Geelong – most loved to most disliked?

yeah it's a giant illuminati conspiracy... a regular Dan Brown novel.

WHo said anything about a conspiracy? It's clear the Meeja have a narrative about Stevie J - that he's "a bit of a rascal but we love him eh?" when the reality is he's a shocking cheat and sniper.

This "narrative" applies to various other players in the comp - as you well know.

Stop being a defensive sook.

I respect Geelong, but hate how every 2nd person was a Cats supporter when they started winning premierships.
That's the most ironic statement I've ever read on this entire site. Besides that, check out your clubs membership numbers by year.

2007 - 31,064
2008 - 41,436 (premiership year) (big jump)
2009 - 52,496 (even bigger jump when all and sundry proclaimed a dynasty was fast approaching)
2010 - 53,978 (it appears the growth wasn't a big as previous years after you failed to make finals)
2011 - 56,224
2012 - 60,841
2013 - 63,353
2014 - 65,494

That is double the spike in members from directly before your first flag in 17 year, until after your next.

I'm astonished a Geelong supporter posted that gif.

Pathetic from SJ. Guys have been chesting up to each other all day long for ever. That was a pure dive from SJ.

Terrible look.
Pure dive? He had a split second to brace and probably thought that with the umpire a few feet away Clark would not be stupid enough to shove him. Regardless, I am astonished how easily you are astonished

I could ask you the very same question in regards to Clarke on Johnson behind the ball?

Sequence-01_zpsfad27ade.gif

. . . the kind of crap he was copping all night long, which the media preferred not to highlight.
Clark is a thug. A dumb thug

I think everyone has had enough of one team being up for so long. It is time for them to dip out of finals for a spell.

More power to them being successful, its just wearing a little thin.

Ps. I loved them for years for continually knocking the pies out of the finals.

I think everyone has had enough of one team being up for so long. It is time for them to dip out of finals for a spell.

Does same apply to Swans and Hawks? Even Pies (who have played in more consecutive finals series than Geelong)?

More power to them being successful, its just wearing a little thin.

Ps. I loved them for years for continually knocking the pies out of the finals.

How would you feel if people were talking about Carlton in this manner? I bet your opinion would be totally different.

I was going to say "The Freo match was a week ago, can we get over the umpiring now?" and then I remembered that Geelong play for a TV audience tonight. One thing can be guaranteed: according to Bigfooty, Geelong will have the better run of the umpires tonight and that, in all likelihood, will decide the result. As it has for every Geelong win since 2007.

I'm not saying Geelong don't sometimes get the rub of the green. We certainly did against North two weeks ago. But I'm yet to see a Gameday thread in years where Geelong aren't apparently getting the rub of the green. People can hate Geelong being "always up", that's fine, but when they allow it to manifest itself as a belief in an AFL conspiracy to protect Geelong (which is a bizarre conspiracy, by the way) then they show themselves to be immature and emotionally-stunted.

Each team has players that play for free kicks. Geelong have two that are obvious to me (Johnson and Christensen) but I reckon I could nominate at least two from each club. It's not the difference between winning and losing.

How would you feel if people were talking about Carlton in this manner? I bet your opinion would be totally different.
I dont know we havent been that successful during my teenage to adult life. Think you can understand why people have had enough of your team winning plus it wasnt like I blamed the AFL or umps for your dominance.

Does same apply to Swans and Hawks? Even Pies (who have played in more consecutive finals series than Geelong)?
Swans will always be up because the AFL want it that way so yes I have had enough of them. The hawks snagged a flag early but have only really dominated the last 4-5 years and it looks like they will fall away soon. The pies won one flag..and are now coming back to the pack...In saying that the thread is about Geelong and not those teams. I responded to the discussion.

I was going to say "The Freo match was a week ago, can we get over the umpiring now?" and then I remembered that Geelong play for a TV audience tonight. One thing can be guaranteed: according to Bigfooty, Geelong will have the better run of the umpires tonight and that, in all likelihood, will decide the result. As it has for every Geelong win since 2007.

I'm not saying Geelong don't sometimes get the rub of the green. We certainly did against North two weeks ago. But I'm yet to see a Gameday thread in years where Geelong aren't apparently getting the rub of the green. People can hate Geelong being "always up", that's fine, but when they allow it to manifest itself as a belief in an AFL conspiracy to protect Geelong (which is a bizarre conspiracy, by the way) then they show themselves to be immature and emotionally-stunted.

Each team has players that play for free kicks. Geelong have two that are obvious to me (Johnson and Christensen) but I reckon I could nominate at least two from each club. It's not the difference between winning and losing.

I actually liked Geelong for a long time, but really since 2011 I find myself respecting your club a lot less. When Bomber was there, you played a brand of footy that was fantastic to watch, playing hard fast attacking footy, but nowadays it seems that you are more intent of playing the umpire as much as the ball. You see it regularly where something happens and your players are actually looking at the umpire appealing rather than worrying about continuing to play.

