DTRAIN87

Suspended
Why are fat people so depressing and crybabyish through the way they act?

Have a guy at work who I need to resolve problems with on a constant basis. Comes in and acts like the sky is falling down whenever things don't go his way.

This seems to be a recurring issue with him and two other fat people there and never with non fat people.

What do you think???

Meh it's like anyone you find plenty of fat people who are quite Jolly as well. Plenty of skinny people have issues as well.

I think that's a gross generalization.

Weight can be an issue for the person
As well as others around them.
Not only in a physical sense but also psychologically.
Kindness is often the best way to deal with
Everyone on the planet, not just the overweight but the
Rest of society as well.

I've found at my work that if we don't have the specific item overweight/fat people will complain about it way more than regular weighted people. They just seem more understanding.

Even on public transport as well, they always start sooking if they don't have a seat.

Sounds like it's probably you that has the issues.
IIRC this isn't the first thread he's started whinging about fat people.

To give the OP more serious attention than it probably deserves - fat people aren't depressing. Depressed people are often fat. The times in my life I have been overweight, the weight gain coincided with being in a bad place mentally and not eating right / being motivated to exercise properly.

On the other hand, a lot of fat people are just fat. Just like lots of skinny people are just skinny. And lots of internet posters are just juvenile judgemental tools.

IIRC this isn't the first thread he's started whinging about fat people.

To give the OP more serious attention than it probably deserves - fat people aren't depressing. Depressed people are often fat. The times in my life I have been overweight, the weight gain coincided with being in a bad place mentally and not eating right or being motivated to exercise properly.

On the other hand, a lot of fat people are just fat. Just like lots of skinny people are just skinny. And lots of internet posters are juvenile judgemental tools.
Not a massive fan of ****s either if my memory serves me. I carry 5 or so kilos. I'm a fat **** DTRAIN87, come at me.

Why are fat people so depressing and crybabyish through the way they act?

Have a guy at work who I need to resolve problems with on a constant basis. Comes in and acts like the sky is falling down whenever things don't go his way.
Whilst this is over the top there is an element of truth in it IMO. 95% of fat people are unwilling to admit they are fat because of their own actions. 'I'm big boned', 'I've got a slow metabolism', etc. When I'd say there's not a single fat person out there if they ate healthily and in moderation, did cardio for 30 minutes every day (starting slow then upping intensity), hit the weights 3 - 4 times a week, didn't drink alcohol or sugar drinks and drank plenty of water that wouldn't lose weight. However it's obviously easier to blame external factors then do all of that.

Which leads to if you are willing to lie to others and/or yourself that something so fundamentally tied up with who you are is not your fault, then it's a behaviour that unsurprisingly spreads to other areas. Something isn't there or done, and it's not their fault, crack the shits and/or cast blame elsewhere regardless of reality.

If someone can't respect and be honest about themselves, it's no surprise they can't respect or be honest about other things.

When I'd say there's not a single fat person out there if they ate healthily and in moderation, did cardio for 30 minutes every day (starting slow then upping intensity), hit the weights 3 - 4 times a week, didn't drink alcohol or sugar drinks and drank plenty of water that wouldn't lose weight.
Do you do all that? Most people - fat or not - don't. I was watching ACA the other night ( :eek: ) and they had a nutritionist on who quoted a study saying that 90% of Australians don't meet the necessary daily intake of fruit and vegetables. Western lifestyles are completely unsuited to the operation of our bodies.

The reality is that a lot of Australians are overweight, and a large percentage of the rest of us rely on our metabolism to one extent or another to remain skinny. A lot (maybe even most) of the overweight people I know don't actually have very different lifestyles to friends of mine who aren't overweight. It's just they are unfortunate enough to put on weight more easily.

Does having a bad metabolism mean you're doomed to being overweight? No. But it does mean you have to work a hell of a lot harder to keep the weight off than other people.

Which is why I get a little annoyed when people get sanctimonious about this topic. Most of the time they are people who don't have to exercise heavily, stop drinking alcohol and control their diet religiously just to maintain a healthy weight. I suspect that if a lot of them had to do the things chronically overweight people have to do to lose weight, their own self-control and discipline may be just as lacking.

