Gazza I can't decide this week - it is a draw

• Thread starter Thread starter _Me_

And what would actually happen if he just ignored that and did the RIGHT thing by his fans and told everyone at the Carji?

I guess he's still an Ablett, awesome ability, but still a treacherous coward.

That would be an incredibly ridiculous thing to do.
I can't even believe you are suggesting it.

I'm sure the GFC would just LOVE their B&F to be screwed like that :rolleyes:

And what would actually happen if he just ignored that and did the RIGHT thing by his fans and told everyone at the Carji?

I guess he's still an Ablett, awesome ability, but still a treacherous coward.

Wow. There is a statement from a real keyboard hero. No doubt you know either or both Gary/s. Wow.

I don't need to know them to have an opinion on the way they treat their fans.

Im sure theyre lovely blokes to people that know them, but theyre completely gutless with the way they treat their fans.

Its probably the AFLs fault, but the AFL doesn't rule Gary's life choices, unless he lets them, which would be gutless.

Im sure theyre lovely blokes to people that know them, but theyre completely gutless with the way they treat their fans.

Its probably the AFLs fault, but the AFL doesn't rule Gary's life choices, unless he lets them, which would be gutless.

Yeah I thought GAJ was a complete prick for training in the freezing rain and then staying behind 30 minutes to sign autographs for fans at the WACA training session here in Perth last year. What a complete prick he is for doing that for the waiting for fans. :mad:

It can't be postponed as the week after next week is trade week, and the club will rightly demand an answer before then. Next friday will in all likelihood be the dealine. So it looks like Demetriou's master plan to not have Ablett's announcement distract from, grand final week will fail after all, who would have thought! :D

According to this article it may not go ahead Thursday night..

"All teams which have booked Best and Fairest nights at Crown this week will be deferred until the following week."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/fans-set-for-one-day-in-october/story-e6frf9jf-1225929385108

I'd say the club will go for the same night but just try and find an alternate venue.

Postponing the Carji until after trade week is particularly impractical if one or two players depart in trade week :p

It will be a quieter week this week.
The AFL will love the exposure the replay will get as the NRL play their GF next week.

They'll roll Gazza out this week to fill the void. No doubt about it.

However, it hasn't been announced if the draft will be put back a week yet. They are discussing it.

Draft doesn't occur for ages mate!

I assume you're referring to the draft camp, which is confirmed as going ahead this week, according to this
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103224/default.aspx

Also indicates that trade week will start October 4th as scheduled.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Gary's real gutless about the way he plays football-NOT!

Gary Ablett has more talent in the left side of his right pinkie finger than you have in your whole body, and I doubt that he would love a wink of sleep that some nobody like you thinks he is a coward.

He has the runs on the board-you don't!

The terrible things being said about Gazza makes me hope even more he stays, so that a lot of the nuff-nuffs on this board will have to eat humble pie.

I think that there is a lot of jealousy towards Ablett. Think of it. He has fame, fortune, is the top of the heap, wins a lot of awards, has a hot girlfriend, is loved by his town, is sought after for photo opportunities and autographs, and comes from legendary stock. Now he is being offered more money than you would have in ten lifetimes.

I can understand most of you losers being jealous, but admit that that is the reason. Admit that Gary Ablett's mere presence makes you feel inferior and inadequate.

You're insane mate.

Of course hes a freak of a footballer.

But thats all he is. A footballer.

Hes not actually God, you know.

Its nothing to do with jealousy at all mate.

I don't appreciate being lied to, no matter who the hell is lying to me.

Liars are cowards. They hide from the truth.

Im more disgusted at the AFL than Gary, fwiw.

I admire his skill, just not the way this coup has treated us fans as mushrooms.

Kept in the dark, and fed on shit.

Yeah. The fact that Gaz senior STILL visits randoms in hospital regularly, does heaps of "unselfish" stuff, and yet has had his whole adult personal life "owned" by flogs like you. No idea...

