Embley gone? *OLD THREAD FROM 2002, Have a Laugh*

Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
What annoyed me about that article, is the 'victim' saying he wasn't sure if he'd press charges, but was adament he wanted the club to be involved.

"The family has not decided yet whether it will make a formal complaint to the police. But Mr Airey says he is determined to have the Eagles' executive take the incident seriously."

Either, he's been assaulted and he presses charges, or he doesn't. I don't care either way, but it is not the Clubs problem - it's Andrew Embley's.

I think it's his father that wants to get the club involved (and the quote comes from him) - but either way you've hit the nail on the head EF. If one of us was in a fight at a club would anyone want to get your employer involved?

I know these guys have a huge responsibility as role models, but they also cop a lot of cr@p from drunk blokes at clubs. The story in the Times also said that the incident(s) had been captured on video, and Embley wasn't particularly worried.

I wouldn't go trading him based on this.

This shows 2 things. One, sometimes players with 'profiles' might use it and say i am a footy player blah blah, and people might get p*ssed off at them being up themselves and rightly so. It might work and it might not. Second, people see these players with 'profiles' as targets in that they can start sh*t with them, and due to their higher profile than the average bloke, they will get their names in the papers. Knowing how the media can be, they will be given a guilty verdict straight away no questioins asked, and this gives them a bad name due to their profile. Now would a normal bloke get the same treatment, regardless of his guilt?? It's a price to pay to be where they are i spose in being in the spotlight all the time. I would have just clobbered the guy if he gave me sh*t, but thats me :p.

And thirdly, players should realise the ramifications should they be involved in any incidents, and be particularly careful.

Forgot to add earlier, I was hoping we'd be able to trade him this year, but if his value decreases too much over this latest story, hold on to him. The talent is there. The attitude needs work, and the brain's non-existant, but the talent is definately there.

ps- been a while since we've been on the front and back pages of the paper the day after Grand Final day... :p

The Slimes has judged before hearing the evidence.

What we know is this. The guy with the eye cut was causing trouble and was ejected by the bouncers. 45 minutes later he got back in and the fight ensued. I'll do my bit of prejudging. I had one or two biffo's at night club in my younger days and after an ejection a punter coming back into the club 'always' was doing so for revenge and a punchup was always going to happen unless the bouncers saw him first.

Now the evidence is on video tape at the club. No doubt it will be viewed and if Embley is shown to have attacked another person he will be prosecuted and pay damages. However, if provocation or self defence is seen then there is no case to answer.
There are too many low lifes out there trying to look big by starting a punch up with high profile people. This may or may not be an instance of one but footy players are trained to be tough and ask no quarter. Embley would not be able to turn into a pussy. Many billed him as the new enforcer at WCE, we can't have it both ways.

I was brought up in the world of soccer in UK. I had a freind called Trevor Francis who became an England plyer and a manager, at 17 he was called 'superboy'. He got 'offerred out' at least twice every time we went out on a night time. Fortunately two of his other friends were extremely robust and protected him. It can't be easy.

Originally posted by Frodo
The Slimes has judged before hearing the evidence.

What we know is this. The guy with the eye cut was causing trouble and was ejected by the bouncers. 45 minutes later he got back in and the fight ensued. I'll do my bit of prejudging. I had one or two biffo's at night club in my younger days and after an ejection a punter coming back into the club 'always' was doing so for revenge and a punchup was always going to happen unless the bouncers saw him first.

Now the evidence is on video tape at the club. No doubt it will be viewed and if Embley is shown to have attacked another person he will be prosecuted and pay damages. However, if provocation or self defence is seen then there is no case to answer.
There are too many low lifes out there trying to look big by starting a punch up with high profile people. This may or may not be an instance of one but footy players are trained to be tough and ask no quarter. Embley would not be able to turn into a pussy. Many billed him as the new enforcer at WCE, we can't have it both ways.

I was brought up in the world of soccer in UK. I had a freind called Trevor Francis who became an England plyer and a manager, at 17 he was called 'superboy'. He got 'offerred out' at least twice every time we went out on a night time. Fortunately two of his other friends were extremely robust and protected him. It can't be easy.
Not looking good, Nisbett hinted tonight on Nine news that he will be sacked.

Mentioned his record over the past 3 years has been poor.

Watch this space.

Channel 7 News tonignt said that Port Power are interested in Embley. I would rather keep Embley but I would be interested in seeing if Josh Carr or Dominiv Cassisi were interested in coming home.

GO EAGLES!

