Discussion Finding your 'whale'

• Thread starter Thread starter reynaa01

I think a degree of difficulty from 'one' (plentiful supply, under $150) to 'Harry Taylor's heritage #85 blood guernsey' would be a good addition to the guernseys in this thread.

I have a 95cm Sekem "version" of the original Fremantle away jumper. I say "version" because the previous owner decided to remove the AFL logo and the sponsors logo as well, but you can see the imprint/outline of them on the jumper in the material.

Have either the 2000 or 2001 Fila Dees jumper with LG sponsors too. Have worn it around for the past 10 years to watch games/a kick at the park and the likes.

You are very lucky to have that dees jUmper.. Not many around.

My ultimate jumper find would be a University jumper from 1908-14.

Are there any that are known to be genuine still around? Surely there's some distant relatives of players who have might have one, or maybe the Melbourne University Football Club has one or a few?

i don't have either of what i mentioned man sorry, they're my white whales. but we can organise a tissues for $$$ trade if you have some to spare. :p

if i said i was west african would you believe me?

Yes 'cause Toure is West African, right?

I only said that because Olympiakos is a Greek club and not many people outside Greece or Greek heritage know 'bout them. That's all.

No worries mate. :)

West Coast's Burswood casino sponsorship was only 1987, right?

Was in Memorabilia on Smith in Fitzroy and hanging up behind the counter was a royal-with-wings West Coast guernsey with Burswood logo. The bloke there told me it's player issue and showed me the back - #4. I've just checked and that was Ross Glendinning, Eagles' first captain and 1983 Bronwlow medallist.

There was another with an old SGIO patch, and then I saw an original YELLOW PERIL with BURSWOOD. #2 - Rob Wiley, who I remember as a 1980 Richmond premiership player.

He also showed me an old #26 Hawks jumper - Peter Hudson's.

I also caught a glimpse of a 1996 Essendon heritage jumper hanging from the ceiling... pretty cool given I cited it in the "Favourite from each club" thread.

They're out there! :)

Are there any that are known to be genuine still around? Surely there's some distant relatives of players who have might have one, or maybe the Melbourne University Football Club has one or a few?

They were used in the VFL Reserves comp straight after the war, but then the club went back to the Metropolitan Association (now called VAFA) and no-one would know the difference between a University jumper worn 1908-1914, and one worn outside this era.
Even if they had one, there's no way of proving it's provenance unless that person only played for the club during the VFL period.

West Coast's Burswood casino sponsorship was only 1987, right?

Was in Memorabilia on Smith in Fitzroy and hanging up behind the counter was a royal-with-wings West Coast guernsey with Burswood logo. The bloke there told me it's player issue and showed me the back - #4. I've just checked and that was Ross Glendinning, Eagles' first captain and 1983 Bronwlow medallist.

There was another with an old SGIO patch, and then I saw an original YELLOW PERIL with BURSWOOD. #2 - Rob Wiley, who I remember as a 1980 Richmond premiership player.

He also showed me an old #26 Hawks jumper - Peter Hudson's.

I also caught a glimpse of a 1996 Essendon heritage jumper hanging from the ceiling... pretty cool given I cited it in the "Favourite from each club" thread.

They're out there! :)

You still need to be VERY careful of jumpers that have the right logos.
You would also need to check who made it, most likely the WCE 1987 one was Sekem. Also, Sekem's logo has changed since 1987. Back then it was two interlocked S's that were sort of lightning bolt in shape.
You'd also want the logos to have some level of flexibility, like they've been washed at least 22 times. Stiff as a board means he's just had it made in China for $0.75
Then there's the issue of the sewing on the Eagle logo and the numbers.

And I have a sneaking suspicion the Blue jumpers, which were only used once with the Burwood logo (R18, 1987) had those patches taken off and replaced with SGIO ones for the 1988 season when they wore them from R18 and on.

