Geelong rorting the system

119fp.jpg
2007 Cyborgs what a great celebration of sports science.

Nothing really.

They're a shining light in a meth filled shithole propped up by tax payer money.
They get what they need to make that a worthwhile reality.

‘And a big thank you to the South Australian taxpayers for the $535 billion they kicked in to take us away from the tarpaulin storage facility at West Lakes.’

Nothing, nada, zilch, for which I'd like to thank the weapons great mate Dank for, naturally.

Got any frozen water?

Adelaide sure does, apparently.

You're too lazy to even get your own material: "No, you're using copium!".

The rest is simply doubling down on your hysterical conspiracy theories and fantasies. It's not a big deal being beaten by the best. Geelong have graciously been on the end of it for Hawthorn and Richmond flags.

Some Collingwood supporters have a real sore loser mentality, more befitting minnows like St Kilda. Maybe you should apply to switch clubs so that your incessant whinging and deflecting is fully embraced.

The backtracking and back slapping for the Scott era doesn't wash - it's just because 2 Geelong flags at the expense of Collingwood is enough for you to emotionally handle, but 4 has you in the foetal position.
"I said copium first" lol.
don't touch my food GIF

I'm supporting Chris Scott ITT. You think it's fake good for you, the ignore button exists for a reason.

We all know what Bomber was, your bizarre version of events has Bomber, Robinson Dank and the chemist all being pure at Geelong, and somehow instantly corrupted by criminal mastermind James Hird the moment they arrived at Esendon.

That's the official version of events, presented by Vlad and Gil. Its as plausible as the official version that says Epstein killed himself, and there was no client list.

don't touch my food GIF't touch my food GIF

I'm supporting Chris Scott ITT. You think it's fake good for you, the ignore button exists for a reason.

We all know what Bomber was, your bizarre version of events has Bomber, Robinson Dank and the chemist all being pure at Geelong, and somehow instantly corrupted by criminal mastermind James Hird the moment they arrived at Geelong.

That's the official version of events, presented by Vlad and Gil. Its as plausible as the official version that says Epstein killed himself, and there was no client list.
Freo, Heave-Ho.

I'm giving your nonsense the ol' Heave-Ho!

I don't want to get you even more angry than you were before today's match. Have a cuppa and relax grandad, sometimes the Pies just choke on the big ol' MCG fair and square.
I'm pretty happy actually, just back from a road trip to Cairns. Rapt to go see the Pies play, been too few opportunities this year.

Prefer it if we won, silly to lose from inaccuracy, so that was a choke I guess.

Our system matched up ok, just wasteful in front of goal.

Now if we lose to Richmond I might be a bit annoyed.

don't touch my food GIF't touch my food GIF

We all know what Bomber was, your bizarre version of events has Bomber, Robinson Dank and the chemist all being pure at Geelong, and somehow instantly corrupted by criminal mastermind James Hird the moment they arrived at Esendon.

For starters, Hird wasn’t a criminal mastermind. He was a football coach who like all football coaches, looks for edges on the other team.

They do it tactically, they do it through personnel both on field and in their football department, they do it with their fitness and even with things like their facilities. So let’s put that myth to bed even if there are some people who’ve possibly hinted at it. I definitely don’t think that and I think people would be stupid to suggest it.

Mark Thompson hasn’t always been the piece of human wreckage that he is now. The suggestion that he was is just as farcical as the suggestion that ‘he was perfectly clean and untroubled and then suddenly went to Essendon and went bad.’

What is most likely is the explanation that he gave. He’d had enough of what he was doing and wanted out, and then was offered a less hands on role at a club where he had ties previously. There had always been rumours before during and after his Geelong coaching tenure that he enjoyed a fairly odd lifestyle away from football so maybe he did. Who knows. I don’t know how that translates to what you’re trying to suggest about the Cats actual football program, if those rumours were true. Simon Goodwin’s rumoured off field habits don’t translate to them having a systematic doping regime at the Demons they just mean he has an issue in his private life.

Thirdly Dean Robinson had a long history of strength and conditioning work both in and outside of football of both codes; he earned his reputation through the NSW Institute of Sport. He spent a year at an NRL club before we hired him. You’re suggesting that what, he just came straight in and his first act was to go ‘here’s what we will do. Get on the roids.’ What’s more likely is that he put his years of experience to good use.

