Expansion, new teams into div 4 or a 5th division

Nov 10, 2007
Punt rd
I am hearing a lot of rumours about sides making moves to come into the EFL in the next year or two.

Emerald, Belgrave and Silvan from the YVMDFL and I think Heidelberg from the Northern Football League.

What are peoples thoughts on this?
Does anyone have any info on what steps these clubs have taken?
Is there any truth to the rumours?
Are there any other clubs looking at it?

I am told the league likes the idea of a 5th division. Personally I would love to see Emerald or Belgrave or both come into 4th Div as it would potentially remove the bye.

Interesting times ahead with new clubs. Heidelberg would be a great addition to first division, whether they can get across on their 3rd atempt is another question.

Heidelberg's first problem with entry is you would have to relegate another club from first division to make way for them. Which going by the ladder would be East Ringwood, who i dont think would be too happy playing 2nd division. Unless you play 13 teams in 1st division for a year??? (20 rounds, 18 games & 2 byes each.) then relegate the bottom 2 to bring it back to 12.
There second problem would be convincing Football Victoria who knocked them back a couple of years ago.

Silvan would probably come into division 3?? maybe 4th?

Emerald & Belgrave would be division 4

Would Football Victoria allow 3 clubs from YVMDFL to come across at once????

I believe the Benalla League is disbanding at the end of the year and a couple of clubs are looking to come into the YVMDFL from there.

This would make life very difficult for Emerald and Belgrave who already travel to Kinglake and Thornton and would be then required to travel to Bonnie Doon(100km away)and Swanpool (200km away). That would make more than half their games well over and hours drive away.

Football Victoria would have to consider this a reasonable request given the ridiculous travel requirements.

Silvan would have to be Div 4 given they have run out of money and wont have anywhere near the same team as they have fielded in recent years.
If rumours are true they may struggle to be competitive in Div 4.

What are peoples thoughts on a 5th "Hills" division with

Ferntree Gully
The Basin
South Belgrave
Emerald
Belgrave
Silvan

And a couple of Others that dont come to mind right now from both the EFL and YVMDFL.

This would be something similar to what the MPNFL has done with their regional division system.

Add these 3 or 4 and you could go with

Div1 10 teams
Div2 10 teams
Div3 10 teams
Div4 8 teams
Div5 8 teams

Convincing clubs to go down a division when they havent finished last might be a struggle but Perhaps the league could make it financially attractive by waving fees for a year or something along those lines. You might find another club or two would come knocking if the league made it known they would look after new clubs for the first year in this way.

Just rerad on the EFL forum that Upwey and Mt Evelyn are also considering the move. Div 5 could be on in 2010.

If you follow your local club the division it is in doesn't really matter. The socialising & other benefits of being round the club will be enough to get you there anyways. A higher standard could always be nice, but sometimes that can't be the case. After all not all teams can be in the top divisions.

Tigersman & Blue Tongue, you guys are from South Belgrave.

After 2 years in the league now, how have South Belgrave found the move to Eastern FL from YVMDFL?
Bit of a rough first year, but things this year were alot better, hopefully can push for finals next year.

Belgrave & Emerald, in my opinion both should move leagues, especially with Alexandra being relegated & Boonie Doon applying. Might struggle like you guys did in their first year but the benifets of playing teams closer should make it easier to attract & retain players.

After 2 years in the league now, how have South Belgrave found the move to Eastern FL from YVMDFL?
Bit of a rough first year, but things this year were alot better, hopefully can push for finals next year.

Belgrave & Emerald, in my opinion both should move leagues, especially with Alexandra being relegated & Boonie Doon applying. Might struggle like you guys did in their first year but the benifets of playing teams closer should make it easier to attract & retain players.

Well I know we made the decision in the 1st year to see where we were at rather than going crazy trying to win a flag in year 1 or 2, and possibly spending heaps in the process. There was/ is always the debate about the standard of competition between the 2 comps, so we basically decided in the 1st year to do very little recruiting, play mainly the young local guys & see how we went.

