Footy Tips

Originally posted by topjars
Whos the tip star to the halfway mark?
Im on 68 so its not me

You're one up on me I think TJ. I know that I'm in 3 way tie for the lead at work after a couple of ordinary weeks and I think the tally is 67.

Tips for this week

Essendon to beat Geelong (50-50)
St Kilda to beat Melbourne (reasonably confident)
Port Adelaide to beat Sydney (confident)
Collingwood to beat Bulldogs (maybe)
Brisbane to beat Richmond (confident)
Hawthorn to beat Fremantle (reasonably confident)
Adelaide to beat carlton (reasonably confident)
West Coast to beat Kangaroos (confident)

The selections of Essendon and Collingwood could well be the wobbly ones!!

Originally posted by macca23
Tips for this week

I agree with everything you said. I wouldn't be surprised if Doggies beat the Pies and Cats beat Bombers

Tips for this week

Hope so. That would put the Crows back in the top 4.

Only problem would be that some people might notice the Crows once more as a potential contender.

Just re-thinking that for a mo - nah!

I've just realised Hawthorn are playing in Launceston, not Melbourne. For that reason, I'm going to change my tip to Fremantle, who almost beat them there last season.

Originally posted by DaveW
I've just realised Hawthorn are playing in Launceston, not Melbourne. For that reason, I'm going to change my tip to Fremantle, who almost beat them there last season.
I think it would be a mighty effort from Freo to beat Hawks in Tassie. Its a fair way from perth especially if they don't have a direct flight!!!!!!

Tips for this week

St Kilda to beat Melbourne (reasonably confident - depends which Melbourne turn up)
Port Adelaide to beat Sydney (reasonably confident)
Collingwood to beat Bulldogs (50-50 - Depends which Pies turn up)
Brisbane to beat Richmond (confident assuming Voss plays)
Fremantle to beat Hawthorn (50-50)
Adelaide to beat Carlton (reasonably confident)
West Coast to beat Kangaroos (reasonably confident)

Mine:

Essendon to beat Geelong
St Kilda to beat Melbourne
Port Adelaide to beat Sydney
Bulldogs to beat Collingwood
Brisbane to beat Richmond
Fremantle to beat Hawthorn
Adelaide to beat Carlton
West Coast to beat Kangaroos

7/8 for yours truly this week. Melbourne turned out to be the wild card but that was always a possibility - they had to play a good game sooner or later but it took a brave person to pick them.

Pity though ............ 8 would have been nice.

Yes, got 7 even though thought danger game was the Demons. Sainters always seem to find a way to stuff themselves.

This week:-

St Kilda - don't know why but have a feeling after the loss to the "Ds"
Fremantle - at home and Brisbane playing as strong as it has previously
Hawthorn - on a roll
Collingwood - Roos travelling back from WA
Adelaide - at home and want to stay top 4
Sydney - at home
Carlton - we have played both in past two games. Both pitiful but Carlton less so
Port - the best team going around at the moment (its not September yet)

7/8 for yours truly this week. Melbourne turned out to be the wild card but that was always a possibility - they had to play a good game sooner or later but it took a brave person to pick them.

Pity though ............ 8 would have been nice.
Same here macca23 but fair dinkum who would have picked Melbourne after the sh*t they have served up in the last 4 games.:(

It was a very ordinary game of footy. I reckon Freo are the worst team in the eight.
I thought 1st half was very watchable and if it wasn't for the Crows game I would have been very pissed off when they crossed over to Optus Oval. I thought first half was good viewing especially Pavlich in the first quarter. That bloke is pure class.:(

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I thought 1st half was very watchable and if it wasn't for the Crows game I would have been very pissed off when they crossed over to Optus Oval. I thought fist half was good viewing especially Pavlich in the first quarter. That bloke is pure class.:(
You probably missed when the rain came down then. After that, even though it was evenly contested Hawthorn just had too much of a lead for Freo to ever catch up.

The WCE-North came on the other hand was sensational. Both teams so desperate at the footy in the muddy conditions and it was great to see both sides just pumping the ball long when they got it. And that last quarter was nail biting stuff, North certainly had their opportunities to snatch it.

You probably missed when the rain came down then. After that, even though it was evenly contested Hawthorn just had too much of a lead for Freo to ever catch up.

The WCE-North came on the other hand was sensational. Both teams so desperate at the footy in the muddy conditions and it was great to see both sides just pumping the ball long when they got it. And that last quarter was nail biting stuff, North certainly had their opportunities to snatch it.
I didn't really watch the 2nd half. The TV was on and it looked like it was pissing down with rain but I was doing something else at the time.

They didn't show WC game on FTA TV but by all reports it was a cracker.

Don't you just love wet weather footy, where the toughest team on the day wins.:D