Dunn - Well Done

Buddy
1 - (Melbourne) - Tom Scully: He is simply the best footballer of this year group and will be a gun at the highest level a quality midfielder with great ball winning ability both inside and out. Doesnt have great pace but looks quicker on the field than many suggest. He has an okay kick at time but this is probably the area of his game that needs the most work. He is the smartest footballer i have seen for sometime, he reads the ball well of hands and wins plenty of clearnances. Could be a mixture of Judd and Ablett in him. Loves tackling and work rate is second to none.

2 - (Melbourne) - Jack Trengove: Wouldnt suprise me is he slips. Wasnt mentioned a whole lot before the 18's carnival. He had a great 18's carnival which made me outsiders think he will go at pick 2 to the dees. I wouldnt be suprised if he slips. I heard Port Adelaide were interested in him at 9, so they think they have a shot at him. Ive gone with him purely because of his awesome carnival and unlucky not to win larke medal IMO. He is a solid midfielder with decent speed and a good kick. Know how to win the footy and is a typical rotating half forward flanker on to the ball player. Knows how to get plenty of ball and can kick plenty of goals aswell. Port Adelaide i think are dreaming. Him and Scully could take melbourne to a flag in 3-5 years time.

3 - (Richmond) - Dustin Martin Wonderful player i havnt seen him play against other sides and i know that the game against WA was easily his best. But he has potential to be top 4 pick. Hes everything as good as Morabito even though a different type of player. He has great kicking skills both sides of his body, can push forward and be hard to beat one on one, he plays the sweeping role very well. He reminds me of S.Higgins a fair bit and also Dal Santo. Didnt win alot of his own footy he seems very uncontested but that may have just been his role. Would think he will go higher than this but im changing it up a bit more. Im yet to see Trengove's games yet but he seems good enough to go 2nd pick in the entire draft. Tigers will be happy to get another quality player,lets hope they dont suff them up this time. Quality player and will be very good at AFL. Very strong in contested marking, has a ready made body.

4 - (Fremantle) - Anthony Morabito: IMO he is the 2nd best player in the draft and has the greatest upside to his game. A tall, ready made, strong midfielder who can play anywhere. He is typically an outside wingman but the AFL club he goes to will try and make him into an onball force. Can win clearances and with his strong body will be awesome at AFL level. Has played plenty of senior footy and has huge impacts on games even with 15 posses a game. He is very similar to Adam Goodes and if i was Melbourne i would take him at pick 2. Good kick and elite ball carrying ability he is a 70 metre plus player when he gets the ball.

5 - (Kangaroos) - Ben Cunnington (explanation will come)

6 - (Sydney) - Kane Lucas: Now im unsure what the swans are really looking for, they typically have hard at it mids who are ageing if they continue to draft this way dont expect to see Lucas their. Hes an outside player who can push to an half forward flank, predominantly where he played for WA. Has played 12 league games for East Freo, struggled early but became alot better. I think confidance and belief was his issue and he started believing he could play well at the higher league level. He got 27 or 26 posses in a strong game later in the season which showed his continued improvment. Super junior and was expected to be top 3 when he was 16. Has falling away a little but the WA recruits of Sydney know alot about him and were close to him at state 16's where he was dominant in the midfield. If the swans want a quality midfielder they will take him, but the question mark is simply what do they want a KPB, KPF hard nut midfielder? They will look at Martin and Cunnington closely as more hard nut mids if thats the way they go.

7 - (WCE) - Lewis Jetta:
If Lucas is gone i reckon they will take Jetta. Hes lightining quick and can play midfield or forward. The eagles are dying for a small forward with dynamic speed and also a wingman after fletcher and Braun have departed. He is what the eagles are looking for and his great display of 3 goals and 24 posses in the state game will enhance his pecking order. He was also superb against West Perth in the elimination final with 26 posses and 3 goals in a BOG performance with an amazing 3 bounce goal.

8 - (Port) - Travis Colyer:
Also have some information from inside that port will take him because of his speed. Only at 175cm but with lightning speed. Had a standout carnival which made recruiters open their eyes. Can play forward as a crumber or as a B.Harvey midfielder. He is very similar to Brent Harvey and any side would take a Harvey for 10 years with pick 1 let alone 8. Will be suprising considering i rckon port could wait till round 2 to get him but they are looking purely for speed and they may make sure they get him with pick 8.

