Roast Footy Fan Bashed At The MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter johndelosa

Re: Footy fan bashed at MCG

Those muppets should never be allowed to another footy game ever. Do they have anything in their heads, who on earth would belt a bloke infront of their little kids. I wish the Carlton bloke all the best with his recovery and really feel for his kids. I dont care who he goes for, neither should the idiots who attacked him, he is a person just like everyone who goes to the footy and should be treated better then that. Really hope the idiots get punished hard.

It's very hard to imagine the psyche you'd need to have, ...............

this is the biggest issue to understand.

its likely none of us can ever remotely contemplate what is going on inside the head of the perpetrators, as with many criminals. the thought processes that occur inside the head of a complete and utter ****wit who has ZERO understanding of what their actions might otherwise inflict, the rest of us can not even begin to comprehend. it is beyond our normal day to day way of thinking. and the weird bit - various assumptions exist on who the were etc, but they could be anyone, they could know each other, they might not, they could be normally well respected people, but a mixture of drugs and/or alcohol or possibly just general mental instability has tipped them over the edge and the result is what he discuss.

this is a footy forum, not a political forum or somewhere we discuss societys ills. from where i sit the only answer is one which most tend to find abhorrent.

Reposting in this thread what I posted over on the Carlton thread that Didak_Attack started.

It works both ways D_A.

I was disgusted when I arrived back at Flinders Street Station on Friday night having gotten my donuts (a now post-football treat from Walker's donuts on Elizabeth/Flinders corner) to see three Carlton fans running up the wrong side of the escalators from platform one.

One of them knocked over a clearly pregnant Collingwood fan (she had a guernsey on) and to everybody's disgust (including a number of fellow Carlton fans) the idiot said "Oh well only a feral Collingwood fan" before running off to catch up to his fellow idiot friends.

Thankfully everyone helped the lass and she claimed that she was fine at the end but that really disgusted me.

The same thing recently happened at the Los Angeles Dodgers opening home game against the World Series Champions San Francisco Giants -- the fan (I haven't heard the latest) was left in a coma.

There is no place for this in our society. None at all.

Now that I've said that.... How about a BF initiative that we could ultimately take league wide but perhaps it's much more important to do in Melbourne than away considering that we're home to so many teams and we'd have more even numbers of fans attending games (rather than a WCE or Adelaide game where it's generally 90-10 or 80-20 ratios).

All it takes is a moment to positively impact someone's day. Conversely it can take about the same amount of time to impact them negatively.

My suggestion and it's actually something I've done personally for the better part of 10-15 years, particularly when there is a group of opposition supporters sitting around us and we've had some good banter (surprisingly Carlton-Collingwood games are great for pure fun banter but I've found the opposite at Carlton-Essendon games).

At the end of the game turn to your nearest opposition supporter, congratulate them if they've beaten your mob or wish them well if they've lost (even if you can't tolerate their team) and wish them a safe journey home.

All it takes is a few seconds. I guarantee you'll have made their day.

They were probably low life scums who were p!ssed before and after the game, It does condone these low lifes for first yelling abuse at 2 elderly ladies and also this guy didnt do nothing to warrant getting king hit because he was helping the elderly ladies out. If they do find these imbeciles they should ban them from alf and mcg games for life.

ridiculous 7.50 start time & a steamy night wouldn't have helped matters. atmosphere was pretty charged at the ground all night tbh.

Has absolutely nothing to do with it. No justifying or explaining this dog act off. The guys who did it are gutless weak cowardly thugs. Hope they get done.

Can't believe people around them didn't step in to help. I guess its typical of todays attitude - "not my problem".

Disgraceful and gutless act.

To those blaming those who didn't step in, would you have been game to face up to a bunch of 5 thugs who were most likely pissed?

It should be up to the security guards and police officers to step in and difuse the situation.

Sadly nobody wants to be the first one to step in. Guaranteed if one bloke had the balls to run in and fight for the poor bloke, plenty of the public would've followed. Everyone just assumes someone else will do it.

Honestly flabbergasted that not one person ended up stepping in though. Doesn't reflect that well on society.

I've been in a similar situation before. Saw a guy getting a full on beatdown buy a bunch of youngish blokes while i was in a crowd of random people. I had no faith in anyone I was around to step in with me but felt compelled to do something. I walked up and just told them the guy had had enough and to leave him and pretty much all of them turned on me. I realised no one else had my back (obviously) and shat bricks. VERY luckily, security guards were spotted and the group legged it. I prob could have taken 1 of them but a 2+ on 1 is haaard even if you are a trained fighter.

It's easy to say "yeah why the f**k didnt anyone step in on a 5 on 1 and do something" but just wait till you're actually in that situation.

I dunno this situation may have been a lot different in terms of a crowd doing zilch, but some people who comment on this subject are a bit dilusional.

That is absolutely pissweak! Abuse some old ladies, and then have a 5 on 1 brawl; you ****ing heroes!:rolleyes:

As the Carlton supporter said, at the end of the day it is only a game. I like to think that after a match any words said to opposing fans during the game are forgiven and you can have a friendly chat afterwards. Evidently, there are some scumbags out there that behave like absolute ********s afterwards.

