Geelong rorting the system

Investigated by the AFL can't possibly be viewed as the definitive version of events.

It's why questions remain.

Geelong would be up there. There's enough smoke to imagine some possibly serious fire. Just my honest opinion people.

Collingwood I reckon are the masters at it.

I wish Carlton's guilty history could be somehow unshackled, so they could once again, take extensive liberties with the rules, like other smart, successful clubs. They're reluctantly lily white these days.

The argument everyone else was doing it is hard coded in Carlton minds from experience of the bad old 90s.

The regular posture of Cats supporters (over the years), dismissing our 95 flag, although we were found, also by the AFL to have not cheated that year is pertinent to this situation.

Someone like, no idea who, but akin to the ACCC should go through the league like a laxative. Start with Sleepy Hollow I reckon.
Maybe they might start with the disgraced PwC rort master who was your club president until he decided to "fly his flag" on Twitter?

You wish your guilty history could be unshackled, but ut seems they haven't stopped trying to win by chequebook instead of hard work.

Carlton would be the only Vic club more likely that us to be running stuff off the books. Not by results obviously but by proven track record of club and officials.

Investigated by the AFL can't possibly be viewed as the definitive version of events.

It's why questions remain.

Geelong would be up there. There's enough smoke to imagine some possibly serious fire. Just my honest opinion people.

Collingwood I reckon are the masters at it.

I wish Carlton's guilty history could be somehow unshackled, so they could once again, take extensive liberties with the rules, like other smart, successful clubs. They're reluctantly lily white these days.

The argument everyone else was doing it is hard coded in Carlton minds from experience of the bad old 90s.

The regular posture of Cats supporters (over the years), dismissing our 95 flag, although we were found, also by the AFL to have not cheated that year is pertinent to this situation.

Someone like, no idea who, but akin to the ACCC should go through the league like a laxative. Start with Sleepy Hollow I reckon.

So you just keep questioning it until it gets investigated by who, God? Who else is there to answer to. The afk governing body above the afl?

‘No we won’t be happy until an investigative body of our choosing gives us the outcome we want’ is essentially how this reads

Can we talk about the Jack Martin rort?

1000 years of the British and by extension Australian legal system comes back now to ‘no smoke without fire’ and a guy knowing a guy and being cleared by a sport’s regulatory and governing body after an investigation is not enough 😂😂

It’s the finest investigative mind of his generation who happens to reside regularly in this forum and support a team who for some reason has a large group of fans who dislike the Cats who has the answer.

Death
Taxes
Geelong rorting the system and getting away with it

patrick dangerfield tea GIF by geelongcats

For starters, Hird wasn’t a criminal mastermind. He was a football coach who like all football coaches, looks for edges on the other team.

They do it tactically, they do it through personnel both on field and in their football department, they do it with their fitness and even with things like their facilities. So let’s put that myth to bed even if there are some people who’ve possibly hinted at it. I definitely don’t think that and I think people would be stupid to suggest it.

Mark Thompson hasn’t always been the piece of human wreckage that he is now. The suggestion that he was is just as farcical as the suggestion that ‘he was perfectly clean and untroubled and then suddenly went to Essendon and went bad.’

What is most likely is the explanation that he gave. He’d had enough of what he was doing and wanted out, and then was offered a less hands on role at a club where he had ties previously. There had always been rumours before during and after his Geelong coaching tenure that he enjoyed a fairly odd lifestyle away from football so maybe he did. Who knows. I don’t know how that translates to what you’re trying to suggest about the Cats actual football program, if those rumours were true. Simon Goodwin’s rumoured off field habits don’t translate to them having a systematic doping regime at the Demons they just mean he has an issue in his private life.

Thirdly Dean Robinson had a long history of strength and conditioning work both in and outside of football of both codes; he earned his reputation through the NSW Institute of Sport. He spent a year at an NRL club before we hired him. You’re suggesting that what, he just came straight in and his first act was to go ‘here’s what we will do. Get on the roids.’ What’s more likely is that he put his years of experience to good use.

