Football Related Random Thread - PART 2

And I'm not saying Goodes milked frees, I genuinely wouldn't know.
He didn't play for them, but he would throw his arms up whenever he felt he was being infringed which always annoyed me a bit. However he'd been doing that for years (definitely while still playing in the midfield back in the late '00s) without booing. He got a bit of booing after the racism incident where Eddie and others starting playing it up despite the resolution of it amicably at the time, but it got completely incessant after he received Australian of the Year in 2015.

The timeline is why I always reckon it's absolute bullshit for anyone who tries to claim there was no racist angle - there absolutely was, and for those who were "just taking part without being racist" if you're using racists as cover for whatever action you're taking, chances are that's not company you should want to be keeping.

He didn't play for them, but he would throw his arms up whenever he felt he was being infringed which always annoyed me a bit. However he'd been doing that for years (definitely while still playing in the midfield back in the late '00s) without booing. He got a bit of booing after the racism incident where Eddie and others starting playing it up despite the resolution of it amicably at the time, but it got completely incessant after he received Australian of the Year in 2015.

The timeline is why I always reckon it's absolute bullshit for anyone who tries to claim there was no racist angle - there absolutely was, and for those who were "just taking part without being racist" if you're using racists as cover for whatever action you're taking, chances are that's not company you should want to be keeping.
"I'm not racist, I'm just happy to be associated with racists."

Agree with that however I do think there are nowhere near as many racists out there as we are sometimes led to believe by the media, post the Adam Goodes sadness there has been a few occasions where there has been racist abuse from a singular/or couple of idiots at an AFL game which is a miniscule percentage of the 200-300 Thousand people who attend every round of an AFL season.... over 99% of people could not care less about a persons race... it would be similar re sexual preference IMO.

I have attended just about every game at the Gabba for over 20 years and multiple away games and I have never heard racist abuse... which is not to downplay it, when it does occur it is abhorrent and should be punished.

Jarrod Berry says Josh Dunkley's arrival has helped Brisbane's team-first attitude

This.

The booing against Adam started to intensify once an issue was made about in in the media. Not just from footy journalists. And then the AFL.

I watched large parts of the Swans game with the sound off as I generally do and wasn't aware Buddy was being booed. But because of the stink this week it probably won't go away when he plays in Melbourne.

You've got to remember some people love being part of the mob and they're not particularly bright either. Most of them wouldn't know why they're booing.

But it's always been part and parcel of the game . As a kid at the Brunswick Street oval we always booed anyone from the opposition who was good and seen as a bit of a dirty player.
I've watched a few of Collingwood's games this year and I would say there is a section of their home crowd that always boo the oppositions best. Dangerfield for example got booed a few weeks back. BUT it was definitely louder and more obvious against Buddy. Its sad to say that most likely had a fair racial element to it.

I'm someone who generally has no big issue with booing. Its a part of the whole pantomime of sport with heros and villains. Feel free to boo ex-players or those who have hurt your players (Lynch or J.Cameron or May for example). But its really sad that there is still a lot of racial elements out there who do it for other reasons

I've watched a few of Collingwood's games this year and I would say there is a section of their home crowd that always boo the oppositions best. Dangerfield for example got booed a few weeks back. BUT it was definitely louder and more obvious against Buddy. Its sad to say that most likely had a fair racial element to it.

I'm someone who generally has no big issue with booing. Its a part of the whole pantomime of sport with heros and villains. Feel free to boo ex-players or those who have hurt your players (Lynch or J.Cameron or May for example). But its really sad that there is still a lot of racial elements out there who do it for other reasons
Patrick Cripps on Callum.:mad:

IMO there are "racial elements" out there I just don't think it's a lot or as rampant as sometimes made out.

Wasn't sure where to put this....think this is ok.

Just read an article in HUN about a young (then) indigenous player at Melbourne who says he was r*ped by his junior coach (names him) ......he (player) was sacked by Melbourne without playing a game.

The general manager of football said it was because of non attendance at training.......that general manager was our coach Fages.

....wow, poor Fages. Hope he isn't dragged into this as well. I suspect he will be seeing as he has been named. :(

**Heading: Former AFL rookie launches legal bid against "predator" coach

Wasn't sure where to put this....think this is ok.

Just read an article in HUN about a young (then) indigenous player at Melbourne who says he was r*ped by his junior coach (names him) ......he (player) was sacked by Melbourne without playing a game.

The general manager of football said it was because of non attendance at training.......that general manager was our coach Fages.

....wow, poor Fages. Hope he isn't dragged into this as well. I suspect he will be seeing as he has been named. :(

**Heading: Former AFL rookie launches legal bid against "predator" coach
Say something about Robbo and the payback is swift.

