Is this our first choice back hald, and what do they have in common?

HAYDEN HADDRILL THORNTON
DUFFIELD POLAK GROVER

Parker and Mundy to fit in there of course, although Mundy can play further up the ground, wing even.

theGav56 said:

HAYDEN HADDRILL THORNTON
DUFFIELD POLAK GROVER

Parker and Mundy to fit in there of course, although Mundy can play further up the ground, wing even.

yeah yeah,, get your point, all won't be playing on Sunday, but as you said, Parker & Mundy will in there, Murphy is on par if not better now than Polak, who I doubt will play much backline game this year. A backline of...

SCHAMMER PARKER JOHNSON
M CARR MURPHY MUNDY

still looks pretty good to me

Plugga said:
yeah yeah,, get your point, all won't be playing on Sunday, but as you said, Parker & Mundy will in there, Murphy is on par if not better now than Polak, who I doubt will play much backline game this year. A backline of...

SCHAMMER PARKER JOHNSON
M CARR MURPHY MUNDY

still looks pretty good to me

They look good to me too, but;

Schammer is not as tight as Hayden in the backline, and I don't think his disposal is as damaging as Hayden. Once Hayden is back, I doubt if we will be fitting both down back.

Parker may play at FB this week as the matchup is the best for Williams, but Haddril is our best FB generally. And I would probably prefer Thornton over Parker as FB too at this stage of Parker's career (now that he has taken to streaming forward and kicking the odd lazy goal).

Murphy has a few flaws that are still being ironed out. In the practice matches he has been servicable I think, rather than good. Gives away frees quite a bit, and I would have Thornton, Polak (when he regains fitness and form) and Johnson ahead of him.

If Duffield was on the senior list, would he be in our 22? On current form I would think yes. Which probably means we would have the opportunity to use Mundy and Carr elsewhere. This move wouldn't wouldn't particularly strengthen the backline though as both Carr and Mundy would be in their ahead of Duff, but it would strengthen the team.

I think Polak may be on the outer at the moment in the coaches minds...I think he would make a great CHB if left there for a whole season with Harvey coaching the defence, but it ain't going to happen. From I can gather alot of hope is being pinned on the Ryan Murphy's shoulders in the hope he can hold down CHB. I like his aggression in the backline & I think he could develop but Polly has more marking skills...we shall see.

I agree with Thornton in the backline, but he only played a half of SF Reserves footy last week & kicked 2 goals, so I'm guessing he played forward. On those lines, he's a good 2-3 weeks of a return. I think Haddrill is the key, & giving him these extra weeks off can only help him in the long run, his experience is crucial. As long as he is back in the line up for Round 3 v Port at Aami, I think Parker & Johnson can hold the Full Back job until then.

Agree that Duffield is Best 22 at the moment, & I was singing his praises since last years finals series & the fact he should have been elevated. BUT, he is a rookie & with no long term injuries at the moment, he can't come in until there is.

To be perfectly honest I havent been able to see many of the practise games.

My concern is from what I have seen of murphy throughout his career and a few practise games this season is that he isnt physically strong enough, as yet I dont think he can stamp his influence in the backline with big marks.

As far as CHB go I believe this is vital, with polak at least we know his marking abilities. Johnson may be a man mountain but again I dont remeber seeing him stamp any authority in the air. We cannot simply rely on Haddrill for this (If he ever gets on the park).

Our depth looks great but I think we are going to find it increasingly difficult to fit Duffield, Murphy and Johnson in the side. Two out of the three max I think.

I don't want Murphy marking. I want him punching, and preferably the ball but not always.

I think there is a bit of early McPhee in Murphy -- if you get my drift. He does some really great things, and he does some not so great things. Over time, the not so great things will become less and less, and he'll end up a very good player.

sabre_ac....you'll be surprised when u see Murphy round 1, looks alot more physically developed, & his aggression this year has been the stand out for me...he looks hungry & whilst he does mess up a few times, he will get better thrown in at the deep end. Played very well on Hansen in the NAB Derby, then played very little against Collingwood....Did some nice things in the semi & then played very well against Port pulling down 7 marks as well.

