Fans getting to keep the ball

Gold Coast
I reckon a club should try to jag a sponsor that would stump up the cash to cover a couple of games a year, where the fans get to keep the ball when it goes into the crowd.

They have bins of them ready to go, so it wouldn't effect the game.

Even if they paid retail for the balls (which they wouldn't), at worst they'd lose probably 50 in a game? At $100 a pop it'd only cost the sponsor 5 large but I reckon for those games you'd bump the crowd numbers up a bit.

The game is just so deadset dull these days, it'd at least give the crowd something to get excited about.

I reckon for those games you'd bump the crowd numbers up a bit.
I can just imagine it now.

'Hey, want to go to the footy on Saturday?'

'Not really'

'They're giving out free balls'

'Oh my god. Let's go'

I can just imagine it now.

'Hey, want to go to the footy on Saturday?'

'Not really'

'They're giving out free balls'

'Oh my god. Let's go'

He's a GWS fan, so he expects to be the only one in the crowd...

I reckon a club should try to jag a sponsor that would stump up the cash to cover a couple of games a year, where the fans get to keep the ball when it goes into the crowd.

Even if they paid retail for the balls (which they wouldn't), at worst they'd lose probably 50 in a game? At $100 a pop it'd only cost the sponsor 5 large but I reckon for those games you'd bump the crowd numbers up a bit.

The game is just so deadset dull these days, it'd at least give the crowd something to get excited about.
Dull? No wonder you blokes only drew 14k to your game last week. Get to the g on Saturday and let me know if you think it's still dull.

I don't think it would work out that well. I can imagine players being booed for not kicking balls into the crowd - dribble kicks would create fury. Fence-sitters would be yelling at them to belt balls over the fence. Seems like a distraction we don't need.

I think you have your TV tuned into the wrong channel if you think AFL is dull. I think you've accidentally tuned into the fireworks, fannies and fast car network, which is much duller than the AFL. All you need to do is go up ~3-4Hz until you hear the excitement-machine, Brian Taylor, going off his nut.

Just because dudes like Brian Taylor are paid to con me that a game is exciting - doesn't mean that it is.

When my mate and I were about 10 we were watching the mighty Forest Hill Zebras play at home next to Nunawading Pool.

The ball got kicked into a backyard behind the goals at the Springvale Road end so we went to the front door and claimed it from some old lady. Sneaky little campaigners, we were.

My mate kept said ball.

Something I find a bit strange is just how keen the umpires are to grab the ball after the final siren, especially the final siren of the grand final. Is it because they want to make sure the ball is preserved ready to be put in a museum/sold for charity rather than taken home by a player or fan?

Don't they give out balls to kids after the game? I get they aren't match balls but are match balls really that exciting?

If you don't like the matches but want a Sherrin go buy a flipping Sherrin without having to buy a ticket to maybe get a chance. It'd be nice if balls into the crowd were able to be kept such as in baseball (players will literally throw balls to the crowd) but that isn't the way.

Something I find a bit strange is just how keen the umpires are to grab the ball after the final siren, especially the final siren of the grand final. Is it because they want to make sure the ball is preserved ready to be put in a museum/sold for charity rather than taken home by a player or fan?

Pretty sure they are in someway 'responsible' for accounting for all the balls used in the game?

Pointless exercise. The odds of getting a footy unless you're sitting in the cheer squad are almost zero, and they're far better off being used at training by the clubs.

Having said that, some lucky bugger sitting behind the goals likely still has one of the Grand Final balls from last year which went into the crowd as the siren sounded, I don't think they're getting that back.

I had to pick a team. I had Adelaide for a while, but changed it last week.

So you're not a football fan, and you start a thread complaining about how 'deadest dull' the game is.

Why do you come on BF anyway?

Or kept by the umpire themselves?

In reality it probably is minimise risk of fans fighting over the ball by getting the balls all under control ASAP.

If it doesn't already happen,Norm Smith medallist should get a ball, as should the captain and ccoach of the winning side. All other balls given to the winning side for use in museum, charity auction or more likely a white collar boardroom.