Eagles trumped by the Demons

I always reckon its easier to turn some one down in confidence than it is to turn them up .

If you have got the pace of Flash... I hope he has the stones to use it and take players on.

Good problem to have.

Most posters miss the point any way .. the trick is not about drafting talent .... thats 25 % of it ....... the real test is 75 % .... DEVELOPING IT .:thumbsu:

well im sure he'd be more respectful to the coaches at AFL level.

mate he plays his own way does his own thing on the ground footyies a team game and i don't know how he'll go. when i played against him he was sent a mesage to go back on our key player and

he sent a message back telling the coach to "**** off i'm here to play in the midfield or forward nnot in the ****ing backline" i just don't know how he'd go at an AFL atitude even if that is at a lower level of footy.
[/B]

Well if he has the balls to say that to Woosha then he just went up in the bravery stakes........ lol.

So you played against him ... how did you go .

Get drafted ? ... what was that ? .... didn't think so ... bit pissed are we
?

[/b]

Well if he has the balls to say that to Woosha then he just went up in the bravery stakes........ lol.

So you played against him ... how did you go .

Get drafted ? ... what was that ? .... didn't think so ... bit pissed are we
?
i'm not even of draftable age yet but yer i'd like to but i doubt i will i'm just saying what i saw in him. now days clubs are looking for kids with the right atitude that's what i thought but obviously not. i'm just saying it reflects in his footy and we'll just have to see how he goes. why the personal insult i'm just saying what i see in him and giving my opinion.

So where does that place Franklin?

Please please don't say confident.

Maybe Buddy learned when to stay in his hole and when to be arrogant. There have been rumours circulating that the reason for Smith's slide was that he interviewed poorly and that he presented himself as arrogant.

Hmmm, well there seems to be alot of other theads about the Eagles doing the best from the draft.
http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/naitanui-may-watch-season-2009-from-the-bench-20081129-6nbz.html?page=1

It's funny how people go off their 'bigfooty group think' to assume who did the best out of the draft.
We took Redden who you had highly fancied, and also stole McCulloch from under Richmond's nose. Who cares? You can't grab your top 5 rated players in the draft with your 5 picks (try as recruiting managers have us convinced).

It is funny how guys like Redden and Bennell are hardly mentioned on here before the draft but are ranked by the people who are paid to identify talent.

You did trump us for Bennell. But I think we might get the last laugh there when he wants to come home in a couple of years. Had is heart set on coming to WCE.
Of course. Everyone always wants to come home to WC in a couple of years. We drafted Mitch Clark but was told he would be on a plane home as soon as possible - he has re-signed twice. We were told Leuenberger wouldn't last the 2 years in Brisbane before wanting to come home - he has extended his contract. People already have Rich in Eagles colours in 2011.

I think for the second year in a row Melbourne & West Coast did the best out of the draft. oth teams will have a really strong squad in a couple of years. A good time to be at the top end of the ladder as new teams snap up the cream.

Why would this surprise anyone?

You were easily the shittest teams all year and the only teams to have 3 picks in the top 20. You would hope you would "win" the draft.

mate he plays his own way does his own thing on the ground footyies a team game and i don't know how he'll go. when i played against him he was sent a mesage to go back on our key player and he sent a message back telling the coach to "**** off i'm here to play in the midfield or forward nnot in the ****ing backline" i just don't know how he'd go at an AFL atitude even if that is at a lower level of footy.

Mate they said the same about Palmer last year that he was an arrogant little shit but hey he is pulling his weight doing as he is told and the best of all the kid can play and he plays footy very well so if Smith is like him I'm happy.:D:D

Attitude is a big thing....but these days so much analysis is put into draft picks.

West Coast, like all clubs, would've interviewed its selections...would've tested their attitudes and watched them closely.

You also have to remember these guys are 17 year olds. How many people here can honestly say at 16 or 17 they were perfect angels with no attitude problems?

Especially considering these guys would've been hero's at school, probably the pick with the girls and have always been better than anyone they have played against.

It is a different ball game when you come into the AFL and you are no longer the biggest or best or most popular kid in the team.

But its also an essential ingredient that these kids come in with self belief and confidence in their own ability...and a little arrogance never hurt either. If you have self doubts then they will be exploited.

