Opinion End The Negativity

• Thread starter Thread starter shewho

Why does bodymoan keep repeating the same words? ....

Gee. I dunno. Maybe because we played 27 times this year with predictable outcome.

Resulting in us losing what should have been unlosable. For predictable reasons.

And now some want to blame the players, and extend Ken to 10 years?

Most Prison sentences aren't that long

'when thundercloud accuses Boydman of repeating himself adnauseum' - what is that called?

We'll to me that's just a compliment

To anyone else if should read as a redundant statement, superfluous, Barbara Streisand or A Normal Day in B0ydland

Take your pick

Hypocrisy imo.

I agee with feel and would go so far as saying total hypocrisy, but the heglian question still remains of what the 2 contradictions of pro hinkley and anti hinkley will morph into.

Janus might or might not be able to help out with the hegel stuff. I am a mere novice, but after reading marx capital then 2 3 had dabbled their

Tribey might be able to Assist with the temporal aspect as his previos post here.

Have a good day

Gee. I dunno. Maybe because we played 27 times this year with predictable outcome.

Resulting in us losing what should have been unlosable. For predictable reasons.

And now some want to blame the players, and extend Ken to 10 years?

Most Prison sentences aren't that long

Bodymoan i think your thinking process is def down the empirical evidence band wagon

Saying we overachieved in 2013 and 2014 - and wholly crediting Ken for it - is an astronomical cop-out.

Travis Boak, Robbie Gray, Chad Wingard, Hamish Hartlett, Jay Schulz, Brad Ebert, Kane Cornes, Dom Cassisi, Tom Jonas, Jackson Trengove, Justin Westhoff, Matthew Broadbent, Jasper Pittard, Matthew Lobbe, Cameron O'Shea.

All guys who were here when he arrived, all with undoubted potential/ability, but had spent the past few years of their careers at a club that was running on the smell of a rag that wasn't even oily. They were joined by Angus Monfries, a hardened warrior with invaluable experience, and the type of player (legit first teamer with no Port ties) we wouldn't have dreamed of attracting during the Primus years. Ollie Wines arrived via the draft and would become an instant star.

And with the AFL's financial package, a raft of new sponsors coming in and Adelaide Oval on the horizon, Koch and KT were able to back Hinkley to the hilt with a degree of support and resources that only Williams enjoyed circa 2004. No more fitness coaches with manboobs or peddling pseudoscience (Kosmodisk ffs!). No more FIFO assistant coaches phoning in via Skype, or shoehorned into the role despite never having laced a boot at age 26.

Port Adelaide was finally back on a wartime footing and the players flourished accordingly, with everything suggesting an extended era of contending was here. In fact, heading into 2015 with boom recruit Paddy Ryder onboard, no-one was saying the Power had overachieved, and after a horror early draw was negotiated with a 3-2 record - including a perfect quarter of football against the incumbent Hawks dynasty - many were tipping us to all but run the table from thereon, with a flag well and truly in the offing.

Cue the first of our four losses to West Coast at the venue, backed up by an unforgiveable capitulation to a penniless, talentless Brisbane, and we've been largely irrelevant ever since. From an irresistible September-bound tidal wave with formidable talent on every line, to downhill skiing pretenders, eager to choke and check out at the first sign of trouble. A contagion that first reared its head on occasion in 2013 (vs Carlton in R22, Q3 of the Cats semi) and 2014 (from
10-1 to 14-8), but went full-blown pandemic in Round 6 2015.

Any club worth its salt would do something about it.

Our club is about to double-down.

I think this is always an interesting topic. I'm an eternal optimist about footy in person. I watch it because I love watching it, I watch Port because I love watching Port play. Watching AFL is a hobby to me. Consequently, when I no longer derive pleasure from it, I'll stop. On top of this I rarely enjoy hanging shit on opposition supporters, I don't give Crows supporting mates shit or get involved in the banter and just generally don't consume a lot of AFL media. I simply don't enjoy any of that, therefore I don't do it. Seeing the endless pessimism and how invested some people are in the club as if its part of their very fabric is pretty foreign to me, simply because I just can't get upset about a situation outside of my control - such as the performance of the club I watch.

But the reality is, people are different and everyone shouldn't be the same - and thankfully most aren't like me. I think the pessimism I often see is from a well meaning place - as is the optimism. Its passion! I only think it crosses a line when its outside of this forum, personally attacking a player, directly to a player on social media etc.
In fact, I think a place like this is THE perfect place to vent and discuss these topics. But there's a line. Saying a player has been performing like shit is fine, saying a player is a sook because of depression is crossing a line.

So I think my point is forcing optimism upon your own way of thinking isn't necessarily the best approach and its more about the way that its framed.

Ken is a loser.

Way over achieved because he says the right things.

He has now infected our players with the ability to turn a win into a loss

He is a loser coach.

Koch wants to make a loser coach a 10 year coach.

Forgive me, but exactly what are Koch's football credentials again?

Koch is a player of the "mates" game..the in club

"Mates games" keep a butcher out when 5 of your forwards are out injured.

It keeps a Ken farmer medalist in the 2s and keeps a Trengove up forward.

It keeps a Trengove out and puts a west Hoff Wat chb.

It doesn't give Ryder any chop support in round 24.

It's why we aren't playing this week

Ken is a loser with a capital L. Koch is a Muppet who wants him there for 10 years.

Losers

Hi BOydman,
I was thinking if there was say a hope for ken in your eyes, then what can he improve on as a coach. I am not sure just winning more games is an ok answer

.?????????????????????

Hi BOydman,
I was thinking if there was say a hope for ken in your eyes, then what can he improve on as a coach. I am not sure just winning more games is an ok answer

.?????????????????????
1. Playing players in their suited position
2. Structure (though Marshall helped)
3. Selection (most important)
4. A plan B that isn't Westhoff behind the ball

Most important in terms of us improving as a team is our footskills, though I'm not sure that is something a coach can easilt rectify.

Leo
Hi BOydman,

.?????????????????????

Leopard and spots.

After 5 years, one year _after_ the infamous "we know who you are" ultimatum, we come to this.

So who will it be- the players, or the coach?

If Ken is the man, and it's just players following instructions, then we've wasted 5 years..it's not going to change without a wholesale turnover of the players. Which isn't going to happen.

Either way, if the board "strengthen" Ken up in the box , they are all negligent and should go.

Let's not forget90% of us here told what the problem would be before the last game . Too small in defense. No chop for a tiring Ryder and no foil for Dixon. Manic press and deep& wide inside 50 leading to behinds scored. Applauding umps leading to subconscious bias which is costing us.

If Ken can do the obvious, then you can say stay. But he is stubborn, and we are 5 seasons in and that would mean a 5th reactive game plan.

Basically, it's the boards fault. It would appear they have not demanded accountability and the rot trickled down.

Ken a 10 year coach?,or even one more year? That's another season of hoping we kick straight despite 5 years of evidence suggesting it's a coin toss

Melbourne missed the finals on a percentage margin of just one goal after the entire season.

We saw this week how costly one missed shot is.

Why would we persist with a strategy that is not better odds than 50/50?

We beat the cripple teams because we get a roll and score multiple goals back to back...because we have a forward line the ball comes into after each goal.

Against better teams it's harder. After 4 minutes of no score we push up and then it's all over as we have no forward set up structure. The best we have is a manic crap shoot that is extreme running forward hoping for some magic to nail a goal.

We spent years watching game plan. Hodges leads, marks. He has a foil. Tredrea, Ebert, Schultz, lead, mark, be foiled by another forward. This is not rocket science

Every other club plays 2 power forwards. Heck, west coast played Kennedy, petrie and darling and they won the game in the first 5 minutes because of that. What did we have? More inside 50s but the coin toss didn't come our way.

Close losses vs close wins what, 4&17? It's all we need to know

Do you really want to build the gameplay on winning a premiership on a coin toss when we have know we can bring it inside 50 as much as we do and have the talent we do? I don't.

It's just bizarre we don't play 2 tall forwards. We would have finished top 2 and won last week if we played Brett Eddy. Period.

Ken won't play him he's stubborn. Instead he plays midget Neade as his solution..."pressure". Well Ken it worked 4 years ago but hasn'tt work the last 3 years so why do you persist?

Like I said, he's a loser. He doesn't know how to win. Just lose games that matter and close ones. His mentality is lose, his record is lose.

Why on earth would we keep him?

How many times does it need to be said that no forward in the AFL is allowed to stay up the field and do absolutely nothing on the defensive side of the ball? If you're not at least 60m from where the ball is, you're out of the play.

I know you know this.

If we had another forward who was fit enough to meet the defensive requirements at an elite level, we would obviously play him. But we don't. Trengove never spent more than 80% of his time on the field unless he was in the ruck. Marshall did against the Dogs and the Suns, but against the Eagles it was less than 70% - which was probably why Dixon was so shagged and couldn't kick straight.

That's no one's fault. It is what it is.

With an extra preseason into guys like Powell-Pepper, Marshall and Frampton....and with a bit more endurance and leading/rucking work into Trengove if he stays...our style will win a flag. I have no doubt about that. We'd be able to burn more of our rotations on our midfield instead of inside mids and forwards, which will increase their output.

How many times does it need to be said that no forward in the AFL is allowed to stay up the field and do absolutely nothing on the defensive side of the ball? If you're not at least 60m from where the ball is, you're out of the play.