9 - (Hawks) - Nathan Vardy (explanation will come)

10 - (Essendon) - Luke Tapscott I was strongly considering Rohan as well for this spot, both are excellent players. Tapscott reminds me of a mixture between Hurn and Dane Swan. He is a similar build to Dane Swan very square and very strongly built. Will be ready to play next year. Can play that HFF role and kick multiple goals like he did against victoria in one of the games. Chases hard and work ethis is great. Has a thumping kick and kicks 60 metres with ease, similar to hurn. Will be a typical HFF who pushes into the midfield to win big clearnace. Similar to how a Hird use to play. Wouldnt mind them picking up Rohan here either though. Koby Stevens also considered.

11 - ( Melbournes) - John Butcher: Melbourne need one more key forward and would be rapt with to get the best tall in this 09 draft. Him and Watts will be the future of Melburne as key forwards and i think they would be happy with this. Butcher needs to bulk up to become a power forward. He has a good mark and okay kick at goal, although kicking needs alot of work. He also displays a good work rate and pressure skills once the ball hits the ground or the other side looks to rebound. This pick will be interesting but i think melbourne will take butcher. AA U18 in 2008 as a 17 year old. Both Melbourne and Carlton will look at Panos aswell or even a ruck especially for melbourne.

Pick 12 - (Brisbane) - Gary Rohan
I was unsure whether or not they may go for Stevens both hard nut inside midfielders in which the lions could do with once Power and Black are finished. Expect them to chance their arm on genuine midfielders with their 2nd pick. Rohan can become a dynamic midfielder whilst he can also get the crumbs from Brown and Bradshaw up forward. Will become a HFF who can play midfield. With the lions having Sheldon, Rich, Redden coming through nicely and hard nut Proud they should look closely at the next best player and thats Rohan for me who displays X factor.

Pick 13 - (Adelaide) - B.Sheppard (explanation to come)

Pick 14 - (Collingwood) - Daniel Talia
Unsure what the pies are looking at, im predicting a tall after taking both Beams and Sidebottom last year. They may look closely at Vardy but i especially dont rate him at all. Talia can play CHB but he may not be tall enough, just from watching the footage of the state games. He seemed to play alot in the middle against SA and he could be a 3rd tall down back. Unsure of his height but if the pies dont think he can hold down CHB its unlikely they will take him. Anyway Talia has great one on one ability. Has great hands and used the ball well by both hand and foot. I was especially impressed with the way he used the handball and always chose the right decison. This pick will be interesting, will the pies bring something at of the hat?

Matthew Panos[/U][/B], i think Melbourne will defiatnly end up with the pick so im going with Panos. Hes probably the next best tall forward and the dees are crying for a player to build their side around with Watts. Panos, Watts and Jurrah with smalls around their feet will mean their set for a while down forward. They wont take 3 midfielders first up, however it looks like a quality midfielder will slide. Cunnington and Stevens, still yet to be picked up. The demons may also consider Fitzpatrick or Vardy as a ruck.

Will continue to do my list with explanations,

Currently my order:

1. Scully
2. Trengove
3. Martin
4. Morabito
5. Cunnington
6. Lucas
7. Jetta
8. Colyer
9. Vardy (should take a ruck, maybe fitzpatrick)
10. tapscott
11. Butcher (melbourne will go KF)
12. Rohan
13. sheppard
14. Gysberts
15. Talia (will take a tall, maybe fitzpatrick)
16. Sheppard (we can pick from Christenson, Melksham, Duncan or a KPF or ruck in Fitzpatrick)
17. Duncan
18. Fitzpatrick (should take a ruck or maybe Panos)
19. Melksham
20. A.Black (homeboy KPF)
21. Panos (will go tall after taking a mid with 1st pick)
22. Griffiths (should also go tall)
23. Fyfe (take a home boy)
24. J.Carlisle (port should go tall)
25. Bastinac/Christenson
26.Bastinac/Christenson

Good to see someone thinking outside of the box a bit, aside from the first few picks of course (which is fair because I think they are the best four quite clearly).

@EasternHills: True, but I think the chance of us taking him at two is greater than the chance of us taking anyone else there, at least for now in any case.

Morabito, Sheppard, Lucas, Jetta, Colyer....it's almost like you live in Perth or something....

