there for the time being. Definitely on ball long term.

Connolly will probably do the same as he did with schammer.
He'll do 50 or 60% of the training and have the same amount of game time. I think Dunn will have a few run with roles in the middle or off halfback much the same as Webster.

I think he will get a few games this year probably on the wing / halfback or defensive runwith role. I think he will probably end up on ball although I think he should play his early footy at Halfback I know CC would like to get Dion Woods further up the ground where he would be difficult for opposing clubs to matchup on.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Yeah, I definitely think he will get a game somewhere along the lines next season. I'd play him at half forward/wing probably. He looks like the sort of player that would be suited to playing half back in a Solomon type role early on in his career but we are pretty settled there for the time being. Definitely on ball long term.

Hope so. He sounds like a really, really, ridiculously good player and if Connoly plays his cards right, he should be a gun. I would like to quote both pav is god and Big Kev by saying I'M EXCITED.

I am not convinced that he is not injury free at this point in time which could see him being nursed through the pre season and consequently having a late start to his season.

You could have used Dunn in that final last year. He is already the most fearless player on your list. Terrific pick up and freo should be happy he was still there when they got him. If melbourne had any sense at all they would have picked him instead of McLean. Freo have benifited from melbourne's stupidity. Physically he is more advanced than most if not all of the kids in the draft so barring injury he would be ready to go.

Originally posted by marcuz
You could have used Dunn in that final last year. He is already the most fearless player on your list. Terrific pick up and freo should be happy he was still there when they got him. If melbourne had any sense at all they would have picked him instead of McLean. Freo have benifited from melbourne's stupidity. Physically he is more advanced than most if not all of the kids in the draft so barring injury he would be ready to go.

Think you're gettting a bit carried away there marcuz, I reckon the Eagles have benefitted from Fremantle's stupidity by taking Dunn instead of Waters.

Both quality kids. Id rather Dunn though. He seems more likely to move into a midfield role

Originally posted by mick ryan

Both will be very good players. Dunn is quicker but Waters is a fair bit taller. However Wisbey thinks there is great scope for Waters to improve his pace due to poor technique. I like it :D

Originally posted by Sera
Both will be very good players. Dunn is quicker but Waters is a fair bit taller. However Wisbey thinks there is great scope for Waters to improve his pace due to poor technique. I like it :D

Agree they will both become very good players. Dunn 182, Waters 185 not a lot of difference, I reckon Waters will become something of a cult figure at the Eagles. Supporters will see a lot to compare him with Worsfold.

Well, congrats Freo. You picked up a gun of a player in Ryley Dunn. I must admit I'm still bitterly dissapointed we didn't pick him up, but it made me a little better knowing we got Ryley's good old mate in Kane Tenace.
After watching Ryley play countless times for the Bushrangers this year, and occasionally last year as well, I was in awe of the kid; he was absolute star quality. In his first year I'm tipping Connolly to ease Dunn into a flank. Dunn plays most of his footy off the half back flank or on the half forward flank. He's still learning his way through the midfield, and as of such I don't think he'll be ready for it in the near future. Better off playin him off the flanks and chucking him on the ball occassionally.
he's a good grab overhead, especially for his size, making him well suited off half forward, where he can grab the ball and slot some goals home. He's got good disposal, especially by foot. Can kick on both sides, and has an excellent, not to mention beautiful, kicking style. Disposal by foot is also good, as he has clean hands and a good quick footy brain. He is physically ready for AFL more so than any of the other blokes this year (Only perhaps Cooney, Waters, Mclean, Sylvia could challenge). Good build, could become an enforcer type of player in the future (Think M.Johnson, C.Scott, B.Scott). His speed is good for his body as well.

Now you can see why I rate him so highly. Which brings me to another idea: Just how highly do you guys rate Callum Burgess or Jacob Surjan? Let me know