EDFL Premier Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Del28562

Cmon man all they had to do is square that contest and they win. Pressure/smessure, having someone defensive side of a stop play is footy 101 bro. Just pointing out how easy it was to win it for APW.
It sounds easy mate and I agree with what you are saying but players are human and they would have all been buggered.

Cmon man all they had to do is square that contest and they win. Pressure/smessure, having someone defensive side of a stop play is footy 101 bro. Just pointing out how easy it was to win it for APW.
That’s fair enough, I take it you were a legend footballer right? Seem to know a lot about winning games.

Nah mate, just someone who knew what his job was, and how to stick to the basics. Don’t forget this in an opinion forum, what’s your opinion of the last 30 seconds of the game?

I reckon abers got too confident, well done airport west for putting a win together… I also think aberfeldie should hire you as their prem coach, you would’ve won the game mate.

Ha ha ha you are to funny, obviously hurting from the loss. Cheer up you will get over it.

I don't know whether they will. I guess when they sit down and analyze the match with the umpires they can all work out what went so wrong for them both and how they can work better together next year. The analysis will probably be taking place in some steam room somewhere.

Very confident, big spending, pretty successful club. Abers, Keilor and Strathmore are all, pretty much, tarred with the same brush. Always around the mark of playing finals, I think people get sick of the same teams winning it.
Keilor and Strathmore ahead of Abers, the perennial underachievers.

I remember PV player Dean Tydell got 4 weeks for a soft headbutt on Kane Barbuto that wasn't even seen by the umpires.
Only got reported after Barbuto ran up to the umpire squealing

No mate. Injuries cruelled us. Our efforts considering are looking pretty damn good this season.
Great to see another club make it to the GF, I reckon like last year with PV everyone will be hoping that APW can get it done.

It’s a shame these games are not at Coburg or Windy Hill like old times. Not sure about the Rupo ground choice but the size of the ground would have played into the hands of both opponents as they have fairly small grounds.
All about the girls

Was a great clearance for APW however seems strange a bloke can waltz thru the centre with no one in his way, Abers must’ve been drinking champers already! 😂
Did you see the Abers coach holding up the stupid AFL inspired signs at the end of quarters. Maybe he should have held up the “stop number 1 streaming through the middle and winning the game” sign.

I don't know whether they will. I guess when they sit down and analyze the match with the umpires they can all work out what went so wrong for them both and how they can work better together next year. The analysis will probably be taking place in some steam room somewhere.
Were you at the game? I was quite surprised at how one-sided the umpiring was and it wasn't favouring Aberfeldie.

An excellent match of footy to spend my Father's Day afternoon. Now for my assessment of the day, which I am sure everyone is very eager to read. :p
The Good: Both clubs travel well and had lots of supporters spread all around the grounds. Everyone was well behaved that I saw. Got a little spicey towards the end there, to be expected though in such a tense game, but nothing out of the ordinary. Food was good from the canteen. Plenty of parking and well organised to get in. All credit to APW for keeping their heads up (down by 30-odd at the half) and coming back strong. A well deserved win and an exciting match that I am sure will be relived down at the Nest for years to come.
The Bad: Oval was terrible. A strange shape and with a hump in the middle, complete with a synthetic cricket pitch that looked unsafe. Only one canteen/bar open and lines were very long. Surely the EDFL has a better venue, especially on Fathers Day?
The Ugly: Umpires were shocking. Biased decisions. Even the APW people I was with at one stage were commenting on how one sided the calls were. Guess those headsets not helping much. The Abers coaching team should be sacked immediately. About 100 people on the bench and not one could work out they needed a sweeper, especially in the last quarter. Silly AFL signs that no one took notice of.

Were you at the game? I was quite surprised at how one-sided the umpiring was and it wasn't favouring Aberfeldie.
We were kissed on the dick with that last free kick, but if its not paid the games goes to extra time so double edged sword in a way.

Thought the umpiring was pretty bad in the third quarter especially, airport west seemed to win a free kick from every stoppage.

But in typical abers fashion we let a prelim opportunity slip away, absolute credit to airport west they are a relentless side that has alot of momentum and wouldnt shock me if they beat a pretty wounded keilor next week.

Muratore you absolutely broke my heart and gentile had been running straight out of the guts all game, think we were tagging the wrong bloke in Hanson.

We were kissed on the dick with that last free kick, but if its not paid the games goes to extra time so double edged sword in a way.

Thought the umpiring was pretty bad in the third quarter especially, airport west seemed to win a free kick from every stoppage.

But in typical abers fashion we let a prelim opportunity slip away, absolute credit to airport west they are a relentless side that has alot of momentum and wouldnt shock me if they beat a pretty wounded keilor next week.

Muratore you absolutely broke my heart and gentile had been running straight out of the guts all game, think we were tagging the wrong bloke in Hanson.
Good post. A lot of attention on Gentile’s last clearance but it happened all day out of the middle, APW got numerous scores after coming out the front of the stoppage. Couldn’t believe it wasn’t address by Abers coaching staff.
Young, Gentile & Hanson at stoppage is APW biggest strength.
Hard to see Clay keeping the gig after not winning a final in 2 seasons. Abers won’t cop that

You clearly weren’t at the game, Aberfeldie in typical fashion were kissed by the umps all game. Yesterday’s game only showed us that APW had more heart than Abers.
looks like Abers need to spend another couple hundred thousand aberdollars next year

Young & Gentile had big last quarters but geez Thompson was huge for Abers. Without him in the last they wouldn’t have been a chance.
Will Abers have fireworks for a Reserves flag?