Polak has had his chance both on & off the field & doesn't seem to be fully committed so I'm all for Murphy to develop & Polly can fight it out for spots on the bench!

theGav56 said:

HAYDEN HADDRILL THORNTON
DUFFIELD POLAK GROVER

Disagree that this is our 1st team back half; CC definitely said he would play 12 midfielders rotating across the flanks, so I doubt the 1st line back half has six defenders in it. To back this up, Bell, Schammer, Crowley, Dodd and M. Carr all appeared there pre-season.

To be honest, I think Mundy is better "defensive" defender than all bar maybe one of them. Will he play midfield? - I have only really seen him play there once and if they had been thinking of him playing midfield more often you would think they would have given him a run there pre-season. Instead he played back pocket/half back.

IMO when all fit and firing, Our Top 4 defenders are at the moment:

1. Parker*
2. Haddrill (Fitness)
3. Mundy*
4. Thornton (Fitness)

with:

5. Grover (Suspension)
6. Murphy *
7. Duffield (Rookie)
8. Polak (Fitness)
9. Hayden (Fitness)
10. Johnson *

* likely four for the weekend.

to follow from WAFL or the bench.

Ysaye said:
IMO when all fit and firing, Our Top 4 defenders are at the moment:

1. Parker*
2. Haddrill (Fitness)
3. Mundy*
4. Thornton (Fitness)

with:

5. Grover (Suspension)
6. Murphy *
7. Duffield (Rookie)
8. Polak (Fitness)
9. Hayden (Fitness)
10. Johnson *

* likely four for the weekend.

to follow from WAFL or the bench.

I actually don't see it as clear cut. There is a real even-ness about some of the options for one reason or another.

Parker has been terrific, but has perhaps lost some of his versatility as he ages. Haddril, well who knows how the injuries may have impacted on him. Along with johnson and Murphy's development he may have some competition as first choice, as at the moment we are judging on form from a fair while ago. And Thornton for me has yet to develop the body that a CHB needs. I think there is pretty good competition for 3 of the 4 of your best 4 defenders.

I reckon our best CHB is MacPharlin. By a long way. He's a bit inconsistent at FF, and not the best kick for goal.

I wouldn't mind seeing Polak CHF taking hangers, Pav at FF kicking goals, MacPharlin at CHB taking hangers and rebounding, using his great speed as a weapon. When he was in defence, he seemed like an extra midfielder, opposition CHF's need to be mindful of him and have stamina. If Polly isn't working at CHF, then Murphy can give it a go, or maybe even J-Lo. There are options up forward to replace MacPharlin, I think he is of more value as an attacking defender, but seems to be earmarked for a FF role.

If not, I would at least like to see him switched back there when things aren't exactly going our way.

Good to see people rating Parker. He's our best defender by far and runner up in the best and fairest last year. Opposition coaches etc rating him so highly, why can't our own fans? I don't get it.

I think we might see more of Heath Black across half back this year also. No one seemed to name him back there.

fat wombat said:
Good to see people rating Parker. He's our best defender by far and runner up in the best and fairest last year. Opposition coaches etc rating him so highly, why can't our own fans? I don't get it.

Just to clarify if you are refering to my opinions on parker, I rate him very highly. But I do think he has lost some of his versatility. Especially against the small nippy forwards. He seems like our best match-up for Williams, and I don't like it at all, yet a few years ago I would be looking at that match-up as just another day at the office for him. Redardless, he will give his all.

fat wombat said:

Just to clarify if you are refering to my opinions on parker, I rate him very highly. But I do think he has lost some of his versatility. Especially against the small nippy forwards. He seems like our best match-up for Williams, and I don't like it at all, yet a few years ago I would be looking at that match-up as just another day at the office for him. Redardless, he will give his all.

Polak is in no mans land.
With elvis, Pav and rotating supermuir & big bird in the Forward pocket as the third Big forward. There is no place for him up forward.

He has very healthy comp from Tatter, MJ and Rabbit for a spot in the back half.