Steven Dank was a renowned sports scientist whose services and research had been used by numerous organisations and Robinson subscribed to a lot of his theories and ideas. That’s never been a secret, and he talked to him a lot.

He also was associated with a supplement company, and Geelong was a club who used that company to buy a legal supplement.

None of this is illegal - well aside from anything Thompson may have been doing off the grid, anyway.

I doubt once Thompson or Robinson went to Essendon they said in consultation with Hird ‘ok let’s do this big illegal thing because we’ve been doing illegal things all along.’ Sports science develops all the time - doping went from steroids to blood doping with one’s own blood to peptides or whatever - it’s permanently evolving. That’s just the illegal side of it. The actual legal science stuff evolves too.

So whether they knew, or didn’t know, what they were doing was illegal (I don’t really have a stance on it beyond Steve Dank knowing that it would have been), I would hazard a guess that Robinson has said ‘I trust this guy as he has given me good advice before and he’s respected in his field so let’s go with it and implement it.’

Doing what they did does not inherently mean everything done prior to that point was also illegal or wrong. Yeah it raises questions and I can accept that. Hence the association between the parties and Geelong was investigated and it was found that we had done nothing wrong.

Well written :thumbsu:
Knowledge, attitudes, and agendas evolve with time and different situations.
From my viewpoint I simplified it to whatever may have been in Dank's or Robinson's heads, it was controlled by processes at the GFC but allowed at EFC with the "Whatever it takes" attitude.

Maybe they might start with the disgraced PwC rort master who was your club president until he decided to "fly his flag" on Twitter?

You wish your guilty history could be unshackled, but ut seems they haven't stopped trying to win by chequebook instead of hard work.

Carlton would be the only Vic club more likely that us to be running stuff off the books. Not by results obviously but by proven track record of club and officials.
More than happy for my club to be submitted to a transparent, independent audit.

What are we meant to discuss, as far as using facts and objectivity?

"I have a feeling they've rorted"
"I kind of suspect they don't"

Sure, we can see how far we can stretch the word count on that if you like.

So far you've just come up with "hmmm there's smoke here and you know that classic saying!". Apologies for being dismissive of that.
No, I initially mentioned how could the recent audit be trusted when run by the spin masters at the AFL.

Then I asked for an independent audit because it "feels" to me some shonky stuff may have occurred.

And I said all clubs.

Are you trying to sideline my actual discussion point with your derision?

How long are you gonna pursue this stupid road mate. ‘A guy who later cheated was involved in supplying something legal that was used to treat an injury for one of your lower tier players.’

Oooooh that undoes everything.

It’s like saying that if Chopper Read once worked as a qualified security guard and did a perfectly good job, his employer had to have been breaking the law because of crimes he committed at another point in time.
Ironic you mentioned Mark Chopper Read to a Collingwood fan.

Mark Chopper Read is a Collingwood fan too LoL

So you just keep questioning it until it gets investigated by who, God? Who else is there to answer to. The afk governing body above the afl?

‘No we won’t be happy until an investigative body of our choosing gives us the outcome we want’ is essentially how this reads
I'm more than happy for Geelong to be cleared by an independent investigation.

And more than happy for Carlton to go through it too.

I'm not actually criticising Geelong, just the process.

‘And a big thank you to the South Australian taxpayers for the $535 million they kicked in to take us away from the tarpaulin storage facility at West Lakes.’
*$535 million dollars..... 10 years on AFL home games played in Adelaide oval was and still is a brilliant idea 💡

If it was $535 billion... Well you wonder if the investment was worth it lol

*$535 million dollars..... 10 years on AFL home games played in Adelaide oval was and still is a brilliant idea 💡

If it was $535 billion... Well you wonder if the investment was worth it lol

Who gives a shit. Don’t throw stones at a club getting help from the government for someone’s home ground to the tune of a certain amount of money when a significantly higher amount of money was invested in one’s own home ground.

God? Which God are we talking about here?

The bloke upstairs or Gary Ablett senior? LoL

I never watch 360 but have found myself watching it tonight.

Good old Chris Scott is on arguing that Geelong should get involved in the academies in Qld and NSW.

Be satisfied with your own rorts Chris. Don’t step on our turf.