It's nice to see someone trying something a little different, but it's also easy to go too far in the effort to be different. Sheppard will go first round, but to have him going ahead of Cunnington and Martin is a tad questionable in my opinion. Particularly given those two have an impact on the scoreboard, which is exactly what North need.

Similarly, I can't see Colyer being drafted ahead of Rohan, Christensen and Melksham. Personally, I think Colyer will be lucky to go during the second round, let alone the top 10.

I would also consider editing the explanation for Trengove, as you contradict yourself a bit by saying you think Trengove will slip and then going on about how good he is and how 'Port are dreaming'.

But not a bad effort so far, and it looks like there will be some serious bargains come the second round...

Yeah im trying a few things a bit different that are quite possible as ive spoker to a few in the know.

I just heard the eagles are keen on their home boy Jetta and were thinking of taking him with their 1st round. Is a very quality player similar to S.Hill from dockers. Dont be suprised to see him got top 12 or so, many clubs would want his services.

Port are after speed and purely speed, Rohan will defiatnly be considered. I dont know a whole lot on Cunnington, Martin, Rohan. Could anyone send me a link of their games from youtube i have watched i think it was cunnington a bit and also Rohan. Their likley to be my next pics. I knew it would look a little WA biased but they do have some quality players and won the championships by a mile.

Great start... could challenge Matt Burgan for the best Phantom Draft for 2009!

Looking forward to what you think Essendon needs.

I just heard the eagles are keen on their home boy Jetta and were thinking of taking him with their 1st round. Is a very quality player similar to S.Hill from dockers. Dont be suprised to see him got top 12 or so, many clubs would want his services.

Really wouldn't be surprised me aswell. Was asolutely killing it in the WAFL this year and looks to be a safe bet. Would offer a lot more then Kane Lucas (Who would be heavily considered aswell) I think if West Coast don't pick him up, Brisbane will most probably pick up (Fits our exact needs). Dustin Martin. where art thou? If anything he would be a smokey for pick no.1. Would be ineresting to see if Colyer will be picked up that early aswell. A good list though.

9 - (Hawks) - Dustin Martin Now in my draft he has gone a bit later than what many expect. Im also expecting him to go higher after watching his game against WA. Wonderful player i havnt seen him play against other sides and i know that the game against WA was easily his best. But he has potential to be top 4 pick. Hes everything as good as Morabito even though a different type of player. He has great kicking skills both sides of his body, can push forward and be hard to beat one on one, he plays the sweeping role very well. He reminds me of S.Higgins a fair bit and also Dal Santo. Didnt win alot of his own footy he seems very uncontested but they may have just been his role. Would think he will go higher than this but im changing it up a bit more. Im yet to see Trengove's games yet but he seems good enough to go 2nd pick in the entire draft. Hawks would love to get him here. Quality player and will be very good at AFL. Very strong in contested marking, has a ready made body.

10 - (Essendon) - Luke Tapscott I was strongly considering Rohan as well for this spot, both are excellent players. Tapscott reminds me of a mixture between Hurn and Dane Swan. He is a similar build to Dane Swan very square and very strongly built. Will be ready to play next year. Can play that HFF role and kick multiple goals like he did against victoria in one of the games. Chases hard and work ethis is great. Has a thumping kick and kicks 60 metres with ease, similar to hurn. Will be a typical HFF who pushes into the midfield to win big clearnace. Similar to how a Hird use to play. Wouldnt mind them picking up Rohan here either though. Koby Stevens also considered.

thought it was great until this hawks will definatly take a backmen cause thats what they need last thing they need is a midfielder. also essendon would take cunnington or stevens here cause they are what we need and if martin was here we would take him first. the order would be martin, cunnington, stevens. essendon will definatly grab 1 of them. they are all ready to go espicially martin and cunnington.

Thanks for the comments, I agree with you lions1024, i rate Jetta really highly and think he is pretty much a S.Hill. Has umbelievable speed, is a penetrating kick and has X factor, recruiters and scouts dream of these players.

Yeah regarding the hawks they did take Schonmakers with their 1st rounder last year and he will be moulded into their CHB as they said. The hawks tend to go for need so their is every chance they will go for another tall back maybe Talia. But if they get Gibson expect them to defiatnly take another midfielder, you can never have enough. Plus Martin can play HFF or HBF quite comfortably by the look of him. The hawks also have thorp and Dowler as well as a young good full back in Gilham.