As have said elsewhere, it appears the main reason Gary is indecisive is not the $$$ reason. It's all about Nathan's emotional welfare, which believe it or not, seems to be Gary's priority. I was told this today in Geelong. It is something that has had me confused all year, having watched jnr. as a toddler wreaking havoc in the rooms post games, and his huge earning potential in Geelong anyway, and Frank Costa's assurances post 07 that "we will NEVER let Gary leave the club."

I totally believe his allegiance to Nathan is the stumbling block, and I know nothing about his situation, but there is something NQR there. The $ is not the reason Gary goes IF he does. Naive I maybe, but I still hold hope.

As have said elsewhere, it appears the main reason Gary is indecisive is not the $$$ reason. It's all about Nathan's emotional welfare, which believe it or not, seems to be Gary's priority. I was told this today in Geelong. It is something that has had me confused all year, having watched jnr. as a toddler wreaking havoc in the rooms post games, and his huge earning potential in Geelong anyway, and Frank Costa's assurances post 07 that "we will NEVER let Gary leave the club."

I totally believe his allegiance to Nathan is the stumbling block, and I know nothing about his situation, but there is something NQR there. The $ is not the reason Gary goes IF he does. Naive I maybe, but I still hold hope.

Ok, Nathan came back to Melbourne 2 months ago to sort out some personal issues. Nathan is committed to nathan. There is no assurance he is committed to playing next year.

If Gaz goes there to save Nathan then well done, new line of spin. If this was the case the spin doctors would have started leaking this.

Ok, Nathan came back to Melbourne 2 months ago to sort out some personal issues. Nathan is committed to nathan. There is no assurance he is committed to playing next year.

If Gaz goes there to save Nathan then well done, new line of spin. If this was the case the spin doctors would have started leaking this.
Not at all talking about Nathan playing football. Issues are occasionally larger than footy itself for some people. Also sets up the hope Nathan returns to be with his family in Geelong. All conjecture, but surely it must have seemed incredulous to at least some supporters that this has been all about money. Has to me all year anyway. No way would Gary not be looked after financially if he stayed here.

There's no way Gaz is going for Nathan as Nathan is just as likely to head off in another direction the moment Gaz arrives in Qld. Nathan is a grown man -odd I'll grant that - and had all the support he needed in vic but he chose to leave his family and support and go wandering the countryside.

Go CATS!!

Not at all talking about Nathan playing football. Issues are occasionally larger than footy itself for some people. Also sets up the hope Nathan returns to be with his family in Geelong. All conjecture, but surely it must have seemed incredulous to at least some supporters that this has been all about money. Has to me all year anyway. No way would Gary not be looked after financially if he stayed here.

given the family home has been sold, the mum lives where?

gazza is between the two states

I have word that it will be a Wed announcement.

Give it time to filter through the press, and give the GF air time.

Give the footy shows something to crap on about.

He is due back in Melb on Tuesday i believe

I have word that it will be a Wed announcement.

Give it time to filter through the press, and give the GF air time.

Give the footy shows something to crap on about.

He is due back in Melb on Tuesday i believe

How much you paying this source of yours? He didn't deliver last Sunday.

the herald sun had a pic of the house, and a write up so too the advertiser

206465_news.html

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2010/09/01/206465_news.html

Without sounding like a total flog, Im a friend of the Ablett family, and I can absolutely 100% verify this is what it is basically ALL about. His desire to help Nathan have another 6 or 7 years on AFL coin and set himself up for life, get direction etc.

Nathan had himself already set up at Geelong - Gary has his own life to live and he cannot live it to suit his brother who will do what he wants when he wants.

Go CATS!!

ok, but if this was the case, why would he not tell Geelong this
as if Costa would not employ him for doing nothing

the GC are not set to sign him up on long term contracts
no club will be held to ransom, given Nathan's tendancies

This feels like another rumour that has been started inhouse to support a decision.