How we lookin?
any news?
no rocca, which is a worry. probably for the best though
I dont think its gonna be the walk over most predict
What times kick off?
Go the pies!

7:10 PM EST
LIVE ON FOX FOOTY

No Bucks, Rocca, Clement, Burns and R Shaw from our starting 22. Fremanle are going in (relatively) full strength.

Carn' Pies! :thumbsu:

Collingwood vs Fremantle: Match Preview
Match Preview
05 Mar 2006
Luke Mason
http://www.magpies.net/nick/article/... from=&ucat=4&

Prior to its successful clash with St.Kilda last Sunday, Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse described the match as an opportunity to see where his young squad is at, in comparison with the rest of the competition. The Pies showed plenty, in knocking off the flag favourites by a point, and earned a trip to Perth to take on a Fremantle side brimming with confidence. Malthouse will gain a second insight into how his side is travelling, with the Dockers stating their intentions to blitz all comers.

Subiaco Oval has not been a happy hunting ground in recent times for the Magpies, their record at the ground since 2000 reading two wins and three losses – their latest win coming in round 19 2004, when an undermanned Collingwood shocked the Dockers.

The fact that the Magpies have struggled on the wide expanses of Subiaco has been well documented, the side suffering two of its heaviest defeats of all time in the past two seasons – a 112 point drubbing at the hands of Fremantle in 2005 the most painful.

Despite all this, Collingwood do have cause for optimism leading into a match which will be played even though temperatures are to tip the mercury at 38°.

At the selection table, the Magpies wisely opted to leave its veteran quartet of Nathan Buckley, Scott Burns, James Clement and Anthony Rocca at home – sparing them a hot autumn afternoon in Perth.

In their absence, it will be up to the experience of the super consistent midfield combination of Paul Licuria, Brodie Holland and Shane O’Bree to hold the fort.

They will look to lead the way for the youth of Dale Thomas and debutant Sam Iles – whose efforts were impressive in recent intra-club matches.

Joining them in the middle will be Alan Didak and Leon Davis. Both began their careers as opportunistic forwards, but after serving six and five respective seasons in the system, it is time they made inroads into the midfield.

The two spent the majority of Sunday’s meeting with the Saints in the engine room, where their class and leg speed were vital ingredients in matching the brilliance of the St.Kilda onballers.

The heat will make for hard work for all players – and Collingwood’s midfielders’ task will take on extra difficulty, the Dockers centreline boasting some quality footballers – with the likes of skipper Bell, Hasleby, Black, the Carr’s – Josh and Matthew – as well as its trump utility Matthew Pavlich set to cause headaches for Malthouse and his coaching panel.

It is likely that Holland will get first crack at tagging the silky skilled Heath Black, who made headlines in the off-season for the wrong reasons.

Holland will be primed to return to his old stomping ground, Subiaco Oval, where he began his league career with the Dockers back in 1998.

It will be interesting to see how the Pies cope with the strength of the Fremantle midfield – arguably one of the strongest in the competition.

An area Collingwood does have the advantage in is its forward power. Although Rocca will be absent, they still possess Chris Tarrant, Josh Fraser and Travis Cloke – all of whom alone can win a match off their own boot.

Tarrant endured a match last week which was below his lofty standards. Watch for him to step up a notch this week, as he prepares for a round one assault on Adelaide when the season proper gets underway.

Fremantle, too, possess a much vaunted forward combination. The likes of Pavlich, Justin Longmuir and Luke McPharlin are explosive in their posts as key forwards, and on their day are able to decimate the opposition defenders.

McPharlin is the wildcard of the group. Blessed with brilliant speed and amazingly strong hands, the former Hawk rarely spills a marking opportunity.

Both McPharlin and Pavlich were on hand to demolish the Maggies the last time the two sides met in Perth.

Although Justin Longmuir was sidelined with a thigh complaint, McPharlin and Pavlich combined for 11 majors between them, teaming to annihilate a limp Collingwood line-up by a massive 112 points.

At ground level, the Dockers are always a better side when its crumbers – Paul Medhurst and Jeff Farmer – lurk near goal.

Both have caused Collingwood a great deal of trouble in past encounters; not many of the Collingwood faithful have forgotten Farmer’s destruction of the Magpies defence back in 2000.

On a cool afternoon, Farmer, still in his Demon days, scored nine second half goals – ripping the heart out of Collingwood’s season.

It is likely that he and Medhurst will be heavily tagged – the reliable Tarkyn Lockyer and potentially Iles to receive early opportunities.

In the wash up, the Dockers – suited best to their home turf – should account in comfortable fashion for a Collingwood side still short of its best line up.