Steven Dank was a renowned sports scientist whose services and research had been used by numerous organisations and Robinson subscribed to a lot of his theories and ideas. That’s never been a secret, and he talked to him a lot.

He also was associated with a supplement company, and Geelong was a club who used that company to buy a legal supplement.

None of this is illegal - well aside from anything Thompson may have been doing off the grid, anyway.

I doubt once Thompson or Robinson went to Essendon they said in consultation with Hird ‘ok let’s do this big illegal thing because we’ve been doing illegal things all along.’ Sports science develops all the time - doping went from steroids to blood doping with one’s own blood to peptides or whatever - it’s permanently evolving. That’s just the illegal side of it. The actual legal science stuff evolves too.

So whether they knew, or didn’t know, what they were doing was illegal (I don’t really have a stance on it beyond Steve Dank knowing that it would have been), I would hazard a guess that Robinson has said ‘I trust this guy as he has given me good advice before and he’s respected in his field so let’s go with it and implement it.’

Doing what they did does not inherently mean everything done prior to that point was also illegal or wrong. Yeah it raises questions and I can accept that. Hence the association between the parties and Geelong was investigated and it was found that we had done nothing wrong.

I'm pretty happy actually, just back from a road trip to Cairns. Rapt to go see the Pies play, been too few opportunities this year.

Prefer it if we won, silly to lose from inaccuracy, so that was a choke I guess.

Our system matched up ok, just wasteful in front of goal.

Now if we lose to Richmond I might be a bit annoyed.
I'm glad you're happy. I hope you have a wonderful evening. :thumbsu:

For starters, Hird wasn’t a criminal mastermind. He was a football coach who like all football coaches, looks for edges on the other team.

They do it tactically, they do it through personnel both on field and in their football department, they do it with their fitness and even with things like their facilities. So let’s put that myth to bed even if there are some people who’ve possibly hinted at it. I definitely don’t think that and I think people would be stupid to suggest it.

Mark Thompson hasn’t always been the piece of human wreckage that he is now. The suggestion that he was is just as farcical as the suggestion that ‘he was perfectly clean and untroubled and then suddenly went to Essendon and went bad.’

What is most likely is the explanation that he gave. He’d had enough of what he was doing and wanted out, and then was offered a less hands on role at a club where he had ties previously. There had always been rumours before during and after his Geelong coaching tenure that he enjoyed a fairly odd lifestyle away from football so maybe he did. Who knows. I don’t know how that translates to what you’re trying to suggest about the Cats actual football program, if those rumours were true. Simon Goodwin’s rumoured off field habits don’t translate to them having a systematic doping regime at the Demons they just mean he has an issue in his private life.

Thirdly Dean Robinson had a long history of strength and conditioning work both in and outside of football of both codes; he earned his reputation through the NSW Institute of Sport. He spent a year at an NRL club before we hired him. You’re suggesting that what, he just came straight in and his first act was to go ‘here’s what we will do. Get on the roids.’ What’s more likely is that he put his years of experience to good use.

Steven Dank was a renowned sports scientist whose services and research had been used by numerous organisations and Robinson subscribed to a lot of his theories and ideas. That’s never been a secret, and he talked to him a lot.

He also was associated with a supplement company, and Geelong was a club who used that company to buy a legal supplement.

None of this is illegal - well aside from anything Thompson may have been doing off the grid, anyway.

I doubt once Thompson or Robinson went to Essendon they said in consultation with Hird ‘ok let’s do this big illegal thing because we’ve been doing illegal things all along.’ Sports science develops all the time - doping went from steroids to blood doping with one’s own blood to peptides or whatever - it’s permanently evolving. That’s just the illegal side of it. The actual legal science stuff evolves too.

So whether they knew, or didn’t know, what they were doing was illegal (I don’t really have a stance on it beyond Steve Dank knowing that it would have been), I would hazard a guess that Robinson has said ‘I trust this guy as he has given me good advice before and he’s respected in his field so let’s go with it and implement it.’

Doing what they did does not inherently mean everything done prior to that point was also illegal or wrong. Yeah it raises questions and I can accept that. Hence the association between the parties and Geelong was investigated and it was found that we had done nothing wrong.
Thanks fir accepting it raises questions, that's a rational and respectable response.

