Fat Acceptance - Problem or not

• Thread starter Thread starter craffles

I hope to donate my organs when I die, but I don't want my liver going to a drinker, or my lungs going to a smoker (if they can transplant lungs?). [...]
People who have no regard for their body just want an easy way out. Join the back of the line I reckon.

What if that smoker was on the verge of discovering a cure for cancer? Would you still tell him to go to the back of the queue based on the principle you've articulated?

LOL. You can't be serious can you? :$

Firstly, both are terrible for you health. They are not food.

Secondly, aspartame is known to cause terrible effects on the body particularly those that relate to the nervous systems. MS has been linked to consumption of asparatame.

It's really not that hard to know what the difference is between food and non-food.
Firstly, I never said they were good for you. I just said that sugar is far more worse for you than aspartame.

Secondly, aspartame has only been linked to MS as part of a hoax. There is no scientific evidence that backs what you are claiming.

And I don't know the difference between food and 'non-food'? What are you even trying to say?

I just don't see the point in getting worked up over how other people live their lives, it's just not for me.

What if you see kids not being fed properly, learning bad habits etc?

What about if you board a long haul flight and some hippo sits down next to you and you are in constant contact with their tuckshop arms?

Gotta love it at the shopping centre when fat people walk through with their trollies full of lollies, ice cream, chips, cool drink etc and then give you a death stare when you look at them in disgust.

I'm talking really big people too, not just a bit of a belly happening people.

Bet you anything there was a third person there looking at you in disgust for looking at the fattie in disgust who was looking at you in disgust for taking such a perverted interest in the contents of her food trolley. Pervert.

It's pretty pathetic. Especially when gambling addicts, smokers, drug addicts and alcoholics a lot of the time are treated by shit, shunned by their own families and left without any proper support possible to create positive change in their lives.

Meanwhile destroying your body like fat people do and then telling everyone how happy you are with your health is applauded by a seemingly increasing number. What the ****?

Could you imagine the outrage if a heroin junkie decided to write some article on a news website telling everyone how proud he is to be shooting up all the time, not sleeping well, not eating, and having a whole bunch of ****ed up relationships with everyone he knows?

"We must shame people, otherwise their fatness will become accepted"

Fair dinkum these people
Well people use the same dumb logic with basically any other health problem.

It's pretty pathetic. Especially when gambling addicts, smokers, drug addicts and alcoholics a lot of the time are treated by shit, shunned by their own families and left without any proper support possible to create positive change in their lives.

Meanwhile destroying your body like fat people do and then telling everyone how happy you are with your health is applauded by a seemingly increasing number. What the ****?

Could you imagine the outrage if a heroin junkie decided to write some article on a news website telling everyone how proud he is to be shooting up all the time, not sleeping well, not eating, and having a whole bunch of stuffed up relationships with everyone he knows?

Well people use the same dumb logic with basically any other health problem.

Wait wait wait wait wait

So you're saying BECAUSE gambling addicts, smokers, drug addicts and alcoholics are treated by shit, shunned by their families and left without any proper support possible to create positive change in their lives, we should be doing the same to fat people?

That's a bit sociopathic.

Oh, and the repercussions of a heroin addict is a little bit different to that of a fat person.

Wait wait wait wait wait

So you're saying BECAUSE gambling addicts, smokers, drug addicts and alcoholics are treated by shit, shunned by their families and left without any proper support possible to create positive change in their lives, we should be doing the same to fat people?

That's a bit sociopathic.

Oh, and the repercussions of a heroin addict is a little bit different to that of a fat person.
No I'm more angry at how people with the problems I've listed tend to get treated in comparison.

I don't want people giving it to fat people, refusing to support them etc, but people who accept their obesity and almost act like it doesn't exist aren't helping things one bit.

Of course heroin addicts are different, but a large number of people meet early deaths or have problems their whole lives due to their poor lifestyle of junk and no exercise.

No I'm more angry at how people with the problems I've listed tend to get treated in comparison.

I don't want people giving it to fat people, refusing to support them etc, but people who accept their obesity and almost act like it doesn't exist aren't helping things one bit.

Of course heroin addicts are different, but a large number of people meet early deaths or have problems their whole lives due to their poor lifestyle of junk and no exercise.

