Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

I suspect there's a bit of "I don't want to tread on my mates toes by blowing the whistle if he/she doesn't" and the end result is neither do.
I have a suspicion along those lines. It's one of those things that I hope more experience with the extra smooths out, but TBD...

Sad to hear egos playing such a role in that. It shouldnt be hard to accept that you might be blindsided or miss something and someone has a better view
Many of the umpires (not all AFL level) I've interacted with over the years have given off massive 'what would you know, pleb?' vibes when queried on anything.

I can only speak from experience, when I started I was of the view that if you saw it, you blew your whistle and you paid it - regardless of whether you were in control or not. I took up umpiring in my 40’s having played and coached. I had umpired reserves as a club umpire and thought it would be an easy transition but it wasn’t the technical stuff is crucial and positioning is everything. I’d done a few weeks of juniors and felt I was ready for a run in the Seniors in the minor league when I overruled a stalwart in an Under 16 game. At the next break he gave it to me (despite my decision being correct). Later he bagged my performance to the Selectors with the upshot being I spent a further 4 weeks umpiring kids. Eventually the selector ran with me and after the game said “You’re fine, you’re ready to do Seniors“ I said yeah I know I’ve been ready for about a month but…

As I do more games I am less inclined to overrule, largely because so much is based on “interpretation“ - the only times I get involved is if the controlling umpire is blindsided or it’s a blatant miss.

The first thing I say to any ump I run with every week is “if I miss something - blow your whistle and pay it” others say “don’t overrule me!”
One thing I'd be interested in your POV on. The AFL obviously shuffles their umpires around week to week whereas other leagues like the NFL have a referee team that will consistently work together. Do you think the latter would benefit the AFL, especially given your comments? You're more likely to know when to blow the whistle as the non-officiating if you're comfortable as part of that team for example?

Many of the umpires (not all AFL level) I've interacted with over the years have given off massive 'what would you know, pleb?' vibes when queried on anything.
To be fair they were interacting with you so I can see their POV.

My favourite umpiring story admittedly third hand , mate was talking to an old field umpire who told him that during a Fitzroy v Swans game at the Lake Oval, a player king hit him.
The nearest player was a short angry ruckman playing for Fitzroy, A West Australian with a massive case of whiteline fever.
I can remember drinking at Whale Rberts' pub and the Whale said he was always very nice to this player reminding him that they had played together in WA and asking how his mother was.
He was a loose cannon and Roberts was scared of him or what he might do.

You can imagine how much they must glaze over whenever they meet a footy fan who wants to tell them how they can do their job better, and how frequently that would happen.

Just a cute viral video from the game this weekend that's been making the rounds on social media the past few days. Gives me memories of my grandfather taking me to the Gabba for the first time.

Yeah 75% of supporters are clueless on the laws of the game. 95% of AFL broadcasters are.
I'd say the percentage of players is somewhere between these two figures.

It is said that no one knows the law like a good crook - you have to know where the cracks are to use them and you have to stay just on the right side of the boundary to avoid the man coming down on you.

The guys who work out exactly how much throwing you can get away with or how to go deliberately out of bounds without the slightest intention of staying in while acting like you are trying desperately to keep it in etc are probably pretty cluey about the rules (or maybe just the psychology of umpires)

Darcy GardinerAdductorTest
Carter MichaelQuadTest
Daniel RichCalf2-3 weeks
Henry SmithGroinTest
Dayne ZorkoHamstring2-3 weeks

The good injury run came to a temporary halt at the weekend with veterans Zorko and Rich both picking up niggles. The club says they'll be "up to three weeks" before returning. Gardiner should be available to play his second game of the VFL season this weekend. – Michael Whiting

Looks like Mitch Robinson's kids will be able to choose from three clubs to play for when they come of age, if they're good enough and keen.

If they are still living in Brisbane when he is draft age I think there is a good chance Chance picks the Lions.
If there is a good Chance, he'll be at the Lions.