However, if the Magpies midfield is able to break even with its counterparts and the tall forward line of Tarrant, Fraser and Travis Cloke can fire – a victory is very much within the realism of possibility.

Prediction: Fremantle by 24 points.

bsg7 said:
How did Sam Isles play???
Didnt do much. Had heat exhaustion at half time and didnt play much after that. Did some good things but nothing special.

Thomas was the best of the youngsters. Stanley was good aswell. Cox i dont think got a touch. Hall was just woeful.

Cox has a good body size on him and showed some good 2nd efforts at the ball. Could be a good mid sized, run/chase/harrass forward.
Thomas was outstanding, didn't have too much of it but showed absoloute class and skill. Sprayed one of his first kicks and speared the majority of them to a forward. Looks to be dual sided and is very good at picking up the ball in tight situations.

Coin_Toss said:
7:10 PM EST
LIVE ON FOX FOOTY

No Bucks, Rocca, Clement, Burns and R Shaw from our starting 22. Fremanle are going in (relatively) full strength.

Carn' Pies! :thumbsu:

errr.. not really missing quite a few of our starting 22..

Bell, Headland, Polak, Hadrill, Hayden to name a few. Plus Pav was coming back from injury.

Stakerz said:
This means nothing.

Do you think Maxwell (is that his name) will contain Pav so well next time we meet?

But anyway, i've got you written into my predicted top 8. At the expense of far more favoured teams.

We were missing a fair few gun players too (not quite the quality as you, but probably more):

Bell, Headland, Haddrill, Polak, Thornton, Hayden.

PS: Dale Thomas will be a gun.

Lonie_from_50 said:
Could be a flogging, so if we win, it would be one of the better wins of the last 5 years, despite it being pre-season.
Collingwood without question had the better quality players missing with Buckley, Burns, Caracella, Clement, Rocca, and R.Shaw missing. Wakelin and Holland amongst others were deliberately given limited time too, so it was a good effort, and there is absolutely no doubt that Freo want to win this competition more as well.

Freo will beat a few teams in Perth this year, but not too many in Melbourne again I wouldn't think. I'm glad to be out of the competition with one win because after playing in that heat, I don't think that another fair dinkum match again next week would be an ideal preparation.

rgauci said:
Do you think Maxwell (is that his name) will contain Pav so well next time we meet?

But anyway, i've got you written into my predicted top 8. At the expense of far more favoured teams.

We were missing a fair few gun players too (not quite the quality as you, but probably more):

That depends on if Maxwell plays on Pav next time. Don't under-estimate Maxwell though, he is a pretty reliable player. If it isn't Maxwell it will be Presti, hmm.

Yeah i can't wait for when they meet next, let's just hope they have a strong side in.

KissStephanie said:
Collingwood without question had the better quality players missing with Buckley, Burns, Caracella, Clement, Rocca, and R.Shaw missing. Wakelin and Holland amongst others were deliberately given limited time too, so it was a good effort, and there is absolutely no doubt that Freo want to win this competition more as well.

Freo will beat a few teams in Perth this year, but not too many in Melbourne again I wouldn't think. I'm glad to be out of the competition with one win because after playing in that heat, I don't think that another fair dinkum match again next week would be an ideal preparation.

Yeah glad we are out too, a) cause of the recovery from the heat b) just have thoughts of carlton 2005 winning it then being bottom of the ladder

However I think Freo should be a force this year for a change, I mean they really do have the side to be a threat, whether it happens or not is another question.

rgauci said:

maxwell has looked sensational so far

played on riewoldt & the pav, both cases he has easily held his own, actually ran off both, flown & taken marks, bumped both of them off the ball......and if max doesn't play on the pav, we have the best backmen of the last two years to come in to take him.........jimmy clement

Stakerz said:
This means nothing.

No, no it doesn't.

15 possessions, 9 marks and 2 goals.

Quiet game from him (relatively speaking), but the fact he has had virtually no pre-season, a shoulder reconstruction, a knee operation and groin surgery means nothing at all.

Quite right.

;)

KissStephanie said:
Freo will beat a few teams in Perth this year, but not too many in Melbourne again I wouldn't think.

2004: 6 from 12 in Perth; 5 from 10 away from Perth
2005: 7 from 12 in Perth; 4 from 10 away from Perth.

We play just as well (and just as poorly as well) away from Perth as we do in Perth.

We have actually won something like 6 from our last 8 at the MCG (can't remember exactly and too lazy to look it up, but it's roughly that... may be 6 from 9, or 5 from 8... but you get the picture).

It's a bit of a misconception that we are still really bad on the road.

Not that it really matters to you guys. I reckon you'll have a much better year this year than you have the last two. Hope it's the same for us. :)

Carry on.

Game Day thread