Unhealthy lifestyle can often have negative effects on your mental wellbeing, mood etc etc
I was never really fat but had plenty of unhealthy habits. Soon as I cut them out and focused on eating good clean food and getting exercise my mood lifted and I became less irritable.
FWIW not all fatties are unhealthy.

Do you do all that? Most people - fat or not - don't. I was watching ACA the other night ( :eek: ) and they had a nutritionist on who quoted a study saying that 90% of Australians don't meet the necessary daily intake of fruit and vegetables. Western lifestyles are completely unsuited to the operation of our bodies.
Walk to and from work 4 days a week from the bus in city to city's edge (20 mins either way) (other day work from home), take my boys to park on weekends. Run two nights a week (after I've put the boys to bed), gym Saturday arvo. and a bit of dumbbells a couple of other nights. Have take-away around once a fortnight (no need to cut out all tasty food), but otherwise eat 5 - 6 healthy, reasonable sized meals throughout the day and don't drink sugary drinks or alcohol. I admit I drink a couple of cans of Pepsi Max each day which isn't really healthy, but they are close to 0 calories.

Would I enjoy sitting on my arse watching TV or playing the computer more. Hell yes, I'm not one of those who enjoys exercising. But having kids makes me even more determined to be around and able to play with them and in 20 - 30 years time their kids (and if I'm really lucky their grandkids), not either be dead or unfit and just able to watch from the sidelines.

If someone is fat, sure fine, take responsibility for it though. Oh and fraking pay your own inevitable costs for heart disease, diabetes and the like.

So:

- No, you don't do 30 mins of upper intensity cardio a day
- No, you don't do 3-4 full weight sessions a week
- No, you don't eat/drink perfectly healthy

Don't get me wrong, you seem to live a pretty healthy lifestyle by Australian standards and it would probably help a lot of overweight people. But you can see the point I am trying to make, surely.

I think anyone could identify a correlation between obesity and psychological issues. You could do an expirement and its pretty safe to say you could identify a general trend between people who are obese and who complain, whinge etc. Nothing too suprising about this.

However there are of course exceptions. A lot of obese people I know are fantastic people/managers/coaches. If you are overweight then your self-esteem would more likely be low, you are probably more likely to be depressed, anxious, self-conscious, as well as more likely to have lifestyle realted diseases such as diabetes and metabolism issues. Its a viscious cycle.

Not only is the overweight person themselves affected, but the people around them and society in general take a hit. Everyone else must bare their emotional outbursts (should they be prone to this), and society must shoulder the burden with increased strain on the health system, for example.

At the end of the day, responsibility to change this lies with the individual. Governments can put in lifestlye initiatives etc, but as the old saying goes, you can drag a horse to water....

People taking offence when someone dares to criticise an overweight person, and propose a view that obesity is ok and should be accepted are wrong. Obesity is not ok. Its a killer. And obesity on a community scale affects everyone adversely.

I think anyone could identify a correlation between obesity and psychological issues. You could do an expirement and its pretty safe to say you could identify a general trend between people who are obese and who complain, whinge etc. Nothing too suprising about this.

However there are of course exceptions. A lot of obese people I know are fantastic people/managers/coaches. If you are overweight then your self-esteem would more likely be low, you are probably more likely to be depressed, anxious, self-conscious, as well as more likely to have lifestyle realted diseases such as diabetes and metabolism issues. Its a viscious cycle.

Not only is the overweight person themselves affected, but the people around them and society in general take a hit. Everyone else must bare their emotional outbursts (should they be prone to this), and society must shoulder the burden with increased strain on the health system, for example.

At the end of the day, responsibility to change this lies with the individual. Governments can put in lifestlye initiatives etc, but as the old saying goes, you can drag a horse to water....

People taking offence when someone dares to criticise an overweight person, and propose a view that obesity is ok and should be accepted are wrong. Obesity is not ok. Its a killer. And obesity on a community scale affects everyone adversely.