Story was broken by the ABC first. I don't get the payback angle.

I haven't read the HUN article but unclear how it could be seen at all as a shot at Fagan - the very sad events happened several years prior, and contributed to why the player wasn't able to stick in professional footy.

True.....so why was he mentioned? Could actually be payback? It is afterall, Robbo's paper, they talk to each other.

There was no need to mention him at all, so why. Interesting. Fages just might be peed off tomorrow night too.

True.....so why was he mentioned? Could actually be payback? It is afterall, Robbo's paper, they talk to each other.

There was no need to mention him at all, so why. Interesting. Fages just might be peed off tomorrow night too.
Mostly likely just to source the quote. Beyond the rape, the allegation is that aftershocks of that trauma ruined his career, which it may well have done.

There's no suggestion or implication of wrongdoing on Fagan's part there.

If there is a genuine pathway for Fagan into the Tasmanian project then he wont be boycotting influential parts of the media.

The Lions under Swann are way too professional an outfit to be fighting battles with the media openly. To their credit they seem to keep the politics and such behind closed doors.

Found something of interest, well to me anyway and totally unexpected....thought you might be too.

While flicking through YouTube late last night, I came across an American guy doing a review on the song "I was only 19"

These types of reviews seem to be a dime a dozen so rarely look at them but I love this song so had a look...

The guy is sitting in a room with a whole lot of sports stuff all around and before he even started the first thing I noticed was a Brisbane Lions jumper hanging on the back wall....what the.. says me!o_O

Turns out he loves AFL and follows us....he usually does reviews for all US sports etc but because it was ANZAC weekend here he decided it was fitting to review that song instead of his normal sporting stuff.

It was not only most unexpected but turned out to be a very moving tribute..

He goes by the name "Johnny Basement" on his channel

...worth a look imo

p.s Just found him doing a review on our Lions/Pies game this year.....wearing our jumper (Clash) he's very good what I've seen of it

Fortunately common sense is going to prevail this week with the AFL approving that 23 players will be named on team announcements each week , therefore meaning the sub will be named or perhaps the sub will come from one on the interchange. Also means that players wont be listed as dropped when they end up becoming the sub which i think is a good result.
The game day playing list is now 26 according to the AFL last week.
You can name anyone in the 26 one hour before the game.
They are yet to work out how this will work out visually (AFL site media etc) as Champion Data needs to change their system.
The clubs lodge teams via Champion Data Comet system software. When teams are originally announced and 1 hour before the game starts.
Clubs did not have much time last week to play silly buggers with their squad.
But i expect more to happen in coming weeks, especially finals time.

Last week Essendon changed Davey who was named in the 22 and moved him to Sub before the game.
D'Ambrosio was listed as emergency but because he was named in the 26 the club can make any changes that they want.
Weirdly Davey was listed as a late out on the AFL app but also as the Sub.

Below part of Essendon team from Fox named Thursday evening

FOLL: S.Draper, Z.Merrett - C, W.Setterfield

I/C: A.Perkins, D.Heppell, A.Davey Jnr, A.Phillips

EMG: W.Snelling, R.Montgomerie, P.Voss, M.D’Ambrosio

1684152730987.png

What is the point of naming a squad of 26, I can not see the sense in it, there was nothing wrong with the system of naming teams as it was, name the team and emergencies in case of a late injury... smells of overthinking it and making work to justify your own existence IMO.

Mise well just name your team an hour before bouncedown and be done with it.

What is the point of naming a squad of 26, I can not see the sense in it, there was nothing wrong with the system of naming teams as it was, name the team and emergencies in case of a late injury... smells of overthinking it and making work to justify your own existence IMO.

Mise well just name your team an hour before bouncedown and be done with it.
You would have to think they will name a starting 18 and an interchange bench of 8, otherwise like you say they may as well just name the team an hour before.

There's a rumour that Sampson Ryan is returning to QLD end of 2024

9 gamer, Ruck/ forward.

Anyone heard anything?

We really have no idea how footballers live their lives.Quite a few years ago a mate heavily involved in footy and sponsorship had a chat to a famous full forward.Well I have got my hundred already this season.What do you mean says my mate you only have 65 goals.
I wasn't talking about goals says famous full forward

We really have no idea how footballers live their lives.Quite a few years ago a mate heavily involved in footy and sponsorship had a chat to a famous full forward.Well I have got my hundred already this season.What do you mean says my mate you only have 65 goals.
I wasn't talking about goals says famous full forward
:think: Now working in the media?

There's a rumour that Sampson Ryan is returning to QLD end of 2024

9 gamer, Ruck/ forward.

Anyone heard anything?
End of 24 is a long time away really.
Anything could happen in that time

Football Related Random Thread - PART 2