The frustrating thing is, you don't really need to do this sort of play acting as your side is still incredibly good.

I know every side has players that do play for Frees and players that seem to always draw frees (Poppy for us), but it's just something i've noticed more with Geelong.

Just my take on it.

I dont know we havent been that successful during my teenage to adult life. Think you can understand why people have had enough of your team winning plus it wasnt like I blamed the AFL or umps for your dominance.

I do understand why people have had enough of us winning, it's called tall poppy syndrome. The Swans & Hawks have been up for a long time yet you seem perfectly happy they keep winning. Geelong have got where they are by working bloody hard, and if that bothers people then (to quote Sheila the orange woman) "Tough t***ies!"

the draft is meant to even out the comp and have teams go up and down. I said I didnt like the swans...so what are you on about? In regards to the hawks if they are still up their in 2 years time I will have had enough of them as well.

Geelong has benefited from a fair few father son 'free kicks' so its not just 'bloody hard' work. As I said I loved what you guys have done just want to see some other teams at the top (exc pies and bombers)....stop sooking about others not liking your success...its a good problem to have.

Geelong has benefited from a fair few father son 'free kicks' so its not just 'bloody hard' work.

That old chestnut. The only F/S pick we got that was ever considered in the top 10 of the draft at the time of his selection was Tom Hawkins. All the others were not even in the top 30, yes even Ablett wasn't considered a top 30 player in his draft. In the last 20 years we've only had two top 10 picks, both pick 7. One of them was Joel Selwood, and the other Kane Tenace (who turned out to be a dud). Of all the F/S picks we've had only Ablett, Hawkins, and Scarlett developed into elite players. So while we got a few good F/S players it was the development work that was put into them that made them who they become. It was the work of Stephen Wells spotting other players like Chapman, Johnson, Bartel, Rooke, Ling etc. that really made us a strong club, not the so-called F/S bullshit people say and lazily believe because they can't be bothered checking their facts.

I actually liked Geelong for a long time, but really since 2011 I find myself respecting your club a lot less. When Bomber was there, you played a brand of footy that was fantastic to watch, playing hard fast attacking footy, but nowadays it seems that you are more intent of playing the umpire as much as the ball. You see it regularly where something happens and your players are actually looking at the umpire appealing rather than worrying about continuing to play.

The frustrating thing is, you don't really need to do this sort of play acting as your side is still incredibly good.

The appealing to umpires is something I hate as well. Johnson and Selwood (and Ablett Jnr. in the past) are the worst for it and it is not a good look. I disagree that the team, as a whole, has that intent but I can see how some may come to that conclusion when it's two of our leaders who succumb to that instinct.

I still think (biased, I know) that Geelong are one of the better teams to watch. They constantly take the game on and also have a knack for playing constantly in games that go down to the wire. I'd say Geelong have given neutrals their fair entertainment's worth during games over the years! That's why I think the hatred on Bigfooty is an indicator of the Bigfooty Bubble. Most general AFL fans would probably be sick of Geelong being "up" but I almost guarantee they'd be in 90% of "Top 3" lists for teams you'd want to watch play.

Pure dive? He had a split second to brace and probably thought that with the umpire a few feet away Clark would not be stupid enough to shove him. Regardless, I am astonished how easily you are astonished

Sure he was definitely caught unawares, but he flopped like he'd been shot. To the sort of bump that happens hundreds of times a game.

Did it instinctively too.

Sure he was definitely caught unawares, but he flopped like he'd been shot. To the sort of bump that happens hundreds of times a game.

Did it instinctively too.
Getting picked off nowhere near the ball happens 'hundreds of times a game'... [sarcasm] Okay [/sarcasm].

Btw I'd love to see the gif of the faux hard man Lewis flopping to the ground

Not a big fan of Geelong and their fans, but this sort of Tall Poppy Syndrome happens to every successful side that wins multiple premierships in the same era like The Brisbane three-peat and most probably the Swans of today

Everyone seemed to love those bad luck Lions, Cats and Swans when they weren't winning premierships ..

Most general AFL fans would probably be sick of Geelong being "up" but I almost guarantee they'd be in 90% of "Top 3" lists for teams you'd want to watch play.

Yes I'm sure you're very popular amongst the same crowd who enjoy watching the synchronised diving at the Olympics.

Not a big fan of Geelong and their fans, but this sort of Tall Poppy Syndrome happens to every successful side that wins multiple premierships in the same era like The Brisbane three-peat and most probably the Swans of today

Everyone seemed to love those bad luck Lions, Cats and Swans when they weren't winning premierships ..

Geelong IMO were only loved because people felt sorry for us with losing those 3 Grand Finals in 4 years.