I was going to post a substantial reply to this. Then, I just couldn't be ****ed.

no-one needs that amount of exercise to get to a decent weight level (i know it was you, but andre who set the bar)....

but 30-45 mins of medium and high intensity exercise every second day (more sessions in the high intensity then medium intensity though) should see the vast majority of people (realistically probably all, but there's bound to be some that break the rules) who are overweight, lose weight at a reasonably steady level.

one problem some people have is what classes as medium to high intensity, and what is low... a 30 minute walk three times a week isn't going to do much to be honest, though it is always better than nothing.

no-one needs that amount of exercise to get to a decent weight level (i know it was you, but andre who set the bar)....

but 30-45 mins of medium and high intensity exercise every second day (more sessions in the high intensity then medium intensity though) should see the vast majority of people (realistically probably all, but there's bound to be some that break the rules) who are overweight, lose weight at a reasonably steady level.

one problem some people have is what classes as medium to high intensity, and what is low... a 30 minute walk three times a week isn't going to do much to be honest, though it is always better than nothing.

Too right. High intensity interval training is much better. In fact 10 minutes a day of high intensity interval sprints is equivalent to walking for 4 hours, and jogging for about 45 mins. If you wanna lose wegith quick grab a mate and a footy and make some leads and hit each other on the tit for half an hour everyday. Its all about sprints and getting a high heart rate. Plus kicking a fotty will make it fun.

So:

Don't get me wrong, you seem to live a pretty healthy lifestyle by Australian standards and it would probably help a lot of overweight people. But you can see the point I am trying to make, surely.
Once a FFP (former fat person) has hit a healthy range, then they don't need to keep doing as much. And that is the extreme, most overweight people can lose it by just eating sensibly and doing low intensity cardio and weights once or twice a week. The full 'program' listed is one that would get any fat person back to a healthy weight.

What I do would keep any FFP on the straight and narrow. If you start from that far back you may need to put in more to get there, the point being ANYONE going that full blast could get to a point where they can then switch to a healthy lifestyle for on-going maintenance. There are no excuses.

Yes, my metabolism has run fairly fast, but even that at around 23 / 24 after getting into work and laying off exercising I started developing a little belly. If I'd kept doing nothing then it would have grown and now at 38 'middle age spread' would certainly apply. Nipping it early though meant I didn't have to go insane on getting rid of it and it's never going to come back. Anyone can get fat and anyone can get out of being fat is the point. They just need to take responsibility for it.

The reality is that a lot of Australians are overweight, and a large percentage of the rest of us rely on our metabolism to one extent or another to remain skinny.
I lived with this one guy for a bit 5 or 6 years ago who weighed about 60kg soaking wet. He would eat nothing but junk/processed foods (i.e. maccas/frozen pizzas etc) and do no exercise other than playing video games (great for the thumbs) and slight walking whilst catching public transport and he wouldn't put on a gram.

It was ridiculous.

Once a FFP (former fat person) has hit a healthy range, then they don't need to keep doing as much. And that is the extreme, most overweight people can lose it by just eating sensibly and doing low intensity cardio and weights once or twice a week. The full 'program' listed is one that would get any fat person back to a healthy weight.

What I do would keep any FFP on the straight and narrow. If you start from that far back you may need to put in more to get there, the point being ANYONE going that full blast could get to a point where they can then switch to a healthy lifestyle for on-going maintenance. There are no excuses.
Well for starters you make a lot of assumptions about what is sufficient for anyone. And there is a lot of research to indicate that previously overweight people are far more susceptible biologically to putting weight back on than someone who has never been overweight.

But in general, you're missing my point. I am not saying that if you're overweight you don't have control over your situation. I am just saying that people like you who ascribe moral deficiencies to people on the basis of being overweight (lack of motivation, discipline, commitment, unwillingness to take responsibility for their own circumstances) are operating from a position of unwarranted smugness.

It is a hell of a lot easier to maintain a healthy weight than shed excess weight, particularly if genetics are in your favour.

I think it is pretty telling that the people in these threads who slag off fat people for lacking discipline and personal responsibility are seldom former fat people themselves.

Not a massive fan of ****s either if my memory serves me. I carry 5 or so kilos. I'm a fat **** DTRAIN87, come at me.

Are you a crybabyish fat ****, Gough? Coz that'll really make the Dtrain crazy....