It's an odd shaped ground that would be illegal if there was any rules about grounds.
Also , your players train on it 6 days a week, no other Victorian club gets that advantage.
It's a government funded home ground advantage rort.
Having straight boundary lines would be foreign to every footballer in the country.
If there were rules about grounds kardinia Park would be what they are based off. It's the mcg that would have a problem. Far far to wide.

I'm more than happy for Geelong to be cleared by an independent investigation.

And more than happy for Carlton to go through it too.

I'm not actually criticising Geelong, just the process.
When is Carlton handing us the 95 flag? The blues cheating is all out in the open and yet it's still say carlton were premiers in the history books. Until this is rectified what is the point of any other investigation? Like what would it achieve even if it found some cheating because if the blues can still keep their flag then so should every other cheating club.

I never watch 360 but have found myself watching it tonight.

Good old Chris Scott is on arguing that Geelong should get involved in the academies in Qld and NSW.

Be satisfied with your own rorts Chris. Don’t step on our turf.
An essential part of rorting is campaigning against other rorts you aren't a part of. Fagan is too old and slow to realise that by himself. Scott could probably give him a seminar on it at Morris Finance HQ.

For starters, Hird wasn’t a criminal mastermind. He was a football coach who like all football coaches, looks for edges on the other team.

They do it tactically, they do it through personnel both on field and in their football department, they do it with their fitness and even with things like their facilities. So let’s put that myth to bed even if there are some people who’ve possibly hinted at it. I definitely don’t think that and I think people would be stupid to suggest it.

Mark Thompson hasn’t always been the piece of human wreckage that he is now. The suggestion that he was is just as farcical as the suggestion that ‘he was perfectly clean and untroubled and then suddenly went to Essendon and went bad.’

What is most likely is the explanation that he gave. He’d had enough of what he was doing and wanted out, and then was offered a less hands on role at a club where he had ties previously. There had always been rumours before during and after his Geelong coaching tenure that he enjoyed a fairly odd lifestyle away from football so maybe he did. Who knows. I don’t know how that translates to what you’re trying to suggest about the Cats actual football program, if those rumours were true. Simon Goodwin’s rumoured off field habits don’t translate to them having a systematic doping regime at the Demons they just mean he has an issue in his private life.

Thirdly Dean Robinson had a long history of strength and conditioning work both in and outside of football of both codes; he earned his reputation through the NSW Institute of Sport. He spent a year at an NRL club before we hired him. You’re suggesting that what, he just came straight in and his first act was to go ‘here’s what we will do. Get on the roids.’ What’s more likely is that he put his years of experience to good use.

Steven Dank was a renowned sports scientist whose services and research had been used by numerous organisations and Robinson subscribed to a lot of his theories and ideas. That’s never been a secret, and he talked to him a lot.

He also was associated with a supplement company, and Geelong was a club who used that company to buy a legal supplement.

None of this is illegal - well aside from anything Thompson may have been doing off the grid, anyway.

I doubt once Thompson or Robinson went to Essendon they said in consultation with Hird ‘ok let’s do this big illegal thing because we’ve been doing illegal things all along.’ Sports science develops all the time - doping went from steroids to blood doping with one’s own blood to peptides or whatever - it’s permanently evolving. That’s just the illegal side of it. The actual legal science stuff evolves too.

So whether they knew, or didn’t know, what they were doing was illegal (I don’t really have a stance on it beyond Steve Dank knowing that it would have been), I would hazard a guess that Robinson has said ‘I trust this guy as he has given me good advice before and he’s respected in his field so let’s go with it and implement it.’

Doing what they did does not inherently mean everything done prior to that point was also illegal or wrong. Yeah it raises questions and I can accept that. Hence the association between the parties and Geelong was investigated and it was found that we had done nothing wrong.
Dank was at Manly (06-10) during the time they came under scruitiny, he then went to Cronulla and guess what, he then went to Essendon and guess what, yet right in the middle of all that The Weapon thanked him personally moments after a drought breaking flag win for months earlier jabbing Rooke who had 9 touches.

You cant make this up.

Geelong rorting the system