Fremantles round 1 side - help please

• Thread starter Thread starter Andre

Port Adelaide
Over on the Port board, we Port supporters are nominating our round 1 sides. I've done a couple of match-up's I'd be going with if I was Port coach, but have then been told off by sabre_ac amongst others for ignoring the rest of the Fremantle side.

I'm not looking to disparage your mob, but only can hazard a guess at about half the positions, of how I think you will line up in round 1.

So can you Freo. experts tell me how you expect to line up in round 1, so I can look at doing match-ups across the ground ? (And you in turn plunder our line-ups for the view from a Dockers point of view).

Many thanks.

RIPPER_46 said:
This is my guess at a side

B: Parker Haddrill Polak
HB: Dodd McPharlin M Carr
C: Black J Carr Headland
HF: Woods Pavlich Farmer
F: Medhurst Murphy J-Lo

Ruck: Sandi Hasleby Bell

Int: Walker Webster Cook McManus

Emergencies: Dunn Grover Mundy
Great minds think alike exactly what R46 said

And I'd have to agree as well, I haven't studied the rest of the players to see if theres any glaring omissions, but from first glance, I think that's just how they'll line up (maybe some changes with starting 18 and bench).

I'd suggest Dunn would be the biggest 'emergency' chance, but I don't think he'll replace anyone there for round one.

voodoo_86 said:
And I'd have to agree as well, I haven't studied the rest of the players to see if theres any glaring omissions, but from first glance, I think that's just how they'll line up (maybe some changes with starting 18 and bench).

I'd suggest Dunn would be the biggest 'emergency' chance, but I don't think he'll replace anyone there for round one.
I'm hoping Dunn replaces Cook. Lets face it. As soon as we find some one to match Cooks hardness he's gawn. I'm hoping Dunn's the man for the job.

He could be a chance at the expense of Dunn if he gets through a full WAFL match.

My guess would he'd have to run out a couple at least though.

I'd hope Dunn would replace Macca before Cook myself.

voodoo_86 said:
I'd hope Dunn would replace Macca before Cook myself.

Geez we are really hard on Macca and Cook!!!!.

From my "good oil", they have played their hearts out in the practice matches and that is what we like to see. So alot of you people would get rid of players who have given everything in the practice matches?.

I know Cook and Macca will have to be "eased out" eventually, but before you "axe" them make sure there are players breathing down their neck for their position. A player like Dunn is not within breathing distance of these two at the moment.

Macca and Cookie still have vital roles in this side.

Do you think Parker/Polak will be able to "hold" our resting ruckmen in the forward pocket? ie Primus and Lade. Are they physically big enough?

Not a troll but I openly admit to knowing little about many of your players so am curious.

portentous said:
Do you think Parker/Polak will be able to "hold" our resting ruckmen in the forward pocket? ie Primus and Lade. Are they physically big enough?

Not a troll but I openly admit to knowing little about many of your players so am curious.

McPharlin, Polak, Parker, Hadrill or even woods could probally handle the assignment. I'd be more worried though at who can take the CHF/FF positions. These seem to be more of a threat then a resting ruckman

masai said:

Yes they do - but if we had younger lads who forced them out on merit and form, then it will be a great day for Freo - not as a criticism of Cookie and Macca, but just as a big step up for the club.

we can "ease"in youngsters later in the year for the future if things have gone pear-shaped, but for now just pick the best.

Reveler said:
McPharlin, Polak, Parker, Hadrill or even woods could probally handle the assignment. I'd be more worried though at who can take the CHF/FF positions. These seem to be more of a threat then a resting ruckman

would you "sacrifice" Pavlich in one of those positions or hope to win more than your fair share of the centre clearances and try to outscore us?

portentous said:
would you "sacrifice" Pavlich in one of those positions or hope to win more than your fair share of the centre clearances and try to outscore us?

Think of it this way - at least your ruckman should get a good rest;)

RIPPER_46 said:
Don't forget you will have to worry about our resting ruckmen.

re your sig. What do they call you guys then? The Connollycrumbles?? :D

don't worry, I can handle whatever Choco's Chokers you can throw at me.

and our resting ruckmen>>>>>>>>>>>your resting ruckmen.

portentous said:
and our resting ruckmen>>>>>>>>>>>your resting ruckmen.

Ours is biggerr than yours , Nah

He is due for a bag though. Might be this game against an undersized defence. Once he gets a kick on goal he seldom misses.
Don't take any notice of that last sentance as it is wrong*.

*Don't want to put the moz on him. ;)

I'll have to agree, Primus will be a tough matchup when he goes to the forward line. Polak for Thurstons, McPharlin for Tredrea.

No obvious matchup for a forward pocket Primus. Unless Longmuir follows him back. Haddrill will probably matchup on Primus. He is undersized but will at least be accountable. Hopefully Polak and McPharlin will drift across and help out.

Parker Haddrill Polak
M.Carr McPharlin Dunn
Walker J.Carr BLack
Headland Pavlich Schammer (if his wrist is right)
Farmer Murphy J.Longmuir

R: Sandilands Bell Hasleby
Bench: McManus, Medhurst, Webster, Woods.
Emer: Dodd, Cook (i think he'll be suspended), Mundy

crazy_big_al said:
I like the name Choco's Chokers but it really no longer fits now does it. But Connollycrumbles is also good but does not fit because u actually have to make the finals. but i guess u can crumble in the last 5 weeks of the season :D

mate don't be a fool. if you want to come here and have a intellegent discussion about matchups (like portentous) thats fine. Want to come here and pull the ******** then f*ck off back to the port board. I am sure there is enough mindless dribble there to fill your quota.

Pavlich won't play back, he will play forward. McPharlin will cancel out your CHF and your full forward won't be able to take a mark as polak will be swooping in from the flanks/pockets and getting them =) Sure it works on paper.. haha.

who is your full forward? francou? thurstans? primus?

masai said:

From my "good oil", they have played their hearts out in the practice matches and that is what we like to see. So alot of you people would get rid of players who have given everything in the practice matches?.

I know Cook and Macca will have to be "eased out" eventually, but before you "axe" them make sure there are players breathing down their neck for their position. A player like Dunn is not within breathing distance of these two at the moment.

McManus was good on Friday, but I think his weaknesses far outweigh the good he brings to the side. He plays on the wing/half forward but he is really slow and can't win his own footy. He struggles to keep up with his opponent, and of course his disposal isn't crash hot. I know he tries his guts out and I have thought he was one of our best players for the first half of last season, but his weaknesses become more and more glaring to me every week.

We have a midfield of JCarr, Hasleby, Bell, etc. No speed demons. When we add McManus and Cook to the side, we add more of the same with dodgy disposal and an inability to win their own footy. Our midfield overall turns much slower... that is why I am for bringing in youth into the side... we lack height and speed in the midfield. While Macca busts his gut, look at how many of his tackles don't stick and how easy his opponent gets away. Yes, we all love his inspiration but footy is a tough game and I don't think he should be in our best side. Might sound harsh and I'm not bagging him about his disposal... I just think his overall game hurts our side because he is another midfielder with no speed, ball winning ability or height... 3 things we lack.