So why is fat acceptance pathetic, which was the introduction to your post?

It should be drug shaming is pathetic.

Btw, Australia's drug culture heavily resembles that of America's. That is, the way we heavily shame and fear monger the use of drugs.

But this isn't a global belief. In Europe, some countries have a much more liberal viewpoint on not only weed but harder drugs.

My point, is that while I'm not convinced on the legalisation of hard drugs YET, the taboo nature of drugs that have been forced down our throats since we were kids, may not actually be correct.

So why is fat acceptance pathetic, which was the introduction to your post?

It should be drug shaming is pathetic.

Btw, Australia's drug culture heavily resembles that of America's. That is, the way we heavily shame and fear monger the use of drugs.

But this isn't a global belief. In Europe, some countries have a much more liberal viewpoint on not only weed but harder drugs.

My point, is that while I'm not convinced on the legalisation of hard drugs YET, the taboo nature of drugs that have been forced down our throats since we were kids, may not actually be correct.
Because it promotes the acceptance of eating copious amounts of shit and living a lifestyle that involves going to work and when not working sitting on your arse at home doing sweet **** all. The majority of these people who want to be accepted or have people accepting them for who they are weigh well above what they should and clearly abuse their body. This is in no way any different really to a pack a day smoker, a Ben Cousins like drug user or daily bottle of whiskey alcoholic.

It sends an awful message to youth accepting it in any way.

I agree we have a problem with obesity, particularly in Australia.

But I find it ****ing hilarious that the simple notion of simply accepting someone different, ala, a fat person is irrevocably impossible for some people.

Like, it's impossible to go, okay you are making bad life decisions like every other 99.999999999% of the population, but that's okay we all have our vices and we're all ****ing adults here who should be allowed to do whatever the **** we want as long as it doesn't impeach anyone.

Nah, the idea of acceptance is impossible for some people because it's easier and far more enjoyable to just shit on them.

Then they like to dress it up like it's all about YOUF OF TODAY, or OH NO MY HEALTHCARE, or whatever the **** else.

Please read that in Bill Burrs voice. I definitely channeled him as my muse.

What if you see kids not being fed properly, learning bad habits etc?

What about if you board a long haul flight and some hippo sits down next to you and you are in constant contact with their tuckshop arms?

I guess I'm the same as MEB. I wouldn't do anything. Not much I can do about it. I'm not going to criticize a kid or parent. I'd maybe criticize airline policy.

But I find it ******* hilarious that the simple notion of simply accepting someone different, ala, a fat person is irrevocably impossible for some people.

Like, it's impossible to go, okay you are making bad life decisions like every other 99.999999999% of the population, but that's okay we all have our vices and we're all ******* adults here who should be allowed to do whatever the **** we want as long as it doesn't impeach anyone.

Nah, the idea of acceptance is impossible for some people because it's easier and far more enjoyable to just shit on them.

Then they like to dress it up like it's all about YOUF OF TODAY, or OH NO MY HEALTHCARE, or whatever the **** else.

I can accept someone is fat. I cannot accept someone being actively proud of it though, nor can I understand it.

I'm already my minor beer gut that has started developing and couldn't imagine continuing to stack on weight and then going "LOOK AT ME I'M FAT AND PROUD".

The only reason why there is such an overcompensation for the preaching of acceptance, is because there is a large proportion of shaming.

Once you remove the ridicule and the shame, then people will less feel the need to defend themselves and we can actually focus on the crux of the matter as a society.

But I find it ******* hilarious that the simple notion of simply accepting someone different, ala, a fat person is irrevocably impossible for some people.

Like, it's impossible to go, okay you are making bad life decisions like every other 99.999999999% of the population, but that's okay we all have our vices and we're all ******* adults here who should be allowed to do whatever the **** we want as long as it doesn't impeach anyone.

Fat acceptance isn't about other people accepting/not accepting a fat person, it's about the fat person becoming happy with their own obesity. and yes that is a terrible thing.

"Doesn't impeach on others". Dying of a heart attack in your 50s doesn't technically "impeach" on others, but it's pretty ****ing devastating for loved ones.

Add another excuse to the list, devastating for loved ones.

I also find it funny that people want them to be miserable for being overweight, they want them to suffer, because apparently being fat is now a moral sin, in which they should be punished for.