I'm not ITK, I favour the "it stinks" interpretation because I doubt Demetriou and McLachlans honesty.

This is entirely secondary to the point of the thread. The "Geelong Rort" hypothesis is silly, there are better explanations for events. I'm on record as saying my club and may Hawthorn would ve two sides more worried about soft cap audits, and plenty of clubs would be assisting players with income outside the cap.

I heard a story about a certain club where a board member assisted players with real estate deals that worked out better for the board member than the player not sure what that strategy is called but it's a kind of rort.

Once again not really ITK, and cant say too much because of how I found out the little I do know, but there's a lot going on and Geelong are not Robinson Crusoe, or even a notable offender AFAIK.

Investigated by the AFL can't possibly be viewed as the definitive version of events.

It's why questions remain.

Thanks fir accepting it raises questions, that's a rational and respectable response.

I'm not ITK, I favour the "it stinks" interpretation because I doubt Demetriou and McLachlans honesty.

This is entirely secondary to the point of the thread. The "Geelong Rort" hypothesis is silly, there are better explanations for events. I'm on record as saying my club and may Hawthorn would ve two sides more worried about soft cap audits, and plenty of clubs would be assisting players with income outside the cap.

I heard a story about a certain club where a board member assisted players with real estate deals that worked out better for the board member than the player not sure what that strategy is called but it's a kind of rort.

Once again not really ITK, and cant say too much because of how I found out the little I do know, but there's a lot going on and Geelong are not Robinson Crusoe, or even a notable offender AFAIK.
Geelong would be up there. There's enough smoke to imagine some possibly serious fire. Just my honest opinion people.

Collingwood I reckon are the masters at it.

I wish Carlton's guilty history could be somehow unshackled, so they could once again, take extensive liberties with the rules, like other smart, successful clubs. They're reluctantly lily white these days.

The argument everyone else was doing it is hard coded in Carlton minds from experience of the bad old 90s.

The regular posture of Cats supporters (over the years), dismissing our 95 flag, although we were found, also by the AFL to have not cheated that year is pertinent to this situation.

Someone like, no idea who, but akin to the ACCC should go through the league like a laxative. Start with Sleepy Hollow I reckon.

Investigated by the AFL can't possibly be viewed as the definitive version of events.

It's why questions remain.

Geelong would be up there. There's enough smoke to imagine some possibly serious fire. Just my honest opinion people.

Collingwood I reckon are the masters at it.

I wish Carlton's guilty history could be somehow unshackled, so they could once again, take extensive liberties with the rules, like other smart, successful clubs. They're reluctantly lily white these days.

The argument everyone else was doing it is hard coded in Carlton minds from experience of the bad old 90s.

The regular posture of Cats supporters (over the years), dismissing our 95 flag, although we were found, also by the AFL to have not cheated that year is pertinent to this situation.

Someone like, no idea who, but akin to the ACCC should go through the league like a laxative. Start with Sleepy Hollow I reckon.
Just your totally unbiased, objective opinion man.

Thank you for bringing a sense of credibility and authority to the topic. You've kind of pulled the curtain back and it's rare to find such honest investigation.

Yet still it offered as much substance and objectivity as your post.

"I'm guessing that these teams cheat" is about as low bar of a post entry that there is.
Failing your requirements for my posting is your right to judge.

But your inability to discuss the content is a mark against your authority.

I'm surely within the boundaries of a discussion forum to offer my, obviously subjective opinion?

Trust me, I've read plenty of Cat's opinions of Carlton over the years.

Are they all lacking substance as well?

Failing your requirements for my posting is your right to judge.

But your inability to discuss the content is a mark against your authority.

I'm surely within the boundaries of a discussion forum to offer my, obviously subjective opinion?

Trust me, I've read plenty of Cat's opinions of Carlton over the years.

Are they all lacking substance as well?
What are we meant to discuss, as far as using facts and objectivity?

"I have a feeling they've rorted"
"I kind of suspect they don't"

Sure, we can see how far we can stretch the word count on that if you like.

So far you've just come up with "hmmm there's smoke here and you know that classic saying!". Apologies for being dismissive of that.

Geelong rorting the system