Polak would be competing with Gilmore for a spot in my opinion. If Polak really fires in the forward line. I imagine Pav will become the roaming forward like Gilmore and Polak would be the stay at home tall.

mick ryan said:
The sad fact is that the back half at the moment is a potential problem area.

There that word again Yak.

I have confidence in whoever ends up there this week.

The "no-name Mk2" preseason defence conceed the 5th lowest total even given that we played 3 out of 4 games where 3 & 9 pointers were in vogue.

fat wombat said:

Parker does his job week in week out and is rarely noticed, just how he likes it.

Yes he looked shakey at times in the NAB, but hey who takes note of pre season games. Come round 1, his robot brain will be tuned for a top performance. He is the glue that holds the backline together.

I am just waiting for goal number 11 from this man who wouldn't shout even around sharks.

The fact really is, if we are smashed in the midfield (clearances) which looks likely with Everitt and Mitchell, throwing in Crawford adn Bateman.

Out defence is going to look ordinary. It is ordinary and if the Hawks are getting first use they are going to be under extreme pressure.

I would love to be proved wrong but I don't think we can prevent them from scoring more than us.

back pocket said:
I reckon our best CHB is MacPharlin. By a long way. He's a bit inconsistent at FF, and not the best kick for goal.

I wouldn't mind seeing Polak CHF taking hangers, Pav at FF kicking goals, MacPharlin at CHB taking hangers and rebounding, using his great speed as a weapon. When he was in defence, he seemed like an extra midfielder, opposition CHF's need to be mindful of him and have stamina. If Polly isn't working at CHF, then Murphy can give it a go, or maybe even J-Lo. There are options up forward to replace MacPharlin, I think he is of more value as an attacking defender, but seems to be earmarked for a FF role.

If not, I would at least like to see him switched back there when things aren't exactly going our way.

to be honest i agress with this we would be better of if at times having mcpharlin giving us the run fro mthe back line and him at times doing kick outs as his marking ability is a plus in the back line and with adam campbell coming up we also need to do what the dogies do a running midfielding attack

McPharlin at CHB playing a full non injury interupted season would have to be nearing all australian. But at full forward it gives the team a more attacking focus, rather than just being a rebounding defensive side. While his kicking action is a bit dodgy and he strung together a few games last year where he was a bit shakey off the boot, I don't think his kicking for goal is as bad as some make out. I think his mobility seems to suit him rotating with Pav at half forward from time to time, he's the perfect match for us at full forward. It'll win us games it's as simple as that. So while we might not have a brilliant backman to replace him, they will develop over time. Give Murphy some time, and Thornton really showed us in the final few games last year that he's finally getting a bit of ticker and not just hanging off his man.

fat wombat said:
McPharlin at CHB playing a full non injury interupted season would have to be nearing all australian. But at full forward it gives the team a more attacking focus, rather than just being a rebounding defensive side. While his kicking action is a bit dodgy and he strung together a few games last year where he was a bit shakey off the boot, I don't think his kicking for goal is as bad as some make out. I think his mobility seems to suit him rotating with Pav at half forward from time to time, he's the perfect match for us at full forward. It'll win us games it's as simple as that. So while we might not have a brilliant backman to replace him, they will develop over time. Give Murphy some time, and Thornton really showed us in the final few games last year that he's finally getting a bit of ticker and not just hanging off his man.

McPharlin's goal kicking accuracy (much maligned) is actually quite good at 74%, compared to say Pav's which is 70%...so whilst it looks awkward, he is actually above avergage & his general kicking accuracy is around 87% which is elite.

IMO he would be the best CHB in the comp if played there, but the fact of the matter is we need goals & he can provide them switching CHF & FF with Pavlich. If they can both kick around 60-70 goals this year we are in for a great year.

RIPPER_46 said:
There that word again Yak.

I have confidence in whoever ends up there this week.

The "no-name Mk2" preseason defence conceed the 5th lowest total even given that we played 3 out of 4 games where 3 & 9 pointers were in vogue.

I don't share your confidence and reckon that they'll continue their less than flash record against Hawthorn in Tassy and it will be due in no small way to the back half.

For what its worth YAKUZA is away at the moment doing his bit for the country. I'll let him know you mentioned him.