Originally posted by jod23

Thanks....is Nisbett a business man before sports fan. You would think he would know the lingo between delisted and sacked?
Sorry, i may have misrepresented him. I think it was the jounalist who used the word "sacked" in a question, and Nisbett didn't correct them. He was more trying to make the point that the bloke needs to ship up or ship out

Originally posted by larrikin

Sorry, i may have misrepresented him. I think it was the jounalist who used the word "sacked" in a question, and Nisbett didn't correct them. He was more trying to make the point that the bloke needs to ship up or shup out

Ahh ok...Journalists again in top form i see.:rolleyes:

Originally posted by ONE EYE
Channel 7 News tonignt said that Port Power are interested in Embley. I would rather keep Embley but I would be interested in seeing if Josh Carr or Dominiv Cassisi were interested in coming home.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Yours,
Porthos

Originally posted by Porthos

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Yours,
Porthos

I guess thats a no then...;)

Originally posted by Porthos

Yours,
Porthos

Get off our board man! :p

Embly came in that same year as Rowan Jones, Andrew Williams and Callum Chambers from memory. I find it very disconserting that 5 years on they are -still- maybe in that second or third rung of players. Kasey Green and young Haynes, not to mention Kerr and Judd have all stepped up to the pace a lot quicker.

Is it time for West Coast to cut their losses?

Of the ones you just mentioned:

Embley
Jones
Williams
Chambers

three came from one draft and Embley came from the draft after I think. He was the only player that we still have from that draft and he was taken in the 50's.

Of the four above, cut two, Embley and Williams. Chambers has shown a bit and should get one more year unless a reasonable trade comes up and Jones should be kept.

Originally posted by brampta

Get off our board man! :p

Embly came in that same year as Rowan Jones, Andrew Williams and Callum Chambers from memory. I find it very disconserting that 5 years on they are -still- maybe in that second or third rung of players. Kasey Green and young Haynes, not to mention Kerr and Judd have all stepped up to the pace a lot quicker.

Is it time for West Coast to cut their losses?

You could hardly say Haynes has stepped up. He has played 1 decent game.

Originally posted by Visro
Of the ones you just mentioned:

Embley
Jones
Williams
Chambers

three came from one draft and Embley came from the draft after I think. He was the only player that we still have from that draft and he was taken in the 50's.

Of the four above, cut two, Embley and Williams. Chambers has shown a bit and should get one more year unless a reasonable trade comes up and Jones should be kept.

Agreed.

I would place Jones in the "untradeable" list. Chambers may be worth holding onto, he has shown some glimpses of what he can be.

Williams I hate to see go, but does not seem to fit in our best 22 lately and along with Embers could be used to bring in players of a higher quality.

Trade ?

If Port Adelaide are keen on Andrew Embley I wonder if they would consider him plus our first pick for Chad Cornes. I would rather the Eagles go after someone like Cornes than either Headland or Chick - we have enough midfielders - and Headland is too expensive and Chick too old for our needs. Thoughts Porthos?

Re: Trade ?

Originally posted by vicki
If Port Adelaide are keen on Andrew Embley I wonder if they would consider him plus our first pick for Chad Cornes. I would rather the Eagles go after someone like Cornes than either Headland or Chick - we have enough midfielders - and Headland is too expensive and Chick too old for our needs. Thoughts Porthos?
Port need more tall forwards, not less. Cornes and Tredrea are probably the two most required players on our list.

As for the price.....no

Port would never let Cornes go.

Cornes is a classy player and I think an important cog in the Powers chances of a flag.

Fast becoming one of my favourite players to watch along with Roger James.

Originally posted by ONE EYE

GO EAGLES!
Josh Carr would only be used to catch much bigger fish than Embley. Cassisi hasn't had much of a go at Port yet. However, we've got a fair few skilled midfielders and need some more blokes with a bit of mongrel in them. From reading this topic though, Embley sounds more like a prat than a pr1ck ;)

Originally posted by Grave Danger

Josh Carr would only be used to catch much bigger fish than Embley. Cassisi hasn't had much of a go at Port yet. However, we've got a fair few skilled midfielders and need some more blokes with a bit of mongrel in them. From reading this topic though, Embley sounds more like a prat than a pr1ck ;)
No worries, we'll just go for Courtney Johns and add to our East Freo collection :D

Chad Cornes is also one of my favourite players that's why I asked Porthos. Well, no harm in trying.
Porthos - How about Andrew Embley, Quinten Lynch (can't get much larger than that) and 2nd round pick? That way you get two forwards and a draft pick.

I reckon Port just saw and heard what Embley can do in a pub and want him around for the next time they meet up with the Crows in any of the establishments on Adelaide :D

Channel Seven had another 'dirt' story on Embley tonight. And I thought Seven were one of our sponsors?

Basically the weeping bloke made a formal statement to police yesterday and that tomorrow the police would speak to Andrew Embley.

Embley gone? *OLD THREAD FROM 2002, Have a Laugh*