Stuff like this makes me sick to my stomach, especially considering he not only had his two young children witnessing this disgusting attack, but the fact that no one intervened while it was happening. Security - do your ****ing job!:mad:

Rant over.:thumbsd:

No excuse for this sub human display of pack mentality. If they can be identified should be banned for life and if Collingwood members (shudder) have their memberships cancelled and put on a list never to be allowed membership again.

Disgraceful and gutless act.

To those blaming those who didn't step in, would you have been game to face up to a bunch of 5 thugs who were most likely pissed?

It should be up to the security guards and police officers to step in and difuse the situation.
They are always there to tell you to take your feet off the seat or to tell you to stop being so loud (as if barracking for your team is not allowed) but as soon as something serious is going on, they are nowhere to be found.

Over here in Adelaide we have Weslo, the single worst group of security personnel in the world. It sounds like the MCG security are not far behind them.

They were probably low life scums who were p!ssed before and after the game, It does condone these low lifes for first yelling abuse at 2 elderly ladies and also this guy didnt do nothing to warrant getting king hit because he was helping the elderly ladies out. If they do find these imbeciles they should ban them from alf and mcg games for life.

Would not suprise me at all and I think some young men see the Footy a good reason to get Pissed.

Day games are at least a bit better as there are normally more friends and people come in less Pissed if at all.

Makes you wonder why you go to the Footy when you could get bashed up or even Killed because of these Morons.

After Reading that I have doubts that I will go to the Friday Night game vs Richmond.

Also Yesterday after the VFL Game at Franskston after I had to Urinate I walked out of the Toliets and this Idiot kid says to me "What the **** are you looking at" just looking for a Fight I just walked off and Thankfully he did not Follow me.

It's bloody Scary out there

No excuse for this sub human display of pack mentality. If they can be identified should be banned for life and if Collingwood members (shudder) have their memberships cancelled and put on a list never to be allowed membership again.
Agree.
They should be totally eradicated from AFL.
Lack of crowd violence between supporters is one of the greatest attributes in our sport.
If they are identifed they should be ,firstly persecuted to the fullest extent of the law and secondly never set foot on a piece of ground associated with the game of Australian Rules again, anywhere in any league.

been to footy at the dome couple times this year and security there is pretty good.had sum north melbourne supporter abusing a female collingwood supporter.by the time it got to the end of the game she had enough and threw a bottle at him.yes i know its not acceptable but the abuse she was getting i dont blame her.anyways the security came down and escorted him and his mate out of the section.worse thing was that his mate had a young daughter with him and she looked scared and was crying.most of these idiots who cause trouble at the footy are allready drunk by the time the game starts.need to either stop serving them alcohol when they clearly are drunk or ban them from games for few weeks or the rest of the year.also its not just pies supporters that are there to cause trouble.unfortuntely all clubs have these d!ckheads just the matter of weeding all these thugs out of attending footy games.

I'm a courier and work from Richmond most afternoons and you can see the morons getting pissed at the local pubs near the G before the game, standing on the footpath outside with stubbies in hand and abusing one and all. Long past time when the league and all the clubs moved to eradicate the gutless morons from our game. Make use of CCTV at all grounds and identify trouble makers and thugs, deal with them effectively by banning them totally. It can be done, only takes the will to follow through.

A bit Machiavellian but as part of their punishment they should be castrated. No testosterone would go a long way to curbing their aggressive behaviour. Similar to a dog. If that does not help, just put them down.
We don't need these people reproducing.

Read in todays paper about 30 youths going on a rampage in Frankston (DTM take note!). People who intervened to help were knocked unconscious and a 15 yr old got 'curbed' breaking teeth as the process is designed to do. The perpetrators will probably get a good behaviour bond. I felt safer walking the streets of Bangkok at night when I lived there for 6 yrs than I ever do in Melbourne.

There is a negative side to being Australian, namely the increasing number of arseholes who think it is fun to kick, punch and stab people they have never set eyes on before in their lives. There is also a negative side to the mindless love of the aussie flag and hatred of anyone who comes from an asian background. With young people, the lack of empathy for others and the narcissistic obsessions with their own lives only serves to make the problem of violence worse.

Absolute disgrace, and have been identified as young males.

Like on the Carlton board, it really comes down to alchoal and pack mentality...something that the younger generation (which includes me unfortunately) has taken to a new level.

Football and Alchoal seems to go hand in hand these days, from AFL all the way down to grass roots. This association of the two is always going to be bad, young blokes, passion of a game, adrenalin pumping, contest of physicality ect and when you combine alchoal with all these...your going to get complete ****wits.

Im not giving excuses for these ********s, but alchoal seems to be an outlet especially on a Friday night where you come from work/uni and just want to drink.... which they have probalby learnt from their local football days. Its similar to the cricket culture, we I have seen many fights break out between people (sometimes really serious), and nearly every time its due to people drinking too much.... highlighting the drinking culture of cricket as well.