As expected the season was very much up and down - you tend to get that with young sides. But end result was it stabalised the club even more, built up more support from new & existing sponsors, new & returning members, and the end result is a club that as a whole is happy with the direction it is going. We still have great support home & away, and many of our supporters have commented on how nice it is to go to away games only just down the road - and be able to do things on the way there or home from these games. Many of the clubs we play away have commented on the level of support we have on away games

This year we tried to attract some players who filled voids we had from last year - unfortunatly our kids don't seem to grow into the huge units that some other EFL clubs have. But its hard to find monsters & that is probably where we lack at the moment - key positions. A ruck & one of either a centre half back/forward and I reckon we won't be far away at all. After all we did beat The Basin & Templestowe this year, and only just lost to Kilsyth - all of whom made the finals, with The Basin likely to play in the Grand Final

But it all depends on how crazy the other clubs go with recruiting too for next season though :eek:

Just rerad on the EFL forum that Upwey and Mt Evelyn are also considering the move. Div 5 could be on in 2010.

There is a 12 month period to notify the league of the intention to move. So earliest that things could happen would be 2011. Clubs also need to vote and accept newcomers and that's what ruled out Heidelberg recently.

Personally I hope YVMDFL don't inherit clubs from the Benalla League as I'm considering a move to that comp next year...

Well best get ya self I nice old crusing car cos you will be doing loads time on travel even if they don't move over - the Black Spur in middle of winter ain't joy either direction. Do you get travel money - surely not, it would nearly send the league broke

I live in Lilydale so it's not too much different to driving to Rowville / Noble Park / Canterbury etc - most of those are about 45 mins drive anyway. I've got a few mates who umpire there so I'll chat with them over the summer...

When South came over to the EFL it was always going to be a tough year no matter what league we were in. The club had recently come off a reasonably successful period in YVMDFL DIV 2. Unfortunately we lost 3 grand finals in a row!
Most of those players moved to higher standards with a lot of that side playing in div 1 + 2 EFL sides.

To the clubs credit they didnt panic about the new league and go on a spending spree in an effort to be competitive. This has allowed the club to blood our young kids and keep the club very secure financialy. The aim has to be to build a club that will eventually go up to Div 3 and be able to afford to stay there and aim higher. Not spend money on players to get us there only to find we cant keep a competitive side on the field.

There is no question DIV 4 is better footy than Div 2 YVMDFL and I would expect Emerald and Belgrave to battle a bit early on.

Would be great for us to have Belgrave,Emerald,Silvan, Gully and the Basin all in the one division. The crowds would be big every week.

Did either Emerald or Belgrave flag this to either league last year? I remember it being discussed.

Year after next - if it gets voted in. But don't forget, last club who tried didn't get voted in.
MIW, the vote is for entry in 2010, if they don't get in, in 2010, another vote by clubs is required for entry in 2011. If they try again that is.

If clubs vote them in (which i reckon will happen) it goes to AFL Victoria who need to appove all club transfers. They get submissions from the club transferring (Silvan) & the two leagues involved (Eastern & YVMDFL). They then make a decision on the move.

After reading several posts and have been involved in football for a number of years. How big do you really want the EFL to be and if you want it to expand to cover neighbouring clubs. The be prepared to take on a lot more than you probabally bargined for.
Many articles have been written on the demise of the Benalla District Football League, this league has been put down by the VCFL, but it must be stated that several former clubs transferred to other leagues ie Violet Town. Benella All Blacks. Glenrowan etc plus a couple folded.
In time the domino effect has to occur if you want Silvan Then you may as well tale along Monbulk. Olinda Ferny Creek.Belgrave and Emerald then Gembrook, i suspose you then may as well take Mt Evelyn. Yarra Glen is up the road from Coldstream Kinglake and Yea are close to Healsville may as well have them as well. Yarra Junction Worri Yallock Seville are close to Lilydale Powelltown is pretty close to them Warburton it is a nice drive. and Alexandra Thornton well we may as well have them and create a Division 6 to accomodate them
Perhaps we could amalgamate. both Leagues
Travel by some has been canvassed as a major concern for clubs, Country clubs take travel in their stide and you never really hear them complain.
YVMDFL some say the standard may not reach the dizzy heights of EFL but YVMDFL in most clubs still harbour the spirit of communities towns getting behind their football and netball clubs and is seen as a pivitol part of the town.
In conclussion In your quest for expansion Just think of the consequences
As far as i am aware Swanpool has not applied for YVMDFL. Ovens and King is where they will go.
What would be advantageous is perhaps a Eastern Regional Football Board to oversee the Development.Administration. Umpiring and TAC U/18 to cover EFL and YVMDFL (all Clubs)

I believe the Benalla League is disbanding at the end of the year and a couple of clubs are looking to come into the YVMDFL from there.