In all seriousness, I could get jumpers made to look like player issue jumpers from the 70s and 80s for something like $50, with all the right sponsor and VFL logos. then sell them as player issue on Ebay for double that, plus postage.
But that's ripping people off, and that's not really my caper.
Other people don't have a problem with it, so just make as sure as you can before buying.
Another way is send me pics and I can have a look. These days I can tell pretty quickly whether it's legit or not.

You still need to be VERY careful of jumpers that have the right logos.
You would also need to check who made it, most likely the WCE 1987 one was Sekem. Also, Sekem's logo has changed since 1987. Back then it was two interlocked S's that were sort of lightning bolt in shape.
You'd also want the logos to have some level of flexibility, like they've been washed at least 22 times. Stiff as a board means he's just had it made in China for $0.75
Then there's the issue of the sewing on the Eagle logo and the numbers.

And I have a sneaking suspicion the Blue jumpers, which were only used once with the Burwood logo (R18, 1987) had those patches taken off and replaced with SGIO ones for the 1988 season when they wore them from R18 and on.

In all seriousness, I could get jumpers made to look like player issue jumpers from the 70s and 80s for something like $50, with all the right sponsor and VFL logos. then sell them as player issue on Ebay for double that, plus postage.
But that's ripping people off, and that's not really my caper.
Other people don't have a problem with it, so just make as sure as you can before buying.
Another way is send me pics and I can have a look. These days I can tell pretty quickly whether it's legit or not.
the amount of dodgy's going around these days is beyond the joke!. but with all the heads on here , its pretty easy to work out if its legit. but for all those thousands of ppl who r just not well educated on jumpers n take ppl on there word n trust its sad.

With regard to my preferences shown earlier in the thread, I'm not after authenticity. I'm after something which will *actually fit me* so in most cases it will be a "cleanskin" design.

Would Teamworks be able to make this (obviously minus logos):
art_wbAFLcapper-200x0.jpg

Or is the design protected?

Would Teamworks be able to make this (obviously minus logos):
art_wbAFLcapper-200x0.jpg

Or is the design protected?

It wouldn't be quite the same if another company made it, would it? Although TOFFS do well in that line of business.

It is the closest you will get to one but short of spending heaps on finding a rare as one on eBay. They looked pretty good in the modern material
32433.jpg

It is the closest you will get to one but short of spending heaps on finding a rare as one on eBay. They looked pretty good in the modern material
32433.jpg

Much appreciated Henness, but it's not quite the same as the original.:thumbsu:

There are heaps of footy dEsigners out there. The one ismordialloc wont do them. Neither would the one in brooklyn.( very strict on copyright) if i was u id email the snoozer whos got all the fake afl jumpers on ebay. Find out where he gets his done, coz obviousally they couldnt give 2 shits about copyright.

There's a place in China that makes them.
There was a guy who used to post on here for a while that said he could get them made over there. But I don't remember his user name.
I guess China's a big place, so this probably doesn't help much. But someone might have made contact with him.

32433.jpg
This design looks much better on cotton, rather than polyester. The tightness of the original makes it look infinitely cooler.

I also prefer the home version of that BB strip. Why would they were an away jumper, at home? I suppose it was to make it more similar to the Lions jumper.

Do you think there would be any of these still in existence? What about the home/away cerise ones? I'd love to have any Bears guernsey.

This design looks much better on cotton, rather than polyester. The tightness of the original makes it look infinitely cooler.

I also prefer the home version of that BB strip. Why would they were an away jumper, at home? I suppose it was to make it more similar to the Lions jumper.

Do you think there would be any of these still in existence? What about the home/away cerise ones? I'd love to have any Bears guernsey.

They wore it for exactly the same reason they wore it at Home against Hawthorn from 1987-1990.
Because they released a jumper that clashed with an existing jumper, so it was up to them to provide a jumper that did not clash.
This was rule for jumpers from 1859 to 2007.