EDFL Division 2

Hope it wasn't to bad as from memory Roxy are still on notice from the league. If there is any reported incidents there could be issues. I know the EDFL won't put up with bad things happening.
I'm also aware that some people running the club are trying to stamp out this bad behaviour/culture....
Roxy had 80% of the play and a couple of blokes still managed to find the need to throw punches, sort of thing that can cost you games of football if it's close.

Think you'll find , Bennett no1 for watsonia , decked one of the young Roxy boys about 60mtrs off the play , which initiated the scuffle that followed. Spoke to numerous people associated with Watsonia & apparently this is a regular occurance for Bennett. Once he was removed from the field ,by watsonia captain, there were no more incidents..

Think you'll find , Bennett no1 for watsonia , decked one of the young Roxy boys about 60mtrs off the play , which initiated the scuffle that followed. Spoke to numerous people associated with Watsonia & apparently this is a regular occupancy for Bennett. Once he was removed from the field ,by watsonia captain, there was no more incidents..

Which Bennett was it?? Jeremy bennett is a very good player never saw him do anything dirty in games I've seen him play a few years back

Think you'll find , Bennett no1 for watsonia , decked one of the young Roxy boys about 60mtrs off the play , which initiated the scuffle that followed. Spoke to numerous people associated with Watsonia & apparently this is a regular occurance for Bennett. Once he was removed from the field ,by watsonia captain, there were no more incidents..
Actually it was the roxy bloke who got sent off, and it was in a contest...

Doesn't matter what his history is , no1 Bennett (that's what they said his name was) , decked a Roxy player 60mtrs off the play..

2 Roxy blokes got sent off , agree.
As umpires didn't see incident off the ball , but it was directly in front of both coaches .. Oh well , we move on .. Great contest on the weekend vs Sth Morang & not one bad incident to report..

Which Bennett was it?? Jeremy bennett is a very good player never saw him do anything dirty in games I've seen him play a few years back

Remember the year he spent at the Saints. Flat out gun and doubt he'd stoop to that stuff.

2 Roxy blokes got sent off , agree.
As umpires didn't see incident off the ball , but it was directly in front of both coaches .. Oh well , we move on .. Great contest on the weekend vs Sth Morang & not one bad incident to report..
How did They go against Sth Morang?

La
Good tough game, had a few out , but gave 5 u18s a run..
Had heaps more inside 50s , but didn't make the most of it , where as morang did.. Lost by 3-4 goals..
Still some work to do before rd1..
Seems promising do you believe they Flag favs? Or who is my Opinion Coburg districts be Very hard to Beat this Year

La

Seems promising do you believe they Flag favs? Or who is my Opinion Coburg districts be Very hard to Beat this Year

Couldn't tell you to be honest..
I'll just say we've prepared well & we will go out to win every game..
Coburg have recruited very well (so look the measuring stick) , jacana looks to have added some real quality too , Hadfield (always respect the side who drops down)..
keilor park & Moonee valley we havent heard too much about , so who knows..
The club improved a lot last yr , on & off the field , & we expect having put more games into our young list
(8 u18s & 3 u16s also played snrs last yr) , that improvement to continue.. It's a long season & need to be at your best every week.. That's the challenge , I guess..

I've noticed that East Sunbury have signed Kamen Ogilvie (Castlemaine). A good signing for East Sunbury after Ogilvie came 6th in the Bendigo League BNF in 2014.

Keilor Park had 30-40 players at training tonight in total.
Some late recruites including ex players returning to the club which should see KP be very competitive in div2.
Garita - returns from Parkside Premieship last year. Ex captain and club B&F.
Jake Thomas - returns from Melton Centrals. Looks fit after a pre season with Marby. Big full forward returning to his junior club. Be dangerous in thd forward 50 with Fab. Could be a difficult match up for teams.
Stewie Thompson - returns to his junior club from a stint in the country. Skilful midfielder/flanker type.

Popped in to take a look tonight and it appears the coach Loui is doing very well. I know there was a few people questioning the decision but it appears he his doing very well. His young and learning but has taken on the role and giving it 100%.
Also got a reserves coach who's also doing very well.

Keilor Park had 30-40 players at training tonight in total.
Some late recruites including ex players returning to the club which should see KP be very competitive in div2.
Garita - returns from Parkside Premieship last year. Ex captain and club B&F.
Jake Thomas - returns from Melton Centrals. Looks fit after a pre season with Marby. Big full forward returning to his junior club. Be dangerous in thd forward 50 with Fab. Could be a difficult match up for teams.
Stewie Thompson - returns to his junior club from a stint in the country. Skilful midfielder/flanker type.