Do you really think they aren't miserable?

Do you really think that them feeling like shit doesn't contribute to their eating habits?

Ah no, you just want them to suffer because... not only are they responsible for the upbringing of youth, and the healthcare of society, but now also the emotional wellbeing of loved ones.

Yeah, that is totally rational and logical.

Fat acceptance isn't about other people accepting/not accepting a fat person, it's about the fat person becoming happy with their own obesity. and yes that is a terrible thing.

"Doesn't impeach on others". Dying of a heart attack in your 50s doesn't technically "impeach" on others, but it's pretty ******* devastating for loved ones.
You could say this for any number of vices. Why do the fatties get singled out for particular scorn?

Placing an extra tax on junk foods in general is also a reasonable action.

I can't imagine how that would be done. You'd have to put extra tax on half the stuff in grocery stores and the vast majority of restaurants. It's also taking responsibility away from people.

Just better education seems the best starting point. Revamp of what they teach in kinder onwards. Family health guides provided by councils etc. I've seen some of that done and it helps.

Also, an adjustment in neighborhood planning and the work/life balance would be great. That's more long-term though.

I can't imagine how that would be done. You'd have to put extra tax on half the stuff in grocery stores and the vast majority of restaurants. It's also taking responsibility away from people.

Just better education seems the best starting point. Revamp of what they teach in kinder onwards. Family health guides provided by councils etc. I've seen some of that done and it helps.

Also, an adjustment in neighborhood planning and the work/life balance would be great. That's more long-term though.

That's what we pay the politicians big money for. Sort it out. Tax all the fast food chains and all food that is processed crap.

But not Diet Coke. The saviour of the morbidly obese.:thumbsu:

These people are on a one way ticket to Type 2 diabetes, heart disease etc, and society is going to pay for it. So why shouldn't the perps start coughing up now?

The health system is already overloaded. These selfish pricks will blow it wide open.

We have zero issue in treating smokers like pariahs, banishing them from our sight and smell and taxing them to the point of absurdity and alcohol drinkers are constantly 'told' how much is safe and lectured endlessly on the TV and social media and pay an absurd amount of extra tax.

But because a few fat chicks have made a heap of noise on the same channels about their feelings getting hurt, we are supposed to suddenly leave them alone and ignore the inevitable consequences of their life choices?

Nah...make the fat campaigners pay now.

Why punish everybody else that manages to eat normally though? There are better ways. It's sedentary lifestyle and lack of education at the core of it. A burger or two from a fast food place isn't the problem. It's cooking and snacking habits plus exercise.

We shouldn't really be fat shaming as such but lifestyle shaming.

'Hey you, you're fat. Stop being fat.'. Gee I sure showed him...

'Hey you, you're drinking 2L of Coke a day. That's why you're fat. Don't do that'.
Since when does shaming anyone about anything contribute to a positive result? I presume you are aware that shaming people about their weight and / or lifestyle leads to increased weight gain. To say it is down to lifestyle is also overly simplistic. Weight gain in western society is a problem, but nobody really understands it at this point. Recent studies indicate that over 140 locations across the human genome affect obesity. That is to say, it is a hugely multifaceted trait that affects you and the person next to you in wildly in different ways, and the element of control different people have over it varies massively and is mostly unknown.

Causes and solutions to obesity aside, fat shaming is just a manifestation of the common human trait where people assign a high degree of virtue to things they personally do well at. This makes them feel better about themselves and their lives. Which is why fit people often look down on the overweight, those in happy marriages often look down on divorced people, parents often look down on the childless, 'cultured' people look down on bogans, rich people look down on the poor, etc.

It is really convenient if your value system exults the things in life you succeed at, and minimises the importance of things you struggle with. IMO anyone who is preoccupied with other people's personal failings probably needs to take a closer look at their own.

Why punish everybody else that manages to eat normally though? There are better ways. It's sedentary lifestyle and lack of education at the core of it. A burger or two from a fast food place isn't the problem. It's cooking and snacking habits plus exercise.

We don't pick and choose between problem drinkers and casual sippers when we place an exorbitant tax on alcohol, and the police don't care if you drink or not when they pull you over for an RBT.

Sometimes society pays for others selfishness.