Opinion Garry Lyon

I clearly said it in my original post - after the Geelong loss Lyon said on radio that he would be calling Stynes and demanding that he take action and fire Bailey. He didn't say the club or the board, he specifically said Stynes. Lyon knew how sick Jimmy was, but he called Jim out and left him no option but to fire Bailey or explain why he won't. What sort of "mate" does that?

Give me a break.

We're in the Grand Final!!!! Cheer up bud.

Is he a pretty reprehensible operator? Well, in my experience, both personal and anecdotal, yes.

Is he a champion of the Melbourne Football Club? Yes.

Is there another champion of the club who could take his place? No, Neitz wouldn’t want to and Schwartz seems to have vanished off the face of the earth.

Hes the best qualified applicant from a very shallow pool, if they win, I’ll have no problem with him basking in the glow for a short time.

Is he a pretty reprehensible operator? Well, in my experience, both personal and anecdotal, yes.

Is there another champion of the club who could take his place? No, Neitz wouldn’t want to and Schwartz seems to have vanished off the face of the earth.

Hes the best qualified applicant from a very shallow pool, if they win, I’ll have no problem with him basking in the glow for a short time.
What about The Whizz - was a pretty handy contributor for the Dees, kicked 6 in a prelim? And an indigenous player doing the presentation would be a pretty good thing to see.

Clearly, would have been Ron Barassi under normal circumstances.

Scott Morrison should hire whoever is in charge of Garry’s PR.

Let’s not get into the whole fiasco of a few years ago that was very well swept under the carpet.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe Garry’s last act in any capacity working for Melbourne FC was to hire Mark Neeld as coach (in a director of football type role?) and then slowly walked away as the club moved about 4 years in the wrong direction.

Two years ago he was Melbourne’s biggest critic in his capacity as a football analyst. Questioning their culture and leadership.

Fast forward to 2021 and he is the biggest face outside the players and coach of the Dees premiership campaign.

Have I missed something here? PR team has done an unbelievable job here to make our Garry look very good…

So the worst things he's done in 30 years in Footy is sleep with a single women, help out choose a new coach when the club asked, and criticized the club when they sucked?

Cant be, but should be Daniher.

Garry Lyon presenting the cup feels like Nickleback being inducted into the Rock and Roll HOF.

Like, it can happen, it probably will eventually happen, but it shouldn't happen and really, isn't there anyone else?

What about The Whizz - was a pretty handy contributor for the Dees, kicked 6 in a prelim? And an indigenous player doing the presentation would be a pretty good thing to see.
Not an awful suggestion, does he have much of media profile? That is part of the problem here, not a lot of ex Demons players with media profiles/ still talked about

Always rated his football "punditry"

Hard to judge about his personal life but in Melbourne FC terms, an ex captain, great player and in the media. Not surprised he will play his role on grand final day

Flagless flogs from the 90s Club.

If St Kilda‘s day ever comes again you know it’ll be the 2000s equivalents - Reiwoldt, Dal Santo and Montagna.

Depending on when this occurs, I'm sure those 3 pretty boys will be way behind the likes of; Harvey, Burke, Winmar, Lockett, Lowe, Hayes etc...

I clearly said it in my original post - after the Geelong loss Lyon said on radio that he would be calling Stynes and demanding that he take action and fire Bailey. He didn't say the club or the board, he specifically said Stynes. Lyon knew how sick Jimmy was, but he called Jim out and left him no option but to fire Bailey or explain why he won't. What sort of "mate" does that?
Garry was one of Jim's closest friends. Garry interviewed Jim's wife on SEN yesterday. She has no problem with Garry. None of us are in a position to be judging Garry and Jim's friendship and what he could or couldn't say to him, much less what was or wasn't said to him. Lay off the preachy, judgemental shit and try enjoying your team's season.

Not an awful suggestion, does he have much of media profile? That is part of the problem here, not a lot of ex Demons players with media profiles/ still talked about
NO media profile as such. He bobbed up recently in paper as his son and nephews are guns and will get drafted. Has kept his nose clean since retiring and much loved by the Dees fans, loved by freo fans and WC fans have probably built a bridge by now for his years tormenting us. so he would get a good reception.

Scott Morrison should hire whoever is in charge of Garry’s PR.

Let’s not get into the whole fiasco of a few years ago that was very well swept under the carpet.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe Garry’s last act in any capacity working for Melbourne FC was to hire Mark Neeld as coach (in a director of football type role?) and then slowly walked away as the club moved about 4 years in the wrong direction.

Two years ago he was Melbourne’s biggest critic in his capacity as a football analyst. Questioning their culture and leadership.

Fast forward to 2021 and he is the biggest face outside the players and coach of the Dees premiership campaign.

Have I missed something here? PR team has done an unbelievable job here to make our Garry look very good…

Melbourne has deserved every ounce of criticism in the last 2 years. This year has only proven that Goodwin was underperforming the last 2 years and Melbourne was also. We have basically the same list now as we did the previous 2 seasons other than some youngsters. Finishing 17th and 9th was a joke for the list that Goodwin had. This year has proved that.

tbf back in the early 00's late 90's I knew a prominent Melbourne players mrs very well, Garry was banging many women back then while married

And tbf I would think 90% of players rightly or wrongly would be doing similar

No wonder he had back issues!!
He's a scumbag a different level to Carey but still a scumbag.

Cant be, but should be Daniher.

Garry Lyon presenting the cup feels like Nickleback being inducted into the Rock and Roll HOF.

Like, it can happen, it probably will eventually happen, but it shouldn't happen and really, isn't there anyone else?
Just barrack like hell for the doggies for the upset and to claim their 3rd cup. It's the only way!

Plenty of other footballers with a sketchy past when it comes to that sort of thing. Think of recent as Zorko and his antics and he was and still is captain of the football club.

Carey, Ablett, Nick Riewoltd( that photo), Buddy, Dane Swan, Didak, Cousins, Montagna just to name a few. All varying degrees of incidents but a lot of them still manage to be held in high regard, gigs in the media and classified as legends/stars of the club or game in some cases.

Could not think of anyone more deserving or worthwhile than Gary outside of Daniher & Barrassi. A legend of the MFC and actually one of the best media commentators who has been in the comedic roles with Footy Show and Triple M but also the serious analytical side of things.