Geelong rorting the system

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Folly Henry rort was a failure.

I'm sure everyone also remembers the Bruhn, Bowes and pick 7 (Jhye Clark 🤣 ) debacle that raised eyebrows a few years ago. How's that workin' out for ya?

Henry was a bee’s d**k from probably winning us a flag last year.

He’s 22 years old and kicked 80 goals in 2 seasons and kicked 4 in a PF and put us in front with 2 minutes to play.

ā€˜how’s that working out for ya?’

We’re about to finish second on the ladder.

It’s really killing us.

Folly Henry rort was a failure.

I'm sure everyone also remembers the Bruhn, Bowes and pick 7 (Jhye Clark 🤣 ) debacle that raised eyebrows a few years ago. How's that workin' out for ya?

Woah woah woah - are you saying Geelong aren't rorting the system? They are in fact subject to the whims of chance and fate like every other club?

Confounding.

Bailey Smith with an easy ride to the Brownlow now

Geelong too good and unstoppable. So unfair for 17 other clubs.

Baz a Brownlow Medalist before Nick Daicos will be the end of me watching footy. Footy is rigged and fixed for Geelong. Everything going their way
this is remarkably pathetic - great job. very, very funny stuff.

I heard that after the end of seasons calculations , based on finishing position, Geelong had the 5th easiest fixture of the year.

They just played last years 1st and 2nd finishers on the ladder before playing Richmond.

Unless you want the AFL to use some wacky crystal ball method to change the fixture half way through the year that is no fault of Geelong.

Only a moron would use this argument to have a whinge…then I saw who posted and it all checked out. šŸ™ƒ

They just played last years 1st and 2nd finishers on the ladder before playing Richmond.

Unless you want the AFL to use some wacky crystal ball method to change the fixture half way through the year that is no fault of Geelong.

Only a moron would use this argument to have a whinge…then I saw who posted and it all checked out. šŸ™ƒ
Don't be abusive mate. You've had a lot of advantages this year either way.

Pot meet kettle, you have more than enough of a track record playing the man.

You just don’t like when you’re called out for it.

Will you admit that you've had an easy fixture that helped you finish top 4?
Geelong would have needed 2 more losses to miss top 4. Which good teams would they have needed to play twice to make this happen? Collingwood, who they beat? Bulldogs, who they beat? GC, who they beat? Hawthorn, who they beat? Adelaide, who they beat? Or Fremantle, who they beat?

• -Chris Scott salary rort.
    -Home ground advantage not afforded to other Melbouurne clubs.
    -Only Melbourne team allowed to train on their home ground 6 days a week.
  • Rule Changes by Hocking
  • Oppo supporters unable to secure tickets to Kardinia Park matches.
  • Less travel than most teams
  • Government funding more than any club over recent years.
  • Bullying tactics against teams in player trades such as Bulldigs and Bailey Smith.
  • Many ex-Geelong players in AFL appointed positions.
  • Chris Scott's constant whinging to influence AFL decisions.
  • Pick 7 and Bowes from GC for totally free.

Geelong would have needed 2 more losses to miss top 4. Which good teams would they have needed to play twice to make this happen? Collingwood, who they beat? Bulldogs, who they beat? GC, who they beat? Hawthorn, who they beat? Adelaide, who they beat? Or Fremantle, who they beat?
I wish Suns at TIO again, haha. That landing strip at alphabet stadium at sub zero temperatures with sideway rain does not suit us :p

It does look like Cats are destined for Grand Final this year again.

Will you admit that you've had an easy fixture that helped you finish top 4?

I’m personally happy to admit our late end of season run helped us keep our % high.
Do I think that had anything to do with Geelong, the fixturing or any other excuses people are coming up with to dismiss it.
Absolutely not

None of this stopped Geelong from finishing outside top 4…
Geelong needed to lose an extra 2 games to miss top 4.
Geelong already have a great record against the other top 8 as proven by the early season extremely hard run they had where they were playing the current top sides every week.

It’s just cherry picking to try and find something to suit an argument. It has little context.

I wish Suns at TIO again, haha. That landing strip at alphabet stadium at sub zero temperatures with sideway rain does not suit us :p
I don't think any visiting team should have to go to TIO two years in a row, given the very limited number of games played there overall (it would be different if there were 8-10). It is like playing on another planet.

• Bullying tactics against teams in player trades such as Bulldigs and Bailey Smith.

AFL may as well he renamed the Geelong Football League.

Every match can then be played at GMHBA regardless of it being their home or away fixture.