If they are still living in Brisbane when he is draft age I think there is a good chance Chance picks the Lions.
Haven’t caught up with the news today.

I’m guessing there’s going to be a Tasmania academy, or some sort of priority access to Tassie kids.

Struggling to work out how else Chance gets to a third club of his choice, if he’s not living in Tassie.

I’m guessing there’s going to be a Tasmania academy, or some sort of priority access to Tassie kids.

Struggling to work out how else Chance gets to a third club of his choice, if he’s not living in Tassie.
It looks like the new team will get equal priority access to sons of Tasmanian players. Not sure of the eligibility but I'd guess that it would be the same eligibility that applies to clubs: 100+ games.

The Age: How the AFL plans to build its Tassie team
It would also have access to uncontracted players and the ability to bid for sons of ex-Tasmanian AFL players under the father-son rules.

Happy 47th birthday to twin brothers Chris and Brad Scott
🎂

Born on the 3rd of May 1976.
The brothers attended St Kevin’s College, Toorak and both were also proficient in cricket with Chris in year 11 playing in an APS premiership with St Kevin’s.
Chris was picked by the Brisbane Bears in the 1993 AFL Draft with the 12th draft pick. Moving to Brisbane in Queensland as a 17-year-old he continued to study at St Kevin's College in Melbourne before completing year 12 at Brisbane Boys' College during his first year on Brisbane's list. Scott had to catch a taxi to training because he was too young to drive.
Brad was recruited to Hawthorn in the 1994 national draft at pick 60, without playing a game, he was delisted and then re-drafted by Hawthorn in the 1996 draft, where he won the reserves best-and-fairest. Making his senior debut in 1997, Brad played all 22 games and was seen as a very solid contributor, but was traded at the end of that season to the Brisbane Lions, enabling him to play in the same side as his brother Chris.
Brad Scott played a total of 22 games and kicked 6 goals in the 1997 season, for Hawthorn Football Club.
(The 21st century of course brought both players great success, then a combined 500 plus coaching careers that’s not finishing anytime soon)
344222088_1191262504888694_49584249100770212_n.jpg

Happy 47th birthday to twin brothers Chris and Brad Scott
🎂

Born on the 3rd of May 1976.
The brothers attended St Kevin’s College, Toorak and both were also proficient in cricket with Chris in year 11 playing in an APS premiership with St Kevin’s.
Chris was picked by the Brisbane Bears in the 1993 AFL Draft with the 12th draft pick. Moving to Brisbane in Queensland as a 17-year-old he continued to study at St Kevin's College in Melbourne before completing year 12 at Brisbane Boys' College during his first year on Brisbane's list. Scott had to catch a taxi to training because he was too young to drive.
Brad was recruited to Hawthorn in the 1994 national draft at pick 60, without playing a game, he was delisted and then re-drafted by Hawthorn in the 1996 draft, where he won the reserves best-and-fairest. Making his senior debut in 1997, Brad played all 22 games and was seen as a very solid contributor, but was traded at the end of that season to the Brisbane Lions, enabling him to play in the same side as his brother Chris.
Brad Scott played a total of 22 games and kicked 6 goals in the 1997 season, for Hawthorn Football Club.
(The 21st century of course brought both players great success, then a combined 500 plus coaching careers that’s not finishing anytime soon)
344222088_1191262504888694_49584249100770212_n.jpg

According to swamp they only played in 59 wins together. That number seems surprisingly low?

Assuming he can be father-son for both Carlton and Brisbane. Tassie will be able to get kids of 100 game players born in Tassie (irrespective of where they played). So Chance if he wanted to could go a lot of different ways

Assuming he can be father-son for both Carlton and Brisbane.
He is father son to both Carlton & Brisbane.
Tassie will be able to get kids of 100 game players born in Tassie (irrespective of where they played). So Chance if he wanted to could go a lot of different ways
I haven’t read any of the news about Tassie, do you have a link where this is mentioned.

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2