I have to agree, but they also did have a heap of top line picks.

I still thought that Port Adelaide and Adelaide managed their selections rather nicely. I also rate Hawthorns picks for the selections they had, and a sneaky mention to the Blues.

I guess the Eagles and Melbourne noticed something in Bennell that I did not, but I felt Ash Smith was a better pick up.

Bennell did give up a tour of england I think to play football. It shows he has talent, he may come on with leaps and bounds, when his focus is just on football.

He stopped playing cricket, and played A grade footy for carey park for a year and now he plays for melbourne!

Means little.

If Naitanui becomes better than Buddy Franklin, i assure you the Eagles will have the last laugh.

Swift v Blease is going to be another interesting comparison which could go either way.

Eagles may just be trying to play down the hype.

And if Jack Watts becomes better then both Franklin and Naitanui?

The only thing the eagles should be laughing at is themselves for drafting a guy who can't play football and has a fungus on his head.

How pathetic is AFL anyway, when someone has a 'zany' haircut he's considered marketable, even though he can barely play the game, can't talk, is shy and will in all likelihood cry during his first game when he gets physically targeted?

The only thing the eagles should be laughing at is themselves for drafting a guy who can't play football and has a fungus on his head.

How pathetic is AFL anyway, when someone has a 'zany' haircut he's considered marketable, even though he can barely play the game, can't talk, is shy and will in all likelihood cry during his first game when he gets physically targeted?

He's seemed extremely apt with the media so far.

And speaking of marketable, at least we haven't paraded our top pick around in a media circus to appeal to members.

Who cares, every draft there are teams who could have picked better players but thats the draft...

In the end you just play with the cards that are dealt to you or in this case you play with the draft picks that you have selected or in other cases you play with yourself.

funghi ;)

He looks like a fun guy - He should bring a bit of excitement back to the Eagles in the next few years :thumbsu:

Jack Watts is genuinely marketable though - Naita isn't.

At least go into some detail. A bland caucasian against a 200cm black Fijian with stupid hair and an amazing vertical leap. Whether or not you think it's justified, Naitanui is far more marketable. Fortunately we don't need to worry aobut that sort of shit. 40,000 members pay up every year without fail.

So from this thread i gather that the reason Naitanui was picked so high was because he is black, has dreadlocks, and can jump high*

*May not be able to actually play football

Then we have Jack Watts who according to Cuzz09 seems like Neitz. 306 games, Coleman medallist, AA CHB, AA FF, Club B'n'F winner.

Chew beaut.

Ah, but he's far from bland. SEN radio interviewed Watts the other morning and the reaction was extraordinary. The broadcasters doubted that the MFC club could have had a better fit and they wondered if there's a more mature and likeable young footballer that has recently entered the game. In Andrew Maher's 4 years at SEN no other interview had provoked such a favourable audience response.

And this from his previous football manager: "THERE was only one thing bothering Wayne Oswald: where would he play Jack Watts?

"We were wondering where we could position Jack to be a bit fairer to everyone else," Oswald said.

"We didn't waste him, but if you played him at centre half-forward or full-forward, he just ruined the game.

"So we thought we'd put him on a wing and give 17 other kids the chance to be part of the game.

"After the first half on the wing, he was easily best on ground, easily."

Oswald, who watched Chris Judd, Luke Ball and Tom Hawkins in their early years at the Dragons, does not hesitate in comparing the teenage prodigy to the talented trio.

"If you had brought someone down here and they didn't know who Judd or Ball was, they'd immediately say, 'Who's that?' and Jack was the same," Oswald said.

"Fair dinkum, I think Stevie Wonder could have watched him play. His ability to make a decision in no time and execute it is phenomenal."

"You don't get considered No. 1 if you're not rare and he's rare. To be 196cm and be able to stand on a wing in a game of footy, it's going to be such a great tool in 2010 when you'd expect he'd be coming on."

As to comparing him with Neitz ? He'd do well to have such a career, but Jack is taller, faster, a better mark, more agile and thinks quicker and makes better decisions.

And as far as being better than Naitanui ? He's better already. And at the same age he has less faults than Franklin.

Enjoy watching him over the years.