I know you know this.

If we had another forward who was fit enough to meet the defensive requirements at an elite level, we would obviously play him. But we don't. Trengove never spent more than 80% of his time on the field unless he was in the ruck. Marshall did against the Dogs and the Suns, but against the Eagles it was less than 70% - which was probably why Dixon was so shagged and couldn't kick straight.

That's no one's fault. It is what it is.

With an extra preseason into guys like Powell-Pepper, Marshall and Frampton....and with a bit more endurance and leading/rucking work into Trengove if he stays...our style will win a flag. I have no doubt about that. We'd be able to burn more of our rotations on our midfield instead of inside mids and forwards, which will increase their output.

So basically, you are saying that because we will be fitter we will kick straighter.

There's another dice roll

So basically, you are saying that because we will be fitter we will kick straighter.

No, because we will be able to play another key forward who is fit enough to not leave holes in our team defence, we will kick straighter.

Have you played much footy Boydy? Kicking always goes to shit when you're stuffed.

Ken is a loser.

Way over achieved because he says the right things.

He has now infected our players with the ability to turn a win into a loss

He is a loser coach.

Koch wants to make a loser coach a 10 year coach.

Forgive me, but exactly what are Koch's football credentials again?

Koch is a player of the "mates" game..the in club

"Mates games" keep a butcher out when 5 of your forwards are out injured.

It keeps a Ken farmer medalist in the 2s and keeps a Trengove up forward.

It keeps a Trengove out and puts a west Hoff Wat chb.

It doesn't give Ryder any chop support in round 24.

It's why we aren't playing this week

Ken is a loser with a capital L. Koch is a Muppet who wants him there for 10 years.

Losers
Do you sit in bay 139? You remind me of a bloke that sits in front of me who loves the word loser

Janus saying we'll win the flag if we play Marshall and Frampton. Never thought I'd see the day.

In case you missed it, I've never been against tall forwards. I've been against forwards that are only played because they are tall.

There has to be more to a position than just being tall. As Bassett says 'It doesn't really matter if you're tall, it matters if you're good.'

We are so predictably predictable I basically predicted the WCE loss to within a point....

Elimination Final: Port Adelaide vs. West Coast Eagles
Every time opportunity has presented to this team they've found a way to blow it. I hope we can finally break through that barrier and get the win.

Im extremely nervous about our personnel, I am not confident that our prime movers can keep carrying the weak links, and im not sure our skills will stand up to the level they must to break open their defense.

Here's to hoping for what I think would be a monster win.

Tip: Head - Eagles by 1. Heart - Port by 1. A complete 50/50 game, in which we need an electric crowd to push us over the line.

I think it was Caro Wilson on Footy Classified who said Charlie has to get his fitness up to the next level of the big key forwards, like a Buddy or Kennedy, to ensure he reduces the fatigue factor when kicking for goal later in games. And then he will be an even better player.

Port have made giant strides with him since he arrived (where they were shocked at how unfit he was) and remember he missed a fair chunk of this pre-season after ankle surgery. So Charlie next season should be an even bigger threat, especially if he has Marshall and Frampton working with him.

Watching Frampton's around the ground marking prowess this year in the sanfl makes me confident he is going to be a dangerous lead up forward at around 202cm (I think he is taller than the stated figure).

I think it was Caro Wilson on Footy Classified who said Charlie has to get his fitness up to the next level of the big key forwards, like a Buddy or Kennedy, to ensure he reduces the fatigue factor when kicking for goal later in games. And then he will be an even better player.

Port have made giant strides with him since he arrived (where they were shocked at how unfit he was) and remember he missed a fair chunk of this pre-season after ankle surgery. So Charlie next season should be an even bigger threat, especially if he has Marshall and Frampton working with him.

Watching Frampton's around the ground marking prowess this year in the sanfl makes me confident he is going to be a dangerous lead up forward at around 202cm (I think he is taller than the stated figure).

I'm pretty sure it was the other way around. Burgess was impressed with Dixons running. Especially for a big bloke.

According to Caro he was very unfit. Sure he could run but you look at the body shape of him then compared to now. And how much better his ankles can bear weight.

Burgess was impressed with Dixon's work rate, but he felt he needed to lose weight. Dixon dropped 5kg in the off-season to go from 115kg to 110kg.

“They did a lot of work around Charlie losing a bit of weight. I think he was about 115 kg throughout last season and it was probably a bit too heavy. He thought he needed to be heavy as a forward but credit to Charles he listened to Burgo and the team and really responded."

I reckon another 5 kg (105 kg) will have him exactly where we want him to be. Franklin is 100 kg.

Do that, and he'll go to another level.