This would make life very difficult for Emerald and Belgrave who already travel to Kinglake and Thornton and would be then required to travel to Bonnie Doon(100km away)and Swanpool (200km away). That would make more than half their games well over and hours drive away.

Football Victoria would have to consider this a reasonable request given the ridiculous travel requirements.

Silvan would have to be Div 4 given they have run out of money and wont have anywhere near the same team as they have fielded in recent years.
If rumours are true they may struggle to be competitive in Div 4.

What are peoples thoughts on a 5th "Hills" division with

Ferntree Gully
The Basin
South Belgrave
Emerald
Belgrave
Silvan

And a couple of Others that dont come to mind right now from both the EFL and YVMDFL.

This would be something similar to what the MPNFL has done with their regional division system.

Upper Gully would be included in this and would smash every team.

After reading several posts and have been involved in football for a number of years. How big do you really want the EFL to be and if you want it to expand to cover neighbouring clubs. The be prepared to take on a lot more than you probabally bargined for.
Many articles have been written on the demise of the Benalla District Football League, this league has been put down by the VCFL, but it must be stated that several former clubs transferred to other leagues ie Violet Town. Benella All Blacks. Glenrowan etc plus a couple folded.
In time the domino effect has to occur if you want Silvan Then you may as well tale along Monbulk. Olinda Ferny Creek.Belgrave and Emerald then Gembrook, i suspose you then may as well take Mt Evelyn. Yarra Glen is up the road from Coldstream Kinglake and Yea are close to Healsville may as well have them as well. Yarra Junction Worri Yallock Seville are close to Lilydale Powelltown is pretty close to them Warburton it is a nice drive. and Alexandra Thornton well we may as well have them and create a Division 6 to accomodate them
Perhaps we could amalgamate. both Leagues
Travel by some has been canvassed as a major concern for clubs, Country clubs take travel in their stide and you never really hear them complain.
YVMDFL some say the standard may not reach the dizzy heights of EFL but YVMDFL in most clubs still harbour the spirit of communities towns getting behind their football and netball clubs and is seen as a pivitol part of the town.
In conclussion In your quest for expansion Just think of the consequences
As far as i am aware Swanpool has not applied for YVMDFL. Ovens and King is where they will go.
What would be advantageous is perhaps a Eastern Regional Football Board to oversee the Development.Administration. Umpiring and TAC U/18 to cover EFL and YVMDFL (all Clubs)
Some interesting ideas. The Domino effect could well happen i reckon.
Cant see Belgrave & Emerald traveling that far for seasons on end. Whether it be 2011 or 2015, they will move, unless they get some teams that are closer to them in 2nd division or they win a premiership & play teams closer to them in 1st division.

Upper Gully would be included in this and would smash every team.
So would Upwey, im guessing. Firstly, why would UFTG be relegated to a 5th division when they made the 3rd Division GF. Thats just stupid. And The Basin would be in 4th division not 5th.
Secondly, there is also no need for geographical divisons in EFL.

Im not saying the "hills" division is the best option. Just something that has worked for the MPNFL.Probably seemed a far fetched idea for that league when they first discussed it.

Any "hills" division would not be a 5th div and lesser than 4th div in quality. Just as Casey is not lesser than Nepean or Peninsula in the MPNFL. In fact if one or two of the stronger YVMDFL clubs were involved the standard would be pretty good.

Im not saying the "hills" division is the best option. Just something that has worked for the MPNFL.Probably seemed a far fetched idea for that league when they first discussed it.

Any "hills" division would not be a 5th div and lesser than 4th div in quality. Just as Casey is not lesser than Nepean or Peninsula in the MPNFL. In fact if one or two of the stronger YVMDFL clubs were involved the standard would be pretty good.

incorrect. casey and nepean are quite significantly weaker competitions than peninsula.

Some would argue that the top sides in Casey are the equal of those in Pen. Cant say I see enough of it to argue with you though.

What I am getting at is clubs are not relegated from Casey to Nepean or Peninsula depending on their on field strength. Each division runs independently.

So would Upwey, im guessing. Firstly, why would UFTG be relegated to a 5th division when they made the 3rd Division GF. Thats just stupid. And The Basin would be in 4th division not 5th.
Secondly, there is also no need for geographical divisons in EFL.

The idea of having a 'mountains division' would fail miserably due to a number of the teams being deplorable compared to the other, more skilful teams.