With Essendon for me it was a tough decision. They have a few good mids to chose from as you mentioned. I purely went on need as that what essendon tend to do with their 1st round. Essendons pick is defiatnly a toss up. Cunnington im unsure of his high appraisal as a smokey for number 1 but i dont rate him that highly. Hes a solid player and will become a good player but wont be anything super special.

great job mate. good list and fantastic explinations. Gary Rohan a hard kid to place. could be anywhere from 4-15

If melbourne pick up Scully, Trengove and Panos. I'd be very happy. I'd also love Bastanic to sneak through to 18.

Would be dissapionted if we went for a ruckman with our first 4 picks. We already have Meesen, Big Spencer and Zomer coming through. Jamar our #1 and Johnson #2 with Stef Martin as the pinch hitter if we play with just one ruck.

thought it was great until this hawks will definatly take a backmen cause thats what they need last thing they need is a midfielder. also essendon would take cunnington or stevens here cause they are what we need and if martin was here we would take him first. the order would be martin, cunnington, stevens. essendon will definatly grab 1 of them. they are all ready to go espicially martin and cunnington.

Hawks would be likely to take a backmen....you are right. Maybe Talia.

But, it will be clearer after trade week, because it is likely they will make a big play for Gibson and maybe another tall defender.

Or they may spend everything on Burgoyne which means they will have to go tall in the draft.

If the Hawks snare a few backmen in trade week, they won't have to draft one.

DWB, thought this so far has been a very good mock draft. Looking forward to the next round of picks...in particular my club Collingwood.

When you have all those WA players after pick 3 it doesn't give your efforts much credence I'm afraid.

Martin & Rohan will both go before Shep or Lucas.......

What do collingwood fans especially think they would look at with their first round. Wouldnt suprise me if they trade it though.

Do they need a quality backmen (Talia) they do have N.Brown.

They have some young key forwards, (Rusling, Cloke, Anthony) are they going to cut the mustard or do they target a key forward.

They have drafted heavy for mids last few years with (Beams, Sidebottom, Thomas, Pendlebury ect) so wouldnt think they will take another mid.

A ruck could well be on the cards, do they look at Vardy with their being no real good ruck in Frasier, Bryan, Wood.

Im currently looking at Talia or Vardy.

Don't think Jetta will go to Eagles first round. He's in their back yard and is now 20. Word is he has been a lazy footballer until the last 12 months. Just what Whoosha would avoid. Melbourne's second rounder might be about right.

Looking at the 30/9 version, Talia should definitely be in the top 13, and if Martin is there WCE are taking him. His foot skills and delivery are somethign that the team lacks.

Im actually starting to consider some changes to my top 14. Im thinking of going with Rohan at pick 3, heard he is some chance and players like him always rise late similar to Dale thomas. This means Butcher would fall, probably quite far. Eagles have said they will take either of (Sheppard, Jetta or Lucas). Port are simply looking for speed but do need another tall forward. Hawks have plenty of tall forwards. Essendon have their future talls covered. Carlton could well get him, but they may be likley to pass this on to melbourne who would be delighted to get Butcher aswell.

Im not going to add to much more, until after trade week. Their seems like alot of trades may be made and it will involve several draft picks and of the high order.

Thoughts on Rohan to go at 3 and Butcher to be the slider to pick 11, kangaroos may well take him at 5 and swans at maybe pick 6, but after that i dont think he will go to port, hawks, ess.

Also considering Cunnington at the kangaroos with the roos talking to him at draft camp.

Im actually starting to consider some changes to my top 14. Im thinking of going with Rohan at pick 3, heard he is some chance and players like him always rise late similar to Dale thomas. This means Butcher would fall, probably quite far. Eagles have said they will take either of (Sheppard, Jetta or Lucas). Port are simply looking for speed but do need another tall forward. Hawks have plenty of tall forwards. Essendon have their future talls covered. Carlton could well get him, but they may be likley to pass this on to melbourne who would be delighted to get Butcher aswell.

Im not going to add to much more, until after trade week. Their seems like alot of trades may be made and it will involve several draft picks and of the high order.

Thoughts on Rohan to go at 3 and Butcher to be the slider to pick 11, kangaroos may well take him at 5 and swans at maybe pick 6, but after that i dont think he will go to port, hawks, ess.

Also considering Cunnington at the kangaroos with the roos talking to him at draft camp.

I have no doubt that at least 10 clubs including Richmond would have spoken to Cunnington. Your logic in this is a bit flawed.