Gameday thread Freo vs Collingwood

• Thread starter Thread starter Righteo

Kept in under 100 pts :thumbsu:

Actually quite a few positives out of that game. Anthony has a future with us after all, for example.

Great effort by the crowd. Kept on cheering right to the end. I reckon they actually helped our guys keep on trying. I'm not so disappointed. We didn't give up and there were a few promising performances. Collingwood just too good for us.......as was expected, I guess.

What was the crowd figure tonight? Really disappointing to see the umpires heavily inflate the final margin, surely considering we were such massive underdogs they didn't need to rape us SO forcefully!?

Just above 31000 according to channel 7

Edit: 31,985

It was a fun atmosphere. The fact we were never in it took the pressure off.
Highlight. 13 min mark last Q, Hill hit the contest in the centre flat out with eyes for nothing but the ball. Haven't seen him do that for what seems an age. He really got his mojo back tonight.

It was great to watch. He has the talent to play in congestion.

But you know what really sucked? It took the whole season and our lowest ebb before he is set the task to win his own hardball. He could have been doing this from game one. Instead his role has been to skirt packs for the handball receive and he's ended up playing shit footy.

It took the whole season and our lowest ebb before he is set the task to win his own hardball. He could have been doing this from game one. Instead his role has been to skirt packs for the handball receive and he's ended up playing shit footy.

Yeah, he had nowhere to hide had to go in. Playing the Pies is deceptive though, they don't tag as such, he would have noticed the difference so just went for it. Obviously he gets mentally taken out of the game if there's a tag on him.

It's true that the Pies don't tag, but neither do a few other clubs. Hill's problem isn't so much that he's had a man on his hammer all the time - it's been that he isn't even anywhere near the ball.

This game he was right in the thick of it. Getting the ball in packs, dishing out handballs, trying to break tackles. It was great to watch. If you go back and watch earlier games, it's a queston of 'where is Hill?' - you barely see him in the frame. This game he was right in the thick of things - even if he wasn't getting the ball, he was at the contest.

Just imagine if that had been his role all season. Do you reckon we might have pinched another game or two, here and there? That's what I found so frustrating about tonight's game.

It's true that the Pies don't tag, but neither do a few other clubs. Hill's problem isn't so much that he's had a man on his hammer all the time - it's been that he isn't even anywhere near the ball.

This game he was right in the thick of it. Getting the ball in packs, dishing out handballs, trying to break tackles. It was great to watch. If you go back and watch earlier games, it's a queston of 'where is Hill?' - you barely see him in the frame. This game he was right in the thick of things - even if he wasn't getting the ball, he was at the contest.

Just imagine if that had been his role all season. Do you reckon we might have pinched another game or two, here and there? That's what I found so frustrating about tonight's game.

Exactly right, I've been watching him really closely for a few weeks now and he's been ball watching. Just hanging around the contests not trying to get involved. Tonight he went after the ball, went and got it himself. As his confidence rose he started to run past contests flat out the way he used to and breaking the lines. He was still running defensively flat out in the last quarter which is something he does when he's feeling good.

And the Freo chant goes up!!!!

:)
Brought a smile to my face.

*so close to crying after seeing Faulks go down.

Have been bawling my guts out for three hours now.

Based on what my info is he will be in a long rehab period. He'll do well to be back on our senior list again, let alone actually get another AFL game. So unfair for him - why can't it have been MJ, Shep, Sibo, etc??

Oh, and how frickin classy is it that not one umpire nor one Collyflog garbage player or "staff member" can even be bothered going over to see how Faulksie is. I mean, for crying out loud, Faulksie is a Victorian, surely someone from the Collyscum Scumpies would have thought to check how he was??

So, so sad I couldn't be there at Subi to cheer the boys on - and so, so angry at the so-called "Freo members" [including many so-called Freo posters on this board] who bailed and couldn't even be bothered showing up at the Pies game at Subi, let alone actually bothering to back the Freo side.

Here's a hint, you "Freo members" - if your financial contribution is contingent on a premiership or "wins" every so often, then please bugger off, as no real true Freo supporter would ever make their support contingent on some vague "criteria".

On the other hand, if you are proud to bleed Freo, and happy to sit through literally decades of losses, PM me - Freo needs real true fans, not flogs that think a Freo membership entitles them to cash refunds every time we lose...

It was great to watch. He has the talent to play in congestion.

But you know what really sucked? It took the whole season and our lowest ebb before he is set the task to win his own hardball. He could have been doing this from game one. Instead his role has been to skirt packs for the handball receive and he's ended up playing shit footy.

Really really poor that the coaches of our tesm didn't do more to help Hilly out of his "tagging" situation earlier in the season. He was dynamic tonight, largely because guys like Scham, Lower and Palmer freed him up from the hard tag he ws under by laying blocks and bumps. If only Hilly had had similar coaching last year and this year...

Based on what my info is he will be in a long rehab period. He'll do well to be back on our senior list again, let alone actually get another AFL game. So unfair for him - why can't it have been MJ, Shep, Sibo, etc??

Oh, and how frickin classy is it that not one umpire nor one Collyflog garbage player or "staff member" can even be bothered going over to see how Faulksie is. I mean, for crying out loud, Faulksie is a Victorian, surely someone from the Collyscum Scumpies would have thought to check how he was??

So, so sad I couldn't be there at Subi to cheer the boys on - and so, so angry at the so-called "Freo members" [including many so-called Freo posters on this board] who bailed and couldn't even be bothered showing up at the Pies game at Subi, let alone actually bothering to back the Freo side.

Here's a hint, you "Freo members" - if your financial contribution is contingent on a premiership or "wins" every so often, then please bugger off, as no real true Freo supporter would ever make their support contingent on some vague "criteria".

On the other hand, if you are proud to bleed Freo, and happy to sit through literally decades of losses, PM me - Freo needs real true fans, not flogs that think a Freo membership entitles them to cash refunds every time we lose...
Ride that high horse

YEE HARRR!!!

Based on what my info is he will be in a long rehab period. He'll do well to be back on our senior list again, let alone actually get another AFL game. So unfair for him

Damn, a career ending injury? That sucks. I just assumed it was a broken jaw and cheekbone, and nothing else. But that's just based on news articles, I don't have any extra info.