Geelong rorting the system

An accusation from who, you?

Who are these local juniors? Tom Stewart? He laid so low he gave up 5-6 years of earning $600k a season so we could take him later in his career. Yeah that seems likely.

Ollie Dempsey the local junior from Melbourne? Hmm. Ok.

Max Holmes from famous Geelong junior club Sandringham? Oh ok.

Mark Blicavs who we got to ‘lay low’ in the junior club ‘Athletics Australia’? Yeah ok. Seems a normal route.

Mark O’Connor and Oisin Mullin? Yeah we got them to hide down in the Geelong suburb of Ireland.

Lawson Humphries we got in touch with and hid away in the Geelong suburb of Western Australia.

Zac Guthrie from the Calder Cannons in Melbourne? Oh ok they’re a Geelong club too.

Shaun Mannagh who decided to agree to waiting until he was 27 to start making a living from AFL? Ok that seems likely.

Connor O’Sulivan from Albury? Geelong goes right to the Murray River these days I heard.

No you’ve put a lot of thought into this.

Tell me, when did you decide to go from thinking all these players were shit, to thinking suddenly they’re all really good footballers that we just hid away in random pockets of Greater Geelong and deceived the football world into thinking they were ordinary until it came to our turn to draft them - often in the rookie draft etc?

Come on mate we told Miers to play dead in the TAC cup grand final. He only kicked 7. Would've kicked 15 if he was trying.

The Jack Bowes trade is another rort that should never have happened . Geelong get Bowes and pick 7 as a charity gift for nothing in return.
How is that legal in a professional competition?

Do you discount the efforts of Geelong in the 50’s?
Won flags and had an incredible run.
Do you ignore all the Geelong players who tried hard but failed in the 90’s?
If you ignore the overall history of the team you support that’s showing the past players zero respect.
Recent efforts are meaningless in 50 years going by your logic
Not really but it all happened before I was born so I also don't go around bragging about how good my club was when it was made up of plumbers and chimney sweeps

The Jack Bowes trade is another rort that should never have happened . Geelong get Bowes and pick 7 as a charity gift for nothing in return.
How is that legal in a professional competition?
it's called a salary dump and happens in every professional sport with a salary cap

There's also an accusation that Geelong get local juniors to lay low so that they can draft them later in the draft.
Ollie Dempsey the local junior from Melbourne? Hmm. Ok.
Funny story, apparently Dempsey's father put together a highlights video of him playing for Carey Grammar(?) in the year we picked him in the rookie draft. Now he's dominating finals. So much for hiding!

G0FbG4bbIAAFJwp

Another one is holding Adelaide over a barrel for Dangerfield.
Pick 9 , 28 and Dean Gore for Dangerfield? No disrepect intended towards Dean Gore.
Should have been two top 5 picks.

Are you salty that an organisation has played the game well?

Danger was out of contract IIRC.. it is an incredibly different scenario when still in contract.

Funny story, apparently Dempsey's father put together a highlights video of him playing for Carey Grammar(?) in the year we picked him in the rookie draft. Now he's dominating finals. So much for hiding!

G0FbG4bbIAAFJwp

But seriously where is the integrity of the comp in getting Bowes and pick 7 for sfa?

Another one is holding Adelaide over a barrel for Dangerfield.
Pick 9 , 28 and Dean Gore for Dangerfield? No disrepect intended towards Dean Gore.
Should have been two top 5 picks.
Dangerfield was a FA, our compensation would have been less than the forced traded but we should have received their F1 as well which they used for Henderson. Same situation with Cameron, GWS compensation would have been less than the forced trade.

But seriously where is the integrity of the comp in getting Bowes and pick 7 for sfa?
We ripped off one of the nepo clubs, we should be thanked. You guys did the same taking Lynch off them for sweet eff all - it's all good fun.

Bont the Lord can you confirm this is actually true? Felt like a great trade for both teams to me. The Dogs ended up with recruit of the year Matt Kennedy.
Geelong paid unders big time. Lay off the glass bbq champ and maybe hang out with your mates instead of living on a footy forum 24 hours a day.

How good is Matt Kennedy though, I'm sure he's gonna do great things in the finals

I thought he wasn’t good enough to play in the Dogs midfield?

Sorry has the narrative changed back again?
One minute it was he’s overrated, then he went for unders, then he is a turnover merchant, then it’s Geelong is cheating to get a “superstar”…then it’s Bailey only gets cheap kicks, then it’s Bailey should have gone for a top 10 pick.

Wish we could get some consistency on if Baz is actually good or not from Dogs fans because he’s seemingly average and not good enough for the Dogs but also went for way unders and Cats got away with an amazing deal.

Not really but it all happened before I was born so I also don't go around bragging about how good my club was when it was made up of plumbers and chimney sweeps
You are a supporter that most clubs turn away.
Even fellow fans would take offence to your absolute disrespect for past players and administration members that worked very hard to keep the club operating.
You need to remember back then there were no tv rights to keep clubs afloat.
An absolute disgrace of a supporter is what they would say and also Foff

This response says more about your intelligence, class and emotional maturity than I ever could. Hope you enjoyed the game, and Geelong's season thus far. I wonder if there were celebrations on the Footscray board last night? As Cats supporters we all loved watching the Doggies give it their very best shot, as always. They fought damn hard against the Dockers and were simply outclassed.

You are a supporter that most clubs turn away.
Even fellow fans would take offence to your absolute disrespect for past players and administration members that worked very hard to keep the club operating.
You need to remember back then there were no tv rights to keep clubs afloat.
An absolute disgrace of a supporter is what they would say and also Foff
Nice tantrum. Are you camping out here until grand final day?

I thought he wasn’t good enough to play in the Dogs midfield?

Sorry has the narrative changed back again?
One minute it was he’s overrated, then he went for unders, then he is a turnover merchant, then it’s Geelong is cheating to get a “superstar”…then it’s Bailey only gets cheap kicks, then it’s Bailey should have gone for a top 10 pick.

Wish we could get some consistency on if Baz is actually good or not from Dogs fans because he’s seemingly average and not good enough for the Dogs but also went for way unders and Cats got away with an amazing deal.
They can't get their story straight regarding Smith.

"Crap player, turnover mechant, toxic personality, would be our 7th best midfielder....they should have paid 3x top-5 draft picks for him".

Geelong rorting the system