Thuggery (off-field) seems to be creeping into this game, and before we know it we are going to end up with Premier League segregation on our hands.

Utter disgrace, but highlights peoples inability these days to help out a 'mate', and the extent of the drinking culture in Australia.

Perts job on monday morning should be nothing other than this. surely the seats they were in can be identified and / or the security cameras in the ground would have captured vision of them......throw them out of the footy club and the grounds.

Sadly nobody wants to be the first one to step in. Guaranteed if one bloke had the balls to run in and fight for the poor bloke, plenty of the public would've followed. Everyone just assumes someone else will do it.

This just isn't the case.

I think way too many people have been sucked in by movies and television as to what jumping in actually means and what happens in these situations. In particular, we've been taught that they guy trying to break it up is "neutral" and won't be set upon by either side. This just isn't true. And we're not talking about a black eye or even a broken nose, you could well end up with an irreparably scarred face, stab wounds or brain damage.

I had this chat as a teenager with a guy a few years older who more than knew how to take care of himself. He basically said: look, it's a great thing to want to help out...but if you're going to jump in, you do so with the understanding that an attempt at making peace will often fail. And if it fails, you better be prepared to go all out, whether that means throwing an elbow to the face or snapping fingers or whatever else. And if you do go all out, you better be prepared to face criminal court and possibly even prison time, because good samaritans aren't immune to the trappings of the Law.

All of which is to say, if you see someone being set upon, call the police, call for help, but keep a safe distance. And if you do want to jump in, make sure you really understand what that may involve.

The club can act too, in general and not just this specific case. Eddie and some of the higher profile boys could get out there in the media and start working to turn the tide around, not just here in our club.
We've thrown our considerable weight and influence behind many a worthy cause and this one strikes close to home, gnawing at the very fabric of the game we love.
It's all very well to talk punishment and retribution against the low life perps - and so they should be punished - but in general a more positive stance would certainly help. Good behaviour and values need to be recognized and rewarded, much easier to encourage good behaviour than rush around trying to stamp out the fires after they have been lit.

The ability or preference to not interfer is not all that new, no less disgusting though. I remember doing a case study on a situation were a girl was stabbed multiple times in a busy park in the middle of the day were the case had a heap of witnesses non who even bother to call the police and didn't mention it till being interviewed by police.

Now that I've said that.... How about a BF initiative that we could ultimately take league wide but perhaps it's much more important to do in Melbourne than away considering that we're home to so many teams and we'd have more even numbers of fans attending games (rather than a WCE or Adelaide game where it's generally 90-10 or 80-20 ratios).

All it takes is a moment to positively impact someone's day. Conversely it can take about the same amount of time to impact them negatively.

My suggestion and it's actually something I've done personally for the better part of 10-15 years, particularly when there is a group of opposition supporters sitting around us and we've had some good banter (surprisingly Carlton-Collingwood games are great for pure fun banter but I've found the opposite at Carlton-Essendon games).

At the end of the game turn to your nearest opposition supporter, congratulate them if they've beaten your mob or wish them well if they've lost (even if you can't tolerate their team) and wish them a safe journey home.

All it takes is a few seconds. I guarantee you'll have made their day.

This is something I have always done. At the end of the day it's only a game and you get more fun out of a game if there is a bit of banter. I always find the most fun games are close ones with a bit of light hearted competitive ribbing with another group of random supporters from the opposition. That said some people just take football far to seriously, whilst others are just plain morons.

If they catch the morons that did this, they should be banned from AFL games, and the MCG for life.

Disgusting act, to bash a bloke in front of his two daughters.:thumbsd::mad:

This just a few days after you said that you'd never seen the kind of disgusting behaviour from Collingwood supporters that you have from Carlton supporters?

Clearly idiots are idiots and the side they choose to follow has nothing to do with it.

Seen plenty of footy violence over the years. Can't believe nobody stepped up. Years ago I went to Collingwood v Essendon at the G with a group that was mixed between both sets of supporters and a few neutrals. Few blokes of this type went at a couple of the essendon boys (fairly unprovoked, few jokes between mates, nothing out of hand at all) and it was actually a couple of older Collingwood supporters that stood in and helped us out (not surprisingly security was nowhere to be seen). Posted in this thread because the one on the main board is just turning into a bash Collingwood thread, and as much as you guys have your fair share of trouble makers every club has them.

Also really hating the alcohol excuse, morons are morons, they don't need grog to behave like tools

This just a few days after you said that you'd never seen the kind of disgusting behaviour from Collingwood supporters that you have from Carlton supporters?

Clearly idiots are idiots and the side they choose to follow has nothing to do with it.

Yep, we have our idiots too, maybe more then anyone else, that much is becoming clear, although I still am yet to witness it first hand (might just be lucky sitting with "good Collingwood people" each week).:)

As you quoted though, I have no tolerance for this sort of behaviour from anyone, no matter who they support, it should be a blanket ban for anyone found guilty of criminal assault at an AFL game.:thumbsd: