Opinion End The Negativity

• Thread starter Thread starter shewho

Forgetting who is coach for a minute. I want an answer to the question: Do people feel like we will improve next year. Yes/No and why
Yes
Because we have good youngsters about to make a mark that will make a difference in Howard , Bonner, Marshall , Johnson , Frampton etc
Pittard should have a better year re fitness as well as Hombsch .
Dixon is entering his prime , Robbie , Boak and Westhoff should still be in their prime , Wingard , hopefully gets a bit of a kick up the bum and gets back to All Australian form .
Atley and Drew both look promising .
We still won't get too bad a draw

If we leave the coaching staff as is, imo the best we can expect is 5-8 again.

Our improvement this year came almost entirely from Bassett.
Defence can't get much better now.

Assuming we had a 9/10 defence, 5/10 mids and 3/10 forwards, have some ++development but --luck then next year we will have:
9/10 defence, 5/10 mids, 3/10 forwards.

I'll be improving the number of games I get to in 2018 but if we don't make change in the substandard areas we will continue to get what we deserve.

And we'll be -3 on the showdown count.

I got one when I saw him do that blazing run through centre half back.
I loved how he didn't lose his composure at the end of the run and made the right decision. Yes Impey ended up almost stuffing the chain by dropping a handball but Bonner's part was sensational.

Forgetting who is coach for a minute. I want an answer to the question: Do people feel like we will improve next year. Yes/No and why

Too many ifs, buts and candy nuts to be meaningful but I say no.

Of the 6 remaining maybe we can jump 1 or 2, but just as likely to be jumped by 2 or 3 behind us.

Reason being we still haven't learnt know how to win despite not being the better team on the day. Until our list gets to the point where we believe we're 5 goals better than any other side we'll keep sh!tt!ng the bed. Our list is NEVER going to be that good.

I don't have faith that our senior players can learn to win games when our backs are against it, leaving us expecting too much of our younger players.

I also worry that the gap between our seniors and the younger players will be too big a bridge, i.e. by the time the kids can stamp their mark on the game week in, week out, have the confidence and composure to control our own destiny by winning 16+ minor round games a year our seniors will probably be past it.

We worry too much about the 1%ers that we lose sight on the remaining 99% of the game.

Frustrating to be so good yet so far.

Forget "not giving in" new logo should be "no eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn"

What is it about the current setup that actively goes "just **** my shit up fam" every time a showdown rolls around?

In hindsight, the 150+ point belting the numbers suggested the last one should've been may've been the best thing in the long run, but history says we don't learn from those kind of defeats anyway.

119, 138/165 in consecutive weeks. Just keep rocking up, bruh. You're a good dude.

New Coach. Breathe some fresh air into the place.

Trade Bait. Offer up for trade Boak, Trengove, Young, Lobbe, Broadbent, Impey, Lobbe and for the right price, Robbie Gray (he ain't winning a flag with us).

Totally agree?

It would hurt like hell but I'd trade Robbie for a top 10 pick.

vrZqwPx.jpg

xoxo

m7tWemj.jpg

Thanx 4 posting this Alex!!1 :heartbeat: It's so good 2 c positives instead of all this negative crap!!! :mad: I don't come here anymore coz of the h8 :rolleyes:, get a life ppl (& more brains lololol!! :p

Keep ur chin up and don't let those bad negative ninnies get u down mate! :rainbow:

Go Power!!! :footy:

what a miserable lot of campaigners you all are

Yes.

Draw won't be significantly more difficult.

The games we played against lower ranked sides we generally dominated, so we should expect those sides haven't bridged the gap.

The games against top sides - we were often 'close' and often luck played its part. We could quite easily have halved them.

Our depth has improved, our list profile is younger.

Our challenge is finding a high quality ball user to compliment our midfield group - who have a touch of sameness, and support for Dixon.

Good thread, I've thought about starting myself, glad some-one has. The quoted reply is exactly why I hardly look at BigFooty. Interesting hardly see posters I admire on here any more. Negative, negative, negative.