Geelong's average finishing position under Scott 2011-current has been 4th. Identical to the 2 Covid seasons where home ground advantage went out the window for most clubs. About the same before and after any rule changes. About the same before or after any side gigs Scott has had. About the same before and after various stadium redevelopment projects. About the same before and after ex-Geelong players were in AFL appointed positions. About the same whether Scott talks about umpires or not. About the same before and after high profile recruits. Geelong had the same home ground advantage 1998-2006 and had more poor years than good ones.

I bet you have some great explanations for all of this.

I have a wild theory that the club has generally been well run over the past 20 odd years. Playing "home" finals away from its home ground puts a limit on September run for all but its very best sides. It's a pretty out there theory, so I understand if you are a bit too savvy to accept it.

AFL may as well he renamed the Geelong Football League.

Every match can then be played at GMHBA regardless of it being their home or away fixture.
We play less games at our home ground this century than any team in the league, and have only played one final there. But yes, it really should be renamed the Geelong Football League, because it is rare to see a game played anywhere else. it certainly shouldn't be called the MCG league, where most matches, most finals and all non-Covid grand finals are played.

So

• a rule change that we, but apparently no other teams, have had 5 seasons to adapt to.
  • having a ground. Lucky us. Soon we’ll be able to play as many games there as you did, and we can aim to finish second last with all the extra advantages of playing there.
  • oppo supporters unable to travel to the game and get tickets. You mean like with any interstate game. Right.
  • less travel than ā€˜most’ teams. Like the teams at the MCG you mean.
  • Government funding more than any other club in recent years? That helps our win loss ratio how exactly? Nevermind that it isn’t even true. Adelaide Oval redevelopment and Perth Stadium cost more anyway by a mile. We don’t get funding from the government, the only contribution has been to the stadium and we are far from the only club to have a government benefit towards our home ground. So try again.
  • we benefited from bullying tactics with trades? Even if that is true? And that’s up to interpretation, who the hell cares. Stiff shit. That’s their fault, not ours. Big deal. We got an injury prone controversial young player who had never achieved anything, now he’s an all Australian Coaches Association winner. All that means is we are good at trading.
  • many ex-Geelong players in positions in the AFL. How many goals did that kick for us in, say, the win over Adelaide during father round for example?
  • Chris Scott’s constant whinging to influence AFL decisions. What decisions. What did they change. Tell us. Come on. What ostensible difference to the ladder or to our results did that make. Tell us.

No, that’s good from you.

We play less games at our home ground this century than any team in the league, and have only played one final there. But yes, it really should be renamed the Geelong Football League, because it is rare to see a game played anywhere else. it certainly shouldn't be called the MCG league, where most matches, most finals and all non-Covid grand finals are played.
The MCG is your second home ground that the players know back to front.

So

• a rule change that we, but apparently no other teams, have had 5 seasons to adapt to.
  • having a ground. Lucky us. Soon we’ll be able to play as many games there as you did, and we can aim to finish second last with all the extra advantages of playing there.
  • oppo supporters unable to travel to the game and get tickets. You mean like with any interstate game. Right.
  • less travel than ā€˜most’ teams. Like the teams at the MCG you mean.
  • Government funding more than any other club in recent years? That helps our win loss ratio how exactly? Nevermind that it isn’t even true. Adelaide Oval redevelopment and Perth Stadium cost more anyway by a mile. We don’t get funding from the government, the only contribution has been to the stadium and we are far from the only club to have a government benefit towards our home ground. So try again.
  • we benefited from bullying tactics with trades? Even if that is true? And that’s up to interpretation, who the hell cares. Stiff shit. That’s their fault, not ours. Big deal. We got an injury prone controversial young player who had never achieved anything, now he’s an all Australian Coaches Association winner. All that means is we are good at trading.
  • many ex-Geelong players in positions in the AFL. How many goals did that kick for us in, say, the win over Adelaide during father round for example?
  • Chris Scott’s constant whinging to influence AFL decisions. What decisions. What did they change. Tell us. Come on. What ostensible difference to the ladder or to our results did that make. Tell us.

No, that’s good from you.
You're just lucky I suppose.

Geelong's average finishing position under Scott 2011-current has been 4th. Identical to the 2 Covid seasons where home ground advantage went out the window for most clubs. About the same before and after any rule changes. About the same before or after any side gigs Scott has had. About the same before and after various stadium redevelopment projects. About the same before and after ex-Geelong players were in AFL appointed positions. About the same whether Scott talks about umpires or not. About the same before and after high profile recruits. Geelong had the same home ground advantage 1998-2006 and had more poor years than good ones.

I bet you have some great explanations for all of this.

I have a wild theory that the club has generally been well run over the past 20 odd years. Playing "home" finals away from its home ground puts a limit on September run for all but its very best sides. It's a pretty out there theory, so I understand if you are a bit too savvy to accept it.
Aristotle Pickett waiting on your grand explanation.

Geelong rorting the system