Popped in to take a look tonight and it appears the coach Loui is doing very well. I know there was a few people questioning the decision but it appears he his doing very well. His young and learning but has taken on the role and giving it 100%.
Also got a reserves coach who's also doing very well.
A touch more flattering than last time you spoke about Jake Thomas

Yeah fair enough and was expecting some feedback. It's all good Wow61.
Look I should watch my words (however it wasn't rude or a personal attack) and I was big enough to apoligize when I got a reply.
I was however being honest in my accessment, as premier is a top standard of footy of you need to be on your game the whole time. When I last seen him play a few years back he did seem to drift in and out of some games. That was my point I was trying to make..
In div2 he should go well and if switched on could also hold his own div1. It's a credit to him for going back to his junior club while they are down in div2 and this should be commended.

Interesting season ahead....

Yeah fair enough and was expecting some feedback. It's all good Wow61.
Look I should watch my words (however it wasn't rude or a personal attack) and I was big enough to apoligize when I got a reply.
I was however being honest in my accessment, as premier is a top standard of footy of you need to be on your game the whole time. When I last seen him play a few years back he did seem to drift in and out of some games. That was my point I was trying to make..
In div2 he should go well and if switched on could also hold his own div1. It's a credit to him for going back to his junior club while they are down in div2 and this should be commended.

Interesting season ahead....

I posted this on the NFL thread with regards to getting people back into footy clubs. Thought I would share my views.

Running footy clubs these days is a bloody tough gig even with a lot of helpers..
I know this is only a small thing but I mentioned on another league thread that I have noticed an increase in beer prices at local footy. Stubby of draught now $4:80. Now I always buy from the clubs but to me this is a bit steep. Does this encourage supporters to bring there own beer, sit on the boundary line and then leave straight after the game? Need to get them into the club and entice them to be involved.

Ideas - Throw on some free finger food at 6:30 so if people have kids they can eat something. Put the lights on so kids can kick a footy as that's what we used to do back in the day. Need to get families back into club footy..
Fri / Sat night $5 kids meals..

Anyway it's just a small thing I've picked up on in local footy in all leagues.

Coached him for a couple of years, very exciting player when he wants to be.
Certainly wouldn't wack bloke behind play.
The Haig Fawkner Cricket Club and the Northern Saints Football Club lost an excellent administrator and club person in Geoff Kosmak who died last week. He worked tirelessly around the club and was a well respected person throughout both clubs and the EDFL. A more thorough tribute can be found on the Northern Saints and Haig Fawkner Cricket Club websites. Our thoughts go out to his family at this sad time.

Looks like Keilor Park found at least $2000 per week for all the Hillside players clearing to them!
It's well known these 4 are a package deal and not cheap for division 3.
Half their player budget will be taken by 4 players, and yes Fab is worth heaps, but the others, seriously??
Not a bad scam these guys have going, hold out on negotiations as long as possible to see what club is desperate for players and miss all of pre season. Hope their new team mates are very welcoming. Personally I would be pissed off.

Looks like Keilor Park found at least $2000 per week for all the Hillside players clearing to them!
It's well known these 4 are a package deal and not cheap for division 3.
Half their player budget will be taken by 4 players, and yes Fab is worth heaps, but the others, seriously??
Not a bad scam these guys have going, hold out on negotiations as long as possible to see what club is desperate for players and miss all of pre season. Hope their new team mates are very welcoming. Personally I would be pissed off.

Mate, you are assuming things. Originally only 2 signed but now appears the other 2 have also lodged clearances. I can tell you that KP just don't have that type of money after a couple of lean years on the field and now back in div2.
I am aware that the guys you are talking about were on around this figure at Hillside but they are not on this type of coin at KP. Think the payments could be partly incentive based.
In closing I don't believe div2 clubs should pay big coin but you do need to recruit the right players. The other thing is most of these players are capable of playing div1 so it's a good pick up for KP which you would agree with as they were pretty good at Hillside.
I have heard they are good blokes in general but have a stigma of being a group and getting paid.
I know your not necessarily potting them but your club is also paying players as all clubs do to compete.

Judging by the "late" inclusions KP Shoukd be very competitive this year.,

PS- Didn't Fab & Sam come 1-2 in Hillside B&F last year in div1. So to say only Fab goes ok is a bit of a silly comment.

Anyway move on now..

EDFL Division 2