2005: 83-pt SF defeat
2006: missed the eight
2007: 119-pt record GF defeat
2008: missed the eight
2009: missed the eight
2010: missed the eight
2011: 16th w/ 138 & 165-pt losses
2012: missed the eight (5.5 wins)
2013: 5th!
2014: 3rd!
2015: missed the eight
2016: missed the eight
2017: lost home final to 8th in ET

It's almost as if constant and unerring failure breeds negativity or something.

Never mind, she'll be right. Just cos.

If he's not up to it, he's not up to it. You reckon Clarkson or Longmire need tactical assistance in the box? If Ken doesn't understand football then we need someone that does.

Yes I cannot grasp how people believe a head coach can be a head coach without being one of the better tactical minds and player managers. Sure I understand that they can't do it alone and need competent coaches surrounding them but surely the coach needs to be equal or better to those surrounding them. We had Walsh surround Choco and scraped one flag with a dominant highly skilled team but Clarkson has had guys come and go around him and they waltzed to three in a row and one prior to that.

what a miserable lot of campaigners you all are
Life isn't all sunshine and rainbows OGC. We're all emotionally invested in how this club performs, and want it to be successful. We can't all watch it repeatedly fail due to mismanagement and incompetence, and sit back saying "aww shucks, maybe next week/year/decade boys."

Wiigiigigigigkgkyyyy

Woooo wooo wooo9oopppp

Sunshine rainbows and pixie eyed donuts glazed with pink and sparkles of joy

Yipppppyy yuu yie treat yeah go go go go go we champions hum dinner ping pong table and chairs and tables and chairs

This reminds me of this.

Life isn't all sunshine and rainbows OGC. We're all emotionally invested in how this club performs, and want it to be successful. We can't all watch it repeatedly fail due to mismanagement and incompetence, and sit back saying "aww shucks, maybe next week/year/decade boys."

"Dad, why didn't Robbie Gray win a premiership?"

- "We just didn't like him as much as Ken Hinkley"

On Saturday night we became the first team ever to win 4 quarters of footy and lose the game.

This sentence wholly encapsulates the complete stupidity of the majority of our now-casual supporter base.

We were literally behind for close to 100 minutes of the game. Christ.

So where does the negativity come from?

1. Little impact on finals over a sustained period - we have been very ordinary since 2004 - with 2007 and 2014 the exceptions
2. Lack of close wins - its been over 2 years since we've had any - the maggies QF reminded me what a rush it is
3. Lack of surprise wins - Round 1 but nothing since
4. Losing the games that are the ones that allow us to jump ahead of the pack - happened at least 3 times this year
5. Frustration with seeing what we think are bleedingly obvious deficiencies on field left that way for long periods of time
6. Seeing leaders / senior players underperform
7. Seeing young players regress e.g. Austin
8. Basic lack of skills - goal kicking, hitting targets I50
9. Getting smashed by top 4 sides late in the year
10. Lack of Showdown wins
11. Not seeing where the change will come from for 1 - 10

The Positives
1. Seeing young players introduced and play well enough to keep their spot. - Houston, SPP, Marshall, Bonner, Howard, DBJ
2. Making the finals - at least we were there
3. Knowing our defence was strong
4. Off-field success - China, new sponsors, quality off-field leadership

The question should not be "why are we negative" - it should be "what are we going to do to fix it"

Its unfair to measure Lade's success so far, Bassett has obviously been excellent.
I'd make Roy Laird an offer he can't refuse to be forwards coach.
I'd also be asking Jay Schulz to come on board as a skills coach and I'd get Tim Ginever involved in a holistic player development role.

Happy for Ken to stay in charge as long as he can turn that group into a team and delegate's appropriately. My greatest fear is that by extending Ken's contract Bassett leaves. That would be a huge step backwards.

But I've only been watching this team since the 1960's - what would I know.

(Have not listened to last nights podcast yet - not sure if we came to the same conclusions)