List Mgmt. Future NGA's or Father Sons

So Tom Steinfort is going to get NGA status with Geelong because he was born in Finland. Yet he played for South Melbourne throughout all his junior career and has just gone over to Geelong Grammar. Typical that Geelong would be beneficiaries of a player who has played his entire junior career to date in our zone.
What is he projected to go out?

With the current rules, it could happen to Saints. A player moves from X to the NGA player catchment.

So Tom Steinfort is going to get NGA status with Geelong because he was born in Finland. Yet he played for South Melbourne throughout all his junior career and has just gone over to Geelong Grammar. Typical that Geelong would be beneficiaries of a player who has played his entire junior career to date in our zone.
That's as big a rort as Collingwood suddenly considering that bolter from their zone who's never trained at the club. Development should be logged, take place over time and a minimum standard met for NGA draft access.

But of course that's too logical for the exceptionally broken draft system

What is he projected to go out?

With the current rules, it could happen to Saints. A player moves from X to the NGA player catchment.
It’s a great find for Aussie Rules. Imagine getting a Finnish kid and stripping him away from soccer, golf or Finska.

“His dad played for Geelong”.

200.gif

From everything thats been in the media it seems the club have prepared to trade out of this years draft. Given how compromised it will be its probably not a terrible decision. Then if we can bring in some high quality mature players it will be a great injection to the list.

Lets dream that we add TDK, Aleer and Bergman to the list and get another 12 months into the kids, we should be pretty close to really taking off. We have already given up this years 2nd round pick in the trade to pick up Boxshall, so I would expect we will go into the draft with only late picks left.

Add a couple more decent kids like Fincher NGA in the draft and get on top of our persistent injury list we should shake up the competition. I havent heard anymore of Gill Wakelin but Id imagine the club are following him, he hasnt made the state squad which is a shame. https://sanfl.com.au/league/news/2025-sa-u18-squad-finalised/

From everything thats been in the media it seems the club have prepared to trade out of this years draft. Given how compromised it will be its probably not a terrible decision. Then if we can bring in some high quality mature players it will be a great injection to the list.

Lets dream that we add TDK, Aleer and Bergman to the list and get another 12 months into the kids, we should be pretty close to really taking off. We have already given up this years 2nd round pick in the trade to pick up Boxshall, so I would expect we will go into the draft with only late picks left.

Add a couple more decent kids like Fincher NGA in the draft and get on top of our persistent injury list we should shake up the competition. I havent heard anymore of Gill Wakelin but Id imagine the club are following him, he hasnt made the state squad which is a shame. https://sanfl.com.au/league/news/2025-sa-u18-squad-finalised/
Absolutely. You only have to have a look at the Crows and see what happens when you add a few mature recruits.

Is someone connected to the club mysteriously paying his school fees at geelong grammar ?? Couldn’t be so easy to rout the nga s could it ?

If you had any interest in a father/son, seen a fair bit of Tyson Milne and Jackson Voss last 18 months at Frankston

Jackson in particular has really improved his deffensive game. Intercepting has become key and ball use is reliable. Tyson in same mould but maybe not as advanced

I believe both are still eligible as father sons despite ages of Jackson (24) and Tyson (24)

If you had any interest in a father/son, seen a fair bit of Tyson Milne and Jackson Voss last 18 months at Frankston

Jackson in particular has really improved his deffensive game. Intercepting has become key and ball use is reliable. Tyson in same mould but maybe not as advanced

I believe both are still eligible as father sons despite ages of Jackson (24) and Tyson (24)
Would be a good storey but doubt it happens. Especially with the draft policy Ross is going with.

Hun has a write-up on APS football, got a few boys tied to us.

BGS: Small utility Kye Fincher performed strongly in the Vic Metro trial with 28 disposals and is tied to St Kilda’s Next Generation Academy. Fincher isn’t the only player tied to the Saints at Brighton. Year 11 students Rowan Mackenzie - brother of Hawthorn’s Cam - and Clinton Hofmann (brother of Geelong’s Lenny) are also part of St Kilda’s NGA program as.

St Kevin's: St Kevin’s skipper James Mikhael shapes as one of the school’s top 2025 draft hopefuls. Tied to the Sandringham Dragons, Mikhael is a tall and powerful midfielder who uses the footy well. Mikhael is a member of St Kilda’s NGA

Wesley: The son of former Geelong captain and St Kilda player Steven King, Oscar, will feature for Wesley this season despite only being in year 10. He’s a hard-running player with a really good tank and is developing well. Not eligible for f-s selection, but still. Steven's also on the coaching panel.

Hun has a write-up on APS football, got a few boys tied to us.

BGS: Small utility Kye Fincher performed strongly in the Vic Metro trial with 28 disposals and is tied to St Kilda’s Next Generation Academy. Fincher isn’t the only player tied to the Saints at Brighton. Year 11 students Rowan Mackenzie - brother of Hawthorn’s Cam - and Clinton Hofmann (brother of Geelong’s Lenny) are also part of St Kilda’s NGA program as.

St Kevin's: St Kevin’s skipper James Mikhael shapes as one of the school’s top 2025 draft hopefuls. Tied to the Sandringham Dragons, Mikhael is a tall and powerful midfielder who uses the footy well. Mikhael is a member of St Kilda’s NGA

Wesley: The son of former Geelong captain and St Kilda player Steven King, Oscar, will feature for Wesley this season despite only being in year 10. He’s a hard-running player with a really good tank and is developing well. Not eligible for f-s selection, but still. Steven's also on the coaching panel.
Thanks for posting Goodie..I don't know much about Mikhael the fact he is a midfielder is promising. Screenshot_20250425_162505_Talent League.jpg

Might just be me, but in these highly compromised drafts l reckon sitting in the 1st half of the 3rd round isn't a bad place to be. I have a hunch some good talent slips through all the mayhem.

They changed the NGA system again didn’t they? Anyone up to date on what the current rules are? Can we match on an NGA at any point in the draft again now?

Yup, that's how Essendon got Kako. Heaven forbid a club should miss out on a first round prospect...

Surely this is something we can appeal?

Looks like the Riewoldts are back playing footy

Along